Clip gain

Post general topics related to Nuendo 10 here.
Post Reply
gs-dk
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 8:25 am
Contact:

Clip gain

Post by gs-dk » Sun Sep 29, 2019 1:31 pm

Hi
I am a ProTools thinkng about switching to Nuendo, but I will like to hear if the function clip gain is a part of Nuendo? I use it a lot for mixing and editing and not only on the entire clip but with multipoints. Any one with this knowledge?

Thanks in advance.

Tumppi Järnefelt
Member
Posts: 538
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Clip gain

Post by Tumppi Järnefelt » Mon Sep 30, 2019 11:33 am

No, clip gain does not work as it does in PT. Only the Whole clip in the edit window.

But I tend to chop clips to suitable parts and nudge clip gain of those parts. This way I can have clip gain with "envelope".
As a matter of fact I use it the same in PT. I hate to edit in PT with clip gain line visible or toggling it on and off all the time.
Too many thing in a too small visual space IMO...
Intel i7-7700 @3.6 GHz, Win10 home, 64bit
ADK laptop i7, Win7 64bit home
Nuendo 8.xx
Nuendo 10.xx
PT 12.5
RME FF800
DTouch
http://www.finnvox.fi/en/cinepost

cyrileg
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 3:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Clip gain

Post by cyrileg » Mon Sep 30, 2019 4:40 pm

yes, we can do gain clip automation using the pencil tool.
BUT I prefer the solution of Tumppi
Attachments
1.png
(25.07 KiB) Not downloaded yet
i7-4770K, 32Go, SSD's Samsung Pro, W10
Nvidia GTX970 - Blackmagic Decklink Mini monitor -
Steinberg UR824 - Artist Mix & Control - CC121 - Nuage Master + Fader
Nuendo 10.2
Izotope RX7 - Waves Gold - Komplet Ultimate
Nuendo user since N1

Getalife2
Member
Posts: 574
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Clip gain

Post by Getalife2 » Mon Sep 30, 2019 6:00 pm

cyrileg wrote:
Mon Sep 30, 2019 4:40 pm
yes, we can do gain clip automation using the pencil tool.
BUT I prefer the solution of Tumppi
Wow, did not know that. Probably will never use it but nice to know just in case.
N10.0.20 - i7 5960X/32 GB at 4.3GHz with x7 SSDs - Win 7/64 - 2x RME MADI - 3X UAD-2 Quad - VEP

User avatar
audiomonkeys
Junior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Clip gain

Post by audiomonkeys » Mon Sep 30, 2019 6:14 pm

And it all translates back to Pro Tools if you export your session In AAF format, BIG Warning though, if your planning in cutting in Nuendo and exporting to Pro Toos for the mix, Make sure all your files are in the same sample rate. if your session is 48 and you have files that are 96 or 41k, converting them after the fact will mess up all your edits in the timeline. Otherwise is been rock solid with all the export I've done.
Nuendo 10.2.10 , Video Decoder for Avid DNxHD(R) Spectralayers Pro 6 Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10
Mac Pro 5.1 3.33 Ghz - 12 core, 32 Bg RAM. OS10.12.6 Smart AV Tango +12 fader Ext, Dolby Atmos Suite, Blackmagic Intensity Pro - 5 litres of good Japanese Sake (and more coming) and 100% no CRACK plugins

Tumppi Järnefelt
Member
Posts: 538
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Clip gain

Post by Tumppi Järnefelt » Mon Sep 30, 2019 7:41 pm

cyrileg wrote:
Mon Sep 30, 2019 4:40 pm
yes, we can do gain clip automation using the pencil tool.
BUT I prefer the solution of Tumppi
Yes, of course you are right. I had forgotten this as it is not very precise. Have used I few times and then forgot about it :lol:
Intel i7-7700 @3.6 GHz, Win10 home, 64bit
ADK laptop i7, Win7 64bit home
Nuendo 8.xx
Nuendo 10.xx
PT 12.5
RME FF800
DTouch
http://www.finnvox.fi/en/cinepost

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dolfo, Timeline and 2 guests