Chords keeping in same key ?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
vanhaze2000

Chords keeping in same key ?

Post by vanhaze2000 » Sun Jan 27, 2013 11:20 am

Hi,

As a music theory rookie, i am struggling abit with chord track and chord assistant.
Is there a way to have drawn in chords in the chord track and chord suggestions from chord assistant always be restricted to one scale ?
And how do i set that scale ?
Macbook CoreI7 / 8 gig RAM OSX 10.8.4 / Cubase 7.05 / HALion 5 / Maschine MKII / Novation Impulse / MOTU 2408 MKIII

-steve-
External Moderator

Re: Chords keeping in same key ?

Post by -steve- » Sun Jan 27, 2013 5:07 pm

Are you saying that you would like to restrict the possible chords to a single scale, as in Cmaj will only allow the chords that are in that key?

If not what are you trying to accomplish?
Last edited by -steve- on Sun Jan 27, 2013 5:16 pm, edited 3 times in total.

vanhaze2000

Post by vanhaze2000 » Sun Jan 27, 2013 5:14 pm

That is indeed exactly what i wish for .. ;)
Macbook CoreI7 / 8 gig RAM OSX 10.8.4 / Cubase 7.05 / HALion 5 / Maschine MKII / Novation Impulse / MOTU 2408 MKIII

-steve-
External Moderator

Post by -steve- » Sun Jan 27, 2013 5:16 pm

Cubase derives the scales from the chords you type in, not the other way around afaik. If you want to keep the chords in the same key you would have to learn to build chords on the scale degrees. (it's not hard, a google search will produce hundreds of pages on the subject.)

Also note cubase is not saying what key the chord is in, rather it is saying what scale can be played over that chord.

The chords in C major would be: (C, Dm, Em, Fmaj, G7, Amin, Bm7b5)

vanhaze2000

Post by vanhaze2000 » Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:11 am

I see, thank you for this useful info !

De-Fine music

Post by De-Fine music » Mon Jan 28, 2013 1:14 pm