Against the big Wall....

For users of legacy Steinberg VST Instruments | VST Effects software
Post Reply
cubawak
Junior Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:59 am
Contact:

Against the big Wall....

Post by cubawak » Wed Nov 16, 2011 4:15 am

I have full version of HSO and I want to kill my self. I used it occasionally here and there. But now I'm working on the big video project and using HSO only. It's a disaster! I only have Halion One. I know that Halion Sonic SE has nice interface that can use HSO. But I had a big problem with it that was never fixed by Steinberg after few one on one sessions.
Is there a way to see HSO different than it is in old version interface? Takes forever to find any instrument. Whenever I want to go back to it it doesn't go straight to it - you have to look for it again.
Anybody - any suggestion?
Cubase Pro 10.0.3 64 bit
WaveLab 9.5 64 bit
Windows 10 64bit
Intel Core i7-4790-K
32 GB RAM
UAD2 Apollo Quad
Roland RD-2000
MASHINE MK3
CH, QC, AI
ADAM A77X
Avantone MixCubes

User avatar
ZeroZero
Senior Member
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Against the big Wall....

Post by ZeroZero » Wed Nov 16, 2011 9:42 am

"Is there a way to see Halion different than in its old version interface?"

I would think not, but if you post your problem step by step, with specifics, someone might be able to help you. I for one was not clear on a] what your problem was, and b] what yyou were looking to do.

This is not meant to be a put down.
Cubase 9, 64 bit Intel 8700k, Asus Rog Strix z390 mobo, 64 gig RAM PC, Win10, Focusrite Liquid 56 Running in Surround 5.1 British Rail sandwich circa 1967, a singing fish and an inert K9.

http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Zero_Zero

cubawak
Junior Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:59 am
Contact:

Re: Against the big Wall....

Post by cubawak » Wed Nov 16, 2011 4:35 pm

Ok.
I. The problem

I’m using HSO full version in its own interface. That interface is (by my own subjective opinion) very bad designed.
It takes a long time to locate an instrument. After I choose an instrument if I want to go back to it I have to look for it again. The whole list of instruments folders are opening.
One time, when I have Halion Sonic SE trial version installed I was able to see HSO in Halion’s interface that was a lot better organized. After my trial version was ended I have to uninstall it. Thank I went through a lot of issues with “no valid license for HS SE”. Even after I uninstalled everything that was associated with that product. I even asked Steinberg for help but after few individual sessions I end up with Halion One (that has only few loops and Yamaha piano). But no more license errors.
I can’t see HSO in Halion Sonic interface anymore since than.

II. What I'm looking for


I’m trying to find a way to see HSO in easier interface (Halion Sonic like). But I don’t think I want to load HS Sonic SE again after what I had to go through.
I know I sound impossible. I want something but I don’t want to make necessary steps.
But maybe someone will have some solution in that matter.
Maybe there is a way to see it in Halion One interface or such…?

This might help to understend:
halion_symphonic_orchestra.jpg
HSO in its original interface
(179.41 KiB) Not downloaded yet
HALION-S-O.jpg
looking for instrument..........
(46.93 KiB) Not downloaded yet
HSO_in_HS.png
HSO in HS
(301.31 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by cubawak on Wed Nov 16, 2011 4:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase Pro 10.0.3 64 bit
WaveLab 9.5 64 bit
Windows 10 64bit
Intel Core i7-4790-K
32 GB RAM
UAD2 Apollo Quad
Roland RD-2000
MASHINE MK3
CH, QC, AI
ADAM A77X
Avantone MixCubes

User avatar
ZeroZero
Senior Member
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Against the big Wall....

Post by ZeroZero » Wed Nov 16, 2011 6:37 pm

Ok I have not used Halion Symphonic orchestra (original) for some years - so i pull out of offering suggestions.

It seems your asking for some kind of new interface
Cubase 9, 64 bit Intel 8700k, Asus Rog Strix z390 mobo, 64 gig RAM PC, Win10, Focusrite Liquid 56 Running in Surround 5.1 British Rail sandwich circa 1967, a singing fish and an inert K9.

http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Zero_Zero

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3620
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Against the big Wall....

Post by JMCecil » Wed Nov 16, 2011 9:59 pm

Why not just use the H-SE patches? They are the same patches, plus you get better expression map support.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

cubawak
Junior Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:59 am
Contact:

Re: Against the big Wall....

Post by cubawak » Thu Nov 17, 2011 1:20 am

Can you please be more specific JMCecil?
Cubase Pro 10.0.3 64 bit
WaveLab 9.5 64 bit
Windows 10 64bit
Intel Core i7-4790-K
32 GB RAM
UAD2 Apollo Quad
Roland RD-2000
MASHINE MK3
CH, QC, AI
ADAM A77X
Avantone MixCubes

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3620
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Against the big Wall....

Post by JMCecil » Thu Nov 17, 2011 1:41 am

cubawak wrote:Can you please be more specific JMCecil?
Look at your last picture you posted. Those patches are the HSO patches. They are slightly reorganized. But, they are essentially the same. Unless you have the full 24bit version that is.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

cubawak
Junior Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:59 am
Contact:

Re: Against the big Wall....

Post by cubawak » Thu Nov 17, 2011 1:54 am

Those pictures are not from my computer. I copy them from net....
I'm looking at my Cubase 6 package and I have Halion Sonic disc. But it is trial version.
Cubase Pro 10.0.3 64 bit
WaveLab 9.5 64 bit
Windows 10 64bit
Intel Core i7-4790-K
32 GB RAM
UAD2 Apollo Quad
Roland RD-2000
MASHINE MK3
CH, QC, AI
ADAM A77X
Avantone MixCubes

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3620
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Against the big Wall....

Post by JMCecil » Thu Nov 17, 2011 2:15 am

I'm trying to remember but I'm thinking the HSO vstsound files are on the C6 install disks.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3620
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Against the big Wall....

Post by JMCecil » Thu Nov 17, 2011 2:18 am

The thing you will have to get used to is that there are fewer patches with more switch/articulations per patch in the vstsound sets. But, you have all the same sounds with full Note and VST expression support through Halion SE. Plus, once you use it, you will REALLY comprehend how awful the original HSO interface was.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

cubawak
Junior Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:59 am
Contact:

Re: Against the big Wall....

Post by cubawak » Thu Nov 17, 2011 2:27 am

I think you narrowed the problem.
I don't have Halion SE in my Cubase....And I'm using 64bit 3.5.0.592 version of HSO
When and where did I loose my SE ?!? And how can I get it back?
Do I have to reinstal HSO to use it as a plug in not as a set?
Too many questions.....
Cubase Pro 10.0.3 64 bit
WaveLab 9.5 64 bit
Windows 10 64bit
Intel Core i7-4790-K
32 GB RAM
UAD2 Apollo Quad
Roland RD-2000
MASHINE MK3
CH, QC, AI
ADAM A77X
Avantone MixCubes

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3620
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Against the big Wall....

Post by JMCecil » Thu Nov 17, 2011 2:28 am

This is where I put the files. Then I scanned from Media Bay.
Image
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3620
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Against the big Wall....

Post by JMCecil » Thu Nov 17, 2011 2:36 am

You don't have this in your VSTi list?

Image
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

cubawak
Junior Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:59 am
Contact:

Re: Against the big Wall....

Post by cubawak » Thu Nov 17, 2011 2:37 am

No - I don't

I found .dll for H SE but it is x86 version.
Cubase Pro 10.0.3 64 bit
WaveLab 9.5 64 bit
Windows 10 64bit
Intel Core i7-4790-K
32 GB RAM
UAD2 Apollo Quad
Roland RD-2000
MASHINE MK3
CH, QC, AI
ADAM A77X
Avantone MixCubes

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3620
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Against the big Wall....

Post by JMCecil » Thu Nov 17, 2011 2:43 am

cubawak wrote:No - I don't

I found .dll for H SE but it is x86 version.
Snag your C6 install disks and do the x64 install of H-SE. Find those vstsound files and copy them to your HD. Scan in Media Bay. You should be good.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

cubawak
Junior Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:59 am
Contact:

Re: Against the big Wall....

Post by cubawak » Thu Nov 17, 2011 3:02 am

Install disc.png
(63.01 KiB) Not downloaded yet
I don't know but I can't locate it....


by the way - how you are paste the pics in this forum instead of attaching links?
Cubase Pro 10.0.3 64 bit
WaveLab 9.5 64 bit
Windows 10 64bit
Intel Core i7-4790-K
32 GB RAM
UAD2 Apollo Quad
Roland RD-2000
MASHINE MK3
CH, QC, AI
ADAM A77X
Avantone MixCubes

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3620
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Against the big Wall....

Post by JMCecil » Thu Nov 17, 2011 3:05 am

I don't have disks handy so I can't look for it.

Those pics are on photobucket and added to this site using

Code: Select all

the [img] tag.  It looks like..
[img]https://someurlwhereyouhaveapicture[/img] 
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

cubawak
Junior Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:59 am
Contact:

Re: Against the big Wall....

Post by cubawak » Thu Nov 17, 2011 3:14 am

Ok - I found it....
It's there.
Cubase Pro 10.0.3 64 bit
WaveLab 9.5 64 bit
Windows 10 64bit
Intel Core i7-4790-K
32 GB RAM
UAD2 Apollo Quad
Roland RD-2000
MASHINE MK3
CH, QC, AI
ADAM A77X
Avantone MixCubes

cubawak
Junior Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:59 am
Contact:

Re: Against the big Wall....

Post by cubawak » Thu Nov 17, 2011 3:45 am

Problem solved - I guess.
Thank you so much JMCecil :D
Cubase Pro 10.0.3 64 bit
WaveLab 9.5 64 bit
Windows 10 64bit
Intel Core i7-4790-K
32 GB RAM
UAD2 Apollo Quad
Roland RD-2000
MASHINE MK3
CH, QC, AI
ADAM A77X
Avantone MixCubes

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3620
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Against the big Wall....

Post by JMCecil » Thu Nov 17, 2011 4:22 am

no prob. Glad is working.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Post Reply

Return to “Legacy Steinberg VST Instruments | VST Effects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests