The new little Camera icon

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
Oscar Goldman
Junior Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:56 pm

The new little Camera icon

Post by Oscar Goldman » Fri Nov 16, 2018 3:53 pm

I personally have no need for any "snapshot pictures" of plugins....

and people who would need to use it would probably only click it once per plugin...

so why do we have to have a new camera icon permanently taking up screen real estate (for a button that one would only ever need to press once)

stop the bloat, you noobs...


p.s. distroyer plugin -> gui error bottom left... does anybody ever even look at the things that get released? lol

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3680
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: The new little Camera icon

Post by Prock » Fri Nov 16, 2018 4:25 pm

Oscar Goldman wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 3:53 pm
I personally have no need for any "snapshot pictures" of plugins....
If you never will use it you do know you can remove the camera icon. That option is available in the Setup Toolbar menu. ;)

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.0.20, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

Razzia
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 3:31 am
Contact:

Re: The new little Camera icon

Post by Razzia » Fri Nov 16, 2018 5:40 pm

I thought the same thing. What an odd choice to make it a button on the plugin wrapper when most people will only press it once. I personally just type plugin names in because its super fast, so i probably wont be bothering with snapshots too much. I dont mind it, but since the idea seems to have been lifted from S1, why not follow their lead in making it, iirc, an option from the menu in the upper left corner?
Cubase Pro 9 / Ableton Live 9 Suite / Ableton Push 2 / Novation LaunchKey 25 / Steinberg CMC-CH
Audient iD4 / ART Voice Channel
Win 10 Pro x64 / i7 6700k / 200 GB SSD / 2TB HDD / 16 GB RAM

peachy
Junior Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 7:13 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: The new little Camera icon

Post by peachy » Fri Nov 16, 2018 7:43 pm

Personally, I will probably continue to use the menu option, but I know when I got Komplete Kontrol I spent ages building pics for Soundtoys in photoshop. If only KK had an option like the little camera icon. I took me about an hour to go through all my plugins and create an icon for each using the camera icon, even though I'm not likely to use it, so thanks Steinberg for a little bit of joined up thinking I wish more developers would go to that extent.
Intel i7 8700K @4.8, Intel Z370 , 32 gig corsair RAM, Nvidia 1080, 4k monitor, Windows 10 64 bit, Steinberg UR824, Cubase 10 Pro, HALion 6, Groove Agent 5. SoundToys, U-He, NI, Moog. and 30 years of other kit....

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2131
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: The new little Camera icon

Post by HowlingUlf » Fri Nov 16, 2018 7:55 pm

Nah, I kind of like the whole process. Yes, it's a little toyish but we can have some fun for no reason in Cubase as well? :)
I have a bunch, not an endless row, but a bunch of VST/VSTi in 32 bit I can use in Cubase 10 no problem via jBridge.
Last night I made a lot of snapshots and when I was done I just took a look at it and an image says more than a 1000 words!!!
I saw a lot of old stuff I haven't seen in years and the images kind of talk to me in another way than just a list of names.
I definitely like the silly snapshots! 8-)
And the bonus that they respond to drag and drop is sooooooooooooooooo useful!
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.0.20 | Steinberg WaveLab 9.5 | Steinberg Absolute 2 |
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

Funkybot
Junior Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:08 am
Contact:

Re: The new little Camera icon

Post by Funkybot » Fri Nov 16, 2018 10:01 pm

HowlingUlf wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 7:55 pm
Nah, I kind of like the whole process. Yes, it's a little toyish but we can have some fun for no reason in Cubase as well? :)
I have a bunch, not an endless row, but a bunch of VST/VSTi in 32 bit I can use in Cubase 10 no problem via jBridge.
Last night I made a lot of snapshots and when I was done I just took a look at it and an image says more than a 1000 words!!!
I saw a lot of old stuff I haven't seen in years and the images kind of talk to me in another way than just a list of names.
I definitely like the silly snapshots! 8-)
And the bonus that they respond to drag and drop is sooooooooooooooooo useful!
Agreed. I've been using them in Studio One for years, and the nice thing about them is they can sort of act as a reminder to try out lesser used plugins on a particular source. For instance, I know I need a compressor on a track and I want a certain vibe, it helps to scroll through my Dynamics folder and be able to actually see these snapshots to act as a reminder and say, "hey, this thing you don't use to often may be perfect here."

Rootwitch
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 2:41 am
Contact:

Re: The new little Camera icon

Post by Rootwitch » Fri Nov 16, 2018 10:58 pm

Oscar Goldman wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 3:53 pm
so why do we have to have a new camera icon permanently taking up screen real estate (for a button that one would only ever need to press once)
Real estate...? You're talking about the little 10 pixel camera that sits beside the Presets drop-down window... where nothing else lives, or has ever lived...? That little icon has bloated your session/screen/workflow...? Are you running Cubase on your flip-phone? :shock: :( :o :evil:
Cubase Pro 10 | Win7Pro64 | i7-3930k 6 core 12 thread 3.20GHz | 32GB DDR3 | Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56 | M-Audio EX66 Monitors | ProjectMix I/O

RichardTownsend
Junior Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 7:39 pm
Contact:

Re: The new little Camera icon

Post by RichardTownsend » Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:20 pm

HowlingUlf wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 7:55 pm
Nah, I kind of like the whole process. Yes, it's a little toyish but we can have some fun for no reason in Cubase as well? :)
I have a bunch, not an endless row, but a bunch of VST/VSTi in 32 bit I can use in Cubase 10 no problem via jBridge.
Last night I made a lot of snapshots and when I was done I just took a look at it and an image says more than a 1000 words!!!
I saw a lot of old stuff I haven't seen in years and the images kind of talk to me in another way than just a list of names.
I definitely like the silly snapshots! 8-)
And the bonus that they respond to drag and drop is sooooooooooooooooo useful!
Me too, it’s fun, and I agree it will be quicker to find things.
2014 MacBook Pro 15", 16Gb RAM, 500Gb SSD, 2Tb CIE Rugged External HD, Mojave, Cubase 10.x, Dorico 2.x, Mytek Brooklyn DAC, NI Kontrol 6, Neumann KH120 monitors, Focal Elear phones, NI Komplete 12, Omnisphere, Kontakt libraries, Serum, Superior Drummer 3

lordExtra
Junior Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2017 8:46 am
Contact:

Re: The new little Camera icon

Post by lordExtra » Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:51 pm

This is the most ridiculous implementation EVER. I bet they had a contest over the most pointless idea for the feature, et voilà.
Why, oh why can there not be a single menu entry that says : render thumbnails. End of.

This way, unless I sit there for hours doing every plugin manually, loads of the lesser used one will remain unrendered. Pretty much exactly the opposite of what this is supposed to help with. It's absolutely stunning how stupid this is. Cam icon inside the plugin window. Wow.
HP z820, dual 6core Xeon 2643v3 3.5GHz, 64GB, AMD FirePro 5100, Samsung 850pro, UAD Octo PCIe, 2x RME Raydat, Cubase Pro 9.5.41, Windows 10 LTSB N

RichardTownsend
Junior Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 7:39 pm
Contact:

Re: The new little Camera icon

Post by RichardTownsend » Sat Nov 17, 2018 9:00 am

lordExtra wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:51 pm
This is the most ridiculous implementation EVER. I bet they had a contest over the most pointless idea for the feature, et voilà.
Why, oh why can there not be a single menu entry that says : render thumbnails. End of.

This way, unless I sit there for hours doing every plugin manually, loads of the lesser used one will remain unrendered. Pretty much exactly the opposite of what this is supposed to help with. It's absolutely stunning how stupid this is. Cam icon inside the plugin window. Wow.
I feel your pain, but I expect it would be much harder to do what you suggest as the program would have to open every plugin one by one to load the images. They took the easy route. But I think it’s still useful.
2014 MacBook Pro 15", 16Gb RAM, 500Gb SSD, 2Tb CIE Rugged External HD, Mojave, Cubase 10.x, Dorico 2.x, Mytek Brooklyn DAC, NI Kontrol 6, Neumann KH120 monitors, Focal Elear phones, NI Komplete 12, Omnisphere, Kontakt libraries, Serum, Superior Drummer 3

User avatar
greggybud
Senior Member
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: The new little Camera icon

Post by greggybud » Sun Nov 18, 2018 4:30 am

Prock wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 4:25 pm

If you never will use it you do know you can remove the camera icon. That option is available in the Setup Toolbar menu. ;)

Regards 8-)
Thanks, I didin't know this. But Which "setup tool bar menu?" Looked at the project page,mix console page,....??
Windows 7x64, Wavelab 9.5, latest Cubase version, i7, 16g, SSD, (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 750ti driving 2 32" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs, 4 TB HDs, UAD-2, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

James K
Member
Posts: 823
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: The new little Camera icon

Post by James K » Sun Nov 18, 2018 5:17 am

Having it on the the plugin makes perfect sense.
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.0.20
Mavericks Cubase Pro 9.5.5
UR28M
CC121

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3680
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: The new little Camera icon

Post by Prock » Sun Nov 18, 2018 4:00 pm

greggybud wrote:
Sun Nov 18, 2018 4:30 am
Prock wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 4:25 pm

If you never will use it you do know you can remove the camera icon. That option is available in the Setup Toolbar menu. ;)

Regards 8-)
Thanks, I didin't know this. But Which "setup tool bar menu?" Looked at the project page,mix console page,....??
Sorry but, I think I misunderstood the OPs original post. I though it was about the camera button located on the mixconsole (or maybe it is?). :oops:

If you want to hide that camera button, the option would be found in the Mixconsole>Set up Toolbar menu by unclicking the "Mixconsole Snapshots" option.

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.0.20, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

User avatar
greggybud
Senior Member
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: The new little Camera icon

Post by greggybud » Sun Nov 18, 2018 6:46 pm

Prock wrote:
Sun Nov 18, 2018 4:00 pm
greggybud wrote:
Sun Nov 18, 2018 4:30 am
Prock wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 4:25 pm

If you never will use it you do know you can remove the camera icon. That option is available in the Setup Toolbar menu. ;)

Regards 8-)
Thanks, I didin't know this. But Which "setup tool bar menu?" Looked at the project page,mix console page,....??
Sorry but, I think I misunderstood the OPs original post. I though it was about the camera button located on the mixconsole (or maybe it is?). :oops:

If you want to hide that camera button, the option would be found in the Mixconsole>Set up Toolbar menu by unclicking the "Mixconsole Snapshots" option.

Regards 8-)
The camera button in the mix console is for the new feature, mix console snap shots. I don't think there is a way to make the camera button invisible on any VST/VSTI. One could make this a feature request in preferences to hide the camera icon, and therefore make every VST/VSTI more "clean" looking, or at least the same look as before, but that has drawbacks too.

I can't imagine a user loosing sleep or switching DAW's over implementation of 1 new icon, and yes I understand the logic.

IMO what is more important, is that some images of VST's are totally out of proportion compared to the majority images. For example, take a pic of the UAD 610a or 610b, then compare it with the majority of images. It would be nice to have all images about the same size, especially when scrolling.
Windows 7x64, Wavelab 9.5, latest Cubase version, i7, 16g, SSD, (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 750ti driving 2 32" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs, 4 TB HDs, UAD-2, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

User avatar
Reflection
Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 9:17 pm
Contact:

Re: The new little Camera icon

Post by Reflection » Sun Nov 18, 2018 6:57 pm

greggybud wrote:
Sun Nov 18, 2018 4:30 am
IMO what is more important, is that some images of VST's are totally out of proportion compared to the majority images. For example, take a pic of the UAD 610a or 610b, then compare it with the majority of images. It would be nice to have all images about the same size, especially when scrolling.
Look on the positive side, la3a almost became larger in the media picture :lol:
os: win 10 64bit (latest). Cubase pro 9.5.41, 10.0.5
Hw: maximus viii hero 1151, I7 K6700, 16gb ram, nvida GTX 1070.
Sound: A&H Gsr-24M. Otari mtr-90mk2, Mx-55.
Dsp: uad-2. Powercore.
Daw control: Nektar Panorama p4, A&H Gsr-24M

Oscar Goldman
Junior Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:56 pm

Re: The new little Camera icon

Post by Oscar Goldman » Fri Nov 23, 2018 10:58 pm

I stand by my first post...

I mean using that logic, cubase will soon look like a hacked internet explorer from after the millenium - toolbars n buttons all over - buttons that you might only ever need to press once. ever. - if that even

Soon it will look like that IE's toolbar - samesame, but different....:
Image

I prefer to automatically land in the "search vst" field personally when opening a new instrument... saves time, clicks , and is the smart thing to do. some people prefer form over function though... noobs...
first function, fast workflow , stability, perfect core, perfect sync/tempo stuff, perfect audio in loops, ech millions of things come first. period.
Then, after it is flawless - work on cosmetics, twitter,fb etc buttons, and pics and pretty led lights,fluffy bears and pink sprinkles or whatever some of you noobs think is important for the musical creative process - heck wheres my virtual cubase tv tuner and stock ticker running across all bars...

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2131
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: The new little Camera icon

Post by HowlingUlf » Fri Nov 23, 2018 11:27 pm

Oscar Goldman wrote:
Fri Nov 23, 2018 10:58 pm
I stand by my first post...

I mean using that logic, cubase will soon look like a hacked internet explorer from after the millenium - toolbars n buttons all over - buttons that you might only ever need to press once. ever. - if that even

Soon it will look like that IE's toolbar - samesame, but different....:
Image

I prefer to automatically land in the "search vst" field personally when opening a new instrument... saves time, clicks , and is the smart thing to do. some people prefer form over function though... noobs...
first function, fast workflow , stability, perfect core, perfect sync/tempo stuff, perfect audio in loops, ech millions of things come first. period.
Then, after it is flawless - work on cosmetics, twitter,fb etc buttons, and pics and pretty led lights,fluffy bears and pink sprinkles or whatever some of you noobs think is important for the musical creative process - heck wheres my virtual cubase tv tuner and stock ticker running across all bars...
Yeah, if there has to be a camera icon there move it to the right edge of the GUI or something.
I've almost hit the camera a few times when my eyes searched for the big thing that's the first thing I need to do with is opening some preset, i.e. hit the big thing that used to be the MediaBay preset icon.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.0.20 | Steinberg WaveLab 9.5 | Steinberg Absolute 2 |
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

jjjooonnn
Junior Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 4:36 am
Contact:

Re: The new little Camera icon

Post by jjjooonnn » Sat Nov 24, 2018 5:58 am

Why this tiny icon would bother anyone is beyond me. No wonder legitimate problems sometimes go unaddressed;
they have to weed through this garbage.

01w
Member
Posts: 479
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 7:25 pm
Contact:

Re: The new little Camera icon

Post by 01w » Sun Nov 25, 2018 5:11 pm

I like the snapshot option, that way I only take snapshots of the plugins I use mostly, and the ones I don't like I don't take snapshot of it. Good way too organize plugins
Desktop:
Windows 10 x64. i7-8700k, Corsair 32GB, Gigabyte Z390 X, Samsung 970 2TB m.2 ssd, Samsung evo 850 2TB sata ssd.
Laptop:
2012 MacBook Pro, HighSierra, 2.3ghz QuadCore i7, 8GB Ram, 2TB SSD

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2515
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: The new little Camera icon

Post by Arjan P » Sun Nov 25, 2018 6:15 pm

jjjooonnn wrote:
Sat Nov 24, 2018 5:58 am
Why this tiny icon would bother anyone is beyond me. No wonder legitimate problems sometimes go unaddressed; they have to weed through this garbage.
The amount of times the OP uses the word 'noobs' already gives a pretty good impression of how serious the post should be taken IMO.
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 9.5.50 | Cubase 10.0 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

lordExtra
Junior Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2017 8:46 am
Contact:

Re: The new little Camera icon

Post by lordExtra » Sun Nov 25, 2018 11:41 pm

James K wrote:
Sun Nov 18, 2018 5:17 am
Having it on the the plugin makes perfect sense.
Now you got me curious...
HP z820, dual 6core Xeon 2643v3 3.5GHz, 64GB, AMD FirePro 5100, Samsung 850pro, UAD Octo PCIe, 2x RME Raydat, Cubase Pro 9.5.41, Windows 10 LTSB N

User avatar
Rise n Fall
New Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 11:00 am
Contact:

Re: The new little Camera icon

Post by Rise n Fall » Mon Nov 26, 2018 3:41 pm

I agree with the op on this one...

(about the superflouos camera icon everywhere now)

Funkybot
Junior Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:08 am
Contact:

Re: The new little Camera icon

Post by Funkybot » Mon Nov 26, 2018 4:12 pm

I like the camera icon...Studio One buries this feature in a menu, which is ok too, but having a one-click camera icon is more convenient.

That said: please move it further away from the preset dialog box/buttons. My brain has clicked on the camera icon a few times when trying to save presets because I think it's subconsciously thinking, "that thing next to the presets must be the save icon." Moving the camera icon further to the right, but to the left of the plugin menu button would be the ideal location IMO. It's not a feature that will regularly get used more than once per plugin, so it doesn't need the prominent real estate.

Just my two cents.

User avatar
Rise n Fall
New Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 11:00 am
Contact:

Re: The new little Camera icon

Post by Rise n Fall » Mon Nov 26, 2018 4:28 pm

Funkybot wrote:
Mon Nov 26, 2018 4:12 pm

That said: please move it further away from the preset dialog box/buttons.
How about in the little menu that every plugin has - where the "about" menu is and the "always on top" - you know top right arrow down menu of every plugin..

That would seem to be the best solution and placement...

(as it stands - and this is purely subjective and half jokingly so dont be offended- it looks like whoever created/implemented it was very proud of it and wanted it in the spotlight:P)

User avatar
nshtain
Junior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 8:08 am
Contact:

Re: The new little Camera icon

Post by nshtain » Mon Nov 26, 2018 6:14 pm

Rootwitch wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 10:58 pm
Oscar Goldman wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 3:53 pm
so why do we have to have a new camera icon permanently taking up screen real estate (for a button that one would only ever need to press once)
Real estate...? You're talking about the little 10 pixel camera that sits beside the Presets drop-down window... where nothing else lives, or has ever lived...? That little icon has bloated your session/screen/workflow...? Are you running Cubase on your flip-phone? :shock: :( :o :evil:
Lol :lol: :lol: :lol:
+10000
| iMac 5k i7 | OS X 10.14.1 | Cubase 10.0.5 | Genelec 8040a | Sennheiser HD650 | RME Babyface Pro |

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Magnus_N, Steve Helstrip and 8 guests