BFD2, would you recomend it??

Discussions about VST Instruments and VST plug-ins from other manufacturers
Post Reply
goddfodder
Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:19 am
Contact:

BFD2, would you recomend it??

Post by goddfodder » Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:10 pm

Been looking into getting BFD2. My music shop has a great deal on right now. It gets a great write up in Sound on Sound, but so on the other hand does Superior Drummer2. As I understand it though Superior Drummer drum sounds are slightly more processed and thats not what im after.


What i want to check is,... First of all does this thing work OK with Cubase 6 (64bit on Windows 7)?

Secondly, how is this thing for achieving funk and jazz sounds. That kinda vibe is really important to what im working on and id love to know if any of you guys could recommend it?

Much appreciation for any responses.

Cheers.
Cubase 7/6/5/4 ~ i7 950 ~ Asus P6X58D-E ~ 12Gb DDR3 1600Mhz ~ ATI Radeon HD 5850 ~ 2T Samsung ~ Akasa Nero S ~ Win 7 (64) ~ Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 ~ Yamaha KX 25, Yamaha KX 49, Novation Impulse 61.~ Yamaha HS80's.

User avatar
Home Studio 87
Member
Posts: 786
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:32 pm
Contact:

Re: BFD2, would you recomend it??

Post by Home Studio 87 » Mon Mar 05, 2012 10:25 pm

if you like drums, real drums (you know what a drum recording mean & it's much easier than real recording)) go for it now it's only 149$ ! for me best drum sampler on the market cause you can tweak as you want it's not the toontrack side (for me it's too "much" processed at the start)
Gigabyte GA-X99P-SLI / Intel Corei7 6800k / 32 Go DDR4 / 4x SSD / Win 10 Pro x64 / UAD Apollo Twin USB / UAD2 Satellite Octo USB / UAD2 Octo PCIe / Cubase Pro 10 / VEP6 / D-Touch Cubase / Console 1 / 24 Ch X-Touch / CMC Controllers / iPad 2&3 Lemur / Komplete Kontrol S61 MK2 /

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: BFD2, would you recomend it??

Post by JMCecil » Tue Mar 06, 2012 3:43 am

yes
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: BFD2, would you recomend it??

Post by JMCecil » Tue Mar 06, 2012 3:46 am

Home Studio 87 wrote:for me best drum sampler on the market cause you can tweak as you want it's not the toontrack side (for me it's too "much" processed at the start)
Yep, the expansion packs and the core kits are very open and clear for the most part. However, there are a few kits coming out that are more processed for a specific vibe. I got the Siebenberg (Supertramp) kit and love it. Especially the timbales .. as they are also processed so they mix well with the kit. Bozzio just around the corner! Can't wait for Roto madness.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

goddfodder
Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:19 am
Contact:

Re: BFD2, would you recomend it??

Post by goddfodder » Tue Mar 06, 2012 4:02 am

Could anyone point me in the direction of any other expansions??
Cubase 7/6/5/4 ~ i7 950 ~ Asus P6X58D-E ~ 12Gb DDR3 1600Mhz ~ ATI Radeon HD 5850 ~ 2T Samsung ~ Akasa Nero S ~ Win 7 (64) ~ Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 ~ Yamaha KX 25, Yamaha KX 49, Novation Impulse 61.~ Yamaha HS80's.

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: BFD2, would you recomend it??

Post by JMCecil » Tue Mar 06, 2012 4:05 am

http://www.fxpansion.com/index.php?page=106

Go to the bottom of the page to find the jazz & funk kit. But, to be honest any kit will work for either. It's a matter of setting up the mics and effects properly. Jazz tend to play quieter and let the kit ring out more. Funk tend to use damping and control the ring a bit more. For example, the custom absolute comes with a jazz brush preset that sounds completely different than the stick kit, which would be more funk oriented. But, it's the same kit.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

neilwilkes
Senior Member
Posts: 1078
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: BFD2, would you recomend it??

Post by neilwilkes » Tue Mar 06, 2012 10:32 am

BFD2 is simply incredibly good.
Not only does it work - for me, flawlessly - within both Cubase & Nuendo, it also works superbly inside Drumagog 5 Platinum as a triggered drum replacement tool.
None of the others seem to do this - I cannot use SSD4 in D5, for example.
www.opusproductions.com
Intel E5-2687W 8-core Xeon, 32Gb RAM, Windows 7 Pro x64, RME RayDAT, UAD-2 Octo x2 & Quad x2 (fully loaded), Adam A7 x5, WK ID Console
Nuendo 1-6, Cubase 6-7, WaveLab 5-7, DTS/DD encoders, Surround Edition etc, Waves Mercury
Blu-Ray authoring, DVD authoring & high resolution audio specialists.

Detailed Specs on request

User avatar
Home Studio 87
Member
Posts: 786
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:32 pm
Contact:

Re: BFD2, would you recomend it??

Post by Home Studio 87 » Tue Mar 06, 2012 11:34 am

Gigabyte GA-X99P-SLI / Intel Corei7 6800k / 32 Go DDR4 / 4x SSD / Win 10 Pro x64 / UAD Apollo Twin USB / UAD2 Satellite Octo USB / UAD2 Octo PCIe / Cubase Pro 10 / VEP6 / D-Touch Cubase / Console 1 / 24 Ch X-Touch / CMC Controllers / iPad 2&3 Lemur / Komplete Kontrol S61 MK2 /

goddfodder
Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:19 am
Contact:

Re: BFD2, would you recomend it??

Post by goddfodder » Tue Mar 06, 2012 5:45 pm

Nice one, thankyou all!
Cubase 7/6/5/4 ~ i7 950 ~ Asus P6X58D-E ~ 12Gb DDR3 1600Mhz ~ ATI Radeon HD 5850 ~ 2T Samsung ~ Akasa Nero S ~ Win 7 (64) ~ Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 ~ Yamaha KX 25, Yamaha KX 49, Novation Impulse 61.~ Yamaha HS80's.

goddfodder
Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:19 am
Contact:

Re: BFD2, would you recomend it??

Post by goddfodder » Fri Mar 09, 2012 11:45 pm

Just to add,... I got it. Completely blown away. Definitely the right choice.
Cubase 7/6/5/4 ~ i7 950 ~ Asus P6X58D-E ~ 12Gb DDR3 1600Mhz ~ ATI Radeon HD 5850 ~ 2T Samsung ~ Akasa Nero S ~ Win 7 (64) ~ Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 ~ Yamaha KX 25, Yamaha KX 49, Novation Impulse 61.~ Yamaha HS80's.

johngar
Member
Posts: 562
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:46 pm
Contact:

Re: BFD2, would you recomend it??

Post by johngar » Sat Mar 10, 2012 4:01 am

goddfodder wrote:Just to add,... I got it. Completely blown away. Definitely the right choice.
Yea I got it too, even though I am very happy with Addictive Drums. The price was too hard to resist as I have heard too many good things about it.
I got the boxed version and I am still waiting on delivery. I found out the download version is reduced to 20bit samples and the boxed version is 24bit.
PC | Nuendo 8 | Cubase 8 | i7-4930k | Win10 | 32gb ram | Intensity Pro | Radeon HD7700 | RME9632 | Euphonix MC Control -Mix - Transport | Genelec |

MacBook Pro 2.2Ghz i7 | OS X 10.9 | MOTU 828MKII |

artifactdetroit.com

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: BFD2, would you recomend it??

Post by JMCecil » Sat Mar 10, 2012 3:50 pm

johngar wrote:
goddfodder wrote:Just to add,... I got it. Completely blown away. Definitely the right choice.
Yea I got it too, even though I am very happy with Addictive Drums. The price was too hard to resist as I have heard too many good things about it.
I got the boxed version and I am still waiting on delivery. I found out the download version is reduced to 20bit samples and the boxed version is 24bit.
Keep in mind that they did extensive testing between 20 and 24 bit formats before making that decision. They basically concluded that there is no detectable difference because of the noise floor of environment and recording process.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

gmontano
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 5:50 am
Contact:

Re: BFD2, would you recomend it??

Post by gmontano » Sun Mar 11, 2012 5:49 am

Don't forget the platinum samples expansion kits. They are great. If you like rock drums, evil dums, Andy Johns, new rock legends kit and the Jim Scott packs are top notch.

Sonic Reality recently got in the BFD2 game and have released Neil Peart's kit and are in the mist of releasing all of the ken Scott kits. Not to mention all of the Emrich's expansions available. It certainly is the platform if you want a large variety of options.
6950x, 64 GB RAM, ASrock x99 mobo, 1050 Ti video card, Windows 10, RME UFX, Cubase 10 Pro.

goddfodder
Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:19 am
Contact:

Re: BFD2, would you recomend it??

Post by goddfodder » Sun Mar 11, 2012 3:35 pm

Yeah im aware of Platinum Samples. The guy from them made himself known to me on GearSlutz and Ive been checking out their website. Good expansions was actually a big factor in me getting BFD2 and Platinum were definitely part of that equation. Though im not looking for rock drums, they certainly have drummers there that im interested in working with.

Ill be sure to check out those you mentioned. Thankyou!!!

IF there's any other good 3rd party expansions for BFD2 id be very interested and most grateful if anybody could point me in the right direction.
Cubase 7/6/5/4 ~ i7 950 ~ Asus P6X58D-E ~ 12Gb DDR3 1600Mhz ~ ATI Radeon HD 5850 ~ 2T Samsung ~ Akasa Nero S ~ Win 7 (64) ~ Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 ~ Yamaha KX 25, Yamaha KX 49, Novation Impulse 61.~ Yamaha HS80's.

Norbury Brook
Member
Posts: 776
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:40 am
Contact:

Re: BFD2, would you recomend it??

Post by Norbury Brook » Tue Mar 20, 2012 10:37 am

the 64 bit beta is still iffy for me, cubase will hang on exit if it's in a project. Also the x86 and x64 .dll get confused so quite often cubase can't find the x64 version when first installed and doing it's plugin scan.

I've been a huge BFD fan since v1.0 but the whole x64 progress has been VERY slow IMHO.

Superior drummer x64 works so much better. It's a shame as I have all the libs for BFD including platinum samples( I have a HD dedicated solely to BFD) but for the last 18 months since going x64 it's not been a great experience.


MC
Asus X79 pro | 3930x @4.6 hex core | 32 gigs DDR3 | Crucial M4 SSD-win8 x64 | Samsung 840 SSDs | Spinpoint F3's | Poco | VSS3 DVR2 Non Lin | UAD 2| 2x MR 816 | UR824 | full CMC selection |2x Euphonix MC Mix | MC transport |Cubase 7|Nuendo 6 |Windows 8.1 x64

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: BFD2, would you recomend it??

Post by JMCecil » Tue Mar 20, 2012 12:01 pm

that's odd, the x64 version of BFD does NOT hang x64 Cubase for me and quite a few other people I know. I have it in pretty much every template.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

gmontano
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 5:50 am
Contact:

Re: BFD2, would you recomend it??

Post by gmontano » Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:12 pm

BFD x64 also doesn't crash for me. How could the 32 bit and 64 bit plugins be getting confused? Do you point your 64 bit Cubase to your 32 bit folder? I keep all 64 bit plugins in one folder and 32 bit in another with a separate 3rd folder for those 32 bit I want to bridge. This way nothing should get confused.
6950x, 64 GB RAM, ASrock x99 mobo, 1050 Ti video card, Windows 10, RME UFX, Cubase 10 Pro.

goddfodder
Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:19 am
Contact:

Re: BFD2, would you recomend it??

Post by goddfodder » Wed Mar 21, 2012 8:38 pm

In a way i just kinda think im so glad its not me. Got BFD2 working in 64bit here and it works like a dream. Not really had any 'issues' with it at all. Certainly not any crashes or projects hanging. The 64bit integration is seamless. Im yet to try any of the expansions and have seen a few threads that hinted of problems in this regard. I guess it seems fine so far so im hopeful that when I try them it will just be more of the same.
Cubase 7/6/5/4 ~ i7 950 ~ Asus P6X58D-E ~ 12Gb DDR3 1600Mhz ~ ATI Radeon HD 5850 ~ 2T Samsung ~ Akasa Nero S ~ Win 7 (64) ~ Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 ~ Yamaha KX 25, Yamaha KX 49, Novation Impulse 61.~ Yamaha HS80's.

Ron Garrison
Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:23 pm
Contact:

Re: BFD2, would you recomend it??

Post by Ron Garrison » Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:38 am

Just adding that the 64-bit version has been working without a hitch. Only odd thing I have had happen recently was cymbals getting cut off. Closed the project and reopened and it was fine. Only happened that one time.

Ron
Cubase 6.5, Sonar 8.5, Q6700@2.66GHz, Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, MCU+2Extenders, Presonus Firepod, Tascam VL-X5.

Ron Garrison
Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:23 pm
Contact:

Re: BFD2, would you recomend it??

Post by Ron Garrison » Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:45 am

gmontano wrote:BFD x64 also doesn't crash for me. How could the 32 bit and 64 bit plugins be getting confused? Do you point your 64 bit Cubase to your 32 bit folder? I keep all 64 bit plugins in one folder and 32 bit in another with a separate 3rd folder for those 32 bit I want to bridge. This way nothing should get confused.

I do a similar thing, but not quite the same. I have a 64-bit only folder and a 32-bit only folder and a 3rd 32/64 combo folder.

32/64 combo is for 32-bit VSTs that work fine in 64-bit (and there is no 64-bit equivalent) and is used by both Cubase 32 and Cubase 64
32-bit only is used by Cubase 32 only
64-bit only contains 64-bit VSTs and JBridged 32-bit VSTs (where the dll lives in the 32-bit only folder) and is used by Cubase 64 only.

This way I can run either Cubase-32 or Cubase-64 and get working versions of all VSTs.

Ron
Cubase 6.5, Sonar 8.5, Q6700@2.66GHz, Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, MCU+2Extenders, Presonus Firepod, Tascam VL-X5.

blacklion
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 8:13 pm
Contact:

Re: BFD2, would you recomend it??

