Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9243
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by -steve- » Tue Jan 25, 2011 4:45 pm

Edit: see below, this works as designed.

To those who have Cubase 6 can you check?

Problem is the MIDI reverse function is broken.

In certain conditions it works
- Create empty project in 4/4 time
- Add a midi track
- draw in several notes. Place all notes on the beat.
- select all
- choose from MIDI menu: Functions: Reverse
- Result: notes reverse correctly

Reproduce the bug:
- Create empty project in 4/4 time
- draw in several notes. Place some notes on the beat and place others off the beat, (say, second 8th note of beats)
- select all
- choose from MIDI menu: Functions: Reverse
- Result: notes do not reverse correctly.

see this post for a bit more detail: http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopi ... =19&t=2079
Last edited by -steve- on Wed Mar 06, 2013 4:31 pm, edited 4 times in total.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee, and I do not speak for them)
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR44C | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

Chris Beuermann

Re: Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by Chris Beuermann » Tue Jan 25, 2011 5:02 pm

Hello,


it is not solved with Cubase 6. We have added it in our Database.

thanks for reporting,

Chris

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9243
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by -steve- » Tue Jan 25, 2011 5:04 pm

Ah. Thanks for the reply.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee, and I do not speak for them)
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR44C | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
KDEF2004
Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by KDEF2004 » Tue Jan 25, 2011 5:15 pm

SteveInChicago wrote:To those who have Cubase 6 can you check?

Problem is the MIDI reverse function is broken.

In certain conditions it works
- Create empty project in 4/4 time
- Add a midi track
- draw in several notes. Place all notes on the beat.
- select all
- choose from MIDI menu: Functions: Reverse
- Result: notes reverse correctly

Reproduce the bug:
- Create empty project in 4/4 time
- draw in several notes. Place some notes on the beat and place others off the beat, (say, second 8th note of beats)
- select all
- choose from MIDI menu: Functions: Reverse
- Result: notes do not reverse correctly.

see this post for a bit more detail: http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopi ... =19&t=2079
Wow, and I thought I was the only one who noticed this. Glad to see it has been put in the database.
Lenovo IdeaPad 330, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750H CPU @ 2.20GHz, 16 GB Ram, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Beringer UMC404HD, Cubase 10.5, Wavelab 10.0.10, Specttralayers 6, Pro, Reason 11 Suite,HSO 1.5 VSTI'S & FX'S

https://www.instagram.com/djkdef/

Christian D.
Moderator
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:05 am
Contact:

Re: Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by Christian D. » Thu Jan 27, 2011 8:36 am

Hi there,

I think there is a misunderstanding how the Reverse function is supposed to work. It does not work in a way of mirroring the events ("optical reverse"). When you perform an optical reverse, the musical result is wrong, if the length of the notes is not quantized. We had complaints, that the output would not sound in time on a optical reverse. (NoteOff-position becomes NoteOn-position). So we use the start-position of the last note as an "anchor" and only reverse the start-positions of the rest of the notes. This gives the best musical result.
Christian Dettner | Product Planning Manager | Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 1845
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by Puma0382 » Thu Jan 27, 2011 10:29 am

Interesting.. thanks for the input Christian...

Hmmm.. lots of questions..

What do i want to reverse..? the order of the notes and the place they start, the relative distance between them..? If everything is quantised (starts and ends) then all is well... but on notes that have no length quantise applied, if I just want to try an 'optical reverse', it may not turn out too good...!?! Then that's my problem (not the programs problem).

Or, its the relative timing (rhythm) between the notes that's attractive... so how should a reverse in this case work...? The devil I guess is in choosing the 'anchor point' and how to deal with ends of notes becoming the start of notes.

So, its a bit of trial and error - in that some pieces will work and others absolutely won't...!! Trying to wrap my head around how the start of the notes works when calculating its reverse (if you're ignoring its end point..).

I think I better leave it there for now... :?
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5.10, WaveLab Pro v10.0.10, Studio One v4.6.1, Dorico Elements v3.1, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9243
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by -steve- » Thu Jan 27, 2011 4:16 pm

Thanks for clarifying that Christian. Now I get it.

To wit: the reverse function does work like retrograde if you quantize the lengths of all the notes to the smallest one in the set.

Afterward, one may change the lengths as desired.

I thank you, my brain thanks you. :?
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee, and I do not speak for them)
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR44C | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

TobyShark
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:36 pm
Contact:

Re: [solved] Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by TobyShark » Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:51 pm

I'm not sure the answer is to tell us that the new version of reverse is more musical. For me it's not. It's not as inspirational or different as the optical reverse technique.
:twisted:
Please can you reinstate optical reverse, for creativity's sake!

how is this solved?
tobyshark.com

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: [solved] Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by Conman » Sun Jul 08, 2012 4:50 pm

Or, its the relative timing (rhythm) between the notes that's attractive... so how should a reverse in this case work...? The devil I guess is in choosing the 'anchor point' and how to deal with ends of notes becoming the start of notes.
The two main ways to reverse are firstly, simple note reversal which doesn't affect any other midi data so A C E becomes E C A with note lengths, pitchbend, expression etc. left positionally intact and
Tape type reversal like tape played backwards. This is what I call "mirror" reversal and where the starts of notes becomes the ends.
May be a case for an option. Simple note reversal can be set with the Transformer however.
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [solved] Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by vic_france » Sun Jul 08, 2012 5:02 pm

Conman wrote: Simple note reversal can be set with the Transformer however.
You've got me there! :) How? (the closest I can see is to calculate the average between the lowest and highest selected note and use that as the center value from which to "Mirror".. but I'm pretty sure that doesn't give simple note reversal)
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: [solved] Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by Conman » Sun Jul 08, 2012 6:59 pm

vic_france wrote:
Conman wrote: Simple note reversal can be set with the Transformer however.
You've got me there! :) How? (the closest I can see is to calculate the average between the lowest and highest selected note and use that as the center value from which to "Mirror".. but I'm pretty sure that doesn't give simple note reversal)
Oh! Surprise to me. I would have thought that was basic to it. Just a reversal of note sequence end to end as in: 12345 becomes 54321 given a range of course so the average would fall between the first and last notes including the two as in 123456 becomes 654321. I know, and can't remember if it's still a preset for the Input Transformer that it will do that for the keyboard input so you can reverse the keys which I used to find quite handy for inputting drums. As it can reverse the keys I assumed it could also reverse the notes.
It's a while since I looked at the transformer so I'll check what I'm talking about. An :oops: maybe called for.

I know simple mirror reversal can be done both ways, as in the movies "Mirrors" where the gaffe at the end is that evrything gets mirrored (sh... gave away the ending) but they just turned the stencil around on a police car so it read ecilop but in a real mirror the "E" would still be at the end. The letters would be backward and not the whole word.
So I guess I'm talking about the whole word ie: between the first and last or a given range of notes.
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [solved] Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by vic_france » Sun Jul 08, 2012 7:21 pm

Conman wrote:12345 becomes 54321 given a range of course so the average would fall between the first and last notes including the two as in 123456 becomes 654321.
Yes, but..
Imagine that the source notes were 126. Mirroring it (from the correct center point) would give, not 621 but 651.
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: [solved] Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by Conman » Mon Jul 09, 2012 4:36 am

vic_france wrote:
Conman wrote:12345 becomes 54321 given a range of course so the average would fall between the first and last notes including the two as in 123456 becomes 654321.
Yes, but..
Imagine that the source notes were 126. Mirroring it (from the correct center point) would give, not 621 but 651.
:mrgreen: See what you mean.
I'm talking a different mirror then. Note event reversal I suppose? Where just the notes are reversed leaving the langth values, say, untouched so a
A [quarter note at position 1.000] and a B [8th at position 2.000] reverse and ends up as B [quarter note at position 1.000] and A [8th at position 2.000]. Cubase playing it just as you would play a piece up and down yourself. Note lengths left intact and at the starts they were. Daaah dit dit dit does not become dit dit dit Daaah or tid tid tid haaaD etc.
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9243
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: [Resolved] Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by -steve- » Mon Jul 09, 2012 5:33 am

TobyShark wrote:I'm not sure the answer is to tell us that the new version of reverse is more musical. For me it's not. It's not as inspirational or different as the optical reverse technique.
:twisted:
Please can you reinstate optical reverse, for creativity's sake!

how is this solved?
What I was asking for was regular retrograde, which means that the pitch and duration of the last note becomes the first, the second to last note becomes the second, and so on. This is only works out in Cubase when you quantize the lengths of all the notes, and it can't be too complex. (Really I never tried using it again after making this thread, and forgot the quirks.)

So, there really is no retrograde function in Cubase, and that's what I wanted. Finale has a very nice plugin that lets you do simple retrograde, or add in a transposition or inversion, all in one dialog box.

I am using Finale more now, the whole note-based thing is a whole different mindset and I am into that, plus I am only writing anything for live musicians these days. (I can see Conman nodding...) (Hi vic)

Steve
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee, and I do not speak for them)
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR44C | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [Resolved] Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by vic_france » Mon Jul 09, 2012 12:10 pm

Which of the groups of two bars gives the desired reversal (from the original first two bars)?
Reverse.jpg
(71.1 KiB) Not downloaded yet
I think that Cubase would do the Time Mirror correctly if it simply didn't bother to swap note-ons and note-offs.. just reverse the positions of the original note-ons and give them their original lengths. Of course this doesn't sound like a reversal (i.e. compared with the reversed audio)

Comments?
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

User avatar
KDEF2004
Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by KDEF2004 » Mon Jul 09, 2012 12:13 pm

Christian D. wrote:Hi there,

I think there is a misunderstanding how the Reverse function is supposed to work. It does not work in a way of mirroring the events ("optical reverse"). When you perform an optical reverse, the musical result is wrong, if the length of the notes is not quantized. We had complaints, that the output would not sound in time on a optical reverse. (NoteOff-position becomes NoteOn-position). So we use the start-position of the last note as an "anchor" and only reverse the start-positions of the rest of the notes. This gives the best musical result.
I totally understand.... (Logic Pro gives you two ways to reverse since Logic Notator) :shock: When Cubase VST was around the pitch and position reverse worked just like :
Puma0382 wrote:Interesting.. thanks for the input Christian...


What do i want to reverse..? the order of the notes and the place they start, the relative distance between them..? If everything is quantised (starts and ends) then all is well... but on notes that have no length quantise applied, if I just want to try an 'optical reverse', it may not turn out too good...!?! Then that's my problem (not the programs problem).

Or, its the relative timing (rhythm) between the notes that's attractive... so how should a reverse in this case work...? The devil I guess is in choosing the 'anchor point' and how to deal with ends of notes becoming the start of notes.
We need options for this function....I repeat... We need options for the "REVERSE FUNCTION" please.
hint: New name for the reverse function"PITCH AND POSITION REVERSE" 8-)
Thank you
Lenovo IdeaPad 330, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750H CPU @ 2.20GHz, 16 GB Ram, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Beringer UMC404HD, Cubase 10.5, Wavelab 10.0.10, Specttralayers 6, Pro, Reason 11 Suite,HSO 1.5 VSTI'S & FX'S

https://www.instagram.com/djkdef/

chase
Member
Posts: 367
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:25 pm
Contact:

Re: [Resolved] Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by chase » Mon Jul 09, 2012 12:33 pm

Here, there was some further discussion about the differences between what Cubase does now and the kind of reversal it used to do - ie like making a mirror image of the display in the key editor: http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopi ... =19&t=6139

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [Resolved] Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by vic_france » Mon Jul 09, 2012 1:16 pm

chase wrote:Here, there was some further discussion about the differences between what Cubase does now and the kind of reversal it used to do - ie like making a mirror image of the display in the key editor: http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopi ... =19&t=6139
(without having to blow the cobwebs off my old Atari, as suggested in that link ;) ).. I've just had a quick look at how Digital Performer handles it, and it is perfect! It offers two options.. Retrograde (which is the "optical" mirror), and Time Reverse (which is similar to what Cubase does, but not identical)..
Observe the following screenshot. The 2nd group of notes is the Retrograde of the 1st group, and the 3rd group of notes is the Time Reverse of the 1st group (Cubase would have placed that whole group one beat earlier)..
DP.jpg
(73.61 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: [Resolved] Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by Conman » Mon Jul 09, 2012 4:13 pm

Thanks for the screenshot.
If those two should be considered options then I propose a third where (and I'm sure it worked that way on the Atari but I might have lost a brain cell there), in the second example the seen events would not change but the notes would. Just as a player would play them himself.
As you say, Cubase would put that third set a beat earlier but reversing the event lengths, to my mind, should not be the first choice or only choice option.
Players would probably prefer my example while music programmers might want something a bit more radical in the palette and prefer the other types.
My way would mean that you would not have to have all the notes the same length to get a true reversal.
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

chase
Member
Posts: 367
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:25 pm
Contact:

Re: [Resolved] Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by chase » Mon Jul 09, 2012 4:33 pm

vic_france wrote:
DP.jpg
Interesting example.
vic_france wrote:without having to blow the cobwebs off my old Atari, as suggested in that link ;)
If I read correctly what KDEF2004 said above, the straight-forward retrograde process found in Atari Cubase was still the way it was done in Cubase VST. If so, and if you still have that available, your Atari's cobwebs could stay undisturbed. :) (I'll try to remember to try Cubase VST, the next time I want to reverse a MIDI part that way.)

Conman wrote:Thanks for the screenshot.
If those two should be considered options then I propose a third where (and I'm sure it worked that way on the Atari but I might have lost a brain cell there), in the second example the seen events would not change but the notes would. Just as a player would play them himself.
Haven't quite understood exactly what you mean there, but when I've done reversals in Atari Cubase, I've got the equivalent of a mirror image in the key editor (ie a true retrograde, and what I wanted).

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [Resolved] Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by vic_france » Mon Jul 09, 2012 4:46 pm

chase wrote: If I read correctly what KDEF2004 said above, the straight-forward retrograde process found in Atari Cubase was still the way it was done in Cubase VST. If so, and if you still have that available, your Atari's cobwebs could stay undisturbed. :)
Unfortunately, here on Mac, Cubase VST can no longer run since the Mac "Classic" days (OS.9. something), and I no longer have a Mac in working order that can run that OS (and, yes, there are times when I'd love to take a trip down that Memory Lane ;) )
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: [Resolved] Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by Conman » Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:38 pm

Haven't quite understood exactly what you mean there, but when I've done reversals in Atari Cubase, I've got the equivalent of a mirror image in the key editor (ie a true retrograde, and what I wanted).
I'm probably corrected there and if I'm reading you right the true retrograde you got in the key editor on the Atari, taking that your note lengths weren't all the same and weren't all on the beats, would therefore not read as reverse in the Score editor, say?

The way I work ideal reverse woul be to have the notes (ADGB to BGDA) reverse in the Score editor but the actual notation rhythm stay as is. ie: still look the same.
However, like you, if I wanted the rhythm reversed then I'd probably need a few options as to where it lines up.
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [Resolved] Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by vic_france » Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:55 pm

Conman wrote: The way I work ideal reverse woul be to have the notes (ADGB to BGDA) reverse in the Score editor but the actual notation rhythm stay as is. ie: still look the same.
i.e. what we are referring to as "note reversal", right? (like #2 in my first Score screenshot) If so, there's nothing in Cubase that can currently achieve that.. would need some sort of source/destination array function.
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: [Resolved] Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by Conman » Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:03 pm

vic_france wrote:
Conman wrote: The way I work ideal reverse woul be to have the notes (ADGB to BGDA) reverse in the Score editor but the actual notation rhythm stay as is. ie: still look the same.
i.e. what we are referring to as "note reversal", right? (like #2 in my first Score screenshot) If so, there's nothing in Cubase that can currently achieve that.. would need some sort of source/destination array function.
Yes. just had a little poke around and it seems it's maybe made up from the Logical Editor "mirror" type. (my error before referring to it as Transformer) But it's not quite a mirror as Cubase first mirrors it and then moves the first note to the 1st beat of the bar if it isn't already at that position.

Hah! It doesn't work like Logical Ed's "mirror" which mirrors upwards or downwards around a given note.
Mirrors like a mirror on the ceiling rather than a mirror on the wall.
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

TobyShark
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:36 pm
Contact:

Re: [Resolved] Does midi reverse function now work in Cubase 6?

Post by TobyShark » Wed Jul 11, 2012 3:49 pm

I did a picture that hopefully will explain what I want reverse to do illustrate the problem with the current method:
Image

is this possible in cubase 6.5?
tobyshark.com

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests