A few simple questions about C6

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
germanguy
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 am
Contact:

A few simple questions about C6

Post by germanguy »

Before i shell out 200 beans for the C6 upgrade from C5S, i have a few questions. I don't have time to spend hours searching the forums for answers, so forgive me for asking stuff that's already been answered.

1. Like the new interface, but can i tear windows off (like the mixer for example) and put them on my 2nd monitor?

2. How much more Mac OS X native has this version become? Is it truly Carbonized to take advantage of things like Grand Central, OpenCL etc etc?

3. One forum post i did read mentioned that there was no more audio recording?? can someone please clarify this for me?

4. Has VST bridge been improved regarding loading PPC plugins or is it still the same as before?

5. Timestretch Algorithm: If there's one thing i could never stand about C5S, it's the way it stretches audio when in musical mode. There's artifacts everywhere and your mixes get extremely muddy. Logic and Ableton figured out how to make this work, so i'm wondering if this finally has been fixed in this version of Cubase?

6. My second biggest pet peeve is project management. Logic and Ableton have a feature where you can drag and drop resources (tracks complete with all settings and routings) to and from an active project without ever opening the other project. In Cubase this has always been a gigantic pain in the *** and often leads to crashes and time wasted. Has this been improved at all?

Reason i ask all these questions is because i'm at the point where i'm ready to switch to Logic, but don't really feel like forking up $500. I've been using Cubase for 15+ years and only in the last 2 years have i seen a sharp decline in quality in the program - everything from the included plugins (which are still sh*t) to the overall stability and sound.
MacBook Pro 2.8 Unibody // 500Gb // 8Gb // Snow Leopard Latest // Cubase Latest

germanguy
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 am
Contact:

Re: A few simple questions about C6

Post by germanguy »

anyone?
MacBook Pro 2.8 Unibody // 500Gb // 8Gb // Snow Leopard Latest // Cubase Latest

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: A few simple questions about C6

Post by Conman »

You already have the same info as the rest of us because IT'S NOT OUT YET.
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

DaveDaveDave
Junior Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 6:57 pm
Contact:

Re: A few simple questions about C6

Post by DaveDaveDave »

Conman wrote:You already have the same info as the rest of us because IT'S NOT OUT YET.
Actually, some folks were installing it as you wrote this, Mr Boldy Text :D . I wish one of them was me. :geek:
Cubase 6.0.3, Wavelab 7, Halion 3.5, Halion Sonic, Groove Agent 3
MC Control/Mix iMac RME UFX

Audiocave
Member
Posts: 434
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Re: A few simple questions about C6

Post by Audiocave »

Some of those questions actually have been answered in various threads - like the one linking to the video of Elastique Pro in use, which looks great - and some others maybe not. Having said that...

I'm not sure where else a person would ask questions about a product that's not available physically to them yet than on the product forum where the people employed by the company who know those things are? Obviously there are people here that know everything there is to know about Cubase 6, the mods and (I assume) some beta testers, and of course any people who already have it.

Not sure why some are so very sensitive...

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: A few simple questions about C6

Post by Conman »

Not sensitive. Just telling it like it is. Loads of new stuff I'd like more info on but then I do it myself. I'd feel cheeky going to a forum to ask others to do it for me. But that's just me :mrgreen: .
And the obvious being so obscure it needs emphasising. :lol:
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

NYC Composer
Member
Posts: 386
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: A few simple questions about C6

Post by NYC Composer »

germanguy wrote:
5. Timestretch Algorithm: If there's one thing i could never stand about C5S, it's the way it stretches audio when in musical mode. There's artifacts everywhere and your mixes get extremely muddy. Logic and Ableton figured out how to make this work, so i'm wondering if this finally has been fixed in this version of Cubase?

.
I am so with you here. IMO, timestretch is the worst feature in C5, I found it unusable except for occasional vocal lines. Warbles, glitchy, unprofessional.

I'm especially interested in how it does on more complex polyphonic material, like electric and acoustic guitars.
Regards, L.J.

_______________________________________________________

Cubase 10.5.12, 2019 iMac i9 8 core@3.6khz, OS 10.14.6, 72 GB RAM, scads of SSDs, Babyface Pro, OWC 4 bay Thunderbolt 3 enclosure, too many sample libraries, 90s American Series Strat, Taylor and Martin acoustics, Mexican Fender Precision.

DaveDaveDave
Junior Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 6:57 pm
Contact:

Re: A few simple questions about C6

Post by DaveDaveDave »

germanguy wrote:Before i shell out 200 beans for the C6 upgrade from C5S, i have a few questions...
conman wrote:I'd feel cheeky going to a forum to ask others to do it for me. But that's just me...
:?

I'm sure a few folks will be able to help you with your decision soon germanguy.
Cubase 6.0.3, Wavelab 7, Halion 3.5, Halion Sonic, Groove Agent 3
MC Control/Mix iMac RME UFX

andyjh
Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 8:19 pm
Contact:

Re: A few simple questions about C6

Post by andyjh »

germanguy wrote:3. One forum post i did read mentioned that there was no more audio recording?? can someone please clarify this for me?.
I think you'll find that statement was a well aimed touch of sarcasm, in response to the direction a lot of new features are going.
Master: Windows 10 64-bit / i7 7820X / 32GB RAM / Dual Monitors / Steinberg UR824 / MOTU Midi Express 128
Slave: Windows 7 64-bit / i7 / 16Gb RAM / Dual monitors / Emu 1820m. Networked via VE Pro
Cubase Pro 10, Absolute 3 (Halion 6), Wavelab Pro 9.0, Dorico Pro 2.1.1
Equipment list: - more than I need : Plug in list:- definitely more than I need

Guest

Re: A few simple questions about C6

Post by Guest »

andyjh wrote:
germanguy wrote:3. One forum post i did read mentioned that there was no more audio recording?? can someone please clarify this for me?.
I think you'll find that statement was a well aimed touch of sarcasm, in response to the direction a lot of new features are going.
There is no Batch Export in Cubase Artist.

Suprawill1
Senior Member
Posts: 1052
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: A few simple questions about C6

Post by Suprawill1 »

If your going to talk C Artist, it's a total "downgrade" from C Studio 5. Not only is there no batch export, there's no RoomWorks, no Studio Chorus, not even a third of the amount of instrument track capability, a little better than half the audio track capability and I can go on. CS5 users are now forced to go to the full version to advantage an upgrade. I'm not ready to make that leap till C7 if it indeed offers more than stability and a few crumbs thrown in. I'm already stable.
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 10 & 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 970 EVO NVMe - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - 2x Samsung 850 EVO SSDs - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 6 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato

Guest

Re: A few simple questions about C6

Post by Guest »

Suprawill1 wrote:If your going to talk C Artist, it's a total "downgrade" from C Studio 5. Not only is there no batch export...
Hi suprawill1

It may be a "downgrade going from CS5 to CA6 but to me that completely misses the point of how Steinberg are handling the situation overall, since while I understand new features are important I've become used to certain workflows, in particular Batch Export was a serious help at the time to get around the issue of limited audio export capabilities, not to mention the half-baked freeze "feature" which as far as I know hasn't even seen an enhancement since it's inception.

How can end users have faith if all we get is some knee jerk response to modifying some feature that hardly anyone has asked for, ie "movable frozen parts" and yet the function itself is completely limited and in reality is nothing more than a bolt on.

Suprawill1
Senior Member
Posts: 1052
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: A few simple questions about C6

Post by Suprawill1 »

Hey, I agree with you Cramar! What I brought up is just a piece of this whole shabang. The studio version has been taken away and there is a force in play to push us CS users to the full version. I not only have a problem with this, I also disagree with the whole 6 series only being compatible with W7. That's yet another large expense for those who aren't already there. I know of no other DAW or major program that's not backward compatible to at least Vista.
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 10 & 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 970 EVO NVMe - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - 2x Samsung 850 EVO SSDs - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 6 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato

Guest

Re: A few simple questions about C6

Post by Guest »

Suprawill

I dont' have any issue with OS compatibility as I'm sure it will be ok under Vista and I've been using that since Longhorn.

It's the lack of batch export or equivalent function (in relation to VSTi) that is hurting the most since although it was mentioned in the FAQ that there is no movable frozen parts I don't really see the need to have responded in that way when the percentage of the userbase asking for that feature would be so low as to be insignificant and yet the function itself leaves so much to be desired.

Maybe this is bungling on Steinbergs' part since if this is to become a pattern then the obvious prediction would be to remove Multi-track editing from a future incarnation of Cubase Lite.

Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: A few simple questions about C6

Post by Centralmusic »

germanguy wrote: 1. Like the new interface, but can i tear windows off (like the mixer for example) and put them on my 2nd monitor?
yes. It´s the same behavior than C5, CS5 etc.
germanguy wrote: 5. Timestretch Algorithm: If there's one thing i could never stand about C5S, it's the way it stretches audio when in musical mode. There's artifacts everywhere and your mixes get extremely muddy. Logic and Ableton figured out how to make this work, so i'm wondering if this finally has been fixed in this version of Cubase?
Have you seen this?
Cubase 6 and the new "Elastic Pro" Algo - very amazing! YEAH!! :-D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P7qAZXb-u5Q
germanguy wrote: 6. My second biggest pet peeve is project management. Logic and Ableton have a feature where you can drag and drop resources (tracks complete with all settings and routings) to and from an active project without ever opening the other project. In Cubase this has always been a gigantic pain in the *** and often leads to crashes and time wasted. Has this been improved at all?
Many improvements about this in C6: fewer mouseclicks, new menus, new functional Inspector (Key Editor) e.g.
-> But please: use shortcuts!!! then you're really fast, believe me!
germanguy wrote: Reason i ask all these questions is because i'm at the point where i'm ready to switch to Logic, but don't really feel like forking up $500. I've been using Cubase for 15+ years and only in the last 2 years have i seen a sharp decline in quality in the program - everything from the included plugins (which are still sh*t) to the overall stability and sound.
Daily, I use Cubase (5.1), Logic 9, ProTools 8. IMHO (!) Cubase 6 with its new features is the best and feature-rich DAW on the market. No doubt.
!!! NOTE: This is a user forum. It's from users to users. This is not a technical support forum. Therefore sometime some Steinberg employees appear here and help the users. !!!
"Do you already know the manual?"
Kennst du schon das Handbuch?"

Suprawill1
Senior Member
Posts: 1052
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: A few simple questions about C6

Post by Suprawill1 »

cramar wrote:Suprawill

I dont' have any issue with OS compatibility as I'm sure it will be ok under Vista and I've been using that since Longhorn.

It's the lack of batch export or equivalent function (in relation to VSTi) that is hurting the most since although it was mentioned in the FAQ that there is no movable frozen parts I don't really see the need to have responded in that way when the percentage of the userbase asking for that feature would be so low as to be insignificant and yet the function itself leaves so much to be desired.

Maybe this is bungling on Steinbergs' part since if this is to become a pattern then the obvious prediction would be to remove Multi-track editing from a future incarnation of Cubase Lite.
Even if it does work with VIsta, one of the first questions SB will ask you is what OS are you using and then you won't get any support. I have too much riding on that.
Batch export is included with the full version. It appears that it's the CS5 users only upgrade choice at this point.
I understand that there are wanted features that haven't been addressed and more importantly, features that haven't been fixed. I don't think there's anyone here that's totally in sync with SBs marketing style although I'll have to say that there's been a smattering of attitudes aimed at them for both legitimate and non-legitimate issues. It's got to be hard for developers to cater to everybodies whims but the fix-it's should definitely be addressed first. That's just plain good business.
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 10 & 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 970 EVO NVMe - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - 2x Samsung 850 EVO SSDs - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 6 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests