Selecting every other audio part help :S

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
vanKranendonk
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 5:14 pm
Contact:

Selecting every other audio part help :S

Post by vanKranendonk »

Hey all.

I am currently looking for a way to select every other audio part on a track in Cubase. But unfortunatly i do not have the luck on my side :(

If anyone knows how to do this, please tell me :)

Cheers.
Check out my music at
https://soundcloud.com/uaanendoni

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 22525
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting every other audio part help :S

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

You can select all parts/events in the selected audio track by using menu Edit (or Right click, when your Popup Toolbox on right Click is off, in the Preferences), choose Select > All on Seleced Track. Then hold Ctrl/Cmd and click the part/event, which you don't want to select, for un-selecting this. Done.

If you have just one track, you can use Select > Invert.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

vanKranendonk
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 5:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting every other audio part help :S

Post by vanKranendonk »

That doesnt really do the trick for me. what i want to do is to be free from clicking a million times to select/de-select every other part. What i am looking for, would be something like holding down a key, and double clicking a part on a track, and then every other part would be selected. A fast method for this is what i am after.
Check out my music at
https://soundcloud.com/uaanendoni

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2630
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting every other audio part help :S

Post by Arjan P »

What exactly are you trying to do? It sounds like a bit of a one-off kind of function - nothing a music software designer could anticipate I think.. You might check out the Project Logical Editor for this though, could work.
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 10.0.30 | Cubase 10.0.60 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

vanKranendonk
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 5:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting every other audio part help :S

Post by vanKranendonk »

I yet have to look at the Logical editor for my little project here. But i am really a noob when it comes to that kind of programming :S

I am cutting out the bassline in my track, so when ever there is a kick drum, the bassline will have a lowcut filter applied at 120hz so the bass sits nice and tight. So instead of selecting every other part of the basslines audio track manually, i want to be able to do it in as few clicks as possible since i use this feature for all my tracks constantly! :=)
Check out my music at
https://soundcloud.com/uaanendoni

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5286
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting every other audio part help :S

Post by Split »

Idea!

Copy bass to another track, high cut bass from 120 Hz... Invert bass track.

Use a side chained gate to the kik on the inverted bass track. mix inverted sidechained basstrack with original bass track till desired lowend reduction is achieved.
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

vanKranendonk
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 5:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting every other audio part help :S

Post by vanKranendonk »

Brilliant Split.!

I will try it out first thing tomorow. Thanks :)
Check out my music at
https://soundcloud.com/uaanendoni

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5286
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting every other audio part help :S

Post by Split »

Oh... this is where a linear phase EQ may be advantageous.
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

vanKranendonk
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 5:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting every other audio part help :S

Post by vanKranendonk »

Please explain to me why i should use a liniar phase eq.
I am still new in understanding the deeper technical knowladge! i have to go from :geek: :arrow: :ugeek:
Check out my music at
https://soundcloud.com/uaanendoni

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5286
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting every other audio part help :S

Post by Split »

Because the "Idea" I sketched out relies on cancellation of a heavily EQ'd Part against it's anti-twin and I would have thought that the less phase distortion introduced on the EQ'd part the better the cancellation would be?
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

HFC
New Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 9:50 am
Contact:

Re: Selecting every other audio part help :S

Post by HFC »

If you just want to select all but one part on a track or tracks:

Select the track - then select all on selected tracks (from edit menu or key command - mine is control S) then deselect part(s) by holding shift key and clicking on parts to deselect.

Works for all parts in a loop too

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Selecting every other audio part help :S

Post by thinkingcap »

HFC wrote:If you just want to select all but one part on a track or tracks:

Select the track - then select all on selected tracks (from edit menu or key command - mine is control S) then deselect part(s) by holding shift key and clicking on parts to deselect.

Works for all parts in a loop too
Try reading the threads, before you post...
Helps avoid unnecessary posts (like mine for example)...
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

HFC
New Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 9:50 am
Contact:

Re: Selecting every other audio part help :S

Post by HFC »

I wonder how many of your other 2984 posts were as unnecessary as that one, or just as arrogant.

chase
Member
Posts: 367
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting every other audio part help :S

Post by chase »

^
Well, TBH, when I came to your post, HFC, I, too, like thinkingcap, thought you probably hadn't actually read the ten previous brief posts. That's because someone else had already made (in effect) the same suggestion, and it wasn't suitable; IMHO it's natural to suppose someone who HAD read the earlier posts probably wouldn't have repeated an unsuitable suggestion.

(BTW, "every other" seems to have caused confusion, above.)

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting every other audio part help :S

Post by vic_france »

chase wrote: (BTW, "every other" seems to have caused confusion, above.)
(i.e. "selected".. "not selected"..."selected"..."not selected".."selected"...etc.) ;)

Unfortunately, not possible for Parts (via the Project Logical Editor), although the Logical Editor can (kinda) achieve this for note events inside a MIDI Editor (using "Last Event").
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

vanKranendonk
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 5:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting every other audio part help :S

Post by vanKranendonk »

vic_france wrote:
chase wrote: (BTW, "every other" seems to have caused confusion, above.)
(i.e. "selected".. "not selected"..."selected"..."not selected".."selected"...etc.) ;)

Unfortunately, not possible for Parts (via the Project Logical Editor), although the Logical Editor can (kinda) achieve this for note events inside a MIDI Editor (using "Last Event").
Would you mind posting that Logical editor script? might just come in handy :)
Check out my music at
https://soundcloud.com/uaanendoni

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting every other audio part help :S

Post by vic_france »

vanKranendonk wrote:
vic_france wrote:
chase wrote: (BTW, "every other" seems to have caused confusion, above.)
(i.e. "selected".. "not selected"..."selected"..."not selected".."selected"...etc.) ;)

Unfortunately, not possible for Parts (via the Project Logical Editor), although the Logical Editor can (kinda) achieve this for note events inside a MIDI Editor (using "Last Event").
Would you mind posting that Logical editor script? might just come in handy :)
Upper Section..
(Optional) Position___Inside Cycle___...___and
Type is___Equal___Note___and
Last Event___Equal___MIDI Status___144/Note___and
Last Event___Every Other Event___Eventcounter___2** (might show "D-2".. doesn't matter ;) )

Lower Section.. leave blank.

Function = "Select".

**You can set the eventcounter to other values, for different results..e.g. "3" will select every 3rd note.
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

Bo Clausen
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting every other audio part help :S

Post by Bo Clausen »

Hej Vic and all
(i.e. "selected".. "not selected"..."selected"..."not selected".."selected"...etc.)

Unfortunately, not possible for Parts (via the Project Logical Editor), although the Logical Editor can (kinda) achieve this for note events inside a MIDI Editor (using "Last Event").
Well - this is possible if you use my Tag System idea ;)

First make two PLE's like this:
Set £ tag.PNG
(23.05 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Select £ tag.PNG
(22.58 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Then make two Macros like this:
Set Tag £ and Select Tag £ macros.png
(11.9 KiB) Not downloaded yet
And then make Key Commands for these two Macros.

OK - so now
1. Select the Track with all the Parts.
2. Select the Part that you want to be the first of the selected Parts.
3. Then play the Key Command for the "Set Tag £" Macro. Just hold down the assigned key(s) and quickly all the Parts on the Track will be tagged.
4. Then play the "Select Tag £" Macro.

Voilá ;)

All the best
Bo

Bo Clausen
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting every other audio part help :S

Post by Bo Clausen »

I was only allowed to add 3 attachments - so here is the last PLE
Delete £ tag.PNG
(22.7 KiB) Not downloaded yet
And here's a little animated GIF that shows how it works -
Select Demo.gif
(522.5 KiB) Not downloaded yet

- Bo
Last edited by Bo Clausen on Tue Sep 04, 2012 11:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting every other audio part help :S

Post by vic_france »

I always keep forgetting about your excellent "Tag" combinations :oops: ;)
(Not seen ya in a while, Bo.. how ya doin'? :) )
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

vanKranendonk
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 5:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting every other audio part help :S

Post by vanKranendonk »

Looks cool. will try it out asap!

Cheers
Bo Clausen wrote:Hej Vic and all
(i.e. "selected".. "not selected"..."selected"..."not selected".."selected"...etc.)

Unfortunately, not possible for Parts (via the Project Logical Editor), although the Logical Editor can (kinda) achieve this for note events inside a MIDI Editor (using "Last Event").
Well - this is possible if you use my Tag System idea ;)

First make two PLE's like this:
Set £ tag.PNG
Select £ tag.PNG
Then make two Macros like this:
Set Tag £ and Select Tag £ macros.png
And then make Key Commands for these two Macros.

OK - so now
1. Select the Track with all the Parts.
2. Select the Part that you want to be the first of the selected Parts.
3. Then play the Key Command for the "Set Tag £" Macro. Just hold down the assigned key(s) and quickly all the Parts on the Track will be tagged.
4. Then play the "Select Tag £" Macro.

Voilá ;)

All the best
Bo
Check out my music at
https://soundcloud.com/uaanendoni

User avatar
skillet
Member
Posts: 508
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 9:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting every other audio part help :S

Post by skillet »

Bo Clausen wrote: Well - this is possible if you use my Tag System idea ;)
Genius! Thanks for the gif showing it it action too!

This doesn't work for the particular example listed above but if you have things alt cut to the grid like 32 notes or something you can use this to select every other note and then delete the selected. Attach a macro to delete to make it one command.

Related is there anyway to have events in range selection cut to the grid rather than having to go to the scissor tool and cut at the near the of the event at the grid to get equal segments?
Attachments
PLE - Select If Not On 32 Note & Event Is Selected.zip
Select If Not On 32 Note & Event Is Selected
(59.27 KiB) Downloaded 47 times
macOS 10.14.6 | Mac Pro (Late 2013) | Processor: 3.5 Ghz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 | Memory: 32 GB 1866 Mhz DDR3 ECC

Cubase 10.5.20 | Nuendo 10.2 | WaveLab Pro 10 | Pro Tools 20.3 | Logic 10.4.8

Audio Interface: Steinberg UR44 | MIDI Interface:MOTU MIDI Timepiece AV; MIDIMan 1x1 | MIDI Keyboard: Alesis QS8.2; Kork Nano Key | Control Surface: MCU (Mackie Control Universal); Korg Nano Kontrol; PreSonus FaderPort; Shuttle Pro 2; CC 121; FD Fader Controller; Softube Console 1

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests