What is the fastest/easiest way to change this rhythm...

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
User avatar
Mayasfinest
Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 11:13 pm
Location: Germany, Lübeck
Contact:

What is the fastest/easiest way to change this rhythm...

Post by Mayasfinest »

Hello community,
How do i change the rhythm from the top one to the bottom one the fastest?
Dorico by default does the the top one, but sometimes i need the bottom one.

Image

I think i needed about 20 steps to achieve the bottom one, there must be a faster way...
Attachments
tie.PNG
(10.44 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by Mayasfinest on Mon Oct 29, 2018 8:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
PC Win 10, 64bit, i7-4930, 64gb, Nvidia GT-610,Steinberg UR824, Finale 3.7 --> 26, Nuendo 10.3, Dorico 3.5, Wavelab 10
www.notengraphik.de

randywombat
Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: What is the fastest/easiest way to change this rhythm...

Post by randywombat »

In general:
Notation Options (Shift-Alt-N) > Note Groupings > 'Notes starting on a beat followed by a rest in the middle of the beat'.

As a one-off:
Create the notes with Force Duration (O) turned on, to force Dorico to respect exactly what you entered.

User avatar
Mayasfinest
Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 11:13 pm
Location: Germany, Lübeck
Contact:

Re: What is the fastest/easiest way to change this rhythm...

Post by Mayasfinest »

Thank you!
PC Win 10, 64bit, i7-4930, 64gb, Nvidia GT-610,Steinberg UR824, Finale 3.7 --> 26, Nuendo 10.3, Dorico 3.5, Wavelab 10
www.notengraphik.de

User avatar
FlorentG
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 6:48 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: What is the fastest/easiest way to change this rhythm...

Post by FlorentG »

I works, but only when entering new notes.
If I want to modify an existing duration, the force duration tool has no action. See example in the attach file.

Is it a bug ? Does anybody know if improvements are planned for this ?
This would save me a lot of time to have the possiblity to change this without having to re-enter notes.
Attachments
pb force duration.png
(60 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Florent
Dorico 3.5, Sibelius 8, Noteperformer, Transcribe, Reaper, Windows 10,
Conductor - orchestrator - arranger

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5593
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: What is the fastest/easiest way to change this rhythm...

Post by dankreider »

Force duration only applies to new note input, not existing notes.

I’ve not heard of any plans to change this functionality. I agree it could be helpful. But it’s also easy to hit enter for note input, force duration, and enter the note as desired.

Edit: spelling
Last edited by dankreider on Tue Oct 30, 2018 4:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
dankreider.com/dorico-resources
Dorico 3.5.11, Windows 10

User avatar
FlorentG
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 6:48 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: What is the fastest/easiest way to change this rhythm...

Post by FlorentG »

Yes indeed, I think this could be be usefull to improve this in the future
Florent
Dorico 3.5, Sibelius 8, Noteperformer, Transcribe, Reaper, Windows 10,
Conductor - orchestrator - arranger

Rob Tuley
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3927
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 12:41 am

Re: What is the fastest/easiest way to change this rhythm...

Post by Rob Tuley »

If you think about it, the only reason you would want to use force duration on existing notes is because you want to CHANGE something.

Maybe you really want an option like "repitching notes" (which changes pitch but not rhythm) but the other way round - change rhythm but not pitch? Then, using force duration to make the same rhythm but with different notation would just be a special case of something more general.

I agree that it's annoying to have to re-enter the correct pitches again, if you forgot to use "force duration" when you first entered the notes.

musicmaven
Member
Posts: 628
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 6:11 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: What is the fastest/easiest way to change this rhythm...

Post by musicmaven »

randywombat wrote:
Mon Oct 29, 2018 8:24 pm
In general:
Notation Options (Shift-Alt-N) > Note Groupings > 'Notes starting on a beat followed by a rest in the middle of the beat'.
In this particular situation this is the advice! Except it’s (Shift-Control-N) or (Shift-Cmd-N for Mac). Once you hit “Apply” you will get the desired outcome and any further inputting will respect this notation.
FlorentG wrote:
Tue Oct 30, 2018 4:19 pm
I works, but only when entering new notes.
But using Notation Options means you won't have to use force duration and re-enter the notes (in the OP's particular situation).

In your example, Florent, you would select under "Notes starting on a beat followed by a rest in the middle of the beat:" -------- "Notate as a single note"

It’s important to note that every instance of these rhythms will be re-notated throughout the flows selected when invoked with the Notation Options with one simple click.

I'm suggesting that, as randywombat first mentions, Notation Options is the way to achieve this without fooling around with Force Duration. ;)
Dorico Pro 3.5.10.1045, NotePerformer 3.3.1, Notation Express XL, Finale 1.0 through Finale 97, Sibelius 2-7.5, Notion 5.2, Composer's Mosaic, MuseScore 2, Digital Performer 5, iMac, MacBook Air, Oxygen 61, OS X High Sierra 10.13.6

User avatar
FlorentG
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 6:48 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: What is the fastest/easiest way to change this rhythm...

Post by FlorentG »

I understand that it is possible to force the duration when entering notes.
But in my case, I often work with scores imported from xml files. The import process seems to force durations by default so that the note grouping option has no effect.

I find this post viewtopic.php?f=246&t=144725&p=778659&h ... on#p778659 in where this subject has been discussed.
Daniel has given a solution : we can use edit/Reset Appearance to get back the rythm defined with the notes grouping options.

But I think this is a partial solution. It remains note possible to split one rythm into two tied rythm.

I would suggest "split" function where we could use the caret to devide a rythm into tow tied notes. Maybe the dev team has plan for that ?
Florent
Dorico 3.5, Sibelius 8, Noteperformer, Transcribe, Reaper, Windows 10,
Conductor - orchestrator - arranger

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Master
Posts: 8009
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: What is the fastest/easiest way to change this rhythm...

Post by pianoleo »

You can split a tie where ever you like; by setting the caret at the appropriate point and hitting U.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4088
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: What is the fastest/easiest way to change this rhythm...

Post by MarcLarcher »

Dear Leo, I think Florent wants to do a very different thing without re-entering the notes with force duration on, like having two tied quarters instead of a minim... 😉
Marc Larcher

OS X 10.15.6, macbook pro 2019 16" (8 cores i9 @ 2.3GHz, 32GB, 1TB)
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and music engraver (Dorico Pro 3.5.10, and Photoscore Ultimate 2020.1.14(9.0.2))
French is my native language

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AntP, ludwignobel, MarcLarcher, sakasuri and 31 guests