Selecting barlines and cycling forward/back with keyboard

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
jacobsilver
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 7:20 pm
Contact:

Selecting barlines and cycling forward/back with keyboard

Post by jacobsilver » Sat Sep 07, 2019 4:13 pm

In Dorico 2, you could hit tab and have the next barline selected, where you could then hit shift-b to create double barlines, repeats, etc. You could also then hit tab again to move forward to the next barline, and shift-tab to go back one barline. None of that seems to work anymore with Dorico 3. The only way I can figure out to select barlines is by clicking on the barline itself. Is there any way in Dorico 3 to select barlines and cycle back and forth with only the keyboard?

LOVE the new update! I'm super into the color scheme, and my projects with 50+ flows are much faster. That alone is worth the update.

Jacob

BassoContinuo
New Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 1:14 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Selecting barlines and cycling forward/back with keyboard

Post by BassoContinuo » Sat Sep 07, 2019 4:48 pm

See version history, p. 58, second paragraph.
Win10 x64 (German) · i7 · 16GB · Dorico 3.5.0 · NotePerformer 3.3.1

jacobsilver
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 7:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting barlines and cycling forward/back with keyboard

Post by jacobsilver » Sat Sep 07, 2019 5:05 pm

aha! Thanks for the tip. Though now it seems I'm having an issue binding Tab to a key command, as the release notes suggest. Anyone else having this issue? Any other key works fine. I'm on Mojave, 10.14.6

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 17070
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Selecting barlines and cycling forward/back with keyboard

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Sat Sep 07, 2019 8:04 pm

Heh, yes, you can't assign Tab via the interface, which isn't ideal: Tab causes that control to lose focus. You could assign that command to another key combination, then quit Dorico, and in a text editor edit the file keycommands_en.json (or whatever language you use) from /Users/your-username/Library/Application Support/Steinberg/Dorico 3 to replace the key you had to choose with Tab, which is indeed represented in that format as simply "Tab". Sorry for the inconvenience!

jacobsilver
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 7:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting barlines and cycling forward/back with keyboard

Post by jacobsilver » Sun Sep 08, 2019 8:52 am

Thanks Daniel for the suggestion. That's what I'll do. Much appreciated!

jacobsilver
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 7:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting barlines and cycling forward/back with keyboard

Post by jacobsilver » Mon Dec 30, 2019 5:32 pm

Hi Daniel,

I'm just getting around to trying this out, and I'm not having any luck. I've gone into the keycommands_en.json file and changed the key command to "Tab" and "Shift+Tab", and it doesn't seem to work. If I go into the Dorico Key Commands preferences, I can see that it has recognized the entries, as it says the command is there (it displays the tab icon which I don't know how to type), but hitting tab does nothing in Dorico. If I set the commands to something else, like alt+1 and alt+2, it works just fine.

Also, is there a way to select the next/previous note if the barline is currently selected?

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 7351
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Selecting barlines and cycling forward/back with keyboard

Post by pianoleo » Mon Dec 30, 2019 5:42 pm

Have you removed the existing uses of Tab and Shift+Tab from within the key commands dialog? If not, you'll have a conflict.
Image

You can't (in Dorico 3.0.1) get from a system item (like a barline) to a staff item (like a note) using keyboard shortcuts. I've worked around this by modifying my own behaviour: if I need to enter a repeat/double barline or rehearsal mark I do it from the caret rather than by selecting a barline.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

jacobsilver
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 7:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting barlines and cycling forward/back with keyboard

Post by jacobsilver » Mon Dec 30, 2019 6:15 pm

Thanks pianoleo! That did the trick. I suppose since I edited the key command via the json file, there was no way for Dorico to let me know there was a conflict. I removed the conflict and now it works fine.

I also didn't realize you could enter a repeat/double barline from the caret, so thank you for that tip. Does it create the barline at the grid line just previous to the caret? That seems to be the behavior based on my 30 seconds of testing :)

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 7351
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Selecting barlines and cycling forward/back with keyboard

Post by pianoleo » Mon Dec 30, 2019 6:19 pm

Correct on both counts.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

User avatar
Lillie Harris
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 391
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 11:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting barlines and cycling forward/back with keyboard

Post by Lillie Harris » Mon Dec 30, 2019 6:21 pm

jacobsilver wrote:
Mon Dec 30, 2019 6:15 pm
I also didn't realize you could enter a repeat/double barline from the caret, so thank you for that tip.
This also applies to most notations - such as dynamics, playing techniques, ornaments, etc. Which makes it a good way to input various dynamics within a tie chain, for example :)

jacobsilver
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 7:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting barlines and cycling forward/back with keyboard

Post by jacobsilver » Mon Dec 30, 2019 6:23 pm

Very cool. Thank you both for the help.

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Claude Lapalme, earv, Florian514, FredGUnn, k_b, Le Bossu, pianoleo and 11 guests