Pasting into ossia staff

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
james2804
New Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 3:43 pm
Location: Worcestershire, England
Contact:

Pasting into ossia staff

Post by james2804 »

I've come across a problem when editing an XML imported file from Sibelius. The 1st violin part has some ossia sections to be played on repeats - this part was imported as a grand staff instrument so I am copying across the music onto a new player using ossia staves. When pasting into the ossia staff the selection goes into the main staff, as shown on this video:

https://vimeo.com/287447752

You will see from the video there is already an ossia section in place which I was able to paste into with no problems.

What's going on here? Is this a bug or a current limitation on how ossia staves work? Am I doing the right thing by creating a "new" ossia staff for each required section? Is there a more elegant way of converting my grand staff 1st violin into a regular 1st violin with an ossia stave?
Last edited by james2804 on Thu Aug 30, 2018 3:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Dorico 3.5.0, NotePerformer 3.3.1, Macbook Pro 2019 1.7GHz quad-core Intel Core i7 16GB RAM, macOS Catalina v10.15.5

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Master
Posts: 8410
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Pasting into ossia staff

Post by pianoleo »

(no longer relevant - deleted)
Last edited by pianoleo on Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

james2804
New Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 3:43 pm
Location: Worcestershire, England
Contact:

Re: Pasting into ossia staff

Post by james2804 »

Sorry! Original post edited with correct link. https://vimeo.com/287447752
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Dorico 3.5.0, NotePerformer 3.3.1, Macbook Pro 2019 1.7GHz quad-core Intel Core i7 16GB RAM, macOS Catalina v10.15.5

StefanF at Steinberg
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 11:06 am
Contact:

Re: Pasting into ossia staff

Post by StefanF at Steinberg »

It appears you've actually just hit a bug. To work around that, you could try to extend the very first ossia on the new instrument, so it covers the entire range you want to edit (you can just delete the -1 signposts). I believe you will see copy/paste working as expected then. Once you've copied over the music, you could delete the long ossia, then recreate new ones with the desired length - the notes will still be there.

I hope this will allow you to keep working, we'll fix this issue in an upcoming patch release.

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Master
Posts: 8410
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Pasting into ossia staff

Post by pianoleo »

Alternatively you can Copy, then set the caret at the start of the ossia stave, then right-click, Paste Special, Paste Into Voice whatever.
Like so:
Image
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

StefanF at Steinberg
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 11:06 am
Contact:

Re: Pasting into ossia staff

Post by StefanF at Steinberg »

Ah yes, thanks Leo. That works too, because 'paste into voice' completely ignores the (incorrectly determined) stave visibility.

james2804
New Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 3:43 pm
Location: Worcestershire, England
Contact:

Re: Pasting into ossia staff

Post by james2804 »

Thank you both. Leo's suggestion worked nicely for the time being, but it's useful to know I can extend and contract ossia staves without losing the music on them.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Dorico 3.5.0, NotePerformer 3.3.1, Macbook Pro 2019 1.7GHz quad-core Intel Core i7 16GB RAM, macOS Catalina v10.15.5

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: beppe, brittencellist, dankreider, Derrek, Gareth Glyn, IAN SMITH, klafkid, pianoleo, PjotrB and 11 guests