Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4284
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by raino » Tue Apr 09, 2019 2:28 am

Currently if I drag a MIDI File onto an existing Instrument Track the resulting MIDI Part gets named the same as the Track instead of the filename. Is there anyway to get it to retain the file's name? I don't see anything in Preferences (doesn't mean it's not there) which is where I'd expect.

As a workaround if I don't drop the file onto a Track it will create a new Track & Part both using the filename. I'd rather avoid creating a bunch of unneeded Tracks that will only get deleted.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
Musicmind
Member
Posts: 404
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 4:42 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by Musicmind » Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:31 pm

Following!
Musicmind (Mind the Music!)
Mac Pro 6.1 64Gb, PC Slave 64GB, Mac Pro 12 48Gb, Mac Pro 8 24Gb, MacBookPro, Apollo interface, Universal Audio (1 card), Waves 9, NI Komplete 10, VSL, EWQL Platinum, BFD3, Superior, Arturia, Sound Toys, Euphonix MC Control + Mix, Neumann mics, DynAudio, Yamaha + Adam monitors, a lot of outboard AND Steinway Concert Grand A ;-)

JohnfromSonar
Junior Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 11:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by JohnfromSonar » Tue Apr 09, 2019 4:32 pm

One advantage of using a rack instrument. Then when you. "As a workaround if I don't drop the file onto a Track it will create a new Track & Part both using the filename. I'd rather avoid creating a bunch of unneeded Tracks that will only get deleted". Just output it to the rack instrument.

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4284
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by raino » Tue Apr 09, 2019 8:30 pm

JohnfromSonar wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 4:32 pm
One advantage of using a rack instrument. Then when you. "As a workaround if I don't drop the file onto a Track it will create a new Track & Part both using the filename. I'd rather avoid creating a bunch of unneeded Tracks that will only get deleted". Just output it to the rack instrument.
Except having a MIDI or Instrument Track play the Part is not what I want to do. I just want to get bunch of MIDI Parts into Cubase each with their own unique names so I can tell them apart. But I'm not looking to initially play them once they are in Cubase. That will happen later in the workflow.

Also when a new Track does get created the MIDI Part is put at the very start of the Track - generally not where it is wanted.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
pliktro
Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:01 am
Contact:

Re: Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by pliktro » Tue Apr 16, 2019 2:28 pm

raino wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 2:28 am
Currently if I drag a MIDI File onto an existing Instrument Track the resulting MIDI Part gets named the same as the Track instead of the filename. Is there anyway to get it to retain the file's name? I don't see anything in Preferences (doesn't mean it's not there) which is where I'd expect.

As a workaround if I don't drop the file onto a Track it will create a new Track & Part both using the filename. I'd rather avoid creating a bunch of unneeded Tracks that will only get deleted.
Finally i can help you too as you helped me in the past. :D
Preferences>Editing (at the Top)>Parts get Track Names (untick it). Screenshot attached.
Hope that helps. ;)
Part Names.png
(62.2 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase 10.0.40 Win7 x64,Cubase Pro 10, CPU : AMD Phenom II X4 955,MB : ASUS M4A78,GPU : XFX AMD RADEON R7 250X ,RAM : 8GB 800 MHz DDR3
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, MacBook Pro Retina 13-inch,OSX 10.13.6,CPU : 2,4 GHz Intel Core i5,GPU Intel Iris 1024 MB,RAM : 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Audio Interface : Digidesign 002r,2xRME Multiface

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4284
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by raino » Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:42 pm

pliktro wrote:
Tue Apr 16, 2019 2:28 pm
Finally i can help you too as you helped me in the past. :D
Preferences>Editing (at the Top)>Parts get Track Names (untick it). Screenshot attached.
Hope that helps. ;) Part Names.png
Yeah you'd think. But that has been unchecked for ages on my DAW. I tried enabling it and drag and dropping a MIDI Part takes the Track Name. Disabling it again also ended up having the Part take the Track Name. :?:
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
sj1
Junior Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 7:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by sj1 » Wed Apr 17, 2019 2:08 pm

This is an area where having the program behave the way you want it to is very helpful to workflow, and having it behave opposite from your wishes is a real drag!

I note also that one may want different behavior at different times.

Therefore, I would like to suggest having 3 options (settable in Preferences):

1. Incoming MIDI parts get Track Name
2. Incoming MIDI parts get their File Name
3. Incoming MIDI parts invoke a dialog which allows either 1, 2, or a custom typed name
Cubase 10.5 Pro, Absolute 4, Groove Agent, Dorico, Win 10 Pro, Korg OASYS, Yamaha Motif XS, KARMA
(Cubase user since the Atari ST days)

User avatar
pliktro
Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:01 am
Contact:

Re: Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by pliktro » Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:20 pm

raino wrote:
Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:42 pm

Yeah you'd think. But that has been unchecked for ages on my DAW. I tried enabling it and drag and dropping a MIDI Part takes the Track Name. Disabling it again also ended up having the Part take the Track Name. :?:
Strange!!!!!! I did check it and it works on my machine. I will make a video...
Cubase 10.0.40 Win7 x64,Cubase Pro 10, CPU : AMD Phenom II X4 955,MB : ASUS M4A78,GPU : XFX AMD RADEON R7 250X ,RAM : 8GB 800 MHz DDR3
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, MacBook Pro Retina 13-inch,OSX 10.13.6,CPU : 2,4 GHz Intel Core i5,GPU Intel Iris 1024 MB,RAM : 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Audio Interface : Digidesign 002r,2xRME Multiface

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4284
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by raino » Wed Apr 17, 2019 9:50 pm

pliktro wrote:
Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:20 pm
raino wrote:
Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:42 pm

Yeah you'd think. But that has been unchecked for ages on my DAW. I tried enabling it and drag and dropping a MIDI Part takes the Track Name. Disabling it again also ended up having the Part take the Track Name. :?:
Strange!!!!!! I did check it and it works on my machine. I will make a video...
That implies there is some other setting that comes into play.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
pliktro
Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:01 am
Contact:

Re: Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by pliktro » Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:19 am

So i did a video about this setting.
If this is the behaviour you want and it don't work for you @raino, then try to trash preferences or safe start or re-install.
I tried this in Windows and Mac.
Here is the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ujPsm7D ... e=youtu.be
Cubase 10.0.40 Win7 x64,Cubase Pro 10, CPU : AMD Phenom II X4 955,MB : ASUS M4A78,GPU : XFX AMD RADEON R7 250X ,RAM : 8GB 800 MHz DDR3
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, MacBook Pro Retina 13-inch,OSX 10.13.6,CPU : 2,4 GHz Intel Core i5,GPU Intel Iris 1024 MB,RAM : 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Audio Interface : Digidesign 002r,2xRME Multiface

User avatar
sj1
Junior Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 7:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by sj1 » Thu Apr 18, 2019 3:32 pm

Video not available (?).
Cubase 10.5 Pro, Absolute 4, Groove Agent, Dorico, Win 10 Pro, Korg OASYS, Yamaha Motif XS, KARMA
(Cubase user since the Atari ST days)

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4284
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by raino » Thu Apr 18, 2019 8:47 pm

sj1 wrote:
Thu Apr 18, 2019 3:32 pm
Video not available (?).
Likewise.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
pliktro
Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:01 am
Contact:

Re: Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by pliktro » Thu Apr 18, 2019 10:23 pm

Sorry i made the video private on mistake.
New link.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ujPsm7D ... dex=6&t=0s
Cubase 10.0.40 Win7 x64,Cubase Pro 10, CPU : AMD Phenom II X4 955,MB : ASUS M4A78,GPU : XFX AMD RADEON R7 250X ,RAM : 8GB 800 MHz DDR3
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, MacBook Pro Retina 13-inch,OSX 10.13.6,CPU : 2,4 GHz Intel Core i5,GPU Intel Iris 1024 MB,RAM : 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Audio Interface : Digidesign 002r,2xRME Multiface

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9618
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by -steve- » Thu Apr 18, 2019 10:46 pm

pliktro wrote:
Thu Apr 18, 2019 10:23 pm
Sorry i made the video private on mistake.
New link.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ujPsm7D ... dex=6&t=0s
Did you try it on MIDI tracks as well?
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

User avatar
pliktro
Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:01 am
Contact:

Re: Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by pliktro » Thu Apr 18, 2019 10:50 pm

No. Let me try now....

edit: OK i did try it on midi tracks and its not working like raino said.
Its for sure a bug.
A good workaround is to drop the midi file on a blank space so it keeps his name.
Cubase 10.0.40 Win7 x64,Cubase Pro 10, CPU : AMD Phenom II X4 955,MB : ASUS M4A78,GPU : XFX AMD RADEON R7 250X ,RAM : 8GB 800 MHz DDR3
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, MacBook Pro Retina 13-inch,OSX 10.13.6,CPU : 2,4 GHz Intel Core i5,GPU Intel Iris 1024 MB,RAM : 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Audio Interface : Digidesign 002r,2xRME Multiface

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4284
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by raino » Fri Apr 19, 2019 2:04 am

pliktro wrote:
Thu Apr 18, 2019 10:23 pm
Sorry i made the video private on mistake.
New link.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ujPsm7D ... dex=6&t=0s
Interesting. I notice when you have "Parts Get Track Names" checked that when you initially drag the external MIDI file onto a Track it retains its file name. But then when you move it to another Track it changes from the file name to the Track name.

As you can see in the attached it never keeps the file's name and always changes to use the Track name even though "Parts Get Track Names" is unchecked. This again makes me suspect there is something else that controls the naming when dragging in external files, while "Parts Get Track Names" controls the naming when moving a Part between Tracks.

midi files get renamed.gif
(677.09 KiB) Not downloaded yet
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9618
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by -steve- » Fri Apr 19, 2019 2:06 am

so it makes no difference whether it's a midi or instrument track, eh?
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

User avatar
pliktro
Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:01 am
Contact:

Re: Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by pliktro » Fri Apr 19, 2019 1:43 pm

I did some extensive tests. I did drag some other midi files and the behaviour was different like on my first video. So i exported my own test midi files and it turns out that the midi file holds its track name from which you are exporting (see video below) when parts get track names is unticked.
So for me the conclusion is: that the type of midi file and the program it was created does play a role to all this but it does not hold the midi file name.
Some of them acted like on the first video.
Some of them kept their name on midi track too.
Some of them took the track name.
Very strange. :?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jgDnv4K ... dex=7&t=4s
Cubase 10.0.40 Win7 x64,Cubase Pro 10, CPU : AMD Phenom II X4 955,MB : ASUS M4A78,GPU : XFX AMD RADEON R7 250X ,RAM : 8GB 800 MHz DDR3
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, MacBook Pro Retina 13-inch,OSX 10.13.6,CPU : 2,4 GHz Intel Core i5,GPU Intel Iris 1024 MB,RAM : 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Audio Interface : Digidesign 002r,2xRME Multiface

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4284
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by raino » Fri Apr 19, 2019 9:21 pm

Based on the video I'm leaning towards Cubase having Alzheimers - that is totally strange. I literally jumped out of my chair when the Part started getting the name of a totally different Track.

All the midi files I've been using were created by dragging a Cubase MIDI Part out into Windows.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
pliktro
Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:01 am
Contact:

Re: Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by pliktro » Sat Apr 20, 2019 12:13 pm

The midi file holds his channel/instrument name from where it was exported.
If you look closely MIDI file pliktro1 was exported from channel test1. pliktro2 from test3 and pliktro3 from midi 2.
And then when I imported them back they kept their channel names not midi file name not the part name.
All this is weird.
Cubase 10.0.40 Win7 x64,Cubase Pro 10, CPU : AMD Phenom II X4 955,MB : ASUS M4A78,GPU : XFX AMD RADEON R7 250X ,RAM : 8GB 800 MHz DDR3
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, MacBook Pro Retina 13-inch,OSX 10.13.6,CPU : 2,4 GHz Intel Core i5,GPU Intel Iris 1024 MB,RAM : 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Audio Interface : Digidesign 002r,2xRME Multiface

Nickeldome
Member
Posts: 763
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by Nickeldome » Sat Apr 20, 2019 2:25 pm

raino wrote:
Fri Apr 19, 2019 9:21 pm
Based on the video I'm leaning towards Cubase having Alzheimers.....
Cubase is getting old.. But it seems Cubase is not the only one with Alzenheimers? :-)

viewtopic.php?t=142098

We've been over this before before haven't we? And I still think it's basically a Windows 7 thing?

Raino, get over your trauma and upgrade to Windows 10 once more? Support for Windows 7 will end soon anyway (14-01-2020). So you're pushing the boundaries anyway. Time to move on!

Make an image, upgrade and evaluate? If you still have 'major issues it's probably something that needed fixing in the first place anyway? So be prepared that you might have to reinstall completely?

I've done this a few times over the last 3 years or so because of corruption and the move to another desktop?
And I can tell you it's a *witch* that will keep you busy for days installing everything again. Maybe even keep you busy for weeks for the minor configurations! But I promise you. In the end it'll be worth it!

Just make sure you make a good image you can restore files and settings from when you need it! So you can compare settings and replace when needed. But really, I didn't need to restore anything myself. Just needed to configure loads of stuff to be happy again! :D
Cubase Pro - Wavelab Pro (always latest version) Windows 10 Pro 64bit / Asus TUF Mark 1 X299 / i9-7900X (at 4.3 GHZ) / 64GB RAM / Geforce GTX 1060 6G / System drive Samsung M.2 1TB 960Pro / Kontakt drives 3 x 1TB Samsung Evo / Project/Audio/Archive drive 10TB Seagate Ironwolf - Audio interface: Roland UA-1610 / External gear: Kawai MP11 / Kurzweil PC88 / Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 / Roland JV1080 / Roland D50 / Korg 01/W / Elka EK22 – Midi controllers: Roli Seabord Rise 49, SoundQuest 8port-SE / Nektar Panorama P1 / Roland Octopad II / Akai MPD18 - Main VST's: Kontakt 6 / Padshop Pro / Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.6, Trillian & Keyscape / Arturia V-collection / FXpansion BFD 3 / Toontrack Superior Drummer 3
All time user of Cubase since Atari V2 (around 1990)

User avatar
pliktro
Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:01 am
Contact:

Re: Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by pliktro » Sat Apr 20, 2019 8:23 pm

@Nickeldome it's not only a Windows issue. The videos I made are in Mac OSX. And the testing was made in Windows too. It was just easier for me to make screen record in a Mac..
Off topic: which version of Windows 10 do you suggest? I want to make the jump from 7 to 10.
Thank you!
Cubase 10.0.40 Win7 x64,Cubase Pro 10, CPU : AMD Phenom II X4 955,MB : ASUS M4A78,GPU : XFX AMD RADEON R7 250X ,RAM : 8GB 800 MHz DDR3
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, MacBook Pro Retina 13-inch,OSX 10.13.6,CPU : 2,4 GHz Intel Core i5,GPU Intel Iris 1024 MB,RAM : 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Audio Interface : Digidesign 002r,2xRME Multiface

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4284
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by raino » Sat Apr 20, 2019 9:08 pm

Nickeldome wrote:
Sat Apr 20, 2019 2:25 pm

Raino, get over your trauma and upgrade to Windows 10 once more? Support for Windows 7 will end soon anyway (14-01-2020). So you're pushing the boundaries anyway. Time to move on!
In theory I agree, but I'm not ready to buy a new PC yet. And the one I have will not properly upgrade. I spent over two weeks trying, symptoms were extensively explored online, disks were cloned & replaced, many many many registry entries were edited, I learned where the elusive backdoor at Central Computer in downtown SF is hidden. No matter what, as a Win10 machine within 5 minutes to 3 hours after booting the PC became 100% non-responsive even with nothing else running.

Beside's it runs everything I need to do. If midi filenames is the cost I can live with that burden. And I don't miss Microsoft's heavy handed Win10 upgrades that sometimes mess up DAWS. As an ex-IT guy I'm totally comfortable not having ongoing MS support.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Nickeldome
Member
Posts: 763
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by Nickeldome » Sat Apr 20, 2019 9:47 pm

pliktro wrote:
Sat Apr 20, 2019 8:23 pm
@Nickeldome it's not only a Windows issue. The videos I made are in Mac OSX. And the testing was made in Windows too. It was just easier for me to make screen record in a Mac..
Off topic: which version of Windows 10 do you suggest? I want to make the jump from 7 to 10.
Thank you!
I've tested this on v1709 and v1809. I'm currently working on v1809 without any issues. I have no issues retaining the midi filename after dragging! See screenshot.
Attachments
Cubase-1809.PNG
(97.98 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase Pro - Wavelab Pro (always latest version) Windows 10 Pro 64bit / Asus TUF Mark 1 X299 / i9-7900X (at 4.3 GHZ) / 64GB RAM / Geforce GTX 1060 6G / System drive Samsung M.2 1TB 960Pro / Kontakt drives 3 x 1TB Samsung Evo / Project/Audio/Archive drive 10TB Seagate Ironwolf - Audio interface: Roland UA-1610 / External gear: Kawai MP11 / Kurzweil PC88 / Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 / Roland JV1080 / Roland D50 / Korg 01/W / Elka EK22 – Midi controllers: Roli Seabord Rise 49, SoundQuest 8port-SE / Nektar Panorama P1 / Roland Octopad II / Akai MPD18 - Main VST's: Kontakt 6 / Padshop Pro / Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.6, Trillian & Keyscape / Arturia V-collection / FXpansion BFD 3 / Toontrack Superior Drummer 3
All time user of Cubase since Atari V2 (around 1990)

Nickeldome
Member
Posts: 763
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Possible to retain midi file names for Parts?

Post by Nickeldome » Sat Apr 20, 2019 10:23 pm

raino wrote:
Sat Apr 20, 2019 9:08 pm
Nickeldome wrote:
Sat Apr 20, 2019 2:25 pm

Raino, get over your trauma and upgrade to Windows 10 once more? Support for Windows 7 will end soon anyway (14-01-2020). So you're pushing the boundaries anyway. Time to move on!
In theory I agree, but I'm not ready to buy a new PC yet. And the one I have will not properly upgrade. I spent over two weeks trying, symptoms were extensively explored online, disks were cloned & replaced, many many many registry entries were edited, I learned where the elusive backdoor at Central Computer in downtown SF is hidden. No matter what, as a Win10 machine within 5 minutes to 3 hours after booting the PC became 100% non-responsive even with nothing else running.

Beside's it runs everything I need to do. If midi filenames is the cost I can live with that burden. And I don't miss Microsoft's heavy handed Win10 upgrades that sometimes mess up DAWS. As an ex-IT guy I'm totally comfortable not having ongoing MS support.
Every one is weary of updates by Microsoft. :-( If you're happy with Windows 7 and don't want to move to v10 then by all means stick to this. But realize that Steinberg is also moving on and you may get incompatibility issues eventually? I think new employments are even only tested on 10? So be aware of other incompatibility issues in the near future?
Cubase Pro - Wavelab Pro (always latest version) Windows 10 Pro 64bit / Asus TUF Mark 1 X299 / i9-7900X (at 4.3 GHZ) / 64GB RAM / Geforce GTX 1060 6G / System drive Samsung M.2 1TB 960Pro / Kontakt drives 3 x 1TB Samsung Evo / Project/Audio/Archive drive 10TB Seagate Ironwolf - Audio interface: Roland UA-1610 / External gear: Kawai MP11 / Kurzweil PC88 / Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 / Roland JV1080 / Roland D50 / Korg 01/W / Elka EK22 – Midi controllers: Roli Seabord Rise 49, SoundQuest 8port-SE / Nektar Panorama P1 / Roland Octopad II / Akai MPD18 - Main VST's: Kontakt 6 / Padshop Pro / Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.6, Trillian & Keyscape / Arturia V-collection / FXpansion BFD 3 / Toontrack Superior Drummer 3
All time user of Cubase since Atari V2 (around 1990)

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aptmusic9 and 10 guests