dynamics bug or something

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
cobeer2
New Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2019 7:22 pm
Contact:

dynamics bug or something

Post by cobeer2 » Fri Mar 29, 2019 3:49 pm

I have this violin part with some dynamics and they're all fine.
When I add dynamics to the cello staff (which is the next staff) the dynamics in the violin part get lowered for each dynamic I enter, and keeps on doing this even when I press undo.
This is all in Write mode. When I change to Engrave it is fine, but back in Write it isn't. Doesn't seem like proper behaviour.

Here's the process in screenshots:
Screen Shot 2019-03-29 at 15.43.46.png
(70.66 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screen Shot 2019-03-29 at 15.44.07.png
(80.53 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screen Shot 2019-03-29 at 15.44.19.png
(80.95 KiB) Not downloaded yet
composer/artist
Dorico 2.2.10.1256

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 15311
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: dynamics bug or something

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Fri Mar 29, 2019 3:50 pm

We see this kind of behaviour from time to time in galley view. It is indeed a bug. It would be helpful to have the project file in which this problem occurs.

pwoody6
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 4:02 am
Contact:

Re: dynamics bug or something

Post by pwoody6 » Fri Mar 29, 2019 6:43 pm

I'm having something similar happen. I'm very new to Dorico, so perhaps I'm doing something incorrectly that is very simple. The second screen shot shows what happens to this score when I just add a forte mark. All the staff spacing on the whole page changes. What can I do to solve this?
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-03-29 at 10.39.41 AM.png
(228.08 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screen Shot 2019-03-29 at 10.39.24 AM.png
(229.38 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 15311
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: dynamics bug or something

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Mon Apr 01, 2019 11:54 pm

Welcome to the forum, pwoody6. It looks to me like you have set some of the options on the Vertical Spacing page of Layout Options to be too large, which is forcing Dorico's hand somewhat. In general you should specify the smallest value you can get away with for all of the options on that page, and rely on Dorico to do the right thing with the justification settings. My guess is that you've got the ideal gap between systems set to too large a value.

lucas_r_r
Member
Posts: 247
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 6:19 pm
Contact:

Re: dynamics bug or something

Post by lucas_r_r » Fri Jun 07, 2019 6:39 pm

I have a similar problem that happens only in Galley view when I hit alt up or down in the vln 2 or cello part. Some of the dynamics change positions and keep lowering when I press undo. The only way to reset them is to delete one of the markings and input them again. All the dynamics reset when I do this.
(The file is too large to attach here, thus I send it via Dropbox link)
https://www.dropbox.com/s/dvs6r34pzok4w ... o.zip?dl=0
Lucas Rei Ramos
Composer, Jazz piano player
macOS 10.14.6 Mojave, Dorico Pro 3.0.10
Macbook Pro unibody mid-2012, Intel i7 16GB RAM.
www.lucasreiramos.com

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 15311
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: dynamics bug or something

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Fri Jun 07, 2019 11:54 pm

We have fixed some problems in this area recently, so I am hopeful that once the next version of Dorico is released, this problem won't trouble you any further (unfortunately, however, the next version is not coming any time soon). In the meantime, you should find that when you reopen the project, the dynamics are in a sensible position, and they will print there too, though if you make further edits in that area you may well see the dynamics move in an unexpected way.

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JackvL and 7 guests