Halion Sonic 1.5 will not validate in Logic

All topics on HALion 4, HALion 5 and Steinberg's VST workstations HALion Sonic 1 and HALion Sonic 2
Post Reply
anthonyw
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:48 am
Contact:

Halion Sonic 1.5 will not validate in Logic

Post by anthonyw » Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:51 am

After I installed the Halion Sonic 1.5 it will not validate in Logic. It causes Logic AU validation to hang. Any help?

Image

anthonyw
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:48 am
Contact:

Re: Halion Sonic 1.5 will not validate in Logic

Post by anthonyw » Sat Jan 15, 2011 1:58 am

OK, I tried again, and this time it took about an hour, but after waiting all that time it crashed validation...

anthonyw
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:48 am
Contact:

Re: Halion Sonic 1.5 will not validate in Logic

Post by anthonyw » Sat Jan 15, 2011 10:18 am

Ok, the only way I was able to get 1.5 to work was to:

1. Copy the AU wrapper and VST3 plugin to a different location.
2. Install 1.5
3. Replace 1.5 VST with 1.0
4. Launch Logic and validate Halion Sonic.
5. Replace 1.0 VST with 1.5.

cr_huber
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 8:00 am
Contact:

Re: Halion Sonic 1.5 will not validate in Logic

Post by cr_huber » Tue Jan 25, 2011 8:03 am

Hi, Im having the same problem as well.

to anthonyw: can you go into more detail on how you fixed it? which files are the wrapper files and which folder?
Which file do you replace to "Replace 1.5 VST with 1.0" ? Im using AU.

cr_huber
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 8:00 am
Contact:

Re: Halion Sonic 1.5 will not validate in Logic

Post by cr_huber » Wed Jan 26, 2011 6:07 am

Ok i raised a ticket with steinberg and they confirmed the problem but there is no ETA on a fix yet.
I resolved it using the tips above by

1)Install Halion 1.5
2) Copy the following files to an alternate location
3)Copy from Backup drive a version of 1.0 of the following files and replace the 1.5 versions
/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components/HalionSonic.Component
/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST/HalionSonic/HalionSonic.vst
/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST3/HalionSonic/HalionSonic.vst
3) Validate in logic
4) Copy the 1.5 versions back to the same directory and overwrite the 1.0 versions.

Thanks to original poster for the tip

phantrongvu
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:12 am
Contact:

Re: Halion Sonic 1.5 will not validate in Logic

Post by phantrongvu » Sun Feb 06, 2011 12:22 pm

what if I don't have backup? How can I rollback to version 1.0? Or how can I reinstall HALion Sonic? Please help me on this. This is frustrating!!!

phantrongvu
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:12 am
Contact:

Re: Halion Sonic 1.5 will not validate in Logic

Post by phantrongvu » Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:06 pm

cr_huber wrote:Ok i raised a ticket with steinberg and they confirmed the problem but there is no ETA on a fix yet.
I resolved it using the tips above by

1)Install Halion 1.5
2) Copy the following files to an alternate location
3)Copy from Backup drive a version of 1.0 of the following files and replace the 1.5 versions
/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components/HalionSonic.Component
/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST/HalionSonic/HalionSonic.vst
/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST3/HalionSonic/HalionSonic.vst
3) Validate in logic
4) Copy the 1.5 versions back to the same directory and overwrite the 1.0 versions.

Thanks to original poster for the tip
Can you send me those 3 files so I can validate? I don't have copy of them. THanks

phantrongvu
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:12 am
Contact:

Re: Halion Sonic 1.5 will not validate in Logic

Post by phantrongvu » Mon Feb 07, 2011 11:05 am

I did exactly the same thing but it couldn't pass the validation... can anybody help me?

Nico
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 4:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion Sonic 1.5 will not validate in Logic

Post by Nico » Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:04 pm

Hi,
one more suggestion... Could you please try to update your ELC (eLicenser Control Center) to the most recent version? You can download the elc from http://www.elicenser.net. Please let me know if this works.

Cheers, nico

phantrongvu
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:12 am
Contact:

Re: Halion Sonic 1.5 will not validate in Logic

Post by phantrongvu » Mon Feb 07, 2011 11:11 pm

no that doesn't work either. I have to always abort scan in order to get in Logic. Otherwise, it just hangs for ages.

If I replace 1.0 files, it just passes Logic with ease, but If I reset to original 1.5 files, validation just fails.

My system is: iMac, with Mac OS 10.6.6, Halion Sonic 1.5, Logic Express 9.1.3

phantrongvu
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:12 am
Contact:

Re: Halion Sonic 1.5 will not validate in Logic

Post by phantrongvu » Wed Feb 16, 2011 2:07 am

I wouldn't recommend anyone buying Steinberg products because of VERY POOR customer service!

Guest

Re: Halion Sonic 1.5 will not validate in Logic

Post by Guest » Wed Feb 16, 2011 3:17 pm

Ok, with a new install of v1.5, I had to go into the AU Manager to manually check the box and rescan. Under the Compatibility column, it's listed as "crashed validation".

Logic will let me insert it but it's labeled Incompatible in the AU plug-in selection tree.

Other than that it seems to work fine in Logic.

So far I'm really pleased with how it's working in C6.

User avatar
Oliver
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 10:48 am
Contact:

Re: Halion Sonic 1.5 will not validate in Logic

Post by Oliver » Tue Feb 22, 2011 9:40 am

Hi.

I could reproduce it on my Mac.
We are looking at this and it should be fixed with the next update 1.5.1 in the near future.
Unfortunately I do not have an exact release date yet.

Cheers,
Steinberg QA - Test Engineer

Support Knowledge Base
Steinberg on MySpace
Steinberg on Youtube
Steinberg on Twitter
Steinberg on Facebook
Steinberg Sequel on MySpace

Guest

Re: Halion Sonic 1.5 will not validate in Logic

Post by Guest » Tue Feb 22, 2011 2:47 pm

Oliver wrote:Hi.

I could reproduce it on my Mac.
We are looking at this and it should be fixed with the next update 1.5.1 in the near future.
Unfortunately I do not have an exact release date yet.

Cheers,
Hello,

It's really beneficial when users concerns get acknowledged.

I just gotta say that this level of visibility and responsiveness from Steinberg is greatly appreciated!
It's totally absent with some other companies.

Cheers

Guest

Re: Halion Sonic 1.5 will not validate in Logic

Post by Guest » Sat Apr 23, 2011 5:25 pm

HS 1.5.2 successfully passes Logic's validation process. :mrgreen:

Tim Casey
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 10:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion Sonic 1.5 will not validate in Logic

Post by Tim Casey » Fri May 06, 2011 11:28 pm

i have upgrade to 1.5.2 and it shows that it's validated in Logic but my instruments are not showing up in the library on Logic. Any suggestions.

Guest

Re: Halion Sonic 1.5 will not validate in Logic

Post by Guest » Sat May 07, 2011 2:24 pm

All third party plug-ins whether virtual instruments or audio processors need to have their presets saved in Logic in order for the presets to appear in Logic's Library.

So you have two choices:
1. Load HS into Logic, then select your instruments from the HS interface. Honestly, this is the most sensible way to go given the Media Bay-like search filters built into HS.

2. Roll up your sleeves and start saving presets. Two ways you could approach this:
a- save only you favorite, most frequently used instruments
b- save the entire HS library. For this you would create a folder for each Instrument category when saving in Logic. Give each folder a number so that the order of presets will be identical to what's available in HS: 00_Bass, 01_Drums, whatever. Save the presets in their respective folder using the numbering system above to keep the presets in order.

What you loose by doing is: 1. time :shock: , and 2. the ability the HS search filters. Saving your favorites as mentioned in 2a above would make the most sense if you like using Logic's Library.

Post Reply

Return to “Halion 5 | Halion 4 | Halion Sonic | Halion Sonic 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest