Cubase 6, what OS?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
krem
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:42 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Cubase 6, what OS?

Post by krem »

OK, I know this has been done many a times in the past, but for Cubase 6(.5) specifically, what is the better OS? W7 or Mac OS 10.7?

I wonder of course as I`m in the market for a new computer. Currently on Mac OS 10.6.8 on my studio machine, but I really don`t like the way I see the Mac OS is heading. Seems to go more and more in the direction of iOS, and 10.7.0 was FAR from stable. Maybe better now with 10.7.3? And as far as I know you can`t buy a new Mac now and run it with OS10.6?
Self built PC with i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10, Universal Audio Apollo x8, Cubase Pro 10.5

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Cubase 6, what OS?

Post by thinkingcap »

krem wrote:OK, I know this has been done many a times in the past, but for Cubase 6(.5) specifically, what is the better OS? W7 or Mac OS 10.7?

I wonder of course as I`m in the market for a new computer. Currently on Mac OS 10.6.8 on my studio machine, but I really don`t like the way I see the Mac OS is heading. Seems to go more and more in the direction of iOS, and 10.7.0 was FAR from stable. Maybe better now with 10.7.3? And as far as I know you can`t buy a new Mac now and run it with OS10.6?
http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopi ... 08#p133808
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

krem
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:42 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6, what OS?

Post by krem »

Thank you very much for your "reply" thinkingcap. Since I didn`t really got much answers there I thought to try here instead. Since this really is a Cubase related question.
Nobody knows perhaps? No-one tried Cubase 6 on both W7 and Mac OS 10.7?
Self built PC with i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10, Universal Audio Apollo x8, Cubase Pro 10.5

User avatar
SuStudio
Member
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 9:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6, what OS?

Post by SuStudio »

Krem,

That link that offers 4 reasons to stick with Mac left out one pretty important reason:

Viruses, malware and trojans. If you don't like these things, stick with your Mac. And, before somebody chimes in with the Java issue affecting 600K Macs last month, read this:


http://allthingsd.com/20120406/whats-th ... s-in-java/
Cubase 10 - Wavelab 7.2.1 - Cubasis 2.5 & ICPro
Mac Pro Quad 3.7 Ghz 32GB, OSX 10.14
Macbook Pro 2.77 Ghz 8GB, OXS 10.12.6
UA Apollo Twin Quad MKII, G-Tech Raid, True P-Solo, innumerable VSTi & plug-ins.

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6, what OS?

Post by Strophoid »

Well, I take that article with a pinch of salt. Those last where he just assumes that Mac OS is and has always been less vulnerable is pure bollox, sorry.

Read this as well:
http://nakedsecurity.sophos.com/2012/04 ... d+security
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2657
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6, what OS?

Post by Arjan P »

Windows 7 wins from OSX in Steinberg audio performance hands down; check this.
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 10.0.40 | Cubase 10.0.60 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

crofter
Member
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6, what OS?

Post by crofter »

SuStudio wrote:Krem,

That link that offers 4 reasons to stick with Mac left out one pretty important reason:

Viruses, malware and trojans. If you don't like these things, stick with your Mac. And, before somebody chimes in with the Java issue affecting 600K Macs last month, read this:


http://allthingsd.com/20120406/whats-th ... s-in-java/
So it's Mac for pr0n sites and PC for music then.

User avatar
ffg
Member
Posts: 643
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6, what OS?

Post by ffg »

Which platform do you like using best?

Use that one.
best wishes

David

I'm going to to let the situation mature...

Nuendo 10.3
Cubase 10.5
MacPro 3.3 6-core OSX 10.12
Macbook Pro OSX 10.14
RME Fireface 802
RME Fireface 800
Audient ID14

goddfodder
Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:19 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6, what OS?

Post by goddfodder »

People say that Windows is superior. And that's certainly what I've been lead to believe. I use Cubase 6 on windows and its stable as anything. I know someone who has it on a Mac and he's well into his Mac stuff. But he believes it to be superior. I guess im saying that it can work well on both.

You know these Mac types though. they get well into it, believing its miles better n stuff. I guess if your one of those your one of those and you'll know it. You'll go over to the dark side as it were. But both can work. And in my opinion Windows is what it was intended for, and what it shines on.
Cubase 7/6/5/4 ~ i7 950 ~ Asus P6X58D-E ~ 12Gb DDR3 1600Mhz ~ ATI Radeon HD 5850 ~ 2T Samsung ~ Akasa Nero S ~ Win 7 (64) ~ Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 ~ Yamaha KX 25, Yamaha KX 49, Novation Impulse 61.~ Yamaha HS80's.

krem
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:42 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6, what OS?

Post by krem »

Thank you for your replies guys.
ffg wrote:Which platform do you like using best?

Use that one.
Yes, that is good advice. :D
Arjan P wrote:Windows 7 wins from OSX in Steinberg audio performance hands down; check this.
I`ll wait for them to do a Cubase 6 OS 10.7/W7 test then. ;)
SuStudio wrote:Krem,

That link that offers 4 reasons to stick with Mac left out one pretty important reason:

Viruses, malware and trojans. If you don't like these things, stick with your Mac. And, before somebody chimes in with the Java issue affecting 600K Macs last month, read this:


http://allthingsd.com/20120406/whats-th ... s-in-java/
I will not have my studio machine hooked up to the internet, so this won`t be a problem either way. :)
Self built PC with i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10, Universal Audio Apollo x8, Cubase Pro 10.5

Totoscrackos
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6, what OS?

Post by Totoscrackos »

no osx, I have a macpro and i run cubase with boocamp! pretty much better than osx

WINDOWS!

Norbury Brook
Member
Posts: 851
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:40 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6, what OS?

Post by Norbury Brook »

my Studio machine has been hooked up to the internet since windows 7 x64. I run the microsoft security app and have had Zero issues in either performance or security.

It's more of a headache these days NOT to be connected to the internet.


to the OP, choose whichever OS you like to work in, computers are so powerful now that it's not a big issue either way.

Performance wise Windows is ahead, but if you're a fruit lover then use OSX.

One major issue I would point out that doesn't seem to be mentioned in these discussions very often is:

Unless you use Steinberg Hardware,

THERE IS NO DIRECT MONITORING ON OSX so if you use the control room you're at the mercy of Latency.





MC
ASRock x570 Taichi -Ryzen 3950x-16 core -32 gigs 3600 DDR4- AMD 580- Windows 10 x64-OSX Mojave- AXR4-Euphonix mix,Transport-CC121-Cubase 10.5.x

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests