No Program Changes in VST3 - regrettable decision

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
nylonius
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 12:46 am
Contact:

No Program Changes in VST3 - regrettable decision

Post by nylonius » Sat Feb 02, 2019 12:53 pm

Steinberg's decision of making VST3 instruments unresponsive to MIDI Program Changes means that unless I install my VST3 instruments as VST2, I cannot make nor create and test my live sets in Cubase and have to take them elsewhere.

I wish a plug-in or setting for program changes, CC etc. were created.
Last edited by nylonius on Sat Feb 02, 2019 4:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Arne Scheffler
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:12 am
Contact:

Re: No Program Changes in VST3 - regrettable decision

Post by Arne Scheffler » Sat Feb 02, 2019 3:02 pm

A VST3 plugin can has as many program lists as it wants. If the plug-in does not implement it, it's their fault.
It's the same for MIDI Program Change, not all plug-ins implement this and it's not the fault of Cubase that they don't implement it.

Cheers,
Arne

nylonius
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 12:46 am
Contact:

Re: No Program Changes in VST3 - regrettable decision

Post by nylonius » Sat Feb 02, 2019 4:58 pm

So it is possible to have a VST3instrument respond to MIDI Prg Changes from a MIDI keyboard / interface (DIN cable), provided this functionality is implemented in the VST3 instrument? Could you kindly tell what this parameter is or point me to the specs so I can quote them for the manufacturer. They're under the impression that this is not possible. When I was in contact with them, I got this reply:
"The program change messages are not received by the VST 3 ( this is because Steinberg wanted to abstract all midi messages with VST parameters and prevent the plugins from processing raw midi events). As far as I know, it is a limitation imposed by steinberg, there is no workaround, except by loading the plug-in as a VST2 instead of VST3."
I'm very glad if this is not so - this manufacturer is very responsive to users' wishes, and would surely implement the necessary VST function.
Thank you for your help,
n

Arne Scheffler
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:12 am
Contact:

Re: No Program Changes in VST3 - regrettable decision

Post by Arne Scheffler » Sun Feb 03, 2019 10:02 am

The manufacturer is welcome to join our developer forum at https://sdk.steinberg.net. There we can help him with this stuff.

Cheers,
Arne

nylonius
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 12:46 am
Contact:

Re: No Program Changes in VST3 - regrettable decision

Post by nylonius » Sun Feb 03, 2019 2:41 pm

Thank you! I'll ask them to join the forum. But could you confirm that a VST3 instrument hosted by Cubase will respond to old-style MIDI Program Change (and Bank Change) messages sent from an external MIDI device, provided that the VST3 instrument has the required VST3 parameter implemented?

Arne Scheffler
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:12 am
Contact:

Re: No Program Changes in VST3 - regrettable decision

Post by Arne Scheffler » Mon Feb 04, 2019 8:19 am

yes this is possible the same as with old style VST 2 plug-ins.

nylonius
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 12:46 am
Contact:

Re: No Program Changes in VST3 - regrettable decision

Post by nylonius » Mon Feb 04, 2019 11:33 pm

Excellent! Thank you.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests