.cpr still opens in C9.5

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
Post Reply
Buzthafuzz
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 4:26 pm
Contact:

.cpr still opens in C9.5

Post by Buzthafuzz » Wed Nov 21, 2018 2:34 pm

Hello all,
I got a little anoying problem, but I gess it's more a windows problem. In windows 10, when I double click on a .cpr file, it starts with C9.5. The strange thing is that even if I righclick, go to "open with" then go to C10, it still opens in C9.5. That's odd. No big deal, I open first C10 with the desktop shortcut (that works) then open my project, but I would like to solve that issue. Any idea ?

User avatar
AllanH-CF
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2017 8:01 pm
Contact:

Re: .cpr still opens in C9.5

Post by AllanH-CF » Wed Nov 21, 2018 3:35 pm

I ran into that problem, too. Here is an "Issues" thread with more info
viewtopic.php?f=286&t=148007

Buzthafuzz
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: .cpr still opens in C9.5

Post by Buzthafuzz » Wed Nov 21, 2018 7:16 pm

What I find strange is that when I watch witch version the .cpr is opened with, either with the file explorer or the control panel, it tells me "Cubase 10" but still opens it with 9.5.

01w
Member
Posts: 483
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 7:25 pm

Re: .cpr still opens in C9.5

Post by 01w » Fri Nov 23, 2018 3:08 am

Just select cubase 10 as default program for .cpr files
Desktop:
Windows 10 x64. i7-8700k, Corsair 32GB, Gigabyte Z390 X, Samsung 970 2TB m.2 ssd, Samsung evo 850 2TB sata ssd.
Laptop:
2012 MacBook Pro, HighSierra, 2.3ghz QuadCore i7, 8GB Ram, 2TB SSD

Buzthafuzz
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: .cpr still opens in C9.5

Post by Buzthafuzz » Fri Nov 23, 2018 9:34 am

01w wrote:
Fri Nov 23, 2018 3:08 am
Just select cubase 10 as default program for .cpr files
:lol: Thanks 01w. If you read the posts, you may realise that is what I do.

valvehead
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 5:07 am
Contact:

Re: .cpr still opens in C9.5

Post by valvehead » Fri Nov 23, 2018 6:07 pm

There was a recent Windows update that caused problems with file associations. More info here.

You can either wait until Microsoft issues a fix or use the PowerShell script here (at your own risk).

Just noticed that this is my 1st post after joining almost 8 years ago. How's that for lurking? :mrgreen:
Cubase 10.5 Pro, Wavelab 10 Pro
Windows 10 Pro 1909, Intel i7 5820k, Gigabyte X99 Gaming G1, Corsair DDR4 32GB, Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
RME Fireface UFX+, Dynaudio BM6a

01w
Member
Posts: 483
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 7:25 pm

Re: .cpr still opens in C9.5

Post by 01w » Sat Nov 24, 2018 2:01 am

Oops sorry.
Try rename the fodler where your older cubase is in, or move ir to another folder so windows wont be able to find it by default when opening .cpr project
Desktop:
Windows 10 x64. i7-8700k, Corsair 32GB, Gigabyte Z390 X, Samsung 970 2TB m.2 ssd, Samsung evo 850 2TB sata ssd.
Laptop:
2012 MacBook Pro, HighSierra, 2.3ghz QuadCore i7, 8GB Ram, 2TB SSD

Buzthafuzz
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: .cpr still opens in C9.5

Post by Buzthafuzz » Sun Nov 25, 2018 10:42 am

valvehead wrote:
Fri Nov 23, 2018 6:07 pm
There was a recent Windows update that caused problems with file associations. More info here.

You can either wait until Microsoft issues a fix or use the PowerShell script here (at your own risk).

Just noticed that this is my 1st post after joining almost 8 years ago. How's that for lurking? :mrgreen:
Thanks for the info, I think I'll just wait for an update. And sorry that I made you come out of the woods. :mrgreen:

Buzthafuzz
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: .cpr still opens in C9.5

Post by Buzthafuzz » Mon Nov 26, 2018 9:41 am

Here is what I got. But double click opens C9.5...

Image

Buzthafuzz
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: .cpr still opens in C9.5

Post by Buzthafuzz » Mon Nov 26, 2018 11:07 am

Here is an answer I got on Microsoft forum :
Setting File Associations in Windows 10 is now impossible, a lot of users are reporting this at the moment, this seems to be a bug in Windows 10 since the last update.

Microsoft are working hard to patch the bugs in the last couple of updates, hopefully this is one of the bugs they are working on

Please provide feedback to the Windows Developers on this bug, press Windows Key + F to open the Feedback Hub, the more users that report this, the quicker it will be resolved . . .

User avatar
pliktro
Member
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:01 am
Contact:

Re: .cpr still opens in C9.5

Post by pliktro » Mon Nov 26, 2018 11:01 pm

The problem is not only in windows 10. I have windows 7 and I have the same issue.
Cubase 10.0.40 Win7 x64,Cubase Pro 10, CPU : AMD Phenom II X4 955,MB : ASUS M4A78,GPU : XFX AMD RADEON R7 250X ,RAM : 8GB 800 MHz DDR3
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, MacBook Pro Retina 13-inch,OSX 10.13.6,CPU : 2,4 GHz Intel Core i5,GPU Intel Iris 1024 MB,RAM : 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Audio Interface : Digidesign 002r,2xRME Multiface

Buzthafuzz
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: .cpr still opens in C9.5

Post by Buzthafuzz » Tue Nov 27, 2018 9:41 am

Yes, it's crazy : I tried to change the name of both folder and .exe of C9.5 and when I open a .cpr, windows starts to install C9.5. Hopefully Microsoft will provive a fix for this.

Baycider
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 8:42 am
Contact:

Re: .cpr still opens in C9.5

Post by Baycider » Tue Dec 25, 2018 6:10 am

Fixed it:\
Two things that are a must to fix issues related with older versions of Cubase Pro.

1) Go to the following WINDOWS folder
C:\Users\YOURNAME\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg
You can also get to this by In the command line of the 'Run' window, enter this path: %appdata%/Steinberg
You should see all previous versions of Cubase Pro. If not make sure you un-hide hidden folders.
Rename previous Cubase folder versions by putting an 'x' in front of the folder.
Example;
Change the folder "Cubase 9_64" to "xCubase 9_64"

2) Right click on any existing .cpr file and select open with...
Select choose another app...
Navigate to the Cubase 10 program installation which is found in...
C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Steinberg Cubase 10
Remember to tick 'Always use this app to open .cpr files"

Done and fixed!

There is nothing done here which cannot be undone and requires no registry deletions.

Baycider

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: andyp13, Dave Peppiatt, GlennO, pliktro, TheMaestro, wcb123 and 7 guests