Can PadShop load user samples?

All topics on Padshop and Padshop Pro
Post Reply
tlainhart
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 4:11 am
Contact:

Can PadShop load user samples?

Post by tlainhart » Tue Feb 21, 2012 3:42 pm

Hello -

I've been reading the specifications on PadShop, and I'm left with the impression that the samples to be manipulated are only available via the "SoftGrain Wave ROM". Is that true, or can I load my own samples? Can the instrument read an incoming audio stream?

I'm looking forward to this VST.

-- Todd
Cubase 6.0.5
Groove Agent 3
Wavelab 6

HalfPastEternity
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 2:11 am
Contact:

Re: Can PadShop load user samples?

Post by HalfPastEternity » Wed Feb 22, 2012 4:39 pm

I hope it can, or that it will be implemented in a future version. That would make it infinitely more powerful IMO. :D
Long list of gear. Woohooo, look how much stuff I've got!

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Can PadShop load user samples?

Post by Strophoid » Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:25 am

Yep, +1.
Feature requests are out before we even know the features 8-)
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

User avatar
Uwe Huebner
Site Admin
Posts: 203
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 3:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Can PadShop load user samples?

Post by Uwe Huebner » Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:34 pm

Padshop can not import user samples.
Uwe Huebner, Deputy Support Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram and SoundCloud

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Can PadShop load user samples?

Post by Strophoid » Fri Feb 24, 2012 4:56 pm

:(
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

Shinta215
Senior Member
Posts: 1032
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:26 pm

Re: Can PadShop load user samples?

Post by Shinta215 » Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:53 pm

Is the inability to load user samples a showstopper?

I've read on other forums how this is not well received.
However, I've also read comments on how it depends on the vastness of the included samples.

I would think, as artists, that we would use what is available to us and make the best with it.

The inability to load user samples would definitely be a limit, but considering how this could be linked with other instruments, effects, and whatnot, I think that the limit could be overcome.

Thoughts?

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Can PadShop load user samples?

Post by Strophoid » Fri Feb 24, 2012 7:23 pm

Surely the usefullness of the synth is now entirely defined by the included samples. Thing is if it was open for custom sounds, you would never be disappointed as you could always find something useful to do with it. Now it's just a set package. Don't like what it does, and it's worthless.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: Can PadShop load user samples?

Post by Elektrobolt » Sat Feb 25, 2012 12:28 am

Uwe wrote:Padshop can not import user samples.
Is this a possible plan for a future update, or entirely out of the question for this product?
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

User avatar
Reiknir
Member
Posts: 262
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Can PadShop load user samples?

Post by Reiknir » Sun Feb 26, 2012 4:00 pm

Strophoid wrote:Surely the usefullness of the synth is now entirely defined by the included samples. Thing is if it was open for custom sounds, you would never be disappointed as you could always find something useful to do with it. Now it's just a set package. Don't like what it does, and it's worthless.
No, in a granular synth samples are strictly speaking not needed at all, it is the engine, implementation and user control that define the sound not the basic samples, more and better control of granule behaviour is more important than the sample set, and since it is not out yet we cannot pass judgement on that aspect at the moment

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: Can PadShop load user samples?

Post by Elektrobolt » Sun Feb 26, 2012 9:31 pm

Reiknir wrote:
Strophoid wrote:Surely the usefullness of the synth is now entirely defined by the included samples. Thing is if it was open for custom sounds, you would never be disappointed as you could always find something useful to do with it. Now it's just a set package. Don't like what it does, and it's worthless.
No, in a granular synth samples are strictly speaking not needed at all, it is the engine, implementation and user control that define the sound not the basic samples, more and better control of granule behaviour is more important than the sample set, and since it is not out yet we cannot pass judgement on that aspect at the moment
Though I see your point, Reiknir, I think that these basic excerpts from Eric Kuehnl's article on GS, "The most musically important aspect of an individual grain is its waveform. The variability of waveforms from grain to grain plays a significant role in the flexibility of granular synthesis." and "Real-time granular synthesis requires an endless supply of grain generating devices.", clearly states that with a larger supply of grains (i.e. the smaller fractional parts, from samples, designated by the function of grain width, duration, size or some other labels, in the case of PS) available, the greater the variability in the end result. (http://adagio.calarts.edu/~eric/gs.html)

Please note that I am not arguing against your point in terms of the importance of the control aspect, but merely to point out that grains, and therefore the raw material that consist of them, are indeed a very important component.

Also, I would not simply state that, because of "limited" (it DOES after all, have "hundreds of sounds" at your disposal) raw material available, PS is worthless if you do not like it. It is NOT a ROMpler that simply plays samples, but rather it uses small particles (grains) from the samples to generate new dynamic real-time "samples" (audio stream). Furthermore, by being able to functionally manipulate this generation process in real-time, the end results are seemingly limitless. Well, within limits, of course. :lol:

Anyways, just my two cents.
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Can PadShop load user samples?

Post by Strophoid » Mon Feb 27, 2012 11:09 am

Fair enough, just saying that there's quite a difference between limitless possibilities with the included samples and limitless possibilities with any sample.
Too early to tell indeed, but still a downer. Price makes up for it though.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

Andros1983
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Can PadShop load user samples?

Post by Andros1983 » Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:22 pm

:cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
Please Steinberg, in future versions.....we want load user samples

djkey
Member
Posts: 427
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Can PadShop load user samples?

Post by djkey » Thu Mar 01, 2012 10:46 pm

Andros1983 wrote::cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
Please Steinberg, in future versions.....we want load user samples
+1
Abhöre: Adam A7X & Sub 10 MK II
Synth: Waldorf Largo, Virtual Guitarist 2, Karma FX, Arturia Oberheim, Gladiator 2, ElectraX, Saurus, Nemesis.
Vengeance Producer Suite:
Multiband Sidechain, Glitch B!tch
Sequencer: Cubase Pro 10.0.30
Soundkarte & DSP: RME AIO + Multiface I & 2 x UAD 2 Solo
PC:Asus X99 E WS USB 3.1,Intel 5960x @ 4,1 Ghz Win 10 Enterprise/64bit;

MacQ
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 6:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Can PadShop load user samples?

Post by MacQ » Sat Jun 16, 2012 1:17 am

+1

Playing around with it, I'd LOVE to throw my own samples in there ... it's so powerful!

Guest

Re: Can PadShop load user samples?

Post by Guest » Fri Jun 22, 2012 7:59 am

We might have a solution for that in the not so distant future ;)

Bassbase
Member
Posts: 833
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 8:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Can PadShop load user samples?

Post by Bassbase » Fri Jun 22, 2012 8:00 am

EdDoll wrote:We might have a solution for that in the not so distant future ;)

YEAH THAT SOUNDS AWSOME ;)
I7 3.2ghz / Asus P6t deluxe / Asus GTX260 / Rme Hdsp 9632/ Novation 49 sl compact / KRK Rokit 5 / Native Instruments Komplete 7 / Fabfilter Pro q, ....

Just to make sure you know the basics, come here.
Forum Knowledgebase from Users for Users
And if you like this idea or you have more stuff you think a beginner should know about, feel free to PM me so i can take it to the top. Together we know nearly everything...
Forum Knowledgebase von Usern für User Say hello after change

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Can PadShop load user samples?

Post by Strophoid » Mon Jun 25, 2012 4:11 pm

EdDoll wrote:We might have a solution for that in the not so distant future ;)
:mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: Can PadShop load user samples?

Post by Elektrobolt » Tue Jun 26, 2012 12:21 am

EdDoll wrote:We might have a solution for that in the not so distant future ;)
Steinberg ROCKS! ;)
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Can PadShop load user samples?

Post by Strophoid » Tue Jul 10, 2012 3:43 pm

And there it is. €10,- upgrade to get additional fx, sample loading facilities, EQ and 50 new presets.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

Post Reply

Return to “Padshop and Padshop Pro”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest