What about multiple cores MAC systems & Cubase 6 ?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
sylvain kepler
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:18 am
Contact:

What about multiple cores MAC systems & Cubase 6 ?

Post by sylvain kepler »

I didn't find clear statement as whether the new Cubase 6 properly manage multi-threading and multiple core systems, especially regarding the 8 cores Mac Pro Nehalem (which I own). Anything about it ? Any links or information available ? Thanks

goodbyenine
Member
Posts: 226
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:10 pm
Contact:

Re: What about multiple cores MAC systems & Cubase 6 ?

Post by goodbyenine »

BUMP
Late Mac Tower based studio (10.8.5) with N6.5 and 2nd N6.5 (10.8.5), RME Madi via 648, Nanoclock, M3000 x 4 Ext FX, Video via BM Decklink on MP, composition workstation Single Hexacore MP. Sync: MMC N6.5>N6.5. VE Pro 5 always online via slaves. UK TV Music production at 25fps 48k at all times. Softriad Raid management. Powercore 4 running via VE Pro slave, Altiverb hosted on slave as bank of Ext FX. Waves and other plugins. Kontakt 5 central to workflow.

Chris Beuermann

Re: What about multiple cores MAC systems & Cubase 6 ?

Post by Chris Beuermann »

Hello,

all the optimisations have been made with the Cubase 5.5 update. Hyperthreading is still not supported.

Cheers,

Chris

Besitos
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 9:36 pm
Contact:

Re: What about multiple cores MAC systems & Cubase 6 ?

Post by Besitos »

Chris Beuermann wrote:Hello,

all the optimisations have been made with the Cubase 5.5 update. Hyperthreading is still not supported.

Cheers,

Chris
Thats bad news for me! Was hoping that C6 would see a performance boost so projects can be run at lower latencies.
Mac Pro Nehalem 8 Core, 12GB RAM, RME Multiface II, always latest OS and always latest Cubase

sylvain kepler
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:18 am
Contact:

Re: What about multiple cores MAC systems & Cubase 6 ?

Post by sylvain kepler »

So, to my opinion, this version doesn't deserve the 6 naming, it should have been 5.6 or 5.8 but not 6
Instead of providing further cream, Steinberg should have had dealt with systems performance.
From that point, I will not go 6 for the time being I'm afraid..it's kind of a head wreaking nowadays that a so said professional piece of software doesn't pay further attention to multiple cores systems... :(

User avatar
Sonik
Senior Member
Posts: 1023
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:34 pm
Contact:

Re: What about multiple cores MAC systems & Cubase 6 ?

Post by Sonik »

:roll:
Macbook Pro i9 32gb|Studio One 5|Protools 2020.5|Cubase Pro 10.5.20|Wavelab 10.0.40|Logic X|Apollo Quad|4xUAD-2 (24 core)
Manley Massive Passive|Thermionic Phoenix Mastering Plus|Maselec MLA-2|API 2500|Avalon 737sp|Summit TLA-100A|Distressor EL8-X|Apogee Symphony||Euphonix McMix x2|Dangerous Music 2 Bus LT|ATC SCM20 ASL Pro|Amphion One18|
Halion Sonic 3|Komplete12 Ultimate|Stylus RMX|Trilian|Omnisphere 2.6|VSL Strings|EW Pianos|ReFx Nexus 3|AirMusicTech|Sylenth|Predator|Kick 2|Serum|ANA2|Korg Collection 2
UAD|Waves|Soundtoys|Melodyne|Softube|Brainworx|PluginAlliance|Fabfilter|Sonnox|Eventide|Oeksound

goodbyenine
Member
Posts: 226
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:10 pm
Contact:

Re: What about multiple cores MAC systems & Cubase 6 ?

Post by goodbyenine »

Disappointing..

Can see no reason to stress out completely about looking at C6. As a N5 user, I am watching this forum with interest, and it is sobering reading.

Give it about a year before C6 is really ready, by which time it will be C7. This seems to be the cycle here. Just when things are ABOUT to look good, the rug gets pulled.

B
Late Mac Tower based studio (10.8.5) with N6.5 and 2nd N6.5 (10.8.5), RME Madi via 648, Nanoclock, M3000 x 4 Ext FX, Video via BM Decklink on MP, composition workstation Single Hexacore MP. Sync: MMC N6.5>N6.5. VE Pro 5 always online via slaves. UK TV Music production at 25fps 48k at all times. Softriad Raid management. Powercore 4 running via VE Pro slave, Altiverb hosted on slave as bank of Ext FX. Waves and other plugins. Kontakt 5 central to workflow.

User avatar
orchetect
Member
Posts: 531
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: What about multiple cores MAC systems & Cubase 6 ?

Post by orchetect »

Chris Beuermann wrote:Hyperthreading is still not supported.
Does that mean it's simply not utilized? Or does that mean there's actually a performance degradation with hyperthreading?

On PCs the BIOS usually has the option to disable hyperthreading but AFAIK on the newer Mac Pros, they simply all ship as hyperthreaded models and that can't be changed.
Steffan Andrews | Composer | Developer | website | imdb | gear list
System 1: 2019 Mac Pro - macOS 10.15.5 - 16-core - 192GB RAM - 8TB SSD - 580X
System 2: 2013 Mac Pro - macOS 10.14.6 - 3.5GHz 6-core - 64GB RAM - 4TB SSD - FirePro D500
DAWs: Cubase 10.5.20 | Dorico Pro 3.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5

Christian D.
Moderator
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:05 am
Contact:

Re: What about multiple cores MAC systems & Cubase 6 ?

Post by Christian D. »

https://www.steinberg.net/en/support/kn ... -threading

Contains description how to disable HT on Macs.
Christian Dettner | Product Planning Manager | Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH

58lespaul
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 9:15 pm
Contact:

Re: What about multiple cores MAC systems & Cubase 6 ?

Post by 58lespaul »

My i7 MacBook Pro gives me enough juice for now but I was just wondering if this will be added in a future Cubase 6 release. A little extra power never hurt anybody :)

User avatar
orchetect
Member
Posts: 531
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: What about multiple cores MAC systems & Cubase 6 ?

Post by orchetect »

Technically speaking I don't think it can really add any benefit to Cubase. It already has its own multi-core handling engine. Hyperthreading is not adding processing power, it's just allocating it differently - and I think the way it does it, it conflicts with ASIO performance.
Steffan Andrews | Composer | Developer | website | imdb | gear list
System 1: 2019 Mac Pro - macOS 10.15.5 - 16-core - 192GB RAM - 8TB SSD - 580X
System 2: 2013 Mac Pro - macOS 10.14.6 - 3.5GHz 6-core - 64GB RAM - 4TB SSD - FirePro D500
DAWs: Cubase 10.5.20 | Dorico Pro 3.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests