MIDI Devices/Panels Questions - Is there a way to dump my current synths program parameters to my midi device panel?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
Post Reply
WastingYourTime
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:11 pm

MIDI Devices/Panels Questions - Is there a way to dump my current synths program parameters to my midi device panel?

Post by WastingYourTime » Thu Apr 18, 2019 10:19 pm

I was curious if there is a way to do this?

It seems MIDI devices is a bit of a one way road in the sense that it only sends output.

Is there a way to send my synths current program parameter values to my midi device panel, so that I can save it as a preset?


I'm also having trouble understanding the difference between 'Snapshot' preset type, and 'Reference' preset type.

Thanks

Nickeldome
Member
Posts: 694
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Devices/Panels Questions - Is there a way to dump my current synths program parameters to my midi device panel?

Post by Nickeldome » Fri Apr 19, 2019 10:22 am

Preset References can only hold the preset name and the bank select/program change numbers. Snapshots can additionally contain parameter data. So you can for instance store the complete patch data in these and send it to the temporary memory of the midi device.

For your other question. If you use snapshots yes. theoretically you could get your synth to dump all patch data to a snapshot. If so it should be mentioned in the midi implementation of your synths manual and how you can trigger that. The best way to find out how to do this is to take a look at an instrument panel of maybe another synth that already has this functionality and try to figure out how to this for your synth. There are several sites on the net that let you download pre-configured panels for this purpose. Just do a Google search on synth name and Cubase device panels.
Cubase Pro - Wavelab Pro (always latest version) Windows 10 Pro 64bit / Asus TUF Mark 1 X299 / i9-7900X (at 4.3 GHZ) / 64GB RAM / Geforce GTX 1060 6G / System drive Samsung M.2 1TB 960Pro / Kontakt drives 3 x 1TB Samsung Evo / Project/Audio/Archive drive 10TB Seagate Ironwolf - Audio interface: Roland UA-1610 / External gear: Kawai MP11 / Kurzweil PC88 / Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 / Roland JV1080 / Roland D50 / Korg 01/W / Elka EK22 – Midi controllers: Roli Seabord Rise 49, SoundQuest 8port-SE / Nektar Panorama P1 / Roland Octopad II / Akai MPD18 - Main VST's: Kontakt 6 / Padshop Pro / Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.6, Trillian & Keyscape / Arturia V-collection / FXpansion BFD 3 / Toontrack Superior Drummer 3
All time user of Cubase since Atari V2 (around 1990)

WastingYourTime
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:11 pm

Re: MIDI Devices/Panels Questions - Is there a way to dump my current synths program parameters to my midi device panel?

Post by WastingYourTime » Fri Apr 19, 2019 2:18 pm

Nickeldome wrote:
Fri Apr 19, 2019 10:22 am
Preset References can only hold the preset name and the bank select/program change numbers. Snapshots can additionally contain parameter data. So you can for instance store the complete patch data in these and send it to the temporary memory of the midi device.

For your other question. If you use snapshots yes. theoretically you could get your synth to dump all patch data to a snapshot. If so it should be mentioned in the midi implementation of your synths manual and how you can trigger that. The best way to find out how to do this is to take a look at an instrument panel of maybe another synth that already has this functionality and try to figure out how to this for your synth. There are several sites on the net that let you download pre-configured panels for this purpose. Just do a Google search on synth name and Cubase device panels.
Thanks, it's a Nord Wave. I've never been able to find a panel for the Nord Wave.

There's something in the Nord Manual:

'MIDI Dump One
Press Store to transmit the currently active Program as a Sysex Dump'

It doesn't really offer any details though. And what exactly in Cubase do I dump this to?

Nickeldome
Member
Posts: 694
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Devices/Panels Questions - Is there a way to dump my current synths program parameters to my midi device panel?

Post by Nickeldome » Sat Apr 20, 2019 3:48 am

WastingYourTime wrote:
Fri Apr 19, 2019 2:18 pm

Thanks, it's a Nord Wave. I've never been able to find a panel for the Nord Wave.

There's something in the Nord Manual:

'MIDI Dump One
Press Store to transmit the currently active Program as a Sysex Dump'

It doesn't really offer any details though. And what exactly in Cubase do I dump this to?
Forget about it! Nord is the worst when it comes to midi implementation! You need HEX addresses for this to make it work. And Nord has a habit of not sharing this. However, there's still a way to extract these if you record the dump on a midi track in Cubase after you press the 'store' button. You can then open the list editor and see how the dump is build? But frankly, it's really a bridge too far to exactly explain here how to read this and implement it in a midi device panel.

Your best bet is to make a patch list so you can send program changes (without parameter data) and make a panel that controls CC's to manipulate various parameters.
Cubase Pro - Wavelab Pro (always latest version) Windows 10 Pro 64bit / Asus TUF Mark 1 X299 / i9-7900X (at 4.3 GHZ) / 64GB RAM / Geforce GTX 1060 6G / System drive Samsung M.2 1TB 960Pro / Kontakt drives 3 x 1TB Samsung Evo / Project/Audio/Archive drive 10TB Seagate Ironwolf - Audio interface: Roland UA-1610 / External gear: Kawai MP11 / Kurzweil PC88 / Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 / Roland JV1080 / Roland D50 / Korg 01/W / Elka EK22 – Midi controllers: Roli Seabord Rise 49, SoundQuest 8port-SE / Nektar Panorama P1 / Roland Octopad II / Akai MPD18 - Main VST's: Kontakt 6 / Padshop Pro / Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.6, Trillian & Keyscape / Arturia V-collection / FXpansion BFD 3 / Toontrack Superior Drummer 3
All time user of Cubase since Atari V2 (around 1990)

WastingYourTime
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:11 pm

Re: MIDI Devices/Panels Questions - Is there a way to dump my current synths program parameters to my midi device panel?

Post by WastingYourTime » Sun Apr 21, 2019 11:04 pm

Nickeldome wrote:
Sat Apr 20, 2019 3:48 am
WastingYourTime wrote:
Fri Apr 19, 2019 2:18 pm

Thanks, it's a Nord Wave. I've never been able to find a panel for the Nord Wave.

There's something in the Nord Manual:

'MIDI Dump One
Press Store to transmit the currently active Program as a Sysex Dump'

It doesn't really offer any details though. And what exactly in Cubase do I dump this to?
Forget about it! Nord is the worst when it comes to midi implementation! You need HEX addresses for this to make it work. And Nord has a habit of not sharing this. However, there's still a way to extract these if you record the dump on a midi track in Cubase after you press the 'store' button. You can then open the list editor and see how the dump is build? But frankly, it's really a bridge too far to exactly explain here how to read this and implement it in a midi device panel.

Your best bet is to make a patch list so you can send program changes (without parameter data) and make a panel that controls CC's to manipulate various parameters.
Thanks man, you seem you mght also have an answer to this - is there a way to automate the midi device panel controls that I make? I can't figure out where or how, there is no write/reaad function on the device panels themselves and doing it on the track doesn' work

Nickeldome
Member
Posts: 694
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Devices/Panels Questions - Is there a way to dump my current synths program parameters to my midi device panel?

Post by Nickeldome » Fri Apr 26, 2019 10:56 am

WastingYourTime wrote:
Sun Apr 21, 2019 11:04 pm

Thanks man, you seem you mght also have an answer to this - is there a way to automate the midi device panel controls that I make? I can't figure out where or how, there is no write/reaad function on the device panels themselves and doing it on the track doesn' work
Sorry for delay. As far as I know there's no way to automate this. Device panels is a rather old technology that has never been developed further after Cubase VST32 (around 2002). So it will miss a lot of functionality found in today's Cubase elsewhere. Besides this it's rather 'buggy' and unpredictable sometimes. It can be useful to control some Sysex stuff of external devices but besides that I really don't use it for much else nowadays. External midi controllers is more or less replacement for this.
Last edited by Nickeldome on Fri Apr 26, 2019 11:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase Pro - Wavelab Pro (always latest version) Windows 10 Pro 64bit / Asus TUF Mark 1 X299 / i9-7900X (at 4.3 GHZ) / 64GB RAM / Geforce GTX 1060 6G / System drive Samsung M.2 1TB 960Pro / Kontakt drives 3 x 1TB Samsung Evo / Project/Audio/Archive drive 10TB Seagate Ironwolf - Audio interface: Roland UA-1610 / External gear: Kawai MP11 / Kurzweil PC88 / Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 / Roland JV1080 / Roland D50 / Korg 01/W / Elka EK22 – Midi controllers: Roli Seabord Rise 49, SoundQuest 8port-SE / Nektar Panorama P1 / Roland Octopad II / Akai MPD18 - Main VST's: Kontakt 6 / Padshop Pro / Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.6, Trillian & Keyscape / Arturia V-collection / FXpansion BFD 3 / Toontrack Superior Drummer 3
All time user of Cubase since Atari V2 (around 1990)

WastingYourTime
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:11 pm

Re: MIDI Devices/Panels Questions - Is there a way to dump my current synths program parameters to my midi device panel?

Post by WastingYourTime » Fri Apr 26, 2019 11:09 am

Nickeldome wrote:
Fri Apr 26, 2019 10:56 am
WastingYourTime wrote:
Sun Apr 21, 2019 11:04 pm

Thanks man, you seem you mght also have an answer to this - is there a way to automate the midi device panel controls that I make? I can't figure out where or how, there is no write/reaad function on the device panels themselves and doing it on the track doesn' work
Sorry for delay. As far as I know there's no way to automate this. Device panels is a rather old technology that has never been developed further after Cubase VST32 (around 2002). So it will miss a lot of functionality found in today's Cubase elsewhere. Besides this it's rather 'buggy' and unpredictable sometimes. It can be useful to control some Sysex stuff of external devices but besides that I really don't use for much else nowadays. External midi controllers is more or less replacement for this.
Thanks, figured it was another one of those spaces in Cubase that is frozen in time by a decade. I was thinking it would have been a good way to setup automation of external devices but seeing as it doesn't feature automation.... I guess not.

Is there a way to create CC Maps in Cubase like one could with Drum Maps so that the CC automation values are named properly for what they are controlling?

Nickeldome
Member
Posts: 694
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI Devices/Panels Questions - Is there a way to dump my current synths program parameters to my midi device panel?

Post by Nickeldome » Sat Apr 27, 2019 7:39 am

WastingYourTime wrote:
Fri Apr 26, 2019 11:09 am

Thanks, figured it was another one of those spaces in Cubase that is frozen in time by a decade. I was thinking it would have been a good way to setup automation of external devices but seeing as it doesn't feature automation.... I guess not.

Is there a way to create CC Maps in Cubase like one could with Drum Maps so that the CC automation values are named properly for what they are controlling?
No. Because it wouldn't make any sense to do so because fixed CC's like volume, pitch bend and modulation are already known and the other CC's are freely assignable to whatever purpose you choose. You can assign those per device via quick controls for instance.
Cubase Pro - Wavelab Pro (always latest version) Windows 10 Pro 64bit / Asus TUF Mark 1 X299 / i9-7900X (at 4.3 GHZ) / 64GB RAM / Geforce GTX 1060 6G / System drive Samsung M.2 1TB 960Pro / Kontakt drives 3 x 1TB Samsung Evo / Project/Audio/Archive drive 10TB Seagate Ironwolf - Audio interface: Roland UA-1610 / External gear: Kawai MP11 / Kurzweil PC88 / Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 / Roland JV1080 / Roland D50 / Korg 01/W / Elka EK22 – Midi controllers: Roli Seabord Rise 49, SoundQuest 8port-SE / Nektar Panorama P1 / Roland Octopad II / Akai MPD18 - Main VST's: Kontakt 6 / Padshop Pro / Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.6, Trillian & Keyscape / Arturia V-collection / FXpansion BFD 3 / Toontrack Superior Drummer 3
All time user of Cubase since Atari V2 (around 1990)

WastingYourTime
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:11 pm

Re: MIDI Devices/Panels Questions - Is there a way to dump my current synths program parameters to my midi device panel?

Post by WastingYourTime » Sun Apr 28, 2019 4:05 am

Nickeldome wrote:
Sat Apr 27, 2019 7:39 am
WastingYourTime wrote:
Fri Apr 26, 2019 11:09 am

Thanks, figured it was another one of those spaces in Cubase that is frozen in time by a decade. I was thinking it would have been a good way to setup automation of external devices but seeing as it doesn't feature automation.... I guess not.

Is there a way to create CC Maps in Cubase like one could with Drum Maps so that the CC automation values are named properly for what they are controlling?
No. Because it wouldn't make any sense to do so because fixed CC's like volume, pitch bend and modulation are already known and the other CC's are freely assignable to whatever purpose you choose. You can assign those per device via quick controls for instance.
But there's no way to map out my entire nord wave CC message list as a preset I can load in on a midi track to quickly see and be able to draw in the correct control?

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Derrek, Piotr Kubiak, vanrobi and 6 guests