Successfully importing a midi file from keyboard

All about our Cubase LE and Cubase AI OEM bundle software.
nigelbn

Successfully importing a midi file from keyboard

Post by nigelbn » Wed Jul 18, 2012 9:09 pm

Hi folks. I'm not technically strong, in fact I'm in need of kindergarten step by step advice. From browsing this forum I can see that this is an introductory level question from someone who has used Cubase 4 simply to import audio tracks from a CD exported by a 16 track recorder. I've been doing that very happily for 3 years, but a few weeks back I became the proud owner of a Yamaha PSR-S650. This keyboard can save 'songs', ie midi files, and also export them to USB sticks. I've also downloaded the USB-MIDI drivers whilst the keyboard was connected to the pc with a USB A-B cable. Now what I want to do in Cubase is play and hear the song I had created on the keyboard, add some audio, and remix the entire set of tracks. Using the files from the USB stick I have imported midi tracks, but when I play I hear nothing. I've read the manual, I've looked at tutorials, I've read forums, but none of them are interactive!!! In Cubase I've looked at VST instruments, and that's greyed out. I found a menu for installing a device, but my particular Yamaha keyboard was not listed (I saw one suggestion to use 'GM' assuming this meant generic, but that hasn't helped). I also suspect I'm flaying around in both VST and Midi when there are differences I don't appreciate. And a bus is something I take to the airport. If anyone is prepared to offer some easy to follow advice I would be very grateful. Thank you.

Scab Pickens

Re: Successfully importing a midi file from keyboard

Post by Scab Pickens » Wed Jul 18, 2012 11:03 pm

Are you using a dedicated soundcard/interface or just your computer's built in audio?