Post by blacklion » Fri Mar 30, 2012 5:41 am

I have BFD Eco and the x64 update is hanging on exit in Cubase 6.5 64bit. I assume that it's the same issue that some are having with BFD2. It doesn't crash the project, but it's causing Cubase to hang when trying to close the project. This is on projects with nothing other than Eco in it.

One thing I noticed was that Eco did not pass the VST scan after the first install. I got it off the VST blacklist by removing the plugin/blacklist html pages and rescanning. Maybe this is the reason, but I'd like to use this thing without stressing about the stability of the project. It's putting me off on getting in on the March BFD2 deal - which is the reason I got Eco in the first place. Customer support responded as if I was alone in experiencing this but I see posts here and there describing the same problem...

What I don't understand is why some Cubase 6 users are experiencing this and others are not. I keep my system clean with separate folders for 64bit/32bit plugins. Registry is clean, never had this issue with Cubase before, this didn't happen with the 32bit version...I'm at a loss.

Has anyone found a solution for those experiencing this issue?

Ron Garrison
Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:23 pm
Contact:

Re: BFD2, would you recomend it??

Post by Ron Garrison » Fri Mar 30, 2012 6:34 am

blacklion wrote:I have BFD Eco and the x64 update is hanging on exit in Cubase 6.5 64bit. I assume that it's the same issue that some are having with BFD2. It doesn't crash the project, but it's causing Cubase to hang when trying to close the project. This is on projects with nothing other than Eco in it.

One thing I noticed was that Eco did not pass the VST scan after the first install. I got it off the VST blacklist by removing the plugin/blacklist html pages and rescanning. Maybe this is the reason, but I'd like to use this thing without stressing about the stability of the project. It's putting me off on getting in on the March BFD2 deal - which is the reason I got Eco in the first place. Customer support responded as if I was alone in experiencing this but I see posts here and there describing the same problem...

What I don't understand is why some Cubase 6 users are experiencing this and others are not. I keep my system clean with separate folders for 64bit/32bit plugins. Registry is clean, never had this issue with Cubase before, this didn't happen with the 32bit version...I'm at a loss.

Has anyone found a solution for those experiencing this issue?

You are absolutely positive that you are loading the 64-bit VST and not the 32-bit VST? Look at your plugin information to make certain.

Ron
Cubase 6.5, Sonar 8.5, Q6700@2.66GHz, Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, MCU+2Extenders, Presonus Firepod, Tascam VL-X5.

blacklion
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 8:13 pm
Contact:

Re: BFD2, would you recomend it??

Post by blacklion » Fri Mar 30, 2012 8:13 am

Ron,

I'm positive as I only have Cubase 6 x64 installed and it's directed only to my 64bit plugin folder. Eco installs an .exe file and .dll file for 64bit and 32bit separately. Unless the installer places the 32bit .dll file in the 64bit folder, I'm doing things correctly.

My 64bit plugins are in C:Programs->Steinberg->Vst Plugins and that's the only plugin path for Cubase 6. The 32bit stuff is in the C: Programs (x86) directory.

What gets me is that Eco will not pass the plugin scan at startup and gets blacklisted. It's the only plug I own that does this. I have to close Cubase, delete the blacklist/plugininfo/vstplugins .html pages and it passes the scan the 2nd time around. I can then instantiate it, but it will hang on closing the project. I think the issue is related to failing the initial scan but no matter how I uninstall/clean reg/install it won't pass the first time through.

I wiped everything fxpansion related from the registry to do a clean install, and still I can't get it to pass the blacklist.

blacklion
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 8:13 pm
Contact:

Re: BFD2, would you recomend it??

Post by blacklion » Fri Mar 30, 2012 9:56 pm

Just to update here: I tested all last night and this morning. Fresh Cubase install, Eco install, registry cleaning and all sorts of other things.

Microsoft Runtime C++ 2005 Redistributable version 8.0.56336

It was installed with the m-audio usb/midi driver for my controller. I tried uninstalling the m-audio driver and the Cubase project did not hang. Tried to reinstall the driver, but it would not reinstall without this version of C++. Got it installed and project hangs again. So:

(1) Removed just the driver, leaving the C++ version there = Project hangs
(2) Reinstalled driver, uninstalled the C++ version = Project closes properly

So as far as the project hanging, for whatever reason, Eco + Cubase 6 + this version of C++ cannot coexist. What I don't understand is that Eco would not hang every project it was instantiated in. Only 75% of them...

Also, I'm not sure that this explains why Eco would not pass the initial Cubase vst scan and gets blacklisted. In any case, looks like I'm back in business...

Post Reply

Return to “VST Instruments and Virtual Effects (general)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests