Draw CC automation for multiple selected MIDI tracks

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 can be posted here.
Post Reply
audiosprite
New Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2011 2:41 pm
Contact:

Draw CC automation for multiple selected MIDI tracks

Post by audiosprite » Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:15 pm

Hello,

Just posting in the suggestions forum something I think I've found isn't possible in the current iterations.

It'd help quite a bit to be able to draw parabolas in CC automation lanes all at once. It's very often that a section of instruments I'm writing for will need the same dynamics curves, but as of now it takes a lot of clicks and copy-pastes to maintain automation across MIDI segments.

Let me know if this is possible right now if so, but neither of these two methods in the documentation seem to do what I'm looking for:
https://steinberg.help/cubase_pro_artis ... ing_t.html
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PyxFKJhcgqA
cubase 10 pro // windows 10

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1370
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Draw CC automation for multiple selected MIDI tracks

Post by In_Stereo » Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:46 pm

You can't do this unfortunately. But it would save eons of time when scoring -- I highly approve of having this.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

audiosprite
New Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2011 2:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Draw CC automation for multiple selected MIDI tracks

Post by audiosprite » Mon Dec 17, 2018 1:21 am

yeah, feeling this one again. i think its pretty bizarre it doesnt work this way already ? feel like anyone who uses libraries that use cc/modwheel would find this invaluable
cubase 10 pro // windows 10

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1732
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Draw CC automation for multiple selected MIDI tracks

Post by suntower » Mon Dec 17, 2018 8:29 am

Anyone who orchestrates wants this.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 10, iCPro, WL9.5, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

Accel0001
Junior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 6:32 am

Re: Draw CC automation for multiple selected MIDI tracks

Post by Accel0001 » Tue Dec 18, 2018 1:16 am

+1
For workaround, I use shared copy of "CC Only MIDI Part" or MIDI Send from "CC Only MIDI Track".
DAW: Cubase 9.5 (6.5 - 10), FL Studio 20.5 (8 - 20.5), Studio One 3.3 (2 - 4.5), etc.
PC: Win7 Ultimate, i7 3930K 4.2GHz (OC), 32GB RAM

sonic74
Member
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Draw CC automation for multiple selected MIDI tracks

Post by sonic74 » Tue Dec 18, 2018 2:17 am

+1
Back to good old Cubase 9.5 / intel 5960x @ 4GHz / asus x99 deluxe / 64gb ddr4 @ 3000MHz / vst connect pro / vsl ensemble pro 5 / korg nanokontrol2 / spl 2control / behringer bcf-2000 / lynx aes-16e / lynx aurora 16vt / uad quad / neumann kh310 / genelec 8050a / too many plugins

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1370
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Draw CC automation for multiple selected MIDI tracks

Post by In_Stereo » Tue Dec 18, 2018 2:56 am

+1

As suntower said, for anyone who scores/orchestrates this would be a very significant improvement.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

audiosprite
New Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2011 2:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Draw CC automation for multiple selected MIDI tracks

Post by audiosprite » Thu Dec 20, 2018 5:00 pm

Accel0001 wrote:
Tue Dec 18, 2018 1:16 am
+1
For workaround, I use shared copy of "CC Only MIDI Part" or MIDI Send from "CC Only MIDI Track".
yo, brilliant, i'm gonna try this, thanks for the tip

still much more work than it has to be (maintaining multiple lanes on 5 strings tracks for example is also Quite A Lot) so definitely would like to see this in future Cubase
cubase 10 pro // windows 10

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1370
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Draw CC automation for multiple selected MIDI tracks

Post by In_Stereo » Tue Dec 25, 2018 12:05 am

Accel0001 wrote:
Tue Dec 18, 2018 1:16 am
+1
For workaround, I use shared copy of "CC Only MIDI Part" or MIDI Send from "CC Only MIDI Track".
Can you clarify what you mean by this? I'd like to do it as a workaround at least, since this issue is significant for me.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

audiosprite
New Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2011 2:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Draw CC automation for multiple selected MIDI tracks

Post by audiosprite » Mon Dec 31, 2018 6:15 am

i think he means he has two lanes for each instrument in a section - one for the notes, and one for cc automation. the notes lanes belong only to their own instrument, but the automation lanes are copied to the rest of the instruments in the section using ctrl+alt+shift drag
cubase 10 pro // windows 10

Accel0001
Junior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 6:32 am

Re: Draw CC automation for multiple selected MIDI tracks

Post by Accel0001 » Mon Jan 07, 2019 11:03 pm

In_Stereo wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 12:05 am
Can you clarify what you mean by this? I'd like to do it as a workaround at least, since this issue is significant for me.
audiosprite wrote:
Mon Dec 31, 2018 6:15 am
i think he means he has two lanes for each instrument in a section - one for the notes, and one for cc automation. the notes lanes belong only to their own instrument, but the automation lanes are copied to the rest of the instruments in the section using ctrl+alt+shift drag
I mostly use MIDI Send.
CC Data can control multiple synths
https://i.imgur.com/oalF3Gt.gif
More channels (with Transformer)
https://i.imgur.com/uOVmqV9.gif
Filter out channels (with Transformer)
https://i.imgur.com/2GOd6HD.gif
More control targets (with Shared Copy)
https://i.imgur.com/29Vmm7x.gif
DAW: Cubase 9.5 (6.5 - 10), FL Studio 20.5 (8 - 20.5), Studio One 3.3 (2 - 4.5), etc.
PC: Win7 Ultimate, i7 3930K 4.2GHz (OC), 32GB RAM

audiosprite
New Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2011 2:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Draw CC automation for multiple selected MIDI tracks

Post by audiosprite » Thu Jan 10, 2019 9:53 pm

Accel0001 wrote:
Mon Jan 07, 2019 11:03 pm
In_Stereo wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 12:05 am
Can you clarify what you mean by this? I'd like to do it as a workaround at least, since this issue is significant for me.
audiosprite wrote:
Mon Dec 31, 2018 6:15 am
i think he means he has two lanes for each instrument in a section - one for the notes, and one for cc automation. the notes lanes belong only to their own instrument, but the automation lanes are copied to the rest of the instruments in the section using ctrl+alt+shift drag
I mostly use MIDI Send.
CC Data can control multiple synths
https://i.imgur.com/oalF3Gt.gif
More channels (with Transformer)
https://i.imgur.com/uOVmqV9.gif
Filter out channels (with Transformer)
https://i.imgur.com/2GOd6HD.gif
More control targets (with Shared Copy)
https://i.imgur.com/29Vmm7x.gif
oh man, that's awesome. thanks for such a thorough explanation, i'll try it next week & let you know how it's working out
cubase 10 pro // windows 10

User avatar
Starsprinkler
Member
Posts: 270
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Draw CC automation for multiple selected MIDI tracks

Post by Starsprinkler » Tue Jan 15, 2019 11:59 am

+1

Yes, this would be a welcome addition. As already said, highly useful for orchestration work.

ckon
Member
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Draw CC automation for multiple selected MIDI tracks

Post by ckon » Sun Jul 21, 2019 5:44 pm

viewtopic.php?f=285&t=164726

Included in the feature request poll, so vote up.

Synchronisation of editing cc data between multiple vsti/midi tracks
ckon:

C Pro 10.0.40 (and all previous)
Win7 - x64 (farewell soon)
Main host system:
i7 3770k - 4.5GHZ, 32GB RAM, OS on SSD
Museum DAW: Apple Mac LCII Opcode Studio Vision.

reztes
New Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: Draw CC automation for multiple selected MIDI tracks

Post by reztes » Sun Aug 04, 2019 11:58 am

YES, I agree with your idea.

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexandre de Faria and 7 guests