N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

For users of legacy Steinberg Nuendo software
User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1338
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by fenderchris » Thu Sep 27, 2012 3:31 pm

Just installed N5.5.5 but still see no fixes for the following:

The following are very annoying when trying to use Nuendo, but I can not imagine that they would be very difficult to fix. They are generally small things that should just work in Nuendo after all these years:

1. No fix for the 'Devices' dropdown menu issue broken by N5.5.1 ?! - Prior to 5.5.1 this list was automatically columnised if there were too many entries to be displayed in a single column. Since 5.5.1 this no longer happens - all entries are displayed as a single column. As I have about 150 entries in Devices I have to continually scoll up and down a single column to find the entry I want, rather than seeing everything on screen at the same time. This was reported to the Steinberg support line and acknowledged as a bug on September 13th 2011 - I would have thought it would be pretty easy to put it back to the status it had before 5.5.1 was introduced!

2. I am using several script files to select patches/presets for midi synths and external effects. In all cases, when choosing a patch name from a dropdown list in the Inspector, the correct patch on a device is selected. However, if I save the project, exit Nuendo, relaunch Nuendo and open the same project, while the project is loading (in some cases) different patches are selected for those devices. Sometimes a patch name is displayed for a particular device that is not in the script file for that device. In some cases, the wrong patch name is preceeded by the word 'Temp' in the Inspector. For example, the name 'Temp Flange / Dly' appears in the Program Selector in the Inspector, but neither 'Temp Flange / Dly' nor 'Flange / Dly' is present in any of the .txt script files in my Patchnames folder. If I then go and manually select the correct patches again in the Inspector everything works correctly. These issues occur with devices set up as External Effects and External Instruments. The problem with this is that when working on several Projects at the same time that send patch change messages to external devices, every patch name has to be manually remembered and re-selected as each project is loaded!

3. With regard to creating a Midi Device that contains all of the patch/preset names for a device, this does not appear to function in Nuendo. It only appears to work if an existing script file is used - creating files from scratch does not work.

@Steinberg: When can we expect to see fixes for these things?
Last edited by fenderchris on Sun Mar 31, 2013 4:50 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.1903.

PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.

Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).

Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.

Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Nuendo-10.2, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

Oliver.Lucas
Senior Member
Posts: 1386
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by Oliver.Lucas » Thu Sep 27, 2012 4:24 pm

also still unfixed:

AAF has been a complete mess since 5.5.
Main machine: Hexacore 3.3 Cheese grater with USB3 and RME Raydat, 48GB RAM, Radeon HD 7970, Caldigit FASTA USB C, Intensity Pro, macOS 10.14
Avid ProTools S3

neilwilkes
Senior Member
Posts: 1078
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by neilwilkes » Mon Oct 08, 2012 11:42 am

Also still unfixed - project cleanup function.
This has been broken pretty much throughout the whole N5 cycle.
www.opusproductions.com
Intel E5-2687W 8-core Xeon, 32Gb RAM, Windows 7 Pro x64, RME RayDAT, UAD-2 Octo x2 & Quad x2 (fully loaded), Adam A7 x5, WK ID Console
Nuendo 1-6, Cubase 6-7, WaveLab 5-7, DTS/DD encoders, Surround Edition etc, Waves Mercury
Blu-Ray authoring, DVD authoring & high resolution audio specialists.

Detailed Specs on request

artmanjam
Junior Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 3:54 pm
Contact:

Re: N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by artmanjam » Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:37 am

neilwilkes wrote:Also still unfixed - project cleanup function.
This has been broken pretty much throughout the whole N5 cycle.
You're right. Cleanup feature is not working !!! What a mess... I just wanted to cleanup all my 2012 folders so as to minimize my backups, no way !!
Cubase Pro9/MIRpro - W7-64bit - 2xXeon E5 2650v2 - 32GoRAM
VEpro6 - W7-64bit - 2xXeon E5520 - 48GoRAM

artmanjam
Junior Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 3:54 pm
Contact:

Re: N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by artmanjam » Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:10 pm

Is the cleanup issue reported in some bugs and issues list? Couldn't find it...
Cubase Pro9/MIRpro - W7-64bit - 2xXeon E5 2650v2 - 32GoRAM
VEpro6 - W7-64bit - 2xXeon E5520 - 48GoRAM

artmanjam
Junior Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 3:54 pm
Contact:

Re: N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by artmanjam » Wed Nov 14, 2012 8:57 pm

Should anybody know about?
Cubase Pro9/MIRpro - W7-64bit - 2xXeon E5 2650v2 - 32GoRAM
VEpro6 - W7-64bit - 2xXeon E5520 - 48GoRAM

artmanjam
Junior Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 3:54 pm
Contact:

Re: N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by artmanjam » Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:50 pm

Anybody using cleanup feature ??

Can we have some feedback from Steiny, Please...
Cubase Pro9/MIRpro - W7-64bit - 2xXeon E5 2650v2 - 32GoRAM
VEpro6 - W7-64bit - 2xXeon E5520 - 48GoRAM

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 766
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:40 pm

Used it yesterday. Worked as described.

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

artmanjam
Junior Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 3:54 pm
Contact:

Re: N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by artmanjam » Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:50 am

Chewy Papadopoulos wrote:Used it yesterday. Worked as described.
Hi Chewy, are you using N5.5.5? It's definitely not working here. Files list is desperately empty, I made a short test with a small new project just to be sure, 7 files, deleted 6 files from project, deleted from library, 1 file left in project, no file in library's trash, still 7 files in Audio folder. Cleanup files list stays empty, no file found...

I used cleanup function so often in the past (N4), I don't understand what's happening now...
Cubase Pro9/MIRpro - W7-64bit - 2xXeon E5 2650v2 - 32GoRAM
VEpro6 - W7-64bit - 2xXeon E5520 - 48GoRAM

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 766
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:58 am

Yes, I'm on 5.5.5.

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

artmanjam
Junior Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 3:54 pm
Contact:

Re: N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by artmanjam » Wed Jan 16, 2013 2:24 pm

Waow, ununderstandable... :-))

I tried all I can, no way to make it work...
Cubase Pro9/MIRpro - W7-64bit - 2xXeon E5 2650v2 - 32GoRAM
VEpro6 - W7-64bit - 2xXeon E5520 - 48GoRAM

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 766
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:34 pm

I do not know-- we are on different platforms, right? Maybe that has something to do with it.

And, for what it's worth, sometimes system and installation-specific gremlins do pop up. Like my weird little thing with the "open options" dialog on startup listing a never-ending number of files. I trashed prefs... haven't reinstalled because it's not that big of a deal... but it is inexplicable.

Hope it works out for you.

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2445
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by Fredo » Thu Jan 17, 2013 8:39 am

artmanjam wrote:Waow, ununderstandable... :-))

I tried all I can, no way to make it work...

Are you sure that all your files are in the project folder, and not refrenced to another location?
Cleanup can only work after performing a "prepare archive".


Fredo

artmanjam
Junior Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 3:54 pm
Contact:

Re: N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by artmanjam » Thu Jan 17, 2013 6:04 pm

Fredo wrote:Are you sure that all your files are in the project folder, and not refrenced to another location?
Cleanup can only work after performing a "prepare archive".
Fredo
Hi Fredo,

Sure I did, I've been using cleanup feature for so many years. But who knows, that's why I tried a small test project. Project folder doesn't contain anything else than one Nuendo project, Audio & Images folders, 7 files in each folder. 6 files have been deleted from project, 1 file left in project and pool (the file is located in the right audio folder inside current project folder). Prepare archive has been done, project saved once again then. No file detected in cleanup window, it stays empty... No way...

BTW what is the "Clip Packages" folder which is created after "prepare archive"?

@Chewy, W7-64bit here...
Cubase Pro9/MIRpro - W7-64bit - 2xXeon E5 2650v2 - 32GoRAM
VEpro6 - W7-64bit - 2xXeon E5520 - 48GoRAM

artmanjam
Junior Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 3:54 pm
Contact:

Re: N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by artmanjam » Mon Feb 11, 2013 2:16 pm

It looks like cleanup feature is working by some and not working by others. Is there anything in bugs and issues about this problem?

I know it's not a feature one uses daily so feedback may be weak. But it's a main feature. Sure there's a partial turnaround by saving the project in a new folder. Ok when having one single project in folder. If not, we're back to the starting point.

Please help !
Cubase Pro9/MIRpro - W7-64bit - 2xXeon E5 2650v2 - 32GoRAM
VEpro6 - W7-64bit - 2xXeon E5520 - 48GoRAM

artmanjam
Junior Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 3:54 pm
Contact:

Re: N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by artmanjam » Mon Feb 11, 2013 2:28 pm

Following,

To make it trustworthy and clear, I created a test project (N5.5) : 7 files, 6 of 7 deleted from project and pool, one single project in folder. So, still 7 files in Audio folder, only one in project. Cleanup list stays empty.

Closing N5.5, opening N4.3.0 then. Cleanup, the 6 missing files are in the list !!!!
Cubase Pro9/MIRpro - W7-64bit - 2xXeon E5 2650v2 - 32GoRAM
VEpro6 - W7-64bit - 2xXeon E5520 - 48GoRAM

artmanjam
Junior Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 3:54 pm
Contact:

Re: N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by artmanjam » Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:09 pm

Still nothing about ?
Cubase Pro9/MIRpro - W7-64bit - 2xXeon E5 2650v2 - 32GoRAM
VEpro6 - W7-64bit - 2xXeon E5520 - 48GoRAM

zvenx
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by zvenx » Thu Feb 28, 2013 5:45 pm

artmanjam wrote:Still nothing about ?
Nope..... apparently its only you, Neil and myself who use this feature.

sigh
rsp
richard sven patterson
sound sculptist
--------------------------
Nuendo 10| Gigabyte GAX79UP4 : Intel Hex Core Ivy Bridge Extreme 4930K : 32GB RAM | Windows 10 64bit| Lynx Two C | Midisport 2x2 | UAD-2 Quad |

Cubase 10 | MacBookPro Retina 2.8Ghz Quad Core I7 | 10.14.5 | 16GB | NI Komplete Audio 6 | UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt Quad |

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 766
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Thu Feb 28, 2013 8:40 pm

zvenx wrote:apparently its only you, Neil and myself who use this feature.
That is not entirely true, as indicated above.

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

zvenx
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by zvenx » Thu Feb 28, 2013 8:46 pm

Chewy Papadopoulos wrote:
zvenx wrote:apparently its only you, Neil and myself who use this feature.
That is not entirely true, as indicated above.

Chewy

sorry Chewy, I was trying to be sarcastic. Because clearly it is of either very very low importance or exceedingly difficult to fix.
rsp
richard sven patterson
sound sculptist
--------------------------
Nuendo 10| Gigabyte GAX79UP4 : Intel Hex Core Ivy Bridge Extreme 4930K : 32GB RAM | Windows 10 64bit| Lynx Two C | Midisport 2x2 | UAD-2 Quad |

Cubase 10 | MacBookPro Retina 2.8Ghz Quad Core I7 | 10.14.5 | 16GB | NI Komplete Audio 6 | UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt Quad |

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 766
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:56 pm

Yeah, I know... and I fast-fired a hyper-literal Aspergergian knee-jerk, which is kind of lame.

Sorry about that.

Still... it's worth considering that there are at least a few here for whom it's working fine, right? On at least a couple of platforms as reported thus far... so it would be interesting to figure out what gets in the way of it working for you and the others.

Just as I would like to know why I can't limit the number of files in my "recent" list. I have no trouble with cleaning up projects, but my "recently opened" box is a maddening mess of directory paths and redundant filenames.

Good luck to all of us,

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

zvenx
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by zvenx » Fri Mar 01, 2013 12:27 am

:-)
No problem,
we are brothers in arms.


It really isn't working for anyone here....well I say that badly... it isn't like it is broken only on some machines and it isn't on others...some ppl use it differently than others.

for me who wants it to remove any audio file, or at least notice that an audio file in a folder is not attached to any project in that folder, it is busted....I am not really sure for those who it is 'working' for, use it.

rsp
richard sven patterson
sound sculptist
--------------------------
Nuendo 10| Gigabyte GAX79UP4 : Intel Hex Core Ivy Bridge Extreme 4930K : 32GB RAM | Windows 10 64bit| Lynx Two C | Midisport 2x2 | UAD-2 Quad |

Cubase 10 | MacBookPro Retina 2.8Ghz Quad Core I7 | 10.14.5 | 16GB | NI Komplete Audio 6 | UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt Quad |

artmanjam
Junior Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 3:54 pm
Contact:

Re: N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by artmanjam » Tue Mar 05, 2013 12:32 pm

The only (but successful) turnaround for me here has been to use N4 for cleanup. It works... I've been cleaning 2 years of projects shortly. Still don't understand why this feature doesn't work in N5 BTW...
Cubase Pro9/MIRpro - W7-64bit - 2xXeon E5 2650v2 - 32GoRAM
VEpro6 - W7-64bit - 2xXeon E5520 - 48GoRAM

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1338
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by fenderchris » Sun Mar 31, 2013 4:48 pm

The issue mentioned in (1) in the first post of this thread relating to the Device Manager dropdown menu has been fixed in Nuendo 6.0.3.

The issue in (2) relating to recalling presets for External Effects and Instruments also appears to be fixed in N6.0.3.

I'm not sure about the issue in (3) relating to Creating Midi Devices as I currently have no Devices I need to create, but some work has been done on it judging be the changes in the documentation, so it too may well be fixed.

It has taken Steinberg a very long time to get around to these things, but they got there in the end.

Well done chaps!
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.1903.

PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.

Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).

Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.

Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Nuendo-10.2, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

User avatar
Antonio Escobar
Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:18 pm
Contact:

Re: N5.5.5 Still no fixes for these:

Post by Antonio Escobar » Tue Apr 16, 2013 5:54 pm

I'm glad that SB has fixed that issues in N6, but I don't think that the current version is stable enough, specially with some plugins combinations.
Antonio Escobar
Site: http://www.antonioescobar.es
IMDB: http://www.antonioescobar.es/imdb

---
Nuendo 10.x / Cubase 10.x
Hackintosh i9 10 cores, 64 GB RAM
MacBook Pro 2017 16GB RAM, OS X10.13.6
RME Digiface Dante, RME HDSPe RayDAT, Steinberg UR824, Steinberg UR242, DAD AX32, 2x Behringer X32 (MADI and Dante)
Native Komplete Kontrol/Maschine, Waves, Softube, etc, etc, etc.
Dozens of analog synths and external hardware.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Nuendo versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests