How to transpose

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
Ibadez38
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:18 am
Contact:

How to transpose

Post by Ibadez38 » Tue Apr 23, 2019 6:41 pm

Hello, I searched but I didn't find how to transpose the instruments.

The clarinet should be written a second major above and have two sharp in the armor.

The bass clarinet should be written a ninth above and have two sharp in armor.

The double bass sounds two octaves below the cello when it should sound one octave below.

And so on...

Image
(Images are not taken at the same place on the score)

Thank you for your help.

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3774
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by dankreider » Tue Apr 23, 2019 6:43 pm

Is this an XML import? If so, you may need to manually reassign the instruments to each staff to make the transpositions show. They should display automatically if you’re in transposed score.
Dan Kreider

Orchestration, transcription, engraving
Dorico training for individuals and teams
www.dankreider.com
---
Dorico 3; Dell Precision 7520, Xeon quad-core, 32 GB RAM, Windows 10

Ibadez38
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:18 am
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by Ibadez38 » Tue Apr 23, 2019 6:50 pm

I imported an xml file where I copied, pasted each instrument into my template.


I just noticed that even if I open a new project or template created by Dorico, the Clarinet and other transposing instruments are written in C and have no alteration on their armors without a key in C major for example.

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3774
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by dankreider » Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:01 pm

Are you sure you’re viewing in Transposed Pitch? Sounds like you’re in Concert Pitch. Check the Edit menu.
Dan Kreider

Orchestration, transcription, engraving
Dorico training for individuals and teams
www.dankreider.com
---
Dorico 3; Dell Precision 7520, Xeon quad-core, 32 GB RAM, Windows 10

Ibadez38
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:18 am
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by Ibadez38 » Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:19 pm

Indeed it was that....

Thank you for your help.

Ibadez38
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:18 am
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by Ibadez38 » Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:36 pm

So I can't find a way to fix the problem for the counter bass.

It sounds an octave too low, I know that on sibelius it was possible to solve this problem by editing the instrument.

Being new to Dorico I don't know how to proceed.

ChuckDimeCliff
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 8:44 pm
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by ChuckDimeCliff » Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:52 pm

Contrabass should be written an octave higher than sounding in both transposed and concert scores. To do so otherwise is wrong.

Ibadez38
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:18 am
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by Ibadez38 » Tue Apr 23, 2019 8:33 pm

As I said earlier, my double bass sounds 2 octaves too low.

In this image it sounds an octave lower than the cello when it should sound in unison.
Image

In this image it sounds 2 octaves too low when it should sound one octave lower than the cello.
Image

The problem comes from my VST but on Sibelius there was a way to get around the problem by editing the instrument once and for all. I would write any note and the range was always the right one.

I'm looking for the same thing on Dorico.

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3164
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by MarcLarcher » Tue Apr 23, 2019 10:23 pm

Dear Ibadez38,
You should be able to solve the problem in the vsti itself (look for an octave or pitch change. By the way, which vsti are you using?)
A little bit out of topic, if you're a french speaking user, I created a group on Facebook (groupe des utilisateurs francophones de Dorico), it might be easier to help you there 😉
OS X 10.14.6, macbook pro retina Late 2013
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and music engraver (Dorico Pro 3.0.10, and Photoscore Ultimate 8.8.7)
French is my native language

Ibadez38
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:18 am
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by Ibadez38 » Tue Apr 23, 2019 10:43 pm

Thank you for your answer.

I use Cinematic Studio String and it has no settings to adjust the pitch.
Maybe by tinkering directly with kontakt this may be possible but I prefer to avoid it because I don't know kontakt well enough.

The function was present on Sibelius, so I ask if it is also present on Dorico.

----------------------------------------------------

Merci pour votre réponse.

J'utilise Cinematic Studio String et il ni a pas de réglages pour régler la hauteur.
Peut être qu'en bidouillant directement kontakt cela peut être possible mais je préfère éviter car je ne connais pas assez kontakt.

La fonction était présente sur Sibelius, c'est pourquoi je demande si elle est présente aussi sur Dorico. Si elle ni est pas pour le moment peut être le sera t-elle dans de futur maj.

Merci beaucoup pour l'information Facebook. Je m'y suis inscrit.

pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5424
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by pianoleo » Tue Apr 23, 2019 10:43 pm

It’s not present within Dorico itself - you’re expected to fix it yourself from within the VST.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1ghz dual-core i7, 8gb RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16gb RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 13358
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Wed Apr 24, 2019 9:16 am

To solve the double bass sounding an octave lower than it should, set up your expression map to transpose the notes up by an octave.

Ibadez38
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:18 am
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by Ibadez38 » Wed Apr 24, 2019 7:49 pm

Thank you, but it was obvious. :oops:

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mducharme, pianoleo, smartassmusic and 10 guests