Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
James K
Member
Posts: 846
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by James K » Mon Nov 26, 2018 5:39 am

Is there any way to turn off the left hand side of the startup hub? The side that connects to the internet and Steinberg news area? I'd like to keep the recent projects dialogue on the right but not be forced to download the news portion.
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.0.20
Mavericks Cubase Pro 9.5.5
UR28M
CC121

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18081
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Mon Nov 26, 2018 8:02 am

Hi,

No, there is not this option.

The resent projects are also in the File menu. If it's OK to access them from here, you could disable the whole Hub then.
Last edited by Martin.Jirsak on Mon Nov 26, 2018 11:49 am, edited 2 times in total.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

James K
Member
Posts: 846
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by James K » Mon Nov 26, 2018 8:09 am

Thanks for the confirmation Martin.
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.0.20
Mavericks Cubase Pro 9.5.5
UR28M
CC121

ulesto
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 8:20 am
Contact:

Re: Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by ulesto » Mon Nov 26, 2018 7:48 pm

Open up the Cubase package and remove the hub from the components folder, which is in the Contents folder. That does exactly what you asked for. (If you disabled the whole hub don't forget to reenable it.)
Mac Pro, OSX 10.11.6, MR816CSX, Cubase Pro 9.5, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Halion 6, Halion Sonic, HSO, Waves, UAD...

James K
Member
Posts: 846
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by James K » Wed Nov 28, 2018 9:17 am

ulesto wrote:
Mon Nov 26, 2018 7:48 pm
Open up the Cubase package and remove the hub from the components folder, which is in the Contents folder. That does exactly what you asked for. (If you disabled the whole hub don't forget to reenable it.)
Cheers!
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.0.20
Mavericks Cubase Pro 9.5.5
UR28M
CC121

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18081
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Wed Nov 28, 2018 10:24 am

ulesto wrote:
Mon Nov 26, 2018 7:48 pm
Open up the Cubase package and remove the hub from the components folder, which is in the Contents folder. That does exactly what you asked for. (If you disabled the whole hub don't forget to reenable it.)
You will get an old dialog with a list of recent projects, and some buttons to Create a new projects, Open other project...
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
matjones
Senior Member
Posts: 1294
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:44 pm
Location: Here....
Contact:

Re: Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by matjones » Wed Nov 28, 2018 11:05 am

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Wed Nov 28, 2018 10:24 am
ulesto wrote:
Mon Nov 26, 2018 7:48 pm
Open up the Cubase package and remove the hub from the components folder, which is in the Contents folder. That does exactly what you asked for. (If you disabled the whole hub don't forget to reenable it.)
You will get an old dialog with a list of recent projects, and some buttons to Create a new projects, Open other project...
...Which is all some people want, also if this is done on windows then it frees up at least one extra FLS slot.
Cubase 10.0.40 Asus Z390-Plus, i9 9900 @ 3.7GHz, 64GB DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, Asus RX 570, RME Multiface II PCIe, SSL Alpha Channel, UAD2 Octo/Solo/Quad, UA6176, Pod X3 Pro, Slate VCC/VTM/Trigger etc, SoundToys 5, Waves 10, HALion 6, The Grand 3, BFD3 (+ Expansions), WL9.5, Melodyne Studio 4, Arturia VC7, Relab LX480, iZotope MPS, Eventide XI, Various toys, Telefunken, Neumann, AKG,Sontronics, Shure Mics, Adam A7X and Avantone monitors, AKG K702, ATH-M70x, Nektar P6, Warwick, Spector Basses, Gibson Les Paul Studio & loads of other junk.


Minds are like parachutes, they work best when they're open.

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3838
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by Prock » Wed Nov 28, 2018 3:16 pm

James K wrote:
Mon Nov 26, 2018 5:39 am
Is there any way to turn off the left hand side of the startup hub? The side that connects to the internet and Steinberg news area? I'd like to keep the recent projects dialogue on the right but not be forced to download the news portion.
If you unclick the "Use Hub" option in the Cubase Edit>Preferences>General menu what will only open is the "Project Assistant". Which is basically the right side. That is what I think you want... right?

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.5, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3838
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by Prock » Wed Nov 28, 2018 3:37 pm

matjones wrote:
Wed Nov 28, 2018 11:05 am
Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Wed Nov 28, 2018 10:24 am
ulesto wrote:
Mon Nov 26, 2018 7:48 pm
Open up the Cubase package and remove the hub from the components folder, which is in the Contents folder. That does exactly what you asked for. (If you disabled the whole hub don't forget to reenable it.)
You will get an old dialog with a list of recent projects, and some buttons to Create a new projects, Open other project...
...Which is all some people want, also if this is done on windows then it frees up at least one extra FLS slot.
The last time I checked in CB 9, unclicking the "Use Hub" option does not free up an FLS slot. Hence this feature request:

viewtopic.php?f=285&t=148890

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.5, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

James K
Member
Posts: 846
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by James K » Wed Nov 28, 2018 5:24 pm

Prock wrote:
Wed Nov 28, 2018 3:16 pm
James K wrote:
Mon Nov 26, 2018 5:39 am
Is there any way to turn off the left hand side of the startup hub? The side that connects to the internet and Steinberg news area? I'd like to keep the recent projects dialogue on the right but not be forced to download the news portion.
If you unclick the "Use Hub" option in the Cubase Edit>Preferences>General menu what will only open is the "Project Assistant". Which is basically the right side. That is what I think you want... right?

Regards 8-)
Thank you.

I disabled the hub as you recommended and it turns off both. I think we used to have that option but now it seems to be linked together. :/
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.0.20
Mavericks Cubase Pro 9.5.5
UR28M
CC121

ulesto
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 8:20 am
Contact:

Re: Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by ulesto » Wed Nov 28, 2018 7:42 pm

James K wrote:
Wed Nov 28, 2018 9:17 am
Cheers!
Clink! ;)
Mac Pro, OSX 10.11.6, MR816CSX, Cubase Pro 9.5, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Halion 6, Halion Sonic, HSO, Waves, UAD...

Maincat
Member
Posts: 399
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by Maincat » Wed Nov 28, 2018 7:55 pm

This works for me:

Tick Use Hub in Preferences.
Close Cubase.
Find hubservice.dll in Program Files\Steinberg\Cubase 10\Components. Rename it hubservice.old_dll
Start Cubase 10. No left side.
Last edited by Maincat on Wed Nov 28, 2018 11:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Steve
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Version 1903, 8 Gig RAM, AMD Phenom II 955 BE X4, 27" Acer LCD (X2), GX460, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha KX8, Nektar LX88, Shure SM58, Yamaha HS50Ms with Yamaha HS8M Sub., Yamaha HPH-MT7W Headphones, Kontakt 5.7.3, The Grand 3.1, Neo Soul Keys, Groove Agent 4, WaveLab Elements 10, ASUS Nexus 7 2013, Android 6.0, Cubase IC PRO and lots of other stuff.

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3838
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by Prock » Wed Nov 28, 2018 10:47 pm

James K wrote:
Wed Nov 28, 2018 5:24 pm
Prock wrote:
Wed Nov 28, 2018 3:16 pm
James K wrote:
Mon Nov 26, 2018 5:39 am
Is there any way to turn off the left hand side of the startup hub? The side that connects to the internet and Steinberg news area? I'd like to keep the recent projects dialogue on the right but not be forced to download the news portion.
If you unclick the "Use Hub" option in the Cubase Edit>Preferences>General menu what will only open is the "Project Assistant". Which is basically the right side. That is what I think you want... right?

Regards 8-)
Thank you.

I disabled the hub as you recommended and it turns off both. I think we used to have that option but now it seems to be linked together. :/
Weird. It works for me... meaning when I unclick the "Use Hub" preference the left side is gone and the right right side remains.

Just a thought... I'm not at my Cubase PC right now so I can't check it but, maybe there is there a preference to "Use Project Assistant" somewhere that needs to be enabled for the right side to show.

Regards. 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.5, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

James K
Member
Posts: 846
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by James K » Thu Nov 29, 2018 2:40 pm

Maybe it’s a Mac thing but once you uncheck use hub both sides are gone. I think I remember the use project assistant when I used Windows before.
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.0.20
Mavericks Cubase Pro 9.5.5
UR28M
CC121

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3838
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by Prock » Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:48 pm

Looks like I was goofed up a bit... sorry. :oops:

The right side showing only the "Project Assistant" does not automatically pop up when Cubase is started. It will pop up only after disabling the "Use Hub" option and choosing "New Project" from the Cubase "File" menu.

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.5, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

Maincat
Member
Posts: 399
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by Maincat » Thu Nov 29, 2018 6:42 pm

Has anyone tried my post solution (about three posts up)?

Just wondering.
Steve
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Version 1903, 8 Gig RAM, AMD Phenom II 955 BE X4, 27" Acer LCD (X2), GX460, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha KX8, Nektar LX88, Shure SM58, Yamaha HS50Ms with Yamaha HS8M Sub., Yamaha HPH-MT7W Headphones, Kontakt 5.7.3, The Grand 3.1, Neo Soul Keys, Groove Agent 4, WaveLab Elements 10, ASUS Nexus 7 2013, Android 6.0, Cubase IC PRO and lots of other stuff.

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3033
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by peakae » Thu Nov 29, 2018 8:16 pm

Just turn it off in preferences and as Prock said, new project.
Hiding dll’s from Cubase can and does work, but don’t be surprised when you install the next update and it asks for some original installer or a repair.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

ulesto
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 8:20 am
Contact:

Re: Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by ulesto » Sun Dec 02, 2018 7:24 pm

peakae wrote:
Thu Nov 29, 2018 8:16 pm
Just turn it off in preferences and as Prock said, new project.
Hiding dll’s from Cubase can and does work, but don’t be surprised when you install the next update and it asks for some original installer or a repair.
All an update does is replace the old version with the new version and you have to do it again.
Mac Pro, OSX 10.11.6, MR816CSX, Cubase Pro 9.5, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Halion 6, Halion Sonic, HSO, Waves, UAD...

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3033
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by peakae » Sun Dec 02, 2018 8:02 pm

Yes, but if it does not find the old, it wants the original full installer.
It then extracts the missing dll and then it overwrites it with the new version.
That is my observation, not a problem if you keep older full installer somewhere close.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
Dallon426
Member
Posts: 336
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 8:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by Dallon426 » Sun Dec 02, 2018 8:06 pm

I think they should give an option in preferences. Might as well make the software as configurable as possible.
I7 8700
AsRock z370 itx fatal1ty
16GB DDR4
1 TB NVME
Windows 10 64bit Pro
UAD Arrow
Cubase Artist 10

James K
Member
Posts: 846
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by James K » Mon Dec 03, 2018 4:10 am

I object to being forced to view Steinbergs advertising in my start up menu. When I start Cubase I'd like to get to work thanks.
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.0.20
Mavericks Cubase Pro 9.5.5
UR28M
CC121

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 682
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by Weasel » Mon Dec 03, 2018 5:35 am

James K wrote:
Thu Nov 29, 2018 2:40 pm
Maybe it’s a Mac thing but once you uncheck use hub both sides are gone. I think I remember the use project assistant when I used Windows before.
Ulesto’s suggestion, a few posts up, is the answer for Mac users. I’ve been doing that since the introduced this “feature” and it works a charm. I even made a hot key to launch the hub, so I don’t even have to click on a menu to open it. If you’re paranoid, just rename or compress the component if you feel the need to restore it.
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48gbRAM-OSX 10.12.6/C10.0.30 • MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MIDI Express 128's ••• DualCore 2.8 iMac/4gbRAM-OSX 10.10.5/C9.0.20 • MOTU/ULmk3 ••• D8B/V5.1

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

James K
Member
Posts: 846
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by James K » Mon Dec 03, 2018 5:51 am

Weasel wrote:
Mon Dec 03, 2018 5:35 am
James K wrote:
Thu Nov 29, 2018 2:40 pm
Maybe it’s a Mac thing but once you uncheck use hub both sides are gone. I think I remember the use project assistant when I used Windows before.
Ulesto’s suggestion, a few posts up, is the answer for Mac users. I’ve been doing that since the introduced this “feature” and it works a charm. I even made a hot key to launch the hub, so I don’t even have to click on a menu to open it. If you’re paranoid, just rename or compress the component if you feel the need to restore it.

Thank you. I am aware that removing the component will work or turning off the hub then using a key command to open the menu is a possibility. My point is that Steinberg has linked the two together intentionally. There should be an option to have only the right hand side show on start up. We've paid a lot of money for the programme not to have the HUB connect to the Steinberg website upon start up. Showing the info on the left hand side should be optional.
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.0.20
Mavericks Cubase Pro 9.5.5
UR28M
CC121

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 682
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by Weasel » Mon Dec 03, 2018 7:15 am

I’m 100% with you on that, James. The left hand web side is a complete waste of time (and space).
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48gbRAM-OSX 10.12.6/C10.0.30 • MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MIDI Express 128's ••• DualCore 2.8 iMac/4gbRAM-OSX 10.10.5/C9.0.20 • MOTU/ULmk3 ••• D8B/V5.1

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18081
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Turn off left hand side of hub?

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Mon Dec 03, 2018 8:49 am

Weasel wrote:
Mon Dec 03, 2018 7:15 am
I’m 100% with you on that, James. The left hand web side is a complete waste of time (and space).
Hi,

It's not just an advertisement there. You are informed, there is a new update for Cubase too, what might be an important info for you.

I could imagine the user can configure in his MySteinberg what to display in the Hub.

I wouldn't say it's a wasting of time and space. You don't have to wait until it's loaded. You can operate even while loading it. Most of the time I don't see it, because it's still loading. And space? You can't do any other operations while Hub is open, so it doesn't hide anything else.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: relayer, Soundcheck and 4 guests