Problem with the naming of instruments

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
hanojek
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:06 pm
Contact:

Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by hanojek »

When I add for example trumpet, is named as the Trumpet 4. When I add the second trumpet, will be named Trumpet 4 2. The same problem is with trombones. Why? Why is there a number 4?

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 7569
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by pianoleo »

Have you edited the instrument name of a Trumpet in a previous file?
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

hanojek
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by hanojek »

Pianoleo, I didn't understand, what you mean. I'm wondering, why is there a number 4. I have the name of the instrument always edit, it's too complicated. You can't set the instrument named as the Trumpet? (Without any number).

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 7569
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by pianoleo »

Have you used this dialog to edit the Trumpet name, in this project or any other project?
Image
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

hanojek
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by hanojek »

This I'm sure I do. But it's too complicated it's always to do with all of the tools. I arrange mostly for bigband, and there are 4 trumpets and 4 trombones.

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 7569
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by pianoleo »

I suspect you've overwritten your defaults for the Trumpet and Trombone instruments.
Add a trumpet player in Setup mode. Click the dropdown for the player to get to the actual instrument, then right-click and go Edit names. Delete the 4 from the full name (and from the short name if necessary), then tick the "Save as Default" option and hit OK.

Does that fix it?
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

hanojek
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by hanojek »

Yes, it is possible it save as default. But it is also possible to store the name without the "B-flat"?

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 7569
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by pianoleo »

Don't do that by editing the instrument name. Do that from Layout Options, as shown:

Image
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

hanojek
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by hanojek »

Yes, it works. But in parts is still a "B-flat".

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 17434
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

If you're talking about the name that appears at the top left-hand corner of the first page, you can change that by editing the name of the layout in the Layouts panel in Setup mode.

If instead you're talking about the staff labels showing at the left of the system (which is unusual in a part, of course) then you can make that change in Layout Options for the part layout.

hanojek
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by hanojek »

I know. But I always have to do it again for another project. I can't save it as the default.

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 17434
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

No, you can't save changes to layout names as default, but if you commonly write for the same ensemble, you can do File > Save As on this project and then simply delete the flow(s) afterwards, and add a new flow to start your next composition or arrangement.

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 7569
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by pianoleo »

You can set Layout Options for both scores and parts as defaults for future projects.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

hanojek
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by hanojek »

The important thing - the numbers in the names of instruments I solved. The second thing (B-flat) is not important. Thank you!

hanojek
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with the naming of instruments

Post by hanojek »

To Daniel: "you can do File > Save As on this project and then simply delete the flow(s) afterwards, and add a new flow to start your next composition or arrangement" - This is good idea! Thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: pianoleo, PjotrB and 12 guests