hundredths of a frame?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
wwzeitler
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:43 pm
Contact:

hundredths of a frame?

Post by wwzeitler »

Now my frames timeline track is showing hundredths of a frame, namely hh:mm:ss:ff.XX, e.g.

0:01:02:03.45

Why would I want hundredths of a frame? No matter, how do I turn it off (Just HH:MM:SS:FF)? I can't seem to find that option.

THANX!
William Zeitler
Composer :: Glass Armonica :: Piano
Win10/64 | Cubase | Vienna Symphonic Lib & other sample libraries
Finale Refugee
www.WilliamZeitler.com
www.GlassArmonica.com

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5286
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: hundredths of a frame?

Post by Split »

Are you sure it's hundredths and not eightieths?
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

wwzeitler
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:43 pm
Contact:

Re: hundredths of a frame?

Post by wwzeitler »

OK, maybe it IS eightieths! How do I turn it off!?

:-)
William Zeitler
Composer :: Glass Armonica :: Piano
Win10/64 | Cubase | Vienna Symphonic Lib & other sample libraries
Finale Refugee
www.WilliamZeitler.com
www.GlassArmonica.com

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5286
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: hundredths of a frame?

Post by Split »

Don't know :mrgreen:
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: hundredths of a frame?

Post by Conman »

Why?
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

wwzeitler
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:43 pm
Contact:

Re: hundredths of a frame?

Post by wwzeitler »

OK, it IS subframes (80ths of a frame), but toggling Preferences | Transport | Subframes on and off doesn't make any difference.
William Zeitler
Composer :: Glass Armonica :: Piano
Win10/64 | Cubase | Vienna Symphonic Lib & other sample libraries
Finale Refugee
www.WilliamZeitler.com
www.GlassArmonica.com

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: hundredths of a frame?

Post by thinkingcap »

wwzeitler wrote:OK, maybe it IS eightieths! How do I turn it off!?

:-)
As always: In preferences. simple thing...
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

wwzeitler
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:43 pm
Contact:

Re: hundredths of a frame?

Post by wwzeitler »

Yes, of course it is in Preferences | Transport | Subframes, but changing that setting didn't affect the display.

PROBLEM SOLVED (but it's a minor Cubase bug):

The problem turned out to be thus: I started at measure 0, so measure 1 could be time 0:0:0:0 for the beginning of the film and allow for SMPTE syncing. That means that the time at measure 0 is negative. In this scenario all the times display subframes, regardless of the setting in Preferences | Transport | Subframes. When I set the very beginning of the file to be time 0:0:0:0, then subframes display (or not) as specified in Preferences | Transport | Subframes.
William Zeitler
Composer :: Glass Armonica :: Piano
Win10/64 | Cubase | Vienna Symphonic Lib & other sample libraries
Finale Refugee
www.WilliamZeitler.com
www.GlassArmonica.com

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Msen and 5 guests