Why is Cubase called Cubase?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
User avatar
ggc
Senior Member
Posts: 1462
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 6:17 am

Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by ggc » Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:27 pm

anybody?

;)

Kwackman
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 2:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by Kwackman » Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:39 pm

I'm old enough to have used Pro-24!
No idea why it's called Cubase, but for a short time it was called Cubit, or something very similar.
I think Cubit caused a copyright problem, and Cubase was the replacement name.
Cubase 8.5 on Mac Pro 6 core

jules
Junior Member
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:07 am
Contact:

Re: Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by jules » Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:50 pm

True. And don't forget to mention Cubit is pretty funny, in french... Maybe charlie steinberg heard about it.
W7 64, intel q6600 quad core, 8 g ram, ssd, cubase pro 8

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3295
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by vic_france » Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:59 pm

jules wrote:True. And don't forget to mention Cubit is pretty funny, in french... Maybe charlie steinberg heard about it.
That was the story I heard too ;).
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.0.10.150| Cubase 8.5.20| DP 9.1| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7| Reaper 527 | Studio One Pro 3.3.1

fizbin
Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 1:41 am
Contact:

Re: Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by fizbin » Tue Jan 31, 2012 9:42 am

ASUS P8P67 / i5 2500k / 16GB RAM
M-Audio FW1814 / M-Audio Delta 2496
Win 7 Pro x64 / Cubase 7.02

Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4769
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by Centralmusic » Tue Jan 31, 2012 10:14 am

perhaps...

Q-Base (word play, pun?)
Quantize Base = midi sequenzer
"Kennst du schon das Handbuch?" ^^

User avatar
GroovinDJ
Junior Member
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Great Britain, England, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by GroovinDJ » Tue Jan 31, 2012 10:20 am

Most web sites that mention the old name (Cubit) say it was changed due to copyright claims from another company that was already using the name.
Cubase - Yamaha n12 - Ableton Live Suite - Reason - Sony Acid Pro - Adobe Audition - Sony Vegas - Virtual DJ - Traktor - Gizmolabs RPM

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4782
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by curteye » Tue Jan 31, 2012 12:27 pm

Aloha guys,

I went to MySteinberg and had a look around in the
'Steinberg Museum' and the 'About Steinberg sections'
and found nothing on why Cubase is called Cubase.

Perhaps a mod will chime in on this.
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

Dave Nicholson
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 12:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by Dave Nicholson » Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:00 pm

Hallo,

Cubase was indeed called Cubit in during the development stages, right up to beta version 0.808.

The name change was necessary because there was a database software provider with an existing product with the name Cubit, and we didn't want to risk a costly name-change action after the release.

Cubit, as a name was consciously chosen because of its meaning of 'from the nose to the end of the (king's) stretched out fingers' to indicate the eye/mouse/computer relationship - literally what you touch is what you move.

Cubase was quickly selected as a replacement name, even though some people said it now sounds like a database program. We know, and knew then, that the french were less than happy with the name - If you want to know why - ask a native speaker of french.

regards
Dave Nicholson
Steinberg

regards

Dave Nicholson, GUI Architect Application Strategy
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Chrismcc
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 7:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by Chrismcc » Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:24 pm

CU: "Cul" slang for ass
Bit: "Bite" slang for a man's sexual organ
Christian
_________________
IMAC I5, Snow Leopard, SX6.05, O1x, I88x, Mlan standalone, MOTU896MKIII
Chrismcc on Broadjam ... or ... Chrismcc on MySpace ... Broadjam Top 10 France

UM880 Midi interface, Ivory, Hypersonic2, Reason, KorgDigitalEdition, FrontierDesignTranzport, Oxygen 8, Clavinova, Ensoniq VFX, Yamaha DX21, etc...

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4619
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by Strophoid » Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:30 pm

lol, I do my sequencing in assdick 8-)
Can see why they changed that.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

User avatar
ZeroZero
Senior Member
Posts: 1027
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by ZeroZero » Tue Jan 31, 2012 3:59 pm

The base for Cues? i.e. a sequencer.
Cubase 9, 64 bit Intel 5820K Corei7, Asus x99a, 32 gig RAM PC, Win10, Focusrite Liquid 56 Running in Surround 5.1 British Rail sandwich circa 1967, a singing fish and an inert K9.

http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Zero_Zero

User avatar
The Parlanchin
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by The Parlanchin » Tue Jan 31, 2012 4:20 pm

I agree with zerozero,

it's "Cues"... as in sequencer/midi commands (musical cues in you computer). I thought Cubase started as a midi sequencer then eventually evolved into a DAW? It can still be used as a sequencer of course (with musical scores too!!).

Parlanchin
:)
Cubase 8 Pro (64bit), Halion 5, Halion Symphonic, Grand SE, Steinberg CI2+, Fostex VF160, Mackie Control, M-Audio Midisport2x2, Technics SX-PX336, Signex ARC32, Fostex PM1s, Windows 7 64bit, 2.2GHz Dual Intel, 4GB RAM

fizbin
Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 1:41 am
Contact:

Re: Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by fizbin » Tue Jan 31, 2012 5:54 pm

My guess is they had already settled on Cubit, didn't want to have another 3 week brainstorming session to get a name, and just picked the first similar name that came to mind that didn't sound dumb, and was obviously not used by anything else. Voila! Cubase.

Means nothing. Just like Nuendo.
ASUS P8P67 / i5 2500k / 16GB RAM
M-Audio FW1814 / M-Audio Delta 2496
Win 7 Pro x64 / Cubase 7.02

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 1904
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by HowlingUlf » Tue Jan 31, 2012 7:34 pm

ZeroZero wrote:The base for Cues? i.e. a sequencer.
That's what I always imagined it to mean!

but speaking of cubit in french: Honda was launching this car a few years ago that got renamed to Honda Jazz in at least Sweden, probably also in Norway and Denmark since it's basically the same language, so maybe somewhat overlapping slang vocabulary? Somebody didn't research the market properly when the brand new car was named Honda Fitta as in Honda Pussy :o :mrgreen: You can imaging the flood of helpful slogans that swept the media shortly after haha!

Check this out:
http://marketinomics.com/general/bigges ... -mistakes/
Gothenburg, Sweden
Cubase Pro 9.0.1 | WaveLab 9 | Absolute 2 | NI Komplete 10 | IK Total Studio
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | Ensoniq ASR10 | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 | Roland Gp16
Gibson SG Gothic with a black Kahler whammy | and a patchbay and a few cables ... and some more stuff ... and even more than that, would you believe it ?!!?

User avatar
ZeroZero
Senior Member
Posts: 1027
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by ZeroZero » Tue Jan 31, 2012 7:43 pm

I always wondered about the Ford Probe = was it more attractive to women? Did Alan Patridge drive one?
Cubase 9, 64 bit Intel 5820K Corei7, Asus x99a, 32 gig RAM PC, Win10, Focusrite Liquid 56 Running in Surround 5.1 British Rail sandwich circa 1967, a singing fish and an inert K9.

http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Zero_Zero

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 1754
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by MrSoundman » Tue Jan 31, 2012 8:31 pm

Dave Nicholson wrote:some people said it now sounds like a database program
Doesn't Cubase these days in actual fact use the SQLLite database for Media Bay? :)
Windows 10 Pro | Cubase Pro 9.0.20 | WaveLab 9.1.0 | HALion 6.0.15 | Groove Agent 4.2.40 | Midex 3/Midex 8 | x64 only

User avatar
DaveFry
Member
Posts: 220
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by DaveFry » Tue Jan 31, 2012 9:02 pm

Toyota MR2 ; goes like " merde " in France .....
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Music is it's own reward .
__________________________________________
i7 920 , 12GB RAM , Win 7 x64 ,
Cubase 6.0.7 x64 , The Grand 3.1.0 , Motu Electric Keys ,
Akai MPK 61 ,Yamaha N12

User avatar
The Parlanchin
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by The Parlanchin » Tue Jan 31, 2012 10:33 pm

What the $%*& are you blokes talking about???!! :? I am out of my depth here. You're all loonies... I'm off! ;)
Cubase 8 Pro (64bit), Halion 5, Halion Symphonic, Grand SE, Steinberg CI2+, Fostex VF160, Mackie Control, M-Audio Midisport2x2, Technics SX-PX336, Signex ARC32, Fostex PM1s, Windows 7 64bit, 2.2GHz Dual Intel, 4GB RAM

fizbin
Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 1:41 am
Contact:

Re: Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by fizbin » Tue Jan 31, 2012 10:39 pm

MrSoundman wrote:
Dave Nicholson wrote:some people said it now sounds like a database program
Doesn't Cubase these days in actual fact use the SQLLite database for Media Bay? :)
I don't think so, otherwise you'd see it running in task manager. I haven't seen anything to suggest this.

I do believe though, that Sony's Acid does this very thing, if you enable it.
ASUS P8P67 / i5 2500k / 16GB RAM
M-Audio FW1814 / M-Audio Delta 2496
Win 7 Pro x64 / Cubase 7.02

User avatar
ZeroZero
Senior Member
Posts: 1027
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by ZeroZero » Tue Jan 31, 2012 11:36 pm

A rows by any other name will smell as sweet
Cubase 9, 64 bit Intel 5820K Corei7, Asus x99a, 32 gig RAM PC, Win10, Focusrite Liquid 56 Running in Surround 5.1 British Rail sandwich circa 1967, a singing fish and an inert K9.

http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Zero_Zero

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 1754
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by MrSoundman » Tue Jan 31, 2012 11:37 pm

fizbin wrote:
MrSoundman wrote:
Dave Nicholson wrote:some people said it now sounds like a database program
Doesn't Cubase these days in actual fact use the SQLLite database for Media Bay? :)
I don't think so, otherwise you'd see it running in task manager. I haven't seen anything to suggest this. I do believe though, that Sony's Acid does this very thing, if you enable it.
You won't see SQLite as a seperate process .... ACID, on the other hand, uses Microso$t SQL Server Express, which is a complete hog. The file "mediabay3.db" in the Prefs folder is a SQLite file.
Windows 10 Pro | Cubase Pro 9.0.20 | WaveLab 9.1.0 | HALion 6.0.15 | Groove Agent 4.2.40 | Midex 3/Midex 8 | x64 only

Crotchety
Senior Member
Posts: 1132
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by Crotchety » Wed Feb 01, 2012 1:33 am

DaveFry wrote:Toyota MR2 ; goes like " merde " in France .....
Sorry, can't resist...there's also the Pajero for anyone who like making up non-words in Spanish.
Instruments: Piano/keys, Guitar, Mandolin, Vocal
Current Sounds: Cactus Juice (@Soundcloud) - Former Sounds: Ask Murt (@MySpace)

Every day's a skool day...

User avatar
Bane
Senior Member
Posts: 1739
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by Bane » Wed Feb 01, 2012 3:08 am

I'm with Fizbin; it doesn't seem to mean anything at all. Then along came Wavelab and eventually Sequel.....
Asus R500A-RS52, Windows 8, 2.6gHz i5 -3230M, 6GB RAM,

Cubase Artist 7.0.6, Wavelab Elements 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, The Grand 3, Melodyne Essential, Superior Drummer, EZDrummer and Pop! EZX, Samson CO1, Yamaha P-35, Mackie MR5mk2 monitors, and more....

My tunes on: Soundcloud

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4782
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: Why is Cubase called Cubase?

Post by curteye » Wed Feb 01, 2012 3:45 am

Dave Nicholson wrote:Hallo,

Cubase was indeed called Cubit in during the development stages, right up to beta version 0.808.

The name change was necessary because there was a database software provider with an existing product with the name Cubit, and we didn't want to risk a costly name-change action after the release.

Cubit, as a name was consciously chosen because of its meaning of 'from the nose to the end of the (king's) stretched out fingers' to indicate the eye/mouse/computer relationship - literally what you touch is what you move.

Cubase was quickly selected as a replacement name, even though some people said it now sounds like a database program. We know, and knew then, that the french were less than happy with the name - If you want to know why - ask a native speaker of french.

regards
Dave Nicholson
Steinberg
Aloha D,
and tanx for that explanation.

{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests