Is there a easy way to export hitpoint slices?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
beerbong
Member
Posts: 788
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Is there a easy way to export hitpoint slices?

Post by beerbong » Sat Jul 28, 2012 8:25 pm

I'm not sure if this has been answered before, I couldn't find it. Is there a easy way to export all slices of a audio files to a specific directory?

many thanks
BB - Intel Quad/RME/Nvidia Video, RME Raydat, Win10 Home
Cubase 8.5 64 bit / Cubase 9.5 / Wavelab Elements / Halion 6 / Padshop Pro

Betamac
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Is there a easy way to export hitpoint slices?

Post by Betamac » Sat Jul 28, 2012 9:01 pm

Watched a producer masterclass last week, from the wideboys.

They've used Cubase for years, and they use ReCycle (propellerhead) to slice up from hitpoints, then load the slices into Kontakt

and this leads me to believe it isnt a function within Cubase, but I could be wrong.

If you want to trigger Slices from a keyboard in Cubase this is very easy. - load a groove agent one

select your slices and drop them onto a pad they'll map and you can then play em slice by slice (there's some tutorials to emulate MPC behavior on youtube)

Steinberg are missing a trick here though because they should either add more functionality to the excellent GA one to make it more of a 'sampler', or make it possible to Drag n drop your samples into Kontakt etc (3rd party), as the hitpoint functions in the sample editor are really powerful, but you can't easily use these slices in non Cubase Plugins...shame

Personally I'd welcome Development of GA one, its the answer IMHO ;)
PC - Intel 3930k Hex core (oc'd at 4.5 gig), 16G DDR Ram, Windows 10 64 bit, Sapphire ATI Radeon 5770 Graphics, Big Screen in front, smaller screen at side. Cubase 64 Bit - Ozone 6, T Racks S3, Komplete 7 - Various Waves plugs. Focusrite PRO24Dsp - Yamaha HS80 Monitors, Audio Technica ATH M50 headphones. Logitech G600 mouse. Comfy Chair, 2 Pg Tips chimps.

Como Baila
Member
Posts: 631
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:54 am
Contact:

Re: Is there a easy way to export hitpoint slices?

Post by Como Baila » Sat Jul 28, 2012 10:09 pm

Betamac wrote:Watched a producer masterclass last week, from the wideboys.

They've used Cubase for years, and they use ReCycle (propellerhead) to slice up from hitpoints, then load the slices into Kontakt

and this leads me to believe it isnt a function within Cubase, but I could be wrong.

If you want to trigger Slices from a keyboard in Cubase this is very easy. - load a groove agent one

select your slices and drop them onto a pad they'll map and you can then play em slice by slice (there's some tutorials to emulate MPC behavior on youtube)

Steinberg are missing a trick here though because they should either add more functionality to the excellent GA one to make it more of a 'sampler', or make it possible to Drag n drop your samples into Kontakt etc (3rd party), as the hitpoint functions in the sample editor are really powerful, but you can't easily use these slices in non Cubase Plugins...shame

Personally I'd welcome Development of GA one, its the answer IMHO ;)
+1

But I don't think it's going to happen, since they want you to buy Halion.

As an aside, Recycle doesn't work too well for anything but drums. If you try to chop a vocal you get lots of artifacts. But! It does permit the export of a midi file with the timing info for your divisions. You can set up the chop points in your file loaded into Recycle (you need to know the exact beats/ bars to get the tempo, or the tempo to get the bars and beats set up properly) ... export the midi file, then simply chop the file in Cubase at the same intervals you used in Recycle, drag the samples to GA and trigger GA with the Recycle midi file.

Como
Win7x64 C6-32 Intel MOBO Dual Dualcore Xeon 3ghz Processors - RME Multiface II PCIe - Echo Layla24 - Mackie 824 Monitors - Mackie Controller Universal Pro - Mackie Big Knob - 2 UAD2 Quads - Novation SL 61 MK II - StudioLogic 880 Pro - Roland XV5080 - Korg Radias R - Emu CS PK-7 - MOTU Midi Timepiece AV Parallel - A Designs Pacifica - Mackie Onyx 800R - Mics - Controllers - Software - Stuff

Betamac
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Is there a easy way to export hitpoint slices?

Post by Betamac » Sat Jul 28, 2012 10:53 pm

I love GA one

Hope Steinberg put some filter options, or envelope functionality into it for C7

Its a great Plug in, it could be better so easily,

Halion is great too, but wheres the editing functions you expect from a £400 + sampler,,,, come on !!
PC - Intel 3930k Hex core (oc'd at 4.5 gig), 16G DDR Ram, Windows 10 64 bit, Sapphire ATI Radeon 5770 Graphics, Big Screen in front, smaller screen at side. Cubase 64 Bit - Ozone 6, T Racks S3, Komplete 7 - Various Waves plugs. Focusrite PRO24Dsp - Yamaha HS80 Monitors, Audio Technica ATH M50 headphones. Logitech G600 mouse. Comfy Chair, 2 Pg Tips chimps.

Stealth
Member
Posts: 490
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Contact:

Re: Is there a easy way to export hitpoint slices?

Post by Stealth » Sun Jul 29, 2012 1:27 am

Betamac wrote:I love GA one

Hope Steinberg put some filter options, or envelope functionality into it for C7

Its a great Plug in, it could be better so easily,
Yes!
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2014), 16GB RAM, Steinberg UR22, OSX Mojave 10.14, Cubase 9.0.4

beerbong
Member
Posts: 788
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Is there a easy way to export hitpoint slices?

Post by beerbong » Sun Jul 29, 2012 2:43 am

Betamac wrote:Watched a producer masterclass last week, from the wideboys.

They've used Cubase for years, and they use ReCycle (propellerhead) to slice up from hitpoints, then load the slices into Kontakt

and this leads me to believe it isnt a function within Cubase, but I could be wrong.

If you want to trigger Slices from a keyboard in Cubase this is very easy. - load a groove agent one

select your slices and drop them onto a pad they'll map and you can then play em slice by slice (there's some tutorials to emulate MPC behavior on youtube)

Steinberg are missing a trick here though because they should either add more functionality to the excellent GA one to make it more of a 'sampler', or make it possible to Drag n drop your samples into Kontakt etc (3rd party), as the hitpoint functions in the sample editor are really powerful, but you can't easily use these slices in non Cubase Plugins...shame

Personally I'd welcome Development of GA one, its the answer IMHO ;)
Ya, GA works I guess, and 3rd party support would be great. But I'd settle for a simple export routine, or even drag to desktop.

/cheers
BB - Intel Quad/RME/Nvidia Video, RME Raydat, Win10 Home
Cubase 8.5 64 bit / Cubase 9.5 / Wavelab Elements / Halion 6 / Padshop Pro

dragon17
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 11:11 am
Contact:

Re: Is there a easy way to export hitpoint slices?

Post by dragon17 » Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:39 am

beerbong wrote:I'm not sure if this has been answered before, I couldn't find it. Is there a easy way to export all slices of a audio files to a specific directory?

many thanks
Here the solution (working with Cubase 7, but it should work with Cubase 6/6.5):

1- create your hitpoints and slices
2- in the sample editor click on "create regions from hitpoints"
3- close the sample editor and open the pool
4- locate the audio file you are working on and expand its view (click on +), you'll see a list of the created regions
5- select one or more regions you want to export (use keyboard shift or ctrl keys for multiple selection)
6- use the function "bounce selection" in the audio menu
7- you'll be asked to locate or create a folder, then click ok. you have now each single region (which identifies a single slice) as a single wav file

PS: Dear Steinberg, I called (by international phone call) your support center, asking to the guy there if there was a solution to this topic here longtime posted (export slices into single wave files). Your guy answered me "no, it is not possible yet!" - Therefore I've found the solution (here shared) by myself. The question is: why you Steinberg are paying such people if 75% of times I call they do not know nothing but just the easiest and basic things that the stones know as well? Moreover, it should be nice and useful if you (Steinberg) look at this forum sometime, helping who (we customers), is paying your products since 20+ years (just yesterday I updated to Cubase 7), and please employ some useful and ready people in your offices! Thanks for your understanding.

beerbong
Member
Posts: 788
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Is there a easy way to export hitpoint slices?

Post by beerbong » Fri Dec 12, 2014 7:31 am

dragon17 wrote:
beerbong wrote:I'm not sure if this has been answered before, I couldn't find it. Is there a easy way to export all slices of a audio files to a specific directory?

many thanks
Here the solution (working with Cubase 7, but it should work with Cubase 6/6.5):

1- create your hitpoints and slices
2- in the sample editor click on "create regions from hitpoints"
3- close the sample editor and open the pool
4- locate the audio file you are working on and expand its view (click on +), you'll see a list of the created regions
5- select one or more regions you want to export (use keyboard shift or ctrl keys for multiple selection)
6- use the function "bounce selection" in the audio menu
7- you'll be asked to locate or create a folder, then click ok. you have now each single region (which identifies a single slice) as a single wav file

PS: Dear Steinberg, I called (by international phone call) your support center, asking to the guy there if there was a solution to this topic here longtime posted (export slices into single wave files). Your guy answered me "no, it is not possible yet!" - Therefore I've found the solution (here shared) by myself. The question is: why you Steinberg are paying such people if 75% of times I call they do not know nothing but just the easiest and basic things that the stones know as well? Moreover, it should be nice and useful if you (Steinberg) look at this forum sometime, helping who (we customers), is paying your products since 20+ years (just yesterday I updated to Cubase 7), and please employ some useful and ready people in your offices! Thanks for your understanding.
Thanks so much, I was wondering how to do this. Now I can use Cubase to make slices, this is a great efficient slicers.

cheers
BB - Intel Quad/RME/Nvidia Video, RME Raydat, Win10 Home
Cubase 8.5 64 bit / Cubase 9.5 / Wavelab Elements / Halion 6 / Padshop Pro

dragon17
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 11:11 am
Contact:

Re: Is there a easy way to export hitpoint slices?

Post by dragon17 » Fri Dec 12, 2014 8:50 am

Glad you find it useful. Cheers!

chikitin
Member
Posts: 521
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 3:15 am
Contact:

Re: Is there a easy way to export hitpoint slices?

Post by chikitin » Tue Jul 25, 2017 5:09 pm

beerbong wrote:
Fri Dec 12, 2014 7:31 am
PS: Dear Steinberg, I called (by international phone call) your support center, asking to the guy there if there was a solution to this topic here longtime posted (export slices into single wave files). Your guy answered me "no, it is not possible yet!" - Therefore I've found the solution (here shared) by myself. The question is: why you Steinberg are paying such people if 75% of times I call they do not k


Thank you so much! This is so great!

Steinberg needs to hire people like you!
Laptop: MacBook Pro, 16GB RAM SSD 2TB, Cubase Pro 10, Latest Mac
NI Komplete, EWQLSO
Keyboard: Yamaha PSR-A3000
Interface: Steinberg MR-816CSX, NI Audio Kontrol
Controller: Steinberg CC121, Korg 2

florencia
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 5:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Is there a easy way to export hitpoint slices?

Post by florencia » Thu Apr 26, 2018 6:03 pm

dragon17 wrote:
Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:39 am
beerbong wrote:I'm not sure if this has been answered before, I couldn't find it. Is there a easy way to export all slices of a audio files to a specific directory?

many thanks
Here the solution (working with Cubase 7, but it should work with Cubase 6/6.5):

1- create your hitpoints and slices
2- in the sample editor click on "create regions from hitpoints"
3- close the sample editor and open the pool
4- locate the audio file you are working on and expand its view (click on +), you'll see a list of the created regions
5- select one or more regions you want to export (use keyboard shift or ctrl keys for multiple selection)
6- use the function "bounce selection" in the audio menu
7- you'll be asked to locate or create a folder, then click ok. you have now each single region (which identifies a single slice) as a single wav file

PS: Dear Steinberg, I called (by international phone call) your support center, asking to the guy there if there was a solution to this topic here longtime posted (export slices into single wave files). Your guy answered me "no, it is not possible yet!" - Therefore I've found the solution (here shared) by myself. The question is: why you Steinberg are paying such people if 75% of times I call they do not know nothing but just the easiest and basic things that the stones know as well? Moreover, it should be nice and useful if you (Steinberg) look at this forum sometime, helping who (we customers), is paying your products since 20+ years (just yesterday I updated to Cubase 7), and please employ some useful and ready people in your offices! Thanks for your understanding.
Thank you SO much. I use cubase 5 and have been trying to find another software or plugin to export slices but this made the job. You saved me a lot of time, I really appreciate you shared this.

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2878
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Is there a easy way to export hitpoint slices?

Post by Romantique Tp » Thu Apr 26, 2018 7:35 pm

In Cubase 9.5 you literally just have to click create events from hitpoints and then click Render in Place once, all from the same window. Cubase 5's workflow is very clunky in comparison to more recent versions.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests