No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
Gregio
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:02 pm
Contact:

No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by Gregio » Mon May 28, 2012 7:03 pm

This is to everybody who thinks that we don't need any more synths in Cubase's upgrades/updates
but in need of real improvements
Steinberg team if you have runned out of ideas we are here to help JUST ASK we are your customers !!!
-

SteelyDani
Junior Member
Posts: 191
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by SteelyDani » Mon May 28, 2012 7:50 pm

I agree 100% with you!!!
http://www.bcstudiorecording.com
BCS. Basque Coast Studio
Music is a gift from God to Man

Windows 10 (64)/ Cubase Pro 9.5/ WaveLab 9.5 Elements/ Halion 6 / Intel(R) I7-6700K @ 4.00 GHz - 32GB Dual Channel DDR4/ MOTU PCI-424 + 4 X 2408 mk3

User avatar
dorremifasol
Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by dorremifasol » Mon May 28, 2012 8:02 pm

also agree.
Intel i5 750, Windows 7 64 bit, 16g RAM, Cubase 9, Halion 6, Wavelab 9.5 RME Fireface 802

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5285
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by Split » Mon May 28, 2012 8:14 pm

The last set of new synths were not bad though :P
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

chase
Member
Posts: 367
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:25 pm
Contact:

Re: No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by chase » Mon May 28, 2012 8:37 pm

This has been discussed to death in the forum in recent years.

I'm not fond of synths. Used to have hardware synths when there wasn't much else to use (still got some of them, actually) - and each new one that appeared in the shops was quite exciting, though largely because the state of development wasn't very great, and each new step up was quite a big one in relative terms.

I sometimes like playing around with software emulations of old synths (eg Arturia V-Collection) and found it helpful to get software emulations of hardware that I used to use. But modern software synths leave me cold. And synths aren't very useful in my music anyway. So I'll probably never use any of the synths that come bundled with Cubase. So, for my own requirements, I too would prefer it if SB stopped creating these things that I don't care at all about. (And I expect that the people who really do like synths prefer to buy better ones than those that come with CB(?))

However, I do realise that possibly the bundled stuff might attract some buyers who wouldn't otherwise buy CB - that means some extra income to keep SB working, and (who knows?) might even keep the price of CB lower than it might otherwise be? So, provisionally, I regard the bundled stuff that I don't want as a necessary evil. I just ignore it. But, of course, in my ideal world, SB would focus entirely on the sequencer per se - eliminating long-standing bugs and improving its features.

Guest

Re: No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by Guest » Mon May 28, 2012 8:43 pm

Gregio wrote:Steinberg team if you have runned out of ideas we are here to help JUST ASK we are your customers !!!
They did!

edit: link dead!
Last edited by Guest on Tue May 29, 2012 1:56 am, edited 2 times in total.

Eddie Stealth Studio
Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 9:55 am
Contact:

Re: No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by Eddie Stealth Studio » Mon May 28, 2012 9:52 pm

I was thinking the same with regards to the 6.5 paid upgrade. then when i tried making sounds in retrologue, i thought it was the best synth plugin steinberg have made and would have been worth the £42 upgrade price. haven't used it on a song yet, but i will. even though i have plenty of 3rd party , excellent synths! p.s. z3ta+2 is astounding for crazy analogue synth stuff. ed
Stealth Recording Studios, Glasgow UK
0141 554 9244

HalfPastEternity
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 2:11 am
Contact:

Re: No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by HalfPastEternity » Mon May 28, 2012 10:48 pm

Retrologue is pretty awesome for a subtractive synth (and I find subtractive synths boring, we have WAY too many of them). However, I'd love to see new and interesting synths, cabable of completely new sounds.

Also on my wishlist for Cubase, add a proper FM synth.
Long list of gear. Woohooo, look how much stuff I've got!

User avatar
mr.roos
Senior Member
Posts: 1427
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by mr.roos » Mon May 28, 2012 11:05 pm

I am not a keyboard guy at all but I do bring a keyboard player over here on occassion to fill out a song. Which means it is simple now to find a keys patch, plug in the midi keyboard and put something down. And basically I use the Hammond or Rhodes type patches for what I do and not much more. As to the C6.5.1 pure synth sounds and the many different voices they offer, I dig the sounds but have not used them on anything yet. They are interesting though. I like the different textures very much and find myself running through a bunch of different voices looking for inspiration. Eh, glad to have them in other words. Er, so yes, I think Pink Floyd was a worthwhile band.. :lol:

Anyway, I am happy to have what is in C6.5.1 right now, but I, like the OP, really think I don't need much more in the synth lane. This is a recording software first to me.
Cubase 10 Pro from SX3, WaveLab Pro 10, iC Pro remote app, Win10 64-bit (1906 update installed - latest OS build always), Intel i7 8700 Coffee Lake 6-Core 3.2GHz, 32G DDR4 3200, Gigabyte Z390 Designare MB, Radeon RX570 Graphics card, Mackie 1640i (FireWire via TI chipset PCI-E card), M-Audio Keystation 61es controller via USB.

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5285
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by Split » Mon May 28, 2012 11:15 pm

Do you think the people that develop Steinberg soft synths also work on Cubase code?
Is any Cubase development time taken away by soft synth development?
It it all just one team with time divided between projects, or are there different teams for various projects?
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by curteye » Tue May 29, 2012 12:00 am

Aloha guys,

IMHO
Retrologue is not only a very nice emulation but to my ears it
has a 'cleanness' and 'punch' that the older hardware stuff never did.

Also my studio recently made a few extra $$$ simply because
I had purchased PadShop as part of C6.5.
http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopi ... 91&t=21899

Seems all DAW software (as most software) has and will have always its strong points
as well as weak points and the top developers (Steiny included) will continue to try to improve the situation.

In the meantime many musicians are searching, striving to achieve new and different sounds
and enjoy hearing/creating sounds never heard before. (Wilhelm Richard Wagner comes to mind).

As far as the software,(tool) I'll always find a way to make it work.

{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

User avatar
Bane
Senior Member
Posts: 1728
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by Bane » Tue May 29, 2012 12:57 am

I agree, but Padshop and Retrologue look pretty powerful, allowing you to tear apart, and as Curteye mentioned, create new sounds.

As far as soft synths vs. true development goes, I think it's unanimous. We don't need a trillion synths, two or three will do!!
Asus R500A-RS52, Windows 8, 2.6gHz i5 -3230M, 6GB RAM,

Cubase Artist 7.0.6, Wavelab Elements 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, The Grand 3, Melodyne Essential, Superior Drummer, EZDrummer and Pop! EZX, Samson CO1, Yamaha P-35, Mackie MR5mk2 monitors, and more....

My tunes on: Soundcloud

TS-12
Junior Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by TS-12 » Tue May 29, 2012 2:04 am

maybe it's time to release Virtual Guitarist 3..
Win7 64bit/i7-920/8GB RAM/ASUS P6T/e-GeForce 7200GS
-Cubase / PreSonus StudoLive 16.4.2
Korg Tr-rack/ Fantom G6

User avatar
NorthWood MediaWorks
Senior Member
Posts: 2339
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:51 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by NorthWood MediaWorks » Tue May 29, 2012 5:14 am

I love synths, keep em coming, as long as they are as decent as the last two. PadShop is quite excellent.

On the flipside, I see where the OP is coming from, there are some features yet to be perfected since way back, and some work flow items which are sorely lacking.

More spell checker usage would be good too ;) Enought already! :lol:

Cowbell anyone? :? :D
Robin
Visit Northwood Mediaworks!
| Cubase Pro 8.5.20 | Wavelab 8.0.3e | HSO | Padshop Pro | Win10pro 64 | i7 16Gb | UR44 | Angry Wife |
| OSX 10.12.6 | MacBookPro Retina 15 | Loads of Other Stuff |

User avatar
Mauri
Senior Member
Posts: 1125
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:17 am
Location: Adelaide AU
Contact:

Re: No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by Mauri » Tue May 29, 2012 7:47 am

@Robin, you beat me to the Cowbell, can't get enough(t) of That :mrgreen: !

Mauri.
Cubase Pro 10.5 x64 with jBridge | WaveLab Elements 9.5 | i7 5930K @ 4.6GHz (stable) | ASUS X99 Pro | 32GB RAM | | W10 x64 Dual Boot on 2 SSDs plus 3 SSDs for samples and project/audio files | Fractal Design Define R5 case | Noctua NH-D15 | ASUS GeForce GT 730 2GB silent | Vox ToneLab SE | Mackie HR624 MKII | 2 x UAD2 Solo PCIe | RME HDSPe AIO | 2 x 24" LED monitors...

Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5440
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by Centralmusic » Tue May 29, 2012 8:40 am

Don´t agree.

Every DAW has vsti´s and fx´s theses days: you can start right away, and the exchange of projects (!) is also very easy.

So I have absolutely no problem with this, sorry. And I look forward to future developments of steinberg.


But many Cubase users need a -> simple drag/drop onboard-Sampler! (which is now daw standard...)

My opinion.


Cent (extreme midi+vsti man)



@gregio: A great tip = just don´t use cubase´s vsti´s. ;-)

BTW, I never use and hate the score editor in cubase, but there are many users who need this.... (!)



.
!!! NOTE: This is a user forum. It's from users to users. This is not a technical support forum. Therefore sometime some Steinberg employees appear here and help the users. !!!
"Do you already know the manual?"
Kennst du schon das Handbuch?"

User avatar
Backbeat
Senior Member
Posts: 1086
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:58 pm
Contact:

Re: No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by Backbeat » Tue May 29, 2012 9:18 am

I absolutely agree with centralmusic!
We need a Drag and Drop Onboardsampler in Cubase.

Padshop and Retrologue are very good!
DAW 1: Win 7 Ult.64 , i7 5820K 32GB Ram, MB Gigabyte X99 UD3 Bios F6 ,SSD 850 EVO 500GB ,2x 3TB HDD, RME UFX+Remote, Gap Pre 73 Mk2, M-Audio DSM 3, Neumann U87Ai , T.Bone SC450 , Mackie Control Pro, BCR2000 , Kore Controller , FCB1010 , MPK 88 , NI Maschine/KK S61 , Adobe Audition 3 , NI Komplete 11U , jBridge etc.

DAW 2: Win 10 Pro 64, i7 2600 , 16GB Ram ,SSD 840EVO 256GB, 2x 2TB HDD , Mackie Control Pro, BCR 2000, FCB 1010 , M-Audio DSM 3 , NS10M , Nubert AW400 Sub ,Maschine Mk1/KK S61 , RME Babyface, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 , SPL Goldmike , BPM CR73 , AKG Perception 400

MySound

BCR2000 as Cubase Controller

andyjh
Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 8:19 pm
Contact:

Re: No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by andyjh » Tue May 29, 2012 10:00 am

All VSTi's from Steinberg should be separate products, that the user can choose to buy, they should not be part of a DAW package that forces the price of upgrades up, when the majority of users don't want them.

So for me , please Steinberg do not include an more VSTi's in Cubase - keep them an optional product.
Master: Windows 10 64-bit / i7 7820X / 32GB RAM / Dual Monitors / Steinberg UR824 / MOTU Midi Express 128
Slave: Windows 7 64-bit / i7 / 16Gb RAM / Dual monitors / Emu 1820m. Networked via VE Pro
Cubase Pro 10, Absolute 3 (Halion 6), Wavelab Pro 9.0, Dorico Pro 2.1.1
Equipment list: - more than I need : Plug in list:- definitely more than I need

Guest

Re: No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by Guest » Tue May 29, 2012 10:28 am

andyjh wrote:All VSTi's from Steinberg should be separate products, that the user can choose to buy, they should not be part of a DAW package that forces the price of upgrades up, when the majority of users don't want them.
In theory that is good but until there is a purchasable C6 (big one) it likely won't happen.

User avatar
S4410
Junior Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by S4410 » Tue May 29, 2012 10:51 am

I don't generally use the built in synths because i have better ones.But if i didn't own any i would use them,they are fine.
I actually enjoy HalionSonic SE and Groove agent for all around presets.I put them on my projects for demoing reasons but they are often used finally.
Windows 10 Home | i7 3770k | Intel DZ77BH-55K | 32GB | Asus AMD 6450 | RME HDSPe AiO | Cubase Pro 10.5 | Wavelab Pro 9.5 | Dorico Pro 3 | iC| NI Komplete 11 | VSL Special Editions | Ableton Live Intro (rewired) | UAD-2 Quad

HP Elitebook| Cubase Elements

Eddie Stealth Studio
Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 9:55 am
Contact:

Re: No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by Eddie Stealth Studio » Tue May 29, 2012 11:11 am

2 things would happen if steinberg sold their bundled vst instruments as separate instruments.
1. very few people would buy them. something like prologue with it's ugly gui wouldn't survive. padshop is too limited in the current state (no user wav import). all the steinberg vsti are outclassed by 3rd party plugins. as included extras, they are fine though.
2. people would look at sonar and logic etc and say "how come those daws come with blah blah blah instruments and cubase has nothing for a higher price?".
the only common daw i personally know and use that has no vst instruments included is reaper. if i didn't already own 3rd party vsti. reaper would be of little use to me (actually, i only used it for the timestretching and pitchshifting anyway).
ed
Stealth Recording Studios, Glasgow UK
0141 554 9244

Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5440
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by Centralmusic » Tue May 29, 2012 11:16 am

erm...

even a few years ago everyone wanted as many plugins as in logic, the whining and eny was enormous...

(perhaps some have forgotten?)
!!! NOTE: This is a user forum. It's from users to users. This is not a technical support forum. Therefore sometime some Steinberg employees appear here and help the users. !!!
"Do you already know the manual?"
Kennst du schon das Handbuch?"

Guest

Re: No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by Guest » Tue May 29, 2012 11:25 am

Eddie Stealth Studio wrote:all the steinberg vsti are outclassed by 3rd party plugins. as included extras, they are fine though.
you don't think this is a deliberate strategy to keep VST the common denominator of DAW world generally?

Eddie Stealth Studio
Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 9:55 am
Contact:

Re: No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by Eddie Stealth Studio » Tue May 29, 2012 11:50 am

i don't think steinberg synths are deliberately lower quality than the best 3rd party ones. i'ts more to with resources and focus. spectrasonics, native instruments etc can spend money on stuff that a daw designer can't. i'm happy to use steinberg plugins for supporting stuff and the 3rd party big guns on the stars! ed
Stealth Recording Studios, Glasgow UK
0141 554 9244

Guest

Re: No more synths please !!! we have enought !!!

Post by Guest » Tue May 29, 2012 12:00 pm

I've got Halion 3.5 Retail player and it sounds good to me.

A bit trepidatious though about getting Halion 4 if it contains synth samples.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests