cmc qc midi activity spiking

This section is about Steinberg's CMC controllers
Otto Dix
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 10:35 pm

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by Otto Dix » Wed Jan 25, 2012 8:38 pm

be bump a lula
MacPro 12 x 3,46Ghz; 64 Go RAM; SSDs; macOS 10.11.6; Nuendo 10.2; Cubase Pro 10.0.40
Apogee Symphony system

Guest

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by Guest » Fri Jan 27, 2012 6:52 pm

wel i certainly am not buying any more cmc's unles this issue is fixed !

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by JMCecil » Sat Jan 28, 2012 4:38 pm

I've disconnected mine. Between the lack of a fine mode lock for the QC knobs the MIDI spike and the fact that I can't seem to perform automation functions with them very well, it makes them more irritating than useful.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Guest

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by Guest » Sat Jan 28, 2012 4:51 pm

i completely agree ,i find the dials are very fiddley to use (to small for large hands) so ive finally bought a controller keyboard instead , there has been no replys on this thread from steinberg and life goes on with out them so if they want to loose buisness by egnoring these little things then off to other manufacturers i go !

it's a shame as ive just purchased a ci2+ for the laptop which will be used unlike the qc which is sitting in the corner gathering dust !

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by JMCecil » Sat Jan 28, 2012 5:19 pm

We'll see what happens in upcoming releases. I don't think it would take much to make them more functional. Hopefully, they are working on it.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Otto Dix
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 10:35 pm

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by Otto Dix » Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:22 pm

let it bump
MacPro 12 x 3,46Ghz; 64 Go RAM; SSDs; macOS 10.11.6; Nuendo 10.2; Cubase Pro 10.0.40
Apogee Symphony system

Otto Dix
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 10:35 pm

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by Otto Dix » Mon Feb 06, 2012 11:57 pm

wham bump thank you mam'
MacPro 12 x 3,46Ghz; 64 Go RAM; SSDs; macOS 10.11.6; Nuendo 10.2; Cubase Pro 10.0.40
Apogee Symphony system

Geppastro
Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:22 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by Geppastro » Sat Feb 11, 2012 11:28 am

Seems still not addressed with the latest update "TOOLS for CMC Version 1.0.2 (Mac OS X) and 1.0.1-2 (Windows)"
:evil:

Paolo
Paolo (Cubase user since 1995 -> Cubase Audio on Atari Falcon)
Hardware (desktop): i7-880 3.06 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM ; Asus P7H55-M/USB3 ; Echo Gina 24 PCI sound card ; ESI M8U XL 8x8 midi interface ; Steinberg CMC-TP.
Software (desktop): : Windows 8.1 Enterprise (64 bit) / Cubase Pro 10.5 v10.5.0 (64 bit) / WaveLab Pro 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit) / HALion 6 v6.1.0 (64 bit) / HALion Symphonic Orchestra / Synthogy Ivory II American Concert D.
Software (laptop Sony VAIO i5-4200U 2.29 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM): Windows 10 Home (64 bit) / Cubase Elements 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit).

Guest

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by Guest » Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:07 pm

Geppastro wrote:Seems still not addressed with the latest update "TOOLS for CMC Version 1.0.2 (Mac OS X) and 1.0.1-2 (Windows)"
:evil:

Paolo
and still no answer form steinberg , o well it's their lose

Stefan Schreiber
Moderator
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 10:49 am
Contact:

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by Stefan Schreiber » Thu Feb 16, 2012 2:58 pm

Hi,

We are currently investigating this issue.
I just want to briefly explain this functionality that apparently some of you find disturbing:

This feature is similar to the MIDI spec "ACTIVE SENSE" with some extensions. It's a functionality that enables the CMCs to detect a sudden interruption of data communication and as a result (for example) turns off all lights. This helps users to recognize that their CMC is no longer controlling Cubase when the connection has for what reasons ever been interrupted.
From the software side Cubase provides visual feedback that the connection to the CMC is constantly OK. This is what the MIDI meter is showing all the time.

It's a functionality which has been around for nearly 25 years and that we find is a necessity.
But of course we fully understand that some of you might find the constant blinking of the MIDI meter in Cubase somehow irritating.
We are aware of this topic and we will take a deeper look into that behaviour since there are several other topics related to this that we need to take under consideration as well.

Regarding sysex dumping there shouldn't be a problem with CMC and Cubase. The visual feedback implies that there are other MIDI data that might affect the sysex data recording if the routings are not set appropriately.

I hope I could give you some more insight and we will keep you up to date.

Cheers,
Stefan Schreiber - Senior Marketing Manager Hardware
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, SoundCloud

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by Strophoid » Thu Feb 16, 2012 7:38 pm

Thanks for taking it in consideration Stefan :)
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

Geppastro
Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:22 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by Geppastro » Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:27 am

Thanks Stefan. Yes I know what Active Sense is and what it does. I simply would like to disable the display of it at will. I'd suggest a checkbox in:

Devices -> Device Setup -> Remote Devices -> Steinberg CMC-??

A lot of space is available at the right side of "Enable Auto Select" for an additional "Enable in MIDI Activity Meter", or whatever you would like to name it (enabled by default).

Many thanks for listening.

Paolo
Paolo (Cubase user since 1995 -> Cubase Audio on Atari Falcon)
Hardware (desktop): i7-880 3.06 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM ; Asus P7H55-M/USB3 ; Echo Gina 24 PCI sound card ; ESI M8U XL 8x8 midi interface ; Steinberg CMC-TP.
Software (desktop): : Windows 8.1 Enterprise (64 bit) / Cubase Pro 10.5 v10.5.0 (64 bit) / WaveLab Pro 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit) / HALion 6 v6.1.0 (64 bit) / HALion Symphonic Orchestra / Synthogy Ivory II American Concert D.
Software (laptop Sony VAIO i5-4200U 2.29 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM): Windows 10 Home (64 bit) / Cubase Elements 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit).

cubace
Member
Posts: 552
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 6:41 pm
Contact:

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by cubace » Sun Feb 26, 2012 12:27 pm

Stefan Schreiber wrote:Hi,

We are currently investigating this issue.
I just want to briefly explain this functionality that apparently some of you find disturbing:

This feature is similar to the MIDI spec "ACTIVE SENSE" with some extensions. It's a functionality that enables the CMCs to detect a sudden interruption of data communication and as a result (for example) turns off all lights. This helps users to recognize that their CMC is no longer controlling Cubase when the connection has for what reasons ever been interrupted.
From the software side Cubase provides visual feedback that the connection to the CMC is constantly OK. This is what the MIDI meter is showing all the time.

It's a functionality which has been around for nearly 25 years and that we find is a necessity.
But of course we fully understand that some of you might find the constant blinking of the MIDI meter in Cubase somehow irritating.
We are aware of this topic and we will take a deeper look into that behaviour since there are several other topics related to this that we need to take under consideration as well.

Regarding sysex dumping there shouldn't be a problem with CMC and Cubase. The visual feedback implies that there are other MIDI data that might affect the sysex data recording if the routings are not set appropriately.

I hope I could give you some more insight and we will keep you up to date.

Cheers,
Well the problem is cubase, and the solution is fairly simple. Have a prefernce settings where the user
can select what should counts as a activity. A matrix per midi port and message type. A other solution is to this in the device-setup-> midi port. And please add add a state for the port (call it system or something) that makes the port hidden. Not like the idiotic function "visable" that disable binding to controllers.

Otto Dix
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 10:35 pm

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by Otto Dix » Mon Mar 12, 2012 6:55 pm

Stefan, thank you for your work to resolve this annoying issue. Wish all the best for you to find a solution.
MacPro 12 x 3,46Ghz; 64 Go RAM; SSDs; macOS 10.11.6; Nuendo 10.2; Cubase Pro 10.0.40
Apogee Symphony system

Geppastro
Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:22 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by Geppastro » Fri Mar 23, 2012 6:12 pm

http://www.steinberg.net/en/newsandeven ... -1905.html

Thanks for the forthcoming update, but: will this midi activity spiking issue be addressed with the update?

Paolo
Paolo (Cubase user since 1995 -> Cubase Audio on Atari Falcon)
Hardware (desktop): i7-880 3.06 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM ; Asus P7H55-M/USB3 ; Echo Gina 24 PCI sound card ; ESI M8U XL 8x8 midi interface ; Steinberg CMC-TP.
Software (desktop): : Windows 8.1 Enterprise (64 bit) / Cubase Pro 10.5 v10.5.0 (64 bit) / WaveLab Pro 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit) / HALion 6 v6.1.0 (64 bit) / HALion Symphonic Orchestra / Synthogy Ivory II American Concert D.
Software (laptop Sony VAIO i5-4200U 2.29 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM): Windows 10 Home (64 bit) / Cubase Elements 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit).

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by JMCecil » Fri Mar 23, 2012 10:07 pm

and fine mode locking! I could plug them back in with on/off control, no endless MIDI activity and the ability to lock fine control. Especially on the QC.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Geppastro
Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:22 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by Geppastro » Mon Jun 11, 2012 7:55 pm

Stefan Schreiber wrote:Hi,

We are currently investigating this issue.
I just want to briefly explain this functionality that apparently some of you find disturbing:

This feature is similar to the MIDI spec "ACTIVE SENSE" with some extensions. It's a functionality that enables the CMCs to detect a sudden interruption of data communication and as a result (for example) turns off all lights. This helps users to recognize that their CMC is no longer controlling Cubase when the connection has for what reasons ever been interrupted.
From the software side Cubase provides visual feedback that the connection to the CMC is constantly OK. This is what the MIDI meter is showing all the time.

It's a functionality which has been around for nearly 25 years and that we find is a necessity.
But of course we fully understand that some of you might find the constant blinking of the MIDI meter in Cubase somehow irritating.
We are aware of this topic and we will take a deeper look into that behaviour since there are several other topics related to this that we need to take under consideration as well.

Regarding sysex dumping there shouldn't be a problem with CMC and Cubase. The visual feedback implies that there are other MIDI data that might affect the sysex data recording if the routings are not set appropriately.

I hope I could give you some more insight and we will keep you up to date.

Cheers,
Same old irritating behavior on this issue after installing CMC 1.1.0 :evil: . I'd be very happy to know why addressing this wasn't possible. Thanks.

Paolo
Paolo (Cubase user since 1995 -> Cubase Audio on Atari Falcon)
Hardware (desktop): i7-880 3.06 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM ; Asus P7H55-M/USB3 ; Echo Gina 24 PCI sound card ; ESI M8U XL 8x8 midi interface ; Steinberg CMC-TP.
Software (desktop): : Windows 8.1 Enterprise (64 bit) / Cubase Pro 10.5 v10.5.0 (64 bit) / WaveLab Pro 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit) / HALion 6 v6.1.0 (64 bit) / HALion Symphonic Orchestra / Synthogy Ivory II American Concert D.
Software (laptop Sony VAIO i5-4200U 2.29 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM): Windows 10 Home (64 bit) / Cubase Elements 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit).

Shinta215
Senior Member
Posts: 1032
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:26 pm

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by Shinta215 » Mon Jun 11, 2012 9:19 pm

Geppastro wrote:I'd be very happy to know why addressing this wasn't possible.
Just taking a few guesses here:
Stefan Schreiber wrote:It's a functionality which has been around for nearly 25 years and that we find is a necessity.
So they're not going to remove it.

The change would have to be made on the Cubase side of things (to add an option to not display output of certain types of MIDI data). But then you couldn't rely on the MIDI output indicator to be reliable (as it's not reporting all MIDI data output).
The option would have to be don't report certain data being sent to a certain port.
But it's still something in Cubase, not the CMCs or the CMC extension.
Last edited by Shinta215 on Mon Jun 11, 2012 10:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Geppastro
Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:22 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by Geppastro » Mon Jun 11, 2012 9:34 pm

Shinta215 wrote:The change would have to be made on the Cubase side of things (to add an option to not display output of certain types of MIDI data). But then you couldn't rely on the MIDI output indicator to be reliable (as it's not reporting all MIDI data output).
A lot of Midi instruments continuously send MIDI active sensing (certainly, almost all my instruments do: I can see that through my amt8 MIDI interface leds). Cubase MIDI input indicator never shows that, and I certainly have never ever had any problem with that... Why that should be different with CMCs?
Paolo (Cubase user since 1995 -> Cubase Audio on Atari Falcon)
Hardware (desktop): i7-880 3.06 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM ; Asus P7H55-M/USB3 ; Echo Gina 24 PCI sound card ; ESI M8U XL 8x8 midi interface ; Steinberg CMC-TP.
Software (desktop): : Windows 8.1 Enterprise (64 bit) / Cubase Pro 10.5 v10.5.0 (64 bit) / WaveLab Pro 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit) / HALion 6 v6.1.0 (64 bit) / HALion Symphonic Orchestra / Synthogy Ivory II American Concert D.
Software (laptop Sony VAIO i5-4200U 2.29 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM): Windows 10 Home (64 bit) / Cubase Elements 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit).

Guest

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by Guest » Tue Jun 12, 2012 9:53 pm

well this is getting annoying as i like the cmc series and am thinking of buying some more BUT the bloody midi indicator still needs to be sorted how many months later ?

hemiole
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 5:23 pm
Contact:

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by hemiole » Wed Jun 13, 2012 10:29 am

So they missed a chance here.

I know that my beloved old Kawai K4 - I use that nowadays only as a keyboard, but no more producing sounds -
emits all the time MIDI active sensing - that drove me crazy, when I wrote my own MIDI processing software
but I never saw that in Cubase - since Cubase 1.0 on my ATARI ST.

Why is it so difficult to put a filter into the driver?

Otto Dix
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 10:35 pm

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by Otto Dix » Fri Jun 29, 2012 6:43 pm

whole lotta bump
MacPro 12 x 3,46Ghz; 64 Go RAM; SSDs; macOS 10.11.6; Nuendo 10.2; Cubase Pro 10.0.40
Apogee Symphony system

HJAO
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 5:18 pm
Contact:

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by HJAO » Thu Jul 12, 2012 8:02 pm

I have also requested this "feature" to be selectable:
https://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtop ... 59&t=22738

This problem only occurs in my Win7 64 setup, not on MAC. But on MAC the devices aren't even recognised, which is a completely different matter :roll:
___________________________________________________________________________________________________
Cubase 6.5.x & Cubase 7.0.x, Intel MAC 10.6.8 Snow Leopard / PC Windows 7 64b, Intel i7-2700k, 16 GB, 256 GB SSD, 2 x 2TB HD's, DynAudio BM12A monitors, Focusrite 24 PRO DSP audio interface, Roland JV-30 keyboard, Roland JV-880 & Vintage Synths board, Roland XV-5050 & SRX-03 & SRX-06 boards, Guitars by Ibanez, Fender & Takamine.

Guest

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by Guest » Thu Jul 19, 2012 8:52 am

well it looks like we are not going to get an answer on this ,mind you it loks like steinberg have abandoned the forum just like they have abandoned certain hardware :roll: :roll:

Geppastro
Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:22 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Post by Geppastro » Thu Jul 19, 2012 4:56 pm

Unfortunately, we got an answer (a disappointing one though):

http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopi ... 38#p159261

"The "spiking" of midi-signals" is not a problem but a feature by design. You should not turn off the CMC's midi output. You can however hiode the MIDI activity meter in the transportbar."

It seems they are not even considering our request: please Steinberg, don't remove the "feature by design" if you like it, just make its display switchable (on/off) for us who find it extremely irritating!!! Please!!!
Paolo (Cubase user since 1995 -> Cubase Audio on Atari Falcon)
Hardware (desktop): i7-880 3.06 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM ; Asus P7H55-M/USB3 ; Echo Gina 24 PCI sound card ; ESI M8U XL 8x8 midi interface ; Steinberg CMC-TP.
Software (desktop): : Windows 8.1 Enterprise (64 bit) / Cubase Pro 10.5 v10.5.0 (64 bit) / WaveLab Pro 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit) / HALion 6 v6.1.0 (64 bit) / HALion Symphonic Orchestra / Synthogy Ivory II American Concert D.
Software (laptop Sony VAIO i5-4200U 2.29 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM): Windows 10 Home (64 bit) / Cubase Elements 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit).

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg CMC Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests