Live Recording

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
EAP-Entertainment
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 6:10 am
Contact:

Live Recording

Post by EAP-Entertainment » Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:31 pm

Godd afternoon everyone, I just have one simple small question.

Has anyone use Cubase 7 for live recording? I'm talking about at least a Drummer, base & guitar, 4 Keys & 3 singers..

Im looking into upgrading this weekend & I want to use Cubase 7 for the first time in recording a live set at the club for my band.. ;)

N8
Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 8:55 pm

Re: Live Recording

Post by N8 » Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:33 pm

May or may not fly, depending on specs. You don't give any so... .
W7 64bit, XP SP3,LE1/ LE4/SX3/ C4/ C6.5/ C7.0.2 64bit, CI1, Firebox

Gob-smacked at the number of contestants for Dwarf #7.

If the sum total of IQs on this forum were applied to lightbulb wattage, it would create a black hole.

EAP-Entertainment
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 6:10 am
Contact:

Re: Live Recording

Post by EAP-Entertainment » Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:37 pm

Sorry for not given specs..

I'm going to take my Mac-Book Pro which has lion 10.7, Firewire 1tb hard frive, & my Yamaha UR824 with Behringer Adat ADA8000 & Focusrite Octopre Mk2.

N8
Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 8:55 pm

Re: Live Recording

Post by N8 » Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:38 pm

HDD speed? :?
W7 64bit, XP SP3,LE1/ LE4/SX3/ C4/ C6.5/ C7.0.2 64bit, CI1, Firebox

Gob-smacked at the number of contestants for Dwarf #7.

If the sum total of IQs on this forum were applied to lightbulb wattage, it would create a black hole.

EAP-Entertainment
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 6:10 am
Contact:

Re: Live Recording

Post by EAP-Entertainment » Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:39 pm

Damn, I'm forgetting alot.. lol..

7200 speed..

N8
Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 8:55 pm

Re: Live Recording

Post by N8 » Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:48 pm

Should fly.
W7 64bit, XP SP3,LE1/ LE4/SX3/ C4/ C6.5/ C7.0.2 64bit, CI1, Firebox

Gob-smacked at the number of contestants for Dwarf #7.

If the sum total of IQs on this forum were applied to lightbulb wattage, it would create a black hole.

EAP-Entertainment
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 6:10 am
Contact:

Re: Live Recording

Post by EAP-Entertainment » Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:50 pm

Great! Thx N8... appreciate it bro....

N8
Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 8:55 pm

Re: Live Recording

Post by N8 » Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:51 pm

Don't forget to set the project length to account for a whole set.
W7 64bit, XP SP3,LE1/ LE4/SX3/ C4/ C6.5/ C7.0.2 64bit, CI1, Firebox

Gob-smacked at the number of contestants for Dwarf #7.

If the sum total of IQs on this forum were applied to lightbulb wattage, it would create a black hole.

EAP-Entertainment
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 6:10 am
Contact:

Re: Live Recording

Post by EAP-Entertainment » Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:08 pm

N8 wrote:Don't forget to set the project length to account for a whole set.

Ok bet, thanks...

User avatar
timmyboylad
Member
Posts: 218
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:25 pm
Location: Loleta California
Contact:

Re: Live Recording

Post by timmyboylad » Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:13 pm

I've been using Cubase for many years to do live recording but also doing live tracking with up to 16 tracks at a time in the studio as well. It would seem that if you have a reasonably modern computer and hard drive live tracking with many tracks should be no problem at all.

I find mixing to use far more system resources (a different part of the computer) than tracking ever has been.

Tracking many tracks should be a pretty easy task for most computers these days, especially if it's live tracking where the band isn't monitoring through the software in any way. Just set your interface's buffer up high, hit record and catch up on your reading.
Desktop: Cubase Pro 9.0.30 Wavelab Pro 9.1, Halion 6, Presonus StudioLive 24.4.2AI, CPU Intel Core i7 3.4gHz, Motherboard Asus P8z77-v LX, 16gb RAM, Video Card MSI R5450 (no fan), PSU Zalman ZM600 HP, Zalman Reserator 1 liquid cooled system, Windows 10 x64 Home Premium, Pro Tools 12.7.1, Waves Mercury Native 9

Laptop: MacBook Pro (15 in), 2.4 gHz Intel Core i7, 8 gb RAM, OSX El Capitan 10.11.6, Presonus Firestudio Mobile, Presonus StudioLive 24.4.2AI, Philips DVD+-RW SDVD 8820 SATA drive, Wavelab Pro 9.1, Cubase Pro 9.0.30, Halion 6, Pro Tools 12.7.1, Waves Mercury Native 9

N8
Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 8:55 pm

Re: Live Recording

Post by N8 » Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:15 pm

Multi-tracking with 5,400 RPM drives, which a lot of laptops have, gives a Too Many Tracks error according to most reports.
W7 64bit, XP SP3,LE1/ LE4/SX3/ C4/ C6.5/ C7.0.2 64bit, CI1, Firebox

Gob-smacked at the number of contestants for Dwarf #7.

If the sum total of IQs on this forum were applied to lightbulb wattage, it would create a black hole.

User avatar
timmyboylad
Member
Posts: 218
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:25 pm
Location: Loleta California
Contact:

Re: Live Recording

Post by timmyboylad » Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:21 pm

Yeah, that would be true. I just assumed that anyone doing serious recording would use a nice fast external drive. That's what I use. I still have my old generic enclosure with a 7200 rpm seagate barracuda IDE that records anything I've thrown at it.

I would never record to the internal drive of a laptop, or really the internal boot drive of anything. Don't want to miss a single note.

Thanks for pointing that out.
Desktop: Cubase Pro 9.0.30 Wavelab Pro 9.1, Halion 6, Presonus StudioLive 24.4.2AI, CPU Intel Core i7 3.4gHz, Motherboard Asus P8z77-v LX, 16gb RAM, Video Card MSI R5450 (no fan), PSU Zalman ZM600 HP, Zalman Reserator 1 liquid cooled system, Windows 10 x64 Home Premium, Pro Tools 12.7.1, Waves Mercury Native 9

Laptop: MacBook Pro (15 in), 2.4 gHz Intel Core i7, 8 gb RAM, OSX El Capitan 10.11.6, Presonus Firestudio Mobile, Presonus StudioLive 24.4.2AI, Philips DVD+-RW SDVD 8820 SATA drive, Wavelab Pro 9.1, Cubase Pro 9.0.30, Halion 6, Pro Tools 12.7.1, Waves Mercury Native 9

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Live Recording

Post by thinkingcap » Tue Jan 29, 2013 11:01 pm

N8 wrote:Multi-tracking with 5,400 RPM drives, which a lot of laptops have, gives a Too Many Tracks error according to most reports.
Works quite well here. Better than any external whatever speed USB Discs.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1648
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Live Recording

Post by mozizo » Tue Jan 29, 2013 11:28 pm

i think the best for laptops to record live multi channels is to replace the DVD Drive with 2nd 7200 or higher HD.
no problem if the DVD is trough a USB.
its a 15$ investment on an internal HD caddy and a 2nd HD and u got a good mobile rig.
cubase Pro 9.5 64bit ,halion 55 , GA45 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 redstone 64bit 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 584
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Live Recording

Post by HughH » Wed Jan 30, 2013 3:44 am

You said upgrade?

I would record into 6.5 and save 7 for mixing.
7.01 seems reasonably robust, but for laying tracks only you don't need any features and 6.5 is a rock.

It's your band so any issues would not be at a clients expense, but, still . ..
Nuendo 10, 64 Bit
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home (1703), Dual Monitors
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine #1
i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Win 7 Slave#2/Remote Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP6
RME Digiface PCIe for All
UR22 for portability

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1648
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Live Recording

Post by mozizo » Wed Jan 30, 2013 4:27 am

actually just for simple recording in location i use cubase 5Ai. no dongle needed.
cubase Pro 9.5 64bit ,halion 55 , GA45 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 redstone 64bit 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

EAP-Entertainment
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 6:10 am
Contact:

Re: Live Recording

Post by EAP-Entertainment » Wed Jan 30, 2013 4:28 pm

HughH wrote:You said upgrade?

I would record into 6.5 and save 7 for mixing.
7.01 seems reasonably robust, but for laying tracks only you don't need any features and 6.5 is a rock.

It's your band so any issues would not be at a clients expense, but, still . ..


So your saying, use 6.5 for all the live recording & then take the recording back into the studio & mix with 7? Does tat means that 7 will make the live recording sound even better by mixing in 7? Just curious that's all..

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Live Recording

Post by Strophoid » Wed Jan 30, 2013 7:42 pm

Not really, if 7 is stable on your system there's no difference. It's just that 6 might be a bit more reliable since it's been out and patched for a good while now. While mixing stability isn't crucial, while recording you don't want a crash ;)
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 584
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Live Recording

Post by HughH » Wed Jan 30, 2013 9:59 pm

Strophoid wrote:Not really, if 7 is stable on your system there's no difference. It's just that 6 might be a bit more reliable since it's been out and patched for a good while now. While mixing stability isn't crucial, while recording you don't want a crash ;)
Exactly.
Nuendo 10, 64 Bit
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home (1703), Dual Monitors
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine #1
i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Win 7 Slave#2/Remote Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP6
RME Digiface PCIe for All
UR22 for portability

User avatar
MRedZac
Junior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Live Recording

Post by MRedZac » Mon Feb 11, 2013 2:35 pm

Using Nuendo Live might be the best option, since this is made especially for live recording ;-)
HDD ? - 7200 rpm should be the minimum, but can be connected by eSata (preferable) or USB as well, if not internal. Anyway, for under 100 € you get internal HDDs Caviar black for laptops with 750 GB and 7200 rpm by Western Digital... No big investment anyway...
DAW 1: Commodore C64, 64 k, Windows Basic, Cinch out, Datasette and 1541 Floppy
DAW 2: i9 7940X auf Asus WS X299 SAGE/10G, 32GB RAM, 2x 1TB PCIe M2 SSDs, Nuendo und Cubase Pro, Focusrite RedNet PCIe, Diverse Orchester Libraries von Zuspielservern via Vienna Ensemble Pro...

User avatar
galvinstephen
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 1:51 pm
Location: Usually Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Live Recording

Post by galvinstephen » Mon Feb 11, 2013 3:42 pm

We record onto a solid-state drive then transfer the files to an external drive back in the studio. Works fine.

If we could just get a firewire cable with a good firm connection that is rock solid. :idea:

That would be nice. :D
Stephen Galvin
Musician
LTCL BMus BA MMus(Hons.) Dip. Tchg.
Studio Director ABC Studios
Cubase 10.0.10 Sequel 3.0.1,
Dorico 2.2.0.11108
Laptop: Lenovo Intel i7-2630 CPU @ 2GHz 8GB RAM. Windows 7 64bit. Intel SSD 120GB.
Desktop: Intel i5-4660 3.20 GHz 8GB Windows 7 64-bit

Focusrite Scarlett Octopre Saffire Pro40. Lots of cables. Cables everywhere... Cables man....
http://www.abcstudios.co.nz
http://www.singinglessonsauckland.com
http://www.guitarlessonsauckland.com
http://www.basslessonsauckland.com
https://www.drumlessonsnewzealand.com

Asgardao
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 4:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Live Recording

Post by Asgardao » Mon Feb 11, 2013 3:53 pm

galvinstephen wrote:If we could just get a firewire cable with a good firm connection that is rock solid. :idea:

That would be nice. :D
Are you sure the cable is the problem? Some laptops have poor firewire ports (HP at least). My problems ended when I started using a firewire card with 6-conductor, not the crappy 4-conductor.
Cubase 7.0.2 64bit, Win 7
MR816csx
CC121

User avatar
galvinstephen
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 1:51 pm
Location: Usually Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Live Recording

Post by galvinstephen » Mon Feb 11, 2013 4:04 pm

That is another story. We use a firewire express card. The connectors are just not secure. If you bump the cable the whole system goes down.

Remember VGA monitors and big connector they used with two hand-tightened screws on either side? Bulky but reliable.

That was back in the day when computer manufacturers were trying to be helpful! [Am I getting cynical I wonder?] :roll: 8-)

Oh yes. 6 pin. :geek:
Stephen Galvin
Musician
LTCL BMus BA MMus(Hons.) Dip. Tchg.
Studio Director ABC Studios
Cubase 10.0.10 Sequel 3.0.1,
Dorico 2.2.0.11108
Laptop: Lenovo Intel i7-2630 CPU @ 2GHz 8GB RAM. Windows 7 64bit. Intel SSD 120GB.
Desktop: Intel i5-4660 3.20 GHz 8GB Windows 7 64-bit

Focusrite Scarlett Octopre Saffire Pro40. Lots of cables. Cables everywhere... Cables man....
http://www.abcstudios.co.nz
http://www.singinglessonsauckland.com
http://www.guitarlessonsauckland.com
http://www.basslessonsauckland.com
https://www.drumlessonsnewzealand.com

Asgardao
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 4:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Live Recording

Post by Asgardao » Tue Feb 12, 2013 2:32 am

galvinstephen wrote:That is another story. We use a firewire express card. The connectors are just not secure. If you bump the cable the whole system goes down.

Remember VGA monitors and big connector they used with two hand-tightened screws on either side? Bulky but reliable.

That was back in the day when computer manufacturers were trying to be helpful! [Am I getting cynical I wonder?] :roll: 8-)

Oh yes. 6 pin. :geek:
I see your point about the VGA cables, but with firewire I guess it depends on gear. If I plug off the FW-cable, all I have to do to recover is to plug it back and restart audio interface (MR816). No need to restart Cubase or even click anything.

PS. I once had a "strange" problem with firewire. Everything was setup right, but no signal. Ultimately I found out I had plugged the FW-cable to MR incorrectly, in backwards. I thought that was not possible, because it's not symmetrical. But apparently it is possible with certain amount of force! :)
Cubase 7.0.2 64bit, Win 7
MR816csx
CC121

User avatar
galvinstephen
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 1:51 pm
Location: Usually Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Live Recording

Post by galvinstephen » Sun Feb 17, 2013 1:43 pm

Working in a dimly lit club (or in confined space in the studio) it can be hard to see detail. To reduce the risk of inserting the firewire cable backwards place coloured tape on one side of the plug and another on the matching side of the connector on the interface chassis. We also carry a small torch!

This is also helpful when using roadies or inexperienced people who may misjudge the force required to connect a cable!

The build-quality of the connector is also an issue. The connector on our STLab Express Card is a firm snug fit while the connector on our desktop PCI card is sloppy and loose. So really we cannot blame the cable. Nevertheless a firmer connector would be better.
Stephen Galvin
Musician
LTCL BMus BA MMus(Hons.) Dip. Tchg.
Studio Director ABC Studios
Cubase 10.0.10 Sequel 3.0.1,
Dorico 2.2.0.11108
Laptop: Lenovo Intel i7-2630 CPU @ 2GHz 8GB RAM. Windows 7 64bit. Intel SSD 120GB.
Desktop: Intel i5-4660 3.20 GHz 8GB Windows 7 64-bit

Focusrite Scarlett Octopre Saffire Pro40. Lots of cables. Cables everywhere... Cables man....
http://www.abcstudios.co.nz
http://www.singinglessonsauckland.com
http://www.guitarlessonsauckland.com
http://www.basslessonsauckland.com
https://www.drumlessonsnewzealand.com

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests