How to split

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
h5Ba5bC3
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 3:28 am
Contact:

How to split

Post by h5Ba5bC3 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 3:51 am

Hi, following my question here: http://forum.pianoworld.com//ubbthreads ... 84655.html

I'm looking for a way to split my keyboard in 3 zones, with one zone using the internal sound engine of the piano that I own and each of the other 2 zones using a different VST.

Or even assign specific notes to a VST and the rest to the piano.

How do I do that within cubase?

Thank you for your help!

Note: I just noticed that I posted in the wrong forum at first as I have Cubase Elements 8.

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3754
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: How to split

Post by raino » Thu Nov 29, 2018 9:23 pm

The Input Transformer can do that. Not sure if it is included in Elements though.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

h5Ba5bC3
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 3:28 am
Contact:

Re: How to split

Post by h5Ba5bC3 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 11:41 pm

raino wrote:
Thu Nov 29, 2018 9:23 pm
The Input Transformer can do that. Not sure if it is included in Elements though.
Hi, I can't seem to find it.

https://steinberg.help/cubase_pro_artis ... ransformer

Is it in another place depending on the version?

If I don't have access to it, does it mean I simply can't do that?

svennilenni
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3756
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: How to split

Post by svennilenni » Thu Nov 29, 2018 11:45 pm

If you use Cubase elements, you should use the elements manual, not the Cubase Pro manual.

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3754
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: How to split

Post by raino » Fri Nov 30, 2018 8:26 pm

svennilenni wrote:
Thu Nov 29, 2018 11:45 pm
If you use Cubase elements, you should use the elements manual, not the Cubase Pro manual.
Oops. That was dumb for me to do.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

h5Ba5bC3
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 3:28 am
Contact:

Re: How to split

Post by h5Ba5bC3 » Sat Dec 01, 2018 3:34 am

I think he was speaking to me. Lol.

But my issue still isn't resolved though. Does it mean I can't do that?

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3754
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: How to split

Post by raino » Sat Dec 01, 2018 8:17 pm

I checked and Elements doesn't include the Input Transformer, so no you can't at least not this way. No other approach immediately comes to mind. Some keyboard controllers can do splits in the hardware.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

h5Ba5bC3
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 3:28 am
Contact:

Re: How to split

Post by h5Ba5bC3 » Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:43 am

Anyone else know of any third party software perhaps? Not too expensive?

Or any other way in elements 8?

My piano can't on its own.

Thanks for your support!

airflamesred
Member
Posts: 247
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 2:25 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: How to split

Post by airflamesred » Wed Dec 05, 2018 10:37 am

Inspector / MIDI modifiers / range?
Just thinking out loud.
Koby drums, Triggera Krigg, Bix, megadrum, Kontakt. samples from All and Sundry.

h5Ba5bC3
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 3:28 am
Contact:

Re: How to split

Post by h5Ba5bC3 » Mon Dec 10, 2018 4:58 am

airflamesred wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 10:37 am
Inspector / MIDI modifiers / range?
Just thinking out loud.
I'm new with the program and actually with DOW in general, would you have a step by step?

Thanks!

airflamesred
Member
Posts: 247
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 2:25 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: How to split

Post by airflamesred » Mon Dec 10, 2018 8:06 pm

RANGE.jpg
(121.93 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Hope this helps
Koby drums, Triggera Krigg, Bix, megadrum, Kontakt. samples from All and Sundry.

h5Ba5bC3
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 3:28 am
Contact:

Re: How to split

Post by h5Ba5bC3 » Tue Dec 11, 2018 1:16 am

Yeah, definitely need to look at some tutorials! Thanks! :)

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aquarius1383 and 7 guests