6.5 screws up note expression , back to 6.05

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
Rudie Vissenberg
Junior Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:16 pm
Location: Houten
Contact:

6.5 screws up note expression , back to 6.05

Post by Rudie Vissenberg » Tue Mar 06, 2012 12:15 pm

Hi all,

Yesterday I installed 6.5 although there are no improvements in the note expression or notation field, I wanted to try the new great synths. Unfortunately, a song I was working on since 6.05 screws up badly with HSO. I use note expression a lot in this file for piano (The Grand 3) and a cello (HSO Vlc solo combi XSwitch KS). There is no sound coming out of HSO unless I remove all the note expression dynamics from pppp to ffff. This I did and then HSO worked again.
This morning however the same song I saved last night while it was working gave the same problem, no sound coming out of HSO although all the dynamics were gone. When I changed to another cello sound it worked again but this one reacts differently to all the velocity and all other note expression indications. Now I am back to 6.05 and used a version from before I converted to 6.5 and it works like before.
Steinberg, please look into this because I paid for the upgrade and would like to use the new synths. Can I have a dual install, 6.05 and 6.5 next to each other? In the 6.5 msi it only allows an upgrade.
I have Cubase 64 Win7 with 8GB memory.

Cheers.
Win10 64bit, Intel i5-4460 at 3.2 GHz, 12Gig RAM, AMD Radeon R7 200, Cubase 10.5, Dorico 3, UR12, MOTU micro lite, Casio PX-110 piano

TrevorG
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.5 screws up note expression , back to 6.05

Post by TrevorG » Tue Mar 06, 2012 1:10 pm

This may not help but I have had the same problem and found the volume was set to 0 at the modulation wheel. Adjusting the mod wheel rectified the problem for me. Good luck.
Intel Core I7 950@ 2.67GHz, 3GB Ultra Fast DDR3 1333MHz RAM, Asus P6T, Konnekt 24D, Cubase 6.5.3, Cubase 5.5.4, Win XP(32bit), Midex 8, Zebra 2, Reaktor, Motu Ethno Instrument 2, Halion Orchestra, Stylus RMX, BFD 2, Groove Agent, Synthmaster, EZDrummer, Voxengo, Quantum FX, Roland SBD-6, Evolution UC-33, Korg M1, Zebra, Guru, Geist CM, Rodes and Neumann, T.C Electronic M1, T.C. Finalizer, Ivory Series Compressor, Roland Super JV1080, SPL Vitalizer, Hagstrom Viking Baritone semi-acoustic,Spector XL5(U.S.), Washburn fretless acoustic 5, Overwater fretless, Parker Fly. Dynaudio BM6s. Saphire 4550 Dual head graphic card, 2X ViewSonic Monitors

Rudie Vissenberg
Junior Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:16 pm
Location: Houten
Contact:

Re: 6.5 screws up note expression , back to 6.05

Post by Rudie Vissenberg » Tue Mar 06, 2012 2:20 pm

Thanks Trevor for your input. I don't dare to install 6.5 at the moment to try our your suggestion. I want to finish this composition first before treading on new grounds again. If your suggestion is not the solution then I have to de-install and re install Cubase all over again and this stops the flow I am in.

Anybody else has a suggestion as to what might cause this behaviour of Cubase 6.5?
Win10 64bit, Intel i5-4460 at 3.2 GHz, 12Gig RAM, AMD Radeon R7 200, Cubase 10.5, Dorico 3, UR12, MOTU micro lite, Casio PX-110 piano

User avatar
crohde
Member
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:03 am
Contact:

Re: 6.5 screws up note expression , back to 6.05

Post by crohde » Tue Mar 06, 2012 3:05 pm

Hello Rudie,

We will have a look at the problem, thanks for pointing it out!
Best regards,

Carlos Rohde - Product Marketing Manager Cubase & Apps
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

gkruse
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:58 am
Contact:

Re: 6.5 screws up note expression , back to 6.05

Post by gkruse » Tue Mar 06, 2012 4:08 pm

Same problem here, the suggested change of the 0 value for the controller cannot be fixed here,
hope you find a solution,

Gerard
kruse

sapkiller
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: 6.5 screws up note expression , back to 6.05

Post by sapkiller » Wed Mar 07, 2012 5:53 pm

I can confirm this behavior, using dynamic mapping symbols, e.g pp etc. and have some additional info:
As an example I have a track starting with a pp mark at 0.00.000 - if I start from this point no note information is transmitted to Vienna Ensemble, but I can see that controller data being transmitted as well as expression map entries. If I start the sequencer at 0.00.001, just after the pp mark, then there is no problem
But moving the pp mark to say 0.00.001 or further does not help, you still have to start the sequencer after the dynamic mapping event to get the note transmitted.

I really hope you can fix this soon - all my old projects are in trouble this way, and I have unfortunately already saved some new projects in 6.5 format, so I don't want to go back to 6.05.

btw: Would it not be nice to have a feature to export projects in older formats?
Would help in collaboration projects where not everybody has the same version
best regards
Bjarne

Norbury Brook
Member
Posts: 776
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:40 am
Contact:

Re: 6.5 screws up note expression , back to 6.05

Post by Norbury Brook » Sun Mar 11, 2012 1:27 pm

Ah I have exactly the same issue..



MC
Asus X79 pro | 3930x @4.6 hex core | 32 gigs DDR3 | Crucial M4 SSD-win8 x64 | Samsung 840 SSDs | Spinpoint F3's | Poco | VSS3 DVR2 Non Lin | UAD 2| 2x MR 816 | UR824 | full CMC selection |2x Euphonix MC Mix | MC transport |Cubase 7|Nuendo 6 |Windows 8.1 x64

User avatar
Helge Vogt
Member
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: 6.5 screws up note expression , back to 6.05

Post by Helge Vogt » Sun Mar 11, 2012 1:54 pm

Hi all,
Sorry, this one slipped thru. We are going to release a fix next week.

Have a nice weekend,
Helge
Helge Vogt - Team Lead Product Marketing Group
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Rudie Vissenberg
Junior Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:16 pm
Location: Houten
Contact:

Re: 6.5 screws up note expression , back to 6.05

Post by Rudie Vissenberg » Sun Mar 11, 2012 2:35 pm

Hi Helge,

Thanks for the quick response of Steinberg. I am looking forward to using 6.5 and try out the amazing new synths.
Thank all the people at Steinberg for me for the hard work they have done.

You work 7 days a week?? I had not expected a reply on a Sunday afternoon :D

Rudie
Win10 64bit, Intel i5-4460 at 3.2 GHz, 12Gig RAM, AMD Radeon R7 200, Cubase 10.5, Dorico 3, UR12, MOTU micro lite, Casio PX-110 piano

Norbury Brook
Member
Posts: 776
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:40 am
Contact:

Re: 6.5 screws up note expression , back to 6.05

Post by Norbury Brook » Sun Mar 11, 2012 6:01 pm

wow, thanks Helge I'm very impressed with the communication here I wasn't expecting this either especially on a Sunday.

I'm really impressed at the new Steinberg communication with the users, I know in the past this was an area that wasn't a strong point but it' really great to see the changes that have taken place over the last few years.


thanks again


MC
Asus X79 pro | 3930x @4.6 hex core | 32 gigs DDR3 | Crucial M4 SSD-win8 x64 | Samsung 840 SSDs | Spinpoint F3's | Poco | VSS3 DVR2 Non Lin | UAD 2| 2x MR 816 | UR824 | full CMC selection |2x Euphonix MC Mix | MC transport |Cubase 7|Nuendo 6 |Windows 8.1 x64

Rudie Vissenberg
Junior Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:16 pm
Location: Houten
Contact:

Re: 6.5 screws up note expression , back to 6.05

Post by Rudie Vissenberg » Tue Mar 13, 2012 2:13 pm

Hi all,

Just to let you know: the patch is on the website http://www.steinberg.net/en/support/dow ... e_65.html
i tried it and all the note expression is working again.

Thanks again Steinberg!

Rudie
Win10 64bit, Intel i5-4460 at 3.2 GHz, 12Gig RAM, AMD Radeon R7 200, Cubase 10.5, Dorico 3, UR12, MOTU micro lite, Casio PX-110 piano

IFM
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 9:21 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.5 screws up note expression , back to 6.05

Post by IFM » Tue Mar 13, 2012 2:44 pm

You know I've still been torn between using Logic and Cubase on a regular basis lately but this type of response from a developer is a HUGE plus in my book. The biggest thing I miss is CPU efficiency of Logic. I know I can just freeze tracks but that can be a PITA having to do all the time. ASIO spikes do see to stem from HDD seek with sample libraries.

Sorry I'm starting to hijack the thread. :oops:

Chris
http://www.chriscaouette.com
Mac Pro 5,1 12 Core, 64GB RAM, El Cap., Saffire Pro 40, dual monitors, Cubase 8.5
Slave: AMD Athlon II 3GHZ, 16gig, Macbook Pro i5 16 gb, Mac Mini 2.6 i7

gkruse
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:58 am
Contact:

Re: 6.5 screws up note expression , back to 6.05

Post by gkruse » Tue Mar 13, 2012 3:20 pm

Installed the patch:
Now the notes do give midi note on/off to the VST (VSL) when a dynamics mapping symbol has occurred, but
there is no velocity response

All projects with dynamic mapping events play, but the dynamics is missing

Gerard
kruse

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: 6.5 screws up note expression , back to 6.05

Post by Elektrobolt » Tue Mar 13, 2012 3:51 pm

Helge Vogt wrote:Hi all,
Sorry, this one slipped thru. We are going to release a fix next week.

Have a nice weekend,
Helge
And the same to you, Helge. All stress and hard work is much appreciated (at least by little old me)!
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

Rudie Vissenberg
Junior Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:16 pm
Location: Houten
Contact:

Re: 6.5 screws up note expression , back to 6.05

Post by Rudie Vissenberg » Tue Mar 13, 2012 5:16 pm

I already had this behaviour with 6.05. Is there something I am missing. All the velocity changing are not read when I use Note expression.
gkruse wrote:Installed the patch:
Now the notes do give midi note on/off to the VST (VSL) when a dynamics mapping symbol has occurred, but
there is no velocity response

All projects with dynamic mapping events play, but the dynamics is missing

Gerard
Win10 64bit, Intel i5-4460 at 3.2 GHz, 12Gig RAM, AMD Radeon R7 200, Cubase 10.5, Dorico 3, UR12, MOTU micro lite, Casio PX-110 piano

Rudie Vissenberg
Junior Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:16 pm
Location: Houten
Contact:

Re: 6.5 screws up note expression , back to 6.05

Post by Rudie Vissenberg » Tue Mar 13, 2012 5:27 pm

Chris,

I had to change from Logic to Cubase, being a PC user and Apple dropped the PC version the moment it bought Logic. I regretted for a long time and I actually did not compose anything because of the switch but now I am a happy Cubase user. Like you I notice that I can now play many more samples and audio instruments than with Logic. The computer hardly gives a hick when I have a lot of audio going on.
The lay-out of Cubase could improve so the features are easier to spot but it is after a while great software to use.

I hope Cubase will further develop note expression so more people who now use Finale will switch because in Cubase there is more to tweak and the sounds are just great for a moderate price.

off topic i know, I am sorry

Rudie
IFM wrote:You know I've still been torn between using Logic and Cubase on a regular basis lately but this type of response from a developer is a HUGE plus in my book. The biggest thing I miss is CPU efficiency of Logic. I know I can just freeze tracks but that can be a PITA having to do all the time. ASIO spikes do see to stem from HDD seek with sample libraries.

Sorry I'm starting to hijack the thread. :oops:

Chris
Win10 64bit, Intel i5-4460 at 3.2 GHz, 12Gig RAM, AMD Radeon R7 200, Cubase 10.5, Dorico 3, UR12, MOTU micro lite, Casio PX-110 piano

gkruse
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:58 am
Contact:

Re: 6.5 screws up note expression , back to 6.05

Post by gkruse » Tue Mar 13, 2012 8:00 pm

Installed the patch:
Now the notes do give midi note on/off to the VST (VSL) when a dynamics mapping symbol has occurred, but
there is no velocity response
It's working now here !!
All dynamics are seen by the VST (VSL), and heard.
(A midimonitor insert however does not show the value send to the VST as it used to do)
It started working after having had to start the PC two times (for other reasons).

Gerard
kruse

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests