Sending MIDI clock from Cubase

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
yeloop
Junior Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:19 am
Contact:

Sending MIDI clock from Cubase

Post by yeloop » Thu Jan 26, 2012 2:57 am

Hi Guys,

Hoping you can help with a quick question... I need to send the clock from Cubase to an external synth via MIDI (one USB).

Not sure how to activate this - it's not sending by default (and the external synth is set up to receive external clock), and I've been through (I think) all the preference options, but can't find an option to send the clock via MIDI.

Thanks in advance!
Mike
Mike Pooley
Sydney, Australia
---
MacBook Pro, RME UFX, Event Opal monitors, Nord Stage 2-88, Prophet 08, Kurzweil PC3-61, Nord Wave, Roland TD-12 V-Drums, Yamaha U1 piano.
---
http://www.facebook.com/thepeopledownstairs

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3331
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Sending MIDI clock from Cubase

Post by vic_france » Thu Jan 26, 2012 3:28 am

Transport menu>Project Synchronization Setup>MIDI Clock Out>(checkmark the desired MIDI Clock Destination).
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Sending MIDI clock from Cubase

Post by Strophoid » Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:07 am

And then you enable 'sync' in the transport bar to make it transmit.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Sending MIDI clock from Cubase

Post by thinkingcap » Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:43 am

Strophoid wrote:And then you enable 'sync' in the transport bar to make it transmit.
No - you enable that to make Cubase slave to incoming MTC. So unless you want to do just that, leave it off.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Sending MIDI clock from Cubase

Post by Strophoid » Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:18 pm

Whoops, my bad!
I should've known Vic needs no corrections ;)
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

yeloop
Junior Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:19 am
Contact:

Re: Sending MIDI clock from Cubase

Post by yeloop » Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:52 pm

Thanks guys - I've just tested this and it worked perfectly!

Cheers,
Mike
Mike Pooley
Sydney, Australia
---
MacBook Pro, RME UFX, Event Opal monitors, Nord Stage 2-88, Prophet 08, Kurzweil PC3-61, Nord Wave, Roland TD-12 V-Drums, Yamaha U1 piano.
---
http://www.facebook.com/thepeopledownstairs

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3331
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Sending MIDI clock from Cubase

Post by vic_france » Thu Jan 26, 2012 3:05 pm

Strophoid wrote:Whoops, my bad!
I should've known Vic needs no corrections ;)
(damn! it's so difficult to get spanked nowadays! :P :lol: )
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

msy
Member
Posts: 314
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:37 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Sending MIDI clock from Cubase

Post by msy » Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:16 pm

I'm having trouble keeping Cubase in sync with Clavia Nordlead 3's arpeggiator.

First of all: the first note in the arpeggiator is ALWAYS skipped.
Second: each time the cursor jumps back to the start of a loop, the arpeggiator starts drifting.

Of course this can be a Clavia Nordlead bug, but I wouldn't think Clavia would make such a mistake?

Does anyone know if there is anything I can do to fix this?
Cubase Pro 9.5.41 on Windows 7 using jBridge for 32bit plugins
HALion 6.2
Soundcard: RME Digiface USB with ADA8200
DAW: Intel Core i7 3820 |
ASRock X79 Extreme4 | 6GB DDR3 1600MHz | Samsung EVO SSD 250GB | 2x2TB SATA2 | Geforce 560Ti
Computer related hardware: Access Virus TI, UAD-2 Duo, Behringer BCF2000 (MCU), Nord Lead 4, Eurorack (12U) via ES3/ADAT

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5282
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Sending MIDI clock from Cubase

Post by Split » Tue Jul 16, 2013 8:12 am

msy wrote:I'm having trouble keeping Cubase in sync with Clavia Nordlead 3's arpeggiator.
Should that not be the other way round?

Keeping the Clavia Nordlead 3's arpeggiator in sync with Cubase.

Cubase will be sending the sync? try activating send sync when stopped or whatever it's called!
??????Split
Cubase 10
Still at it... just!

irfanak
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 9:09 am
Contact:

Re: Sending MIDI clock from Cubase

Post by irfanak » Fri Jul 10, 2015 8:09 am

vic_france wrote:Transport menu>Project Synchronization Setup>MIDI Clock Out>(checkmark the desired MIDI Clock Destination).
Hey,

I just tried this on my Cubase 7.5, but it doesn't seem to transmit any midi data to Mutable Instruments Yarns.
What am i doing wrong? Please check screenshot attached.

thanks;

_irfan.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2015-07-10 at 12.38.49 pm (2).png
(339.15 KiB) Not downloaded yet
++ Your age is equal to the number of times you went around the sun ++

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests