Metronome! Record button! :-)

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
robjohn9999
Member
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 7:58 pm
Location: greater NYC region
Contact:

Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by robjohn9999 » Thu Nov 01, 2018 2:17 am

(in the last Discover Dorico preview of the upcoming update).
Feels like Christmas may come early (very excited!)
- D.D.
2015 MacBook Pro with 16 GB ram; Apogee Ensemble 88; Mac OS Mojave 10.14.6

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4291
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by dankreider » Thu Nov 01, 2018 2:33 am

I hear ya. And trills will play back... jazz hands...
Dan Kreider

Orchestration, transcription, engraving
Dorico training for individuals and teams
www.dankreider.com
---
Dorico 3, Windows 10
Laptop: Dell Precision 7520, Intel Xeon E3-1545M v5 Processor (Quad Core, 2.90 GHz, 8M Cache), 32 GB RAM
Desktop: AMD Ryzen 7 2700, 8 physical cores, NVMe SSD, 32 GB RAM

benwiggy
Senior Member
Posts: 1537
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by benwiggy » Thu Nov 01, 2018 9:22 am

dankreider wrote:
Thu Nov 01, 2018 2:33 am
I hear ya. And trills will play back... jazz hands...
There's support for jazz hands? Excellent.
MacMini 2018, 3GHz i5, 32Gb RAM | MacBook Pro 2014, 2.2 GHz i7 | Garritan Personal Orchestra 5
Ancient Groove Music

Kim Bastin
Junior Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Mon May 23, 2016 6:40 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by Kim Bastin » Thu Nov 01, 2018 9:34 am

Trills with bracketed auxiliary notes will be very welcome! In a score I copied recently I had to notate most trills as tremolos because a lot of the auxiliary notes weren’t a second above.

But: when did ‘alla coda’ become ‘al coda’? … Hmm, Google says it’s quite common. How did that happen? Can we at least have ‘alla coda’ as an option?
Pianist, music engraver and publisher
Dorico 3 Pro
Windows 10

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 14686
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:00 am

Kim, I've never seen "alla coda": where does that convention come from? We do have support for the more classically-orientated versions of the repeat instructions, as outlined by Gould on pages 238 following of "Behind Bars", e.g. things like "D.C. al Ø e poi la Coda" (where Ø is actually a coda sign), but she doesn't talk about a formulation that includes "alla coda", and, as I say, I've never seen it either.

Rob Tuley
Senior Member
Posts: 2988
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 12:41 am

Re: Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by Rob Tuley » Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:05 am

Kim Bastin wrote:
Thu Nov 01, 2018 9:34 am
But: when did ‘alla coda’ become ‘al coda’? … Hmm, Google says it’s quite common. How did that happen?
Musicians don't know Italian - they just steal a few words from it.

And when a composer did know Italian (like Handel, for example) some of his markings were spectacularly misunderstood by those who didn't - as in "WTF does "largo e allegro" mean as a tempo marking???" (Hint: neither "largo" nor "allegro" has anything do with tempo, in Italian.)

Kim Bastin
Junior Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Mon May 23, 2016 6:40 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by Kim Bastin » Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:48 am

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:00 am
Kim, I've never seen "alla coda": where does that convention come from? We do have support for the more classically-orientated versions of the repeat instructions, as outlined by Gould on pages 238 following of "Behind Bars", e.g. things like "D.C. al Ø e poi la Coda" (where Ø is actually a coda sign), but she doesn't talk about a formulation that includes "alla coda", and, as I say, I've never seen it either.
If I have seen ‘al coda’ it has somehow never registered, but it leapt out at me on the screen during John’s talk. I suppose it has to be added to the rest of the pretend Italian musicians use, like ‘glissando’ and ‘molto espressione’.
Pianist, music engraver and publisher
Dorico 3 Pro
Windows 10

User avatar
PjotrB
Junior Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 11:12 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by PjotrB » Thu Nov 01, 2018 11:58 am

As someone who actually speaks some Italian, it always bothers me when musical terminology ignores elementary grammar. Even if it's from Elaine Gould herself establishing the standard. I know, Italian is the Pig Latin of music, and some expressions in a musical context are not even common in modern Italian. But, as I do know the difference between masculine and feminine words, I can't get myself to violate it. A viola playing alone is una viola sola, and if there's two of those, due viole sole. It's not a bad thing if musicians would realise Italian words in music have an origin and an original meaning.
Another pet peeve: 'senza vibrato' ("without shaken"?). Argh! 'Non vibrato', please, it's a verb. (At least, Dorico allows both).
On a sidenote: I hesitate to rely on Google search results when I'm in doubt about spelling... ;)
Peter Bouma, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Dorico Pro 3.1 — Sib 7.1.3 (gathering dust) — iMac late 2012+SSD 3.2GHz i5 16GB / MacOS 10.14.6 — MacBook Pro / MacOS 10.13.6

benwiggy
Senior Member
Posts: 1537
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by benwiggy » Thu Nov 01, 2018 12:29 pm

Yes, however much of music terminology comes from 18th-century Napolitan'. So comparisons with modern 'standard' Italian ... Nun c’ pensá.!
MacMini 2018, 3GHz i5, 32Gb RAM | MacBook Pro 2014, 2.2 GHz i7 | Garritan Personal Orchestra 5
Ancient Groove Music

Derrek
Senior Member
Posts: 2834
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:23 pm
Location: East Coast, USA
Contact:

Re: Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by Derrek » Thu Nov 01, 2018 3:52 pm

Rob Tuley wrote:
Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:05 am
...(Hint: neither "largo" nor "allegro" has anything do with tempo, in Italian.)
Oh, then we've all been playing Handel's Largo too slow? :o
Dorico 3.0.10, Finale (v26), GPO, JABB3, GWI, NotePerformer 3, CuBase Pro 10.5 newbie
Windows 10 (also Mac Mojave as alternate)
US English Keyboard

Rob Tuley
Senior Member
Posts: 2988
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 12:41 am

Re: Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by Rob Tuley » Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:50 pm

Well, if it was meant to be slow, it would have been Handel's Adagio ;)

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6333
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by pianoleo » Thu Nov 01, 2018 6:02 pm

That was too easy ;)















(like Handel's Adagio)
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

ptram
Member
Posts: 381
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by ptram » Thu Nov 01, 2018 7:16 pm

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:00 am
I've never seen "alla coda"
"Al Coda" is meant as "Al segno della Coda", or "To the Coda symbol". So, gender concordance is with "segno" (masculine noun), and not with "coda" (feminine noun).

Paolo

ptram
Member
Posts: 381
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by ptram » Thu Nov 01, 2018 7:37 pm

PjotrB wrote:
Thu Nov 01, 2018 11:58 am
Another pet peeve: 'senza vibrato' ("without shaken"?). Argh! 'Non vibrato', please, it's a verb.
Actually, in this case "vibrato" is the "effect of vibrato", "vibrato" being a noun derived from a past participle (I don't know how to translate the linguistic definition of "sostantivo deverbalizzato"). So, "senza vibrato" would be grammatically correct in Italian. I don't know, however, if it is an expression coming from the Baroque, or a more modern one.
Rob Tuley wrote:
Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:05 am
neither "largo" nor "allegro" has anything do with tempo, in Italian.)
"Largo", as a derived of the Latin "largus", is something more than a tempo indication. It means slow, but also fat, large, heavy. In Baroque Spanish, if I'm not mistaken, "largo" also means prolix, verbose, taking time to express. "Largo" would therefore means something moving with a slow, majestic pace, with no hurry at all. The most baroque tempo we can imagine.

Paolo

bobmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 8:13 am
Contact:

Re: Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by bobmusic » Thu Nov 01, 2018 9:50 pm

Back to topic: will there be a record function as an additional note input method in the upcoming update ?
iMac 27" i7 (2011), MacBook Pro 15" i7 (2011), macOS 10.13.6, iPadPro 12,9" (2015), Dorico Pro 3 (since Ver. 1.0), Logic Pro X (since Ver. 2.0), RME FireFace 400, Korg Kronos

LSalgueiro
Member
Posts: 980
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 12:51 am
Contact:

Re: Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by LSalgueiro » Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:04 pm

bobmusic wrote:
Thu Nov 01, 2018 9:50 pm
Back to topic: will there be a record function as an additional note input method in the upcoming update ?
Yes – check out the latest Dorico Hangout on YouTube.

bobmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 8:13 am
Contact:

Re: Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by bobmusic » Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:37 pm

I have seen the latest Dorico hangout but John didn't use or mention this function during the session.
iMac 27" i7 (2011), MacBook Pro 15" i7 (2011), macOS 10.13.6, iPadPro 12,9" (2015), Dorico Pro 3 (since Ver. 1.0), Logic Pro X (since Ver. 2.0), RME FireFace 400, Korg Kronos

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6333
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by pianoleo » Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:58 pm

bobmusic wrote:
Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:37 pm
I have seen the latest Dorico hangout but John didn't use or mention this function during the session.
Look in the top right corner of the latest hangout video. The clue is pretty obvious, I think:

Image
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

bobmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 8:13 am
Contact:

Re: Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by bobmusic » Thu Nov 01, 2018 11:11 pm

Yes for sure, I had my glasses on ;-) But these graphics alone doesn't tell for sure that the function will be ready for showtime in the coming update. So I hoped eventually for a comment from official side.
iMac 27" i7 (2011), MacBook Pro 15" i7 (2011), macOS 10.13.6, iPadPro 12,9" (2015), Dorico Pro 3 (since Ver. 1.0), Logic Pro X (since Ver. 2.0), RME FireFace 400, Korg Kronos

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6333
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by pianoleo » Thu Nov 01, 2018 11:13 pm

I can't honestly imagine that the Dorico development team would knowingly put out a video on their official channel, displaying universally-recognised icons, unless those icons will do what they're supposed to do in the next release build.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

LSalgueiro
Member
Posts: 980
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 12:51 am
Contact:

Re: Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by LSalgueiro » Fri Nov 02, 2018 12:08 am

I'm not going to re-watch the Hangout, but I'm pretty sure John explicitly said that was MIDI record, but that he simply wouldn't show it until the next Hangout. No?

Craig F
Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 10:39 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by Craig F » Fri Nov 02, 2018 12:17 am

LSalgueiro wrote:
Fri Nov 02, 2018 12:08 am
I'm not going to re-watch the Hangout, but I'm pretty sure John explicitly said that was MIDI record, but that he simply wouldn't show it until the next Hangout. No?
Your memory is spot on. :)
Plus, I don't think it's quite ready to show yet. Paul mentioned a few days ago that they were working on it now.
Dorico Pro 3.0.10, Noteperformer 3.3
Windows 10 Pro v1903
Ryzen 5 1600X 3.6 GHz 6 Core 32GB RAM
Steinberg UR12

User avatar
PaulWalmsley
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 1702
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 9:24 pm
Location: Steinberg, London
Contact:

Re: Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by PaulWalmsley » Fri Nov 02, 2018 12:33 am

That's correct - the basics are in but there's still a few things we need to do to finish it off.
Architect & Developer - Steinberg London

User avatar
PjotrB
Junior Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 11:12 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by PjotrB » Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:42 am

ptram wrote:
Thu Nov 01, 2018 7:37 pm
Actually, in this case "vibrato" is the "effect of vibrato", "vibrato" being a noun derived from a past participle (I don't know how to translate the linguistic definition of "sostantivo deverbalizzato"). So, "senza vibrato" would be grammatically correct in Italian. I don't know, however, if it is an expression coming from the Baroque, or a more modern one.
Grazie Paolo, I stand corrected. Time to brush up my Italian...
Peter Bouma, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Dorico Pro 3.1 — Sib 7.1.3 (gathering dust) — iMac late 2012+SSD 3.2GHz i5 16GB / MacOS 10.14.6 — MacBook Pro / MacOS 10.13.6

Grainger2001
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 5:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Metronome! Record button! :-)

Post by Grainger2001 » Fri Nov 02, 2018 5:58 am

The record button is an exciting addition for sure, but the word that really caught my attention was 'Quantize'...If you blinked you'd have missed it, but I'm sure Jon said it. Real time recording is wonderful, but being able to manipulate the midi via a quantize function is very exciting to me, and another step towards more sequencer type functionality for composing. I hope I wasn't dreaming...I haven't gone back and checked. In any case, looking forward to the next update and all the new things it has to offer.

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ChuckDimeCliff, JosueViera, lcpr, Nikola Kołodziejczyk, PjotrB and 9 guests