Monitoring problem

All topics on the VST Connect products and Studio Pass
gsmccar
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 6:57 am
Contact:

Monitoring problem

Post by gsmccar »

There is a feedback loop between studio and performer. When studio monitor fader is turned up, performer gets feedback.

When performer is recording, studio hears things out of sync but all is in sync to studio and performer when played back.

Monitoring setup problem in Cubase or VST?
Gigabyte P27 laptop running Windows 10; Cubase Pro 10; UR44 interface; M-Audio BGX5a monitors; iLock monitors: Presonus Faderport; "Really Nice Preamp": Yamaha P95 digital piano: Nektar LX25+ controller

User avatar
musicullum
Senior Member
Posts: 1070
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Monitoring problem

Post by musicullum »

Do not engage Performer Track Monitor.
Anyway, if you listen via speakers it's to be expected that you get feedback. Don't. Then move the VST Connect Monitor plugin in the Control Room from your main Monitor to Headphones and use those. See this: https://connectvst.com
musi

gsmccar
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 6:57 am
Contact:

Re: Monitoring problem

Post by gsmccar »

Both myself and the performer loaded the new version. But now neither sync light goes green. No sync. Nada. He can see me. I can see him. We can see each other on the screen. We can load his interface, but he did so Stereo 3-4. Could that keep us from syncing?
Gigabyte P27 laptop running Windows 10; Cubase Pro 10; UR44 interface; M-Audio BGX5a monitors; iLock monitors: Presonus Faderport; "Really Nice Preamp": Yamaha P95 digital piano: Nektar LX25+ controller

User avatar
musicullum
Senior Member
Posts: 1070
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Monitoring problem

Post by musicullum »

No, that has nothing to do with it. Looks like there is no audio connection at all.
We found one possible cause and are working on a fix to be released soon. Reconnecting and/or restarting may also work, eventually try several times.
musi

gsmccar
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 6:57 am
Contact:

Re: Monitoring problem

Post by gsmccar »

I'm sure all of you at Steinberg are as anxious as us users to get everything working correctly. Thanks for all your responses.
Gigabyte P27 laptop running Windows 10; Cubase Pro 10; UR44 interface; M-Audio BGX5a monitors; iLock monitors: Presonus Faderport; "Really Nice Preamp": Yamaha P95 digital piano: Nektar LX25+ controller

User avatar
musicullum
Senior Member
Posts: 1070
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Monitoring problem

Post by musicullum »

we have a fix but connectvst.com is very slow to update. Would be interested to learn if it fixes the problem, this should also work remocord.com/vstconnect
musi

User avatar
musicullum
Senior Member
Posts: 1070
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Monitoring problem

Post by musicullum »

now also connectvst.com should have updated to the new version (4.0.41)
musi

gsmccar
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 6:57 am
Contact:

Re: Monitoring problem

Post by gsmccar »

Is the fix going to be something I need to reload -- or is it just further instructions on the connectvst.com page?
Gigabyte P27 laptop running Windows 10; Cubase Pro 10; UR44 interface; M-Audio BGX5a monitors; iLock monitors: Presonus Faderport; "Really Nice Preamp": Yamaha P95 digital piano: Nektar LX25+ controller

dr
Member
Posts: 809
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Monitoring problem

Post by dr »

musicullum wrote:
Wed Apr 01, 2020 7:14 pm
now also connectvst.com should have updated to the new version (4.0.41)
do you have a change log for this version ?

gsmccar
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 6:57 am
Contact:

Re: Monitoring problem

Post by gsmccar »

After both myself and the performer loaded the updates, the sync worked fine. Thanks for that!

But I still have monitor problems. He can hear me in his headphones, but I can't hear him talking to me on his mic. But I can record his mic, and all is fine and in sync.

I've made sure to have no audio devices connected in Audio Connections Inputs. In Audio Connections Control Room, I have only the talkback channel and Phones (which I'm using to monitor) connected. I use the Activate Talkback button.

Is there anything else I need to do to make it work? It's just the monitoring from performer to me that isn't working.
Gigabyte P27 laptop running Windows 10; Cubase Pro 10; UR44 interface; M-Audio BGX5a monitors; iLock monitors: Presonus Faderport; "Really Nice Preamp": Yamaha P95 digital piano: Nektar LX25+ controller

User avatar
musicullum
Senior Member
Posts: 1070
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Monitoring problem

Post by musicullum »

You need to have the VST Connect Monitor plugin inserted after the Control Room Headphones channel. Probably, it is still inserted after the Main Monitor (speakers). We are working on avoiding this step.
musi

gsmccar
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 6:57 am
Contact:

Re: Monitoring problem

Post by gsmccar »

Hmm. Previously when I had VST Connect working, I could hear the performer in my phones.

In any case, it doesn't seem that I can change the bus order so that the Phones channel is above Cue (VST Connect). Am I wrong?

I've attached a screen shot of my current
Control room.JPG
(93.35 KiB) Not downloaded yet
control audio connections.

Again, thanks for your help.
Gigabyte P27 laptop running Windows 10; Cubase Pro 10; UR44 interface; M-Audio BGX5a monitors; iLock monitors: Presonus Faderport; "Really Nice Preamp": Yamaha P95 digital piano: Nektar LX25+ controller

gsmccar
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 6:57 am
Contact:

Re: Monitoring problem

Post by gsmccar »

Just worked with another performer. It took a couple close/relogin's, but we did get sync. But he could neither hear me nor I him. He couldn't hear playback. Yesterday, the other performer couldn't hear me, but could record. Sigh...

On the connectvst.com site, the screen shots are very helpful. The only one you don't have is "Audio Connections -- Control Room." It would be most helpful.

I'll keep trying, but I'm running out of gas. Perhaps the forthcoming video tutorial that Greg Ondo mentioned with do the trick.
Gigabyte P27 laptop running Windows 10; Cubase Pro 10; UR44 interface; M-Audio BGX5a monitors; iLock monitors: Presonus Faderport; "Really Nice Preamp": Yamaha P95 digital piano: Nektar LX25+ controller

User avatar
musicullum
Senior Member
Posts: 1070
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Monitoring problem

Post by musicullum »

The second screenshot there shows "Audio Connections - Studio".
Those screenshots are from prior versions where the menu was labeled "VST Connections", and the Tab was labeled "Studio", now "Audio Connections" and "Control Room".
Are you using 4.0.41 already? Then you should not have to reconnect several times anymore. Also those red LEDs are important to watch, no audio when those are continously active. Let us know if that helps.
musi

gsmccar
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 6:57 am
Contact:

Re: Monitoring problem

Post by gsmccar »

So I loaded the VST Monitor plugin so that it's under the Phones category (or whatever you call it) in the control room, and removed it from under the Main category. Will test later today. Should this help?
Gigabyte P27 laptop running Windows 10; Cubase Pro 10; UR44 interface; M-Audio BGX5a monitors; iLock monitors: Presonus Faderport; "Really Nice Preamp": Yamaha P95 digital piano: Nektar LX25+ controller

gsmccar
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 6:57 am
Contact:

Re: Monitoring problem

Post by gsmccar »

Just tried to connect with performer. The red performer sync just stays on. No go.
Gigabyte P27 laptop running Windows 10; Cubase Pro 10; UR44 interface; M-Audio BGX5a monitors; iLock monitors: Presonus Faderport; "Really Nice Preamp": Yamaha P95 digital piano: Nektar LX25+ controller

gsmccar
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 6:57 am
Contact:

Re: Monitoring problem

Post by gsmccar »

Update to my earlier reply. I had better luck with the other performer. It looks like I got the settings all correct. Moving the VST Cue Mix plugin from the Main to the Phones may have done the trick, except...

The sync (red light) comes and goes. It's green for a few seconds, then turns red. And when it's green and I play the cue mix, it instantly turns red and stays red until I stop playback.

I set the sample size to its lowest: 32. Didn't make a difference.

But I'm so close!

I wonder if anyone else having this sync problem?
Gigabyte P27 laptop running Windows 10; Cubase Pro 10; UR44 interface; M-Audio BGX5a monitors; iLock monitors: Presonus Faderport; "Really Nice Preamp": Yamaha P95 digital piano: Nektar LX25+ controller

gsmccar
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 6:57 am
Contact:

Re: Monitoring problem

Post by gsmccar »

I meant to write "Moving the VST Connect Monitor plugin from the Main to the Phones may have done the trick."
Gigabyte P27 laptop running Windows 10; Cubase Pro 10; UR44 interface; M-Audio BGX5a monitors; iLock monitors: Presonus Faderport; "Really Nice Preamp": Yamaha P95 digital piano: Nektar LX25+ controller

User avatar
musicullum
Senior Member
Posts: 1070
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Monitoring problem

Post by musicullum »

What do you mean "I set the sample size to 32", you mean the buffer size? That's not a good idea, set it higher, it should be at least 256. The lower that value, the harder it is for the system to catch up.
You definately want to raise the "Remote Delay" setting in the VST Connect plugin in Cubase. Set it to 2 seconds (default is 1) or even higher. We will try to automate that setting, as it vital in connections with poor network quality (note that quality has nothing to do with speed).
If during playback the red LED still lits continuously, something else is wrong, most likely you are using other plugins in the project with delay (lookahead compressors or the likes), that will not work. Also don't engage "Constrain Latency", it makes VST Connect unable to do its job.
musi

gsmccar
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 6:57 am
Contact:

Re: Monitoring problem

Post by gsmccar »

Got it. Thanks. Have made the changes and will be working with the performer later today.
Gigabyte P27 laptop running Windows 10; Cubase Pro 10; UR44 interface; M-Audio BGX5a monitors; iLock monitors: Presonus Faderport; "Really Nice Preamp": Yamaha P95 digital piano: Nektar LX25+ controller

gsmccar
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 6:57 am
Contact:

Re: Monitoring problem

Post by gsmccar »

Made all the changes, logged in with the performer. No change. Connect sync still intermittent. I don't know what else to do. I do thank you for your help.
Gigabyte P27 laptop running Windows 10; Cubase Pro 10; UR44 interface; M-Audio BGX5a monitors; iLock monitors: Presonus Faderport; "Really Nice Preamp": Yamaha P95 digital piano: Nektar LX25+ controller

andyp13
Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Monitoring problem

Post by andyp13 »

gsmccar wrote:
Sun Apr 05, 2020 1:21 am
Made all the changes, logged in with the performer. No change. Connect sync still intermittent. I don't know what else to do. I do thank you for your help.
Are you using SE or Pro?

gsmccar
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 6:57 am
Contact:

Re: Monitoring problem

Post by gsmccar »

SE. I would consider buying the Pro version, but if I can't establish a consistent sync connection, then spending the $150 doesn't seem to make much sense.

Since I was able to successfully sync with the performers using a previous version, I'm thinking we should uninstall the Beta version we got on the connectvst.com site, then reload the version from the Steinberg.net products site. I assume it's a pre-Beta version.

What do you think?
Gigabyte P27 laptop running Windows 10; Cubase Pro 10; UR44 interface; M-Audio BGX5a monitors; iLock monitors: Presonus Faderport; "Really Nice Preamp": Yamaha P95 digital piano: Nektar LX25+ controller

dr
Member
Posts: 809
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Monitoring problem

Post by dr »

gsmccar wrote:
Sun Apr 05, 2020 4:40 pm
Since I was able to successfully sync with the performers using a previous version, I'm thinking we should uninstall the Beta version we got on the connectvst.com site, then reload the version from the Steinberg.net products site. I assume it's a pre-Beta version.

What do you think?
I don't believe that the beta is the problem but you can simply reinstall 4.0.40.180 from the steinberg website and try for yourself - then report back.

Are you connected via a wired/wireless connection - is somebody busy downloading ? Did you try with a new/blank project

did you set the settings as per Musicullum's post earlier ?

andyp13
Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Monitoring problem

Post by andyp13 »

gsmccar wrote:
Sun Apr 05, 2020 4:40 pm
SE. I would consider buying the Pro version, but if I can't establish a consistent sync connection, then spending the $150 doesn't seem to make much sense.

Since I was able to successfully sync with the performers using a previous version, I'm thinking we should uninstall the Beta version we got on the connectvst.com site, then reload the version from the Steinberg.net products site. I assume it's a pre-Beta version.

What do you think?
In my honest opinion do not waste your money... the level of help and support you get is dreadful.... it clearly does not work properly. I used it once and it worked after figuring it out mostly by myself...so I bought it which was a big mistake...have not been able to use it since and like I say I feel iv wasted £128.
I’m considering writing a letter to Steinberg regarding this......

Post Reply

Return to “VST Connect”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests