Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
BobbyRyan
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:08 pm
Contact:

Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by BobbyRyan » Sat Nov 17, 2018 6:20 am

Hi; I've upgraded to Cubase 10 and I launch Steinberg Download Assistant. There I see Cubase Pro 10 and click on it. On the right I see 'Cubase Pro 10 - 10.0.5 Full and across to the right I see there's a 21.09 GB Download. Above I see a default target folder on my system drive, but also to the right an option to change the target folder. My system drive is an SDD drive and is a little over 2/3 full, and I really would like to avoid putting that 21.09 GB on that drive. Is it OK to download it to a secondary drive?

Thanks for any input!

Bobby Ryan.

User avatar
Hippo
Member
Posts: 436
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by Hippo » Sat Nov 17, 2018 9:58 am

Worked fine here
I down loaded it to a non system drive, then moved it to my Storage drive and installed it from there
All went well

Hippo
i7 5960k @ 4.4gig 16gig ram Steinberg UR44 Windows 10

noiseboyuk
Member
Posts: 718
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by noiseboyuk » Sat Nov 17, 2018 10:51 am

In windows you can choose where all the content goes at install, though its not super-obvious. On the page where you select what components are to be installed, each has a small dialog bottom right where the content will go. Select this and put it where you want it.
Win 10 64 bit, i7 4930, 64gb RAM, 2x GT610, RME Babyface, Cubase 9.01, PT 12HD
Macbook Pro 2015, 2.8ghz i7, 16gb RAM

http://www.guyrowland.co.uk

spyder
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by spyder » Sat Nov 17, 2018 1:03 pm

A choice on install locations for the content it is definitely not obvious in the dialogue. Consequently I have installed everything on my system drive and will want to move it to my sample drive and I think the Library Manager which will do this.
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.0.15 Wavelab Elements 9.5.50, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

User avatar
vanhaze3000
Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 11:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by vanhaze3000 » Sat Nov 17, 2018 3:48 pm

Correct: Steinberg Library Manager supports Halion and Groove Agent content to be moved to another drive.

But (unless i miss something), VST Sound Loop Sets, bought from Steinberg site, can't be moved. (i am on mac).
Abit of a bummer cause these VST Sound Loop Sets can really add up in taken System HD space
and possibility to move these files to an external drive would be very welcome imho.

Warm Regards.
Macbook Retina 2015 * OSX Mojave 10.14 (always latest version) * UA Apollo Twin Thunderbolt * Cubase 10 Pro (latest version) * Maschine Studio2 * Novation Impulse * Lots and lots of legal plugins.

BobbyRyan
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by BobbyRyan » Sat Nov 17, 2018 3:54 pm

I want to thank all of you for your info and support. I'm just waking up but I'll get back to the install shortly.

Thanks again!

Bobby Ryan.

Funkybot
Junior Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:08 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by Funkybot » Sat Nov 17, 2018 5:13 pm

vanhaze3000 wrote:
Sat Nov 17, 2018 3:48 pm
Correct: Steinberg Library Manager supports Halion and Groove Agent content to be moved to another drive.

But (unless i miss something), VST Sound Loop Sets, bought from Steinberg site, can't be moved. (i am on mac).
Abit of a bummer cause these VST Sound Loop Sets can really add up in taken System HD space
and possibility to move these files to an external drive would be very welcome imho.

Warm Regards.
You can move them using sym links. I just did this on Windows yesterday. The files reside elsewhere but Cubase still sees them as being in the original location. Works great.

ca-booter
Junior Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by ca-booter » Sat Nov 17, 2018 5:38 pm

Same problem here. I had C9.5 + Absolute 3 and all of my VST-Sounds from Steinberg on a different Drive. So far so good.
But during install of C10 I cannot define the drive I want the Content to install to. The path is greyed out. So everything is installed on the C drive.
And indeed only Halion+GA can be moved in the manager. In the folder Prgr.Data on the system drive there still is about 11Gb's of Vst sounds ?!!!
Absolutely crazy.
PC ASUS i7-2600 |16Gb | W10 Pro-64(500GbSSD) | Cubase Pro Versions from 8 untill latest 10 | Wavelab El.9.5 | Absolute 3 |Yamaha-Steinberg FW N12 Interface | Art Pro & Klark Teknik outboard gear.

Funkybot
Junior Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:08 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by Funkybot » Sat Nov 17, 2018 7:35 pm

ca-booter wrote:
Sat Nov 17, 2018 5:38 pm
Same problem here. I had C9.5 + Absolute 3 and all of my VST-Sounds from Steinberg on a different Drive. So far so good.
But during install of C10 I cannot define the drive I want the Content to install to. The path is greyed out. So everything is installed on the C drive.
And indeed only Halion+GA can be moved in the manager. In the folder Prgr.Data on the system drive there still is about 11Gb's of Vst sounds ?!!!
Absolutely crazy.
Look into Symbolic Links (Sym Links) in Windows. It totally solved this for me. The process was this:

1. Exit Cubase

2. In Windows, create a new VST Sound folder on a different drive. This is going to be the drive and folder location where you'll want to actually store the content. In my case, I created a "Cubase Content" folder on another drive so it was: D:\Cubase Content\VST Sound

3. Go to C:\ProgramData\Steinberg\Content\VST Sound - cut or copy all the loop data in the folder and subfolders

4. Paste the data into (modify to fit whatever location you want to use) D:\Cubase Content\VST Sound - now you've got a copy of your VST Sound folder on the drive you want all this stuff on

5. Go back and delete the original VST Sound sub-folder: C:\Program Data\Steinberg\Content\VST Sound (this step is important and tripped me up last night - the OS needs to create the linked "VST Sound" folder)

6. Open a Command Prompt in Windows - Run as Admin or you'll get an insufficient privileges error

7. In the Command Prompt type in the following (obviously, you'll replace D:\Cubase Content\VST Sound folder with whatever one you created):

mklink /D "C:\ProgramData\Steinberg\Content\VST Sound" "D:\Cubase Content\VST Sound"

8. Press enter to execute - you should get a message that a Symbolic Link was created between the two folders.

If you get an error, it's likely that you either didn't delete the original VST Sound sub-folder, have a typo in the directory names somewhere, left out the quotes in the mklink syntax, or didn't run the command prompt as admin. I made all these mistakes last night so you don't have to!

9. Relaunch Cubase (should be no different than any other launch)

Result: 12GB of space on C: drive freed up. My Cubase content now physically resides on my D:\ drive, but Cubase still thinks it's installed in C:\ProgramData\Steinberg\Content\VST Sound.

User avatar
vanhaze3000
Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 11:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by vanhaze3000 » Sat Nov 17, 2018 9:05 pm

Using Symbolic Links: interesting !
For OSX users, try this free application for creating sym links:
https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/10433/symboliclinker

I haven't tried it out myself, will let you know if it works.

Warm Regards.
Macbook Retina 2015 * OSX Mojave 10.14 (always latest version) * UA Apollo Twin Thunderbolt * Cubase 10 Pro (latest version) * Maschine Studio2 * Novation Impulse * Lots and lots of legal plugins.

spyder
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by spyder » Sun Nov 18, 2018 4:03 pm

Thanks for that walkthrough Funkybot.

Though I have to say that I am surprised and disappointed that the Library Manager doesn't manage all of the relevant files - just Halion and Groove Agent. How about an update, Steinberg?
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.0.15 Wavelab Elements 9.5.50, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

User avatar
vanhaze3000
Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 11:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by vanhaze3000 » Sun Nov 18, 2018 6:38 pm

+1.
Macbook Retina 2015 * OSX Mojave 10.14 (always latest version) * UA Apollo Twin Thunderbolt * Cubase 10 Pro (latest version) * Maschine Studio2 * Novation Impulse * Lots and lots of legal plugins.

spyder
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by spyder » Mon Nov 19, 2018 7:54 pm

Thinking about this - as I don't use Halion or Groove Agent (I have other vst's) can I just delete all the content files? Would Cubase complain?
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.0.15 Wavelab Elements 9.5.50, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

BobbyRyan
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by BobbyRyan » Tue Nov 20, 2018 12:00 am

I've been busy with a more detailed experiment with the issue and I forgot to look back and check this one. I haven't tried the Sym Links yet but if it works I'll be one happy camper. Kudos to Funkybot!

BobbyRyan
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by BobbyRyan » Tue Nov 20, 2018 12:46 am

Just when I though victory was at hand, crash! I'll attach a screenshot of the error message.
Attachments
Sym Link Error.jpg
(56.03 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Carvin Man
Junior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 10:47 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by Carvin Man » Tue Nov 20, 2018 12:56 am

spyder wrote:
Mon Nov 19, 2018 7:54 pm
Thinking about this - as I don't use Halion or Groove Agent (I have other vst's) can I just delete all the content files? Would Cubase complain?
Cubase may complain only the first time you start Cubase after removing it from the Content folder. Take it slow... in the warning box that shows, you got three choices (locate, ignore, or remove) > Choose the REMOVE option (I guess this will remove the "pointers" - registered somewhere in the app data).

PS. There may be an easier method to get rid of those "nags" from within the respective app folder within the content folder (eg Halion - which include some settings and stuff in .xlm files. Have a look at those)

I shrinked my content folder by half by removing some Loopmash stuff and some sample libraries +++ that I don't need. And saved them in a "Steinberg Offline Content" folder (If I should need it later).

Funkybot
Junior Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:08 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by Funkybot » Tue Nov 20, 2018 1:33 am

BobbyRyan wrote:
Tue Nov 20, 2018 12:46 am
Just when I though victory was at hand, crash! I'll attach a screenshot of the error message.
The process in Powershell seems to be different than the standard Command Prompt. Run the regular Command Prompt as Admin and try again.

Or look here about PowerShell (which looks more complicated):

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/powers ... k_symbolic

BobbyRyan
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by BobbyRyan » Tue Nov 20, 2018 2:10 am

I finally figured out 'mklink' doesn't work in Windows 10 Powershell. I did the standard cmd prompt and ran it that way and when I hit enter I got 'Access Denied'. Even though my user account is supposed to be 'admin' I had a similar incident before and I had to create another 'admin' user, which I did and it worked. Anyway, I switched to that user and got the same response 'Access Denied'. I couldn't get a screenshot with that 'user', but there was a difference in the error message. This time it read 'administrator' in the prompt, so I shouldn't be denied. To say I'm disappointed would be an understatement. Thanks for your help!
Attachments
Sym Link Error-2.jpg
(28.07 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Funkybot
Junior Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:08 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by Funkybot » Tue Nov 20, 2018 3:46 am

Your syntax is off in that last screen print. You're missing the /D. Copy and paste from my post above if you need to.

Also, before you launch it, right click Command Prompt and select Run As Administrator in the pop up menu.

Try both things one last time before giving up.

BobbyRyan
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by BobbyRyan » Tue Nov 20, 2018 4:50 am

Serious trouble. I was successful in switching admin accounts and tried the full line this time and after I hit enter I got "Cannot create a file when that file already exists" (screenshot attached). First I thought that was a good sign until I switched back and launched Cubase. I tried to open HALion and I got countless 'files missing'. Also Groove Agent is virtually empty. I didn't delete the content, I copied it to my D: drive. It's still on my C: drive, Cubase just doesn't see it. It's getting too late here and I can easily use True Image and reset my C: drive back to before when all of this crap happened. When I do it from a fresh recovery maybe it'll be fine.
Attachments
File Already Exists.jpg
(108.85 KiB) Not downloaded yet

BobbyRyan
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by BobbyRyan » Tue Nov 20, 2018 6:39 am

Well, I couldn't sleep and I'm at the final step. So I recovered my C: Drive image from 10-27-18. Today is the first time I've ever even used command prompt. But it seems the impossible has happened. I switched to the admin account and ran the command prompt using the full text line and I'm somewhat stunned that I got the same message "Cannot create a file when that file already exists". That file couldn't exist. It's somewhere on the C: drive and True Image does a fresh wipe as it puts back what existed on the drive from 3 weeks ago. Not to mention that I'm back to having a ton of missing files. I can again tomorrow reset but this is draining. Every time I make the attempt I have to do a bunch of Windows updates so it takes around an hour every time I do this. So, since it "Cannot create a file when that file already exists" is there a way to overwrite or delete that file? That's my last hope.

Major bummer.
Attachments
File Already Exists-2.jpg
(171.8 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Funkybot
Junior Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:08 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by Funkybot » Tue Nov 20, 2018 6:41 am

BobbyRyan wrote:
Tue Nov 20, 2018 4:50 am
Serious trouble. I was successful in switching admin accounts and tried the full line this time and after I hit enter I got "Cannot create a file when that file already exists" (screenshot attached). First I thought that was a good sign until I switched back and launched Cubase. I tried to open HALion and I got countless 'files missing'. Also Groove Agent is virtually empty. I didn't delete the content, I copied it to my D: drive. It's still on my C: drive, Cubase just doesn't see it. It's getting too late here and I can easily use True Image and reset my C: drive back to before when all of this crap happened. When I do it from a fresh recovery maybe it'll be fine.
You made progress. Got the same error. You need to delete the original VST Sound folder on your C: drive. The mklink process needs to create/recreate the folder in order to create the link to the new directory. It fails if the folder already exists. Step #5 in my original instructions.

BobbyRyan
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by BobbyRyan » Tue Nov 20, 2018 7:05 am

Great! Sounds like it could work. I appreciate your help.

Time to pass out.

BobbyRyan
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by BobbyRyan » Wed Nov 21, 2018 6:24 am

It's a little past midnight here and I got in from Boston around 9:30. But I can now say after painstaking testing everything works! Now I can get some sleep.

Kudos to Funkybot who if it weren't for I think I'd be ready for a straight jacket.

As in the famed words from Borat: Great Success!!

PS: Now I can install Cubase 10 and try to figure out what the hell can I do to tweak the color scheme. In one post someone referred to it as the look of a Commodore 64, and it does. The switch of black to white makes it tough to read. it lost it's sharp details and colors. Even the splash screen went from full color with all of the lightning bolt sharp slick looking stuff is now what looks to be like a cheap bottom of the barrel DAW. The sharpness and great colors make me want to create, but the black and white stuff looks cheap and not inspiring at all.

Tomorrow's another day!

Bobby Ryan.
Attachments
Link Created.png
(838.23 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Funkybot
Junior Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:08 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 Content Storage

Post by Funkybot » Wed Nov 21, 2018 2:20 pm

Glad you got it!

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GiovanniB, Vendimion and 4 guests