Pasting goes to the wrong instrument?

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
pat_
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 1:16 am
Contact:

Pasting goes to the wrong instrument?

Post by pat_ » Sat Mar 09, 2019 12:25 pm

I have a flow with a piano part. I want to copy the bass notes into the cello part of a different flow.

Here's what I did:

1. Select the piano bass clef, cmd-c to copy
2. Click on the first measure of the cello part in other flow, cmd-v to paste
3. The notes paste into... the violin part

I've managed to get around this by changing to the cello layout and pasting it directly there, which worked. But, it's slow to switch between instruments as opposed to seeing all of the strings on a single page.

Is there some setting I'm missing for pasting into the selected part?
Last edited by pat_ on Sat Mar 09, 2019 12:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6941
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Pasting goes to the wrong instrument?

Post by pianoleo » Sat Mar 09, 2019 12:29 pm

What version of Dorico are you running? There was a bug in 2.0 but it was fixed...
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.1.10 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

pat_
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 1:16 am
Contact:

Re: Pasting goes to the wrong instrument?

Post by pat_ » Sat Mar 09, 2019 12:33 pm

2.2.0.1108

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6941
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Pasting goes to the wrong instrument?

Post by pianoleo » Sat Mar 09, 2019 12:36 pm

I don't know exactly when the bug was fixed but certainly update - the current version is 2.2.10.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.1.10 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

pat_
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 1:16 am
Contact:

Re: Pasting goes to the wrong instrument?

Post by pat_ » Sat Mar 09, 2019 12:48 pm

I'd say it was fixed somewhere between 2.2.0 and 2.2.10 :)

(I tried "check for updates" which led to a 404, but then remembered the Steinberg install center which had the update)

Thanks!

pat_
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 1:16 am
Contact:

Re: Pasting goes to the wrong instrument?

Post by pat_ » Sat Mar 09, 2019 1:01 pm

hrm, nope, it worked one time and now it's back to pasting to the wrong instrument

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6941
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Pasting goes to the wrong instrument?

Post by pianoleo » Sat Mar 09, 2019 1:03 pm

How are you selecting the piano bass clef stuff?
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.1.10 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

pat_
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 1:16 am
Contact:

Re: Pasting goes to the wrong instrument?

Post by pat_ » Sat Mar 09, 2019 1:07 pm

Well I'm working on a different part now, but seeing the same thing.

In Flow 1:

1. Click the first measure of the piano part (divisi section 1, treble clef)
2. Hold shift and click the last measure (all the notes turn orange)
3. cmd-c to copy

In Flow 2:

1. Click first measure of clarinet part (it turns orange)
2. cmd-v to paste
3. It pastes into the flute part (seems like paste goes into the top-most part in the layout)

pat_
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 1:16 am
Contact:

Re: Pasting goes to the wrong instrument?

Post by pat_ » Sat Mar 09, 2019 1:09 pm

It's weird, I can't paste it anywhere other than the top-most instrument. After I paste it, it goes to the flute... I cut it all from the flute, paste into clarinet, and it goes back to flute.

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6941
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Pasting goes to the wrong instrument?

Post by pianoleo » Sat Mar 09, 2019 1:14 pm

Wait a second: divisi section one? Are you using divisi staves on piano?
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.1.10 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

pat_
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 1:16 am
Contact:

Re: Pasting goes to the wrong instrument?

Post by pat_ » Sat Mar 09, 2019 1:28 pm

Yeah, I created a section player and assigned it piano. I use divisi in there to write individual parts. The piano divisi is my sketch, easy to track how many parts are active. I'm really enjoying that workflow for composing, but now I've hit a wall trying to copy and paste those parts to other instruments.

pat_
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 1:16 am
Contact:

Re: Pasting goes to the wrong instrument?

Post by pat_ » Sat Mar 09, 2019 1:34 pm

I figured it out. I've just been highlighting the measure I want to paste into. I need to press <return> to get the caret, and then paste.

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6941
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Pasting goes to the wrong instrument?

Post by pianoleo » Sat Mar 09, 2019 1:45 pm

You shouldn't need to, but there's probably something Dorico doesn't like with regard to copying from divisi grand staff instruments.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.1.10 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6941
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Pasting goes to the wrong instrument?

Post by pianoleo » Sat Mar 09, 2019 1:51 pm

Actually, I've just tried this. I have no problem copying and pasting from divisi piano staves, in one flow, to single winds in another flow. And no, I'm not invoking the caret.

Image
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.1.10 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

pat_
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 1:16 am
Contact:

Re: Pasting goes to the wrong instrument?

Post by pat_ » Sat Mar 09, 2019 2:04 pm

Okay if you want to test something out...

Give Flow 2 a time sig of 4/4 and a couple empty measures, (not sure if time sig matters for flow 1). Then click on the now-multi-measure rest, and paste.

What I'm seeing is that if I paste into a single measure, it works. But if it's a multi-measure rest, the paste goes to the top instrument.

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6941
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Pasting goes to the wrong instrument?

Post by pianoleo » Sat Mar 09, 2019 2:17 pm

Ah. You didn't mention multi-measure rests! It's really really helpful if you can either describe the problem fully (ALL steps taken, not just the ones that you think are relevant), upload a screenshot or preferably upload a project that demonstrates the problem. If you don't, we end up in these slightly silly situations where it takes 15 posts to say what 1 post could have said.

You can't really select multirests. They're not "real" objects; they're visual representations of absence. Either you'll need to invoke the caret, or (perhaps more usefully, long-term) you'll want to turn off the display of multirests in your score layout. You can do that from here:

Image

Make sure you select the correct layout in the right panel, before fiddling with the settings.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.1.10 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

pat_
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 1:16 am
Contact:

Re: Pasting goes to the wrong instrument?

Post by pat_ » Sun Mar 10, 2019 2:29 am

Ah, I wasn't aware that multi-measure rests are visual representation of absence and thus unsuitable as a pasting target :)

Thank you for the help! I learned a lot while going through this, and I'm glad we got to the bottom of it.

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests