Dorico installer installing Pro instead of Element

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
wasserstoff
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2016 10:06 am
Contact:

Dorico installer installing Pro instead of Element

Post by wasserstoff » Tue Jan 22, 2019 4:58 pm

Hi,

I tried three times to download and install Elements from Steinberg Dowload manager without success.
I choose Dorico Elements 2.2 - Application installer 337.03 MB. The installer propose to install Dorico 2 without specifying Pro nor Elements version.
When I run the installed product, it displays a splash screen mentionning Dorico Pro 2 which is confirmed by the version number in the Help menu.

Unless Steinberg wants to give me the Pro version for free, how could I force the installer to install the Elements version? 8-)

thanks for your help

benwiggy
Senior Member
Posts: 1331
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Dorico installer installing Pro instead of Element

Post by benwiggy » Tue Jan 22, 2019 5:03 pm

The software is the same: only the licence defines whether it is Pro or Elements.
MacMini 2018, 3GHz i5, 32Gb RAM | MacBook Pro 2014, 2.2 GHz i7 | Garritan Personal Orchestra 5
Ancient Groove Music

wasserstoff
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2016 10:06 am
Contact:

Re: Dorico installer installing Pro instead of Element

Post by wasserstoff » Tue Jan 22, 2019 5:17 pm

ok but why is it launching the Pro version when I entered an Elements licence in Elicenser? I suppose it's messing with the Pro demo I once installed but I removed it since then and the trial period is over.

benwiggy
Senior Member
Posts: 1331
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Dorico installer installing Pro instead of Element

Post by benwiggy » Tue Jan 22, 2019 5:31 pm

Can you see/use Engrave mode? IF not, then it's Elements.
MacMini 2018, 3GHz i5, 32Gb RAM | MacBook Pro 2014, 2.2 GHz i7 | Garritan Personal Orchestra 5
Ancient Groove Music

Derrek
Senior Member
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Dorico installer installing Pro instead of Element

Post by Derrek » Tue Jan 22, 2019 7:10 pm

Dorico 3.0, Finale (v26), GPO, JABB3, GWI, NotePerformer 3, CuBase newbie
Windows 10 (also Mac Mojave as alternate)
US English Keyboard

wasserstoff
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2016 10:06 am
Contact:

Re: Dorico installer installing Pro instead of Element

Post by wasserstoff » Tue Jan 22, 2019 8:21 pm

benwiggy wrote:
Tue Jan 22, 2019 5:31 pm
Can you see/use Engrave mode? IF not, then it's Elements.
Yes I can see it and the Help -> About menu shows clearly that it is the Pro version

wasserstoff
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2016 10:06 am
Contact:

Re: Dorico installer installing Pro instead of Element

Post by wasserstoff » Wed Jan 23, 2019 10:41 am

Derrek wrote:
Tue Jan 22, 2019 7:10 pm
Also discussed here...
viewtopic.php?f=246&t=149819&p=805825&h ... ro#p805825
I'm not sure to understand, there is nothing on the soft elicenser, I added the license to the USB Key. If I unplug the key, I can't start Dorico. And the USB key mention Dorico 2 Element, not Pro.

Derrek
Senior Member
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Dorico installer installing Pro instead of Element

Post by Derrek » Wed Jan 23, 2019 2:39 pm

If you cannot uninstall the demo license from the USB Key, you may have to wait for it to expire before your access to Elements is possible.
Dorico 3.0, Finale (v26), GPO, JABB3, GWI, NotePerformer 3, CuBase newbie
Windows 10 (also Mac Mojave as alternate)
US English Keyboard

wasserstoff
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2016 10:06 am
Contact:

Re: Dorico installer installing Pro instead of Element

Post by wasserstoff » Wed Jan 23, 2019 3:37 pm

sorry, I wasn't clear: the demo license expired and I removed it from the key then added the purchased one.

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 1441
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Dorico installer installing Pro instead of Element

Post by Ulf » Wed Jan 23, 2019 4:29 pm

With every Steinberg dongle comes a time limited license (don't know how long, it's x-hours of usage) for any of the Steinberg products, so I guess Dorico Pro is now running on that license until it counted down. Once that is expired it will only start up as Dorico Elements.
Steinberg employee

wasserstoff
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2016 10:06 am
Contact:

Re: Dorico installer installing Pro instead of Element

Post by wasserstoff » Wed Jan 23, 2019 4:59 pm

I know and that's what I am trying to avoid. I find it strange not being able to choose the version I want to use as I don't plan to use the Pro version before years.

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 1441
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Dorico installer installing Pro instead of Element

Post by Ulf » Thu Jan 24, 2019 9:14 am

We have not such fine grained control over the licenses. When the program starts it asks the eLicenser for a valid license and it starts checking from top down. The Dorico executable is same for Pro and Elements and only the license enables or disables features. So the program will first look for a Pro license and if it finds one, will use that one. In your case that is the 'All application trial' that fits and so that one gets used. If no Pro license is found, then an Elements license is looked for.
If in the future you want to try out other Steinberg products, you can still get separate trial licenses from us.
Steinberg employee

wasserstoff
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2016 10:06 am
Contact:

Re: Dorico installer installing Pro instead of Element

Post by wasserstoff » Thu Jan 24, 2019 1:00 pm

thank you for clarifying the process. My main fear is to use Pro features by mistake that I won't be able to use later in my Elements projects.

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 1441
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Dorico installer installing Pro instead of Element

Post by Ulf » Thu Jan 24, 2019 2:56 pm

The difference basically is, that Elements does not have the Engrave Mode and that it is limited in the number of players - don't know, I think 12 it is.
So if you stay out of Engrave Mode, you should be fine.
And Elements can also load projects created in Pro with engrave options, but you then just can't edit that anymore.
Steinberg employee

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3666
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Dorico installer installing Pro instead of Element

Post by dankreider » Thu Jan 24, 2019 5:35 pm

I would imagine you also should probably not change anything in Engraving Options or Notation Options, just to be safe.
Dan Kreider

Orchestration, transcription, engraving
Dorico training for individuals and teams
www.dankreider.com
---
Dell Precision 7520, Xeon quad-core, 32 GB RAM, Windows 10

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Chris Davey and 3 guests