Problem with the naming of instruments

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
hanojek
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:06 pm
Contact:

Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by hanojek » Wed Jan 02, 2019 4:18 pm

When I add for example trumpet, is named as the Trumpet 4. When I add the second trumpet, will be named Trumpet 4 2. The same problem is with trombones. Why? Why is there a number 4?

pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5028
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by pianoleo » Wed Jan 02, 2019 4:19 pm

Have you edited the instrument name of a Trumpet in a previous file?
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1ghz dual-core i7, 8gb RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16gb RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

hanojek
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by hanojek » Wed Jan 02, 2019 4:47 pm

Pianoleo, I didn't understand, what you mean. I'm wondering, why is there a number 4. I have the name of the instrument always edit, it's too complicated. You can't set the instrument named as the Trumpet? (Without any number).

pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5028
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by pianoleo » Wed Jan 02, 2019 4:50 pm

Have you used this dialog to edit the Trumpet name, in this project or any other project?
Image
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1ghz dual-core i7, 8gb RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16gb RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

hanojek
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by hanojek » Wed Jan 02, 2019 4:56 pm

This I'm sure I do. But it's too complicated it's always to do with all of the tools. I arrange mostly for bigband, and there are 4 trumpets and 4 trombones.

pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5028
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by pianoleo » Wed Jan 02, 2019 5:00 pm

I suspect you've overwritten your defaults for the Trumpet and Trombone instruments.
Add a trumpet player in Setup mode. Click the dropdown for the player to get to the actual instrument, then right-click and go Edit names. Delete the 4 from the full name (and from the short name if necessary), then tick the "Save as Default" option and hit OK.

Does that fix it?
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1ghz dual-core i7, 8gb RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16gb RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

hanojek
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by hanojek » Wed Jan 02, 2019 5:10 pm

Yes, it is possible it save as default. But it is also possible to store the name without the "B-flat"?

pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5028
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by pianoleo » Wed Jan 02, 2019 5:15 pm

Don't do that by editing the instrument name. Do that from Layout Options, as shown:

Image
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1ghz dual-core i7, 8gb RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16gb RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

hanojek
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by hanojek » Wed Jan 02, 2019 5:23 pm

Yes, it works. But in parts is still a "B-flat".

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 12762
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Wed Jan 02, 2019 5:25 pm

If you're talking about the name that appears at the top left-hand corner of the first page, you can change that by editing the name of the layout in the Layouts panel in Setup mode.

If instead you're talking about the staff labels showing at the left of the system (which is unusual in a part, of course) then you can make that change in Layout Options for the part layout.

hanojek
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by hanojek » Wed Jan 02, 2019 5:33 pm

I know. But I always have to do it again for another project. I can't save it as the default.

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 12762
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Wed Jan 02, 2019 5:36 pm

No, you can't save changes to layout names as default, but if you commonly write for the same ensemble, you can do File > Save As on this project and then simply delete the flow(s) afterwards, and add a new flow to start your next composition or arrangement.

pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5028
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by pianoleo » Wed Jan 02, 2019 5:39 pm

You can set Layout Options for both scores and parts as defaults for future projects.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1ghz dual-core i7, 8gb RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16gb RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

hanojek
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by hanojek » Wed Jan 02, 2019 5:46 pm

The important thing - the numbers in the names of instruments I solved. The second thing (B-flat) is not important. Thank you!

hanojek
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by hanojek » Wed Jan 02, 2019 5:59 pm

To Daniel: "you can do File > Save As on this project and then simply delete the flow(s) afterwards, and add a new flow to start your next composition or arrangement" - This is good idea! Thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: LSalgueiro, malleteer, pianoleo, ShikiSuen and 8 guests