LFE Filter in 5.1 Output

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.
Post Reply
grantmc
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 6:22 am
Contact:

LFE Filter in 5.1 Output

Post by grantmc » Fri Mar 15, 2013 5:07 am

Hi there,
I thought Nuendo 6 was going to implement an LFE Filter on the surround output. Currently I use the Waves plugin, but that's all I use Waves for, so it would be nice to have that built into Nuendo 6. Is it coming?

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2450
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: LFE Filter in 5.1 Output

Post by Fredo » Fri Mar 15, 2013 8:43 am

Just insert an(y) EQ, set to mono, route to LFE and forget.

Fredo

grantmc
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 6:22 am
Contact:

Re: LFE Filter in 5.1 Output

Post by grantmc » Fri Mar 15, 2013 12:16 pm

Hi Fredo,
I'll give it a try. It's just too bad that you guys can't just mimic an lfe filter like waves or starplugs. They just have some nice settings that make it very simple to use. I do appreciate some other fixes that N6 now has.
Grant

Robin Walsh
Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 9:13 am
Contact:

Re: LFE Filter in 5.1 Output

Post by Robin Walsh » Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:13 pm

Nuendo 10.02 - Windows 10 - i9 9900K - nVidia GeForce 1060 - RME Raydat - Amphion

grantmc
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 6:22 am
Contact:

Re: LFE Filter in 5.1 Output

Post by grantmc » Sat Mar 16, 2013 8:56 pm

Robin Walsh wrote:Grant, check this out..

https://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtop ... 77&t=31837
Thanks Robin,
Let's hope they do add it, as it's really one of the only things missing from a Post Audio DAW.
Grant

grantmc
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 6:22 am
Contact:

Re: LFE Filter in 5.1 Output

Post by grantmc » Sun Mar 17, 2013 4:43 am

Fredo wrote:Just insert an(y) EQ, set to mono, route to LFE and forget.

Fredo
Hi Fredo,
Could you be a little clearer with this. I have tried setting up an EQ and rolling off the high end, but it's not doing the same as the Waves plugin would. As well, I heard Timo say that this may be worked into one of the N6 upgrades. Is this true.

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2450
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: LFE Filter in 5.1 Output

Post by Fredo » Wed Mar 20, 2013 8:56 am

-Insert an EQ plugin into your 5.1 channel.
-Set input configuration to "mono" (if not already)
-Open Routing editor and move the plugin to the LFE channel.

===>>> Done
Routing Editor-01.jpg
(76.17 KiB) Not downloaded yet

HTH
Fredo

neilwilkes
Senior Member
Posts: 1079
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: LFE Filter in 5.1 Output

Post by neilwilkes » Wed Mar 20, 2013 12:17 pm

Fredo wrote:-Insert an EQ plugin into your 5.1 channel.
-Set input configuration to "mono" (if not already)
-Open Routing editor and move the plugin to the LFE channel.

===>>> Done
The attachment Routing Editor-01.jpg is no longer available

HTH
Fredo
You can do this with the bundled Studio EQ.
Admittedly, the slope is not as steep as the Waves LFE Filter is butthat is not necessarily a bad thing, as 2 gentle slopes will result in fewer artefacts than one steep one will. It does not use a slope value but a Q value, and it looks to be around 10-12dB/Octave.
routing editor.png
(185.68 KiB) Not downloaded yet
If you have the Waves tool, why not just use it?
Alternatively most good digital EQ will also suffice:
UAD Cambridge, Oxford, Harrison, Neve 88RS etc
Waves LFE360, Q1 etc
www.opusproductions.com
Intel E5-2687W 8-core Xeon, 32Gb RAM, Windows 7 Pro x64, RME RayDAT, UAD-2 Octo x2 & Quad x2 (fully loaded), Adam A7 x5, WK ID Console
Nuendo 1-6, Cubase 6-7, WaveLab 5-7, DTS/DD encoders, Surround Edition etc, Waves Mercury
Blu-Ray authoring, DVD authoring & high resolution audio specialists.

Detailed Specs on request

grantmc
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 6:22 am
Contact:

Re: LFE Filter in 5.1 Output

Post by grantmc » Wed Mar 20, 2013 4:15 pm

Thank you Fredo and Neil,
I will continue using the Waves 360 LFE Filter for now. My hope was to start using 64bit Nuendo, and unfortunately, my waves plugins will only work in a 32bit enviornment. Let's hope they will add this in the future as a simple functional tool to the already incredible feature set of Nuendo.
Grant

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3687
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: LFE Filter in 5.1 Output

Post by MattiasNYC » Wed Mar 20, 2013 4:35 pm

If I remember correctly the Lo/Hi cut are 24dB/octave. Does anyone know what order/type the cut filters are in Studio EQ?
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2450
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: LFE Filter in 5.1 Output

Post by Fredo » Wed Mar 20, 2013 4:45 pm

Is it for the 60dB/octave roll off that you stick to the LFE630°?

And why are your plugins only working in a 32bit environment? Waves are fully 64bit ....

Fredo

neilwilkes
Senior Member
Posts: 1079
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: LFE Filter in 5.1 Output

Post by neilwilkes » Wed Mar 20, 2013 4:58 pm

Fredo wrote:Is it for the 60dB/octave roll off that you stick to the LFE630°?

And why are your plugins only working in a 32bit environment? Waves are fully 64bit ....

Fredo
good questions.........
www.opusproductions.com
Intel E5-2687W 8-core Xeon, 32Gb RAM, Windows 7 Pro x64, RME RayDAT, UAD-2 Octo x2 & Quad x2 (fully loaded), Adam A7 x5, WK ID Console
Nuendo 1-6, Cubase 6-7, WaveLab 5-7, DTS/DD encoders, Surround Edition etc, Waves Mercury
Blu-Ray authoring, DVD authoring & high resolution audio specialists.

Detailed Specs on request

grantmc
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 6:22 am
Contact:

Re: LFE Filter in 5.1 Output

Post by grantmc » Wed Mar 20, 2013 5:08 pm

I'm using Waves v8 which I believe is only 32bit. And yes, it would be for the 60db per octave. I was just doing some testing here, using the Studio EQ vs Waves. The Studio EQ still lets more pass through than Waves. As well, the Waves plugin keeps the volume of the LFE channel correct. Anyway, I'll do some experimenting, but will continue using the Waves LFE for now. I used to use the Starplugs LFE Filter which also worked very well.

grantmc
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 6:22 am
Contact:

Re: LFE Filter in 5.1 Output

Post by grantmc » Wed Mar 20, 2013 5:11 pm

My bad, the levels are very close between the two options and I could live with using the Studio EQ if needed. I was just hoping that with all the great updates, an LFE filter would be in the works.

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2450
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: LFE Filter in 5.1 Output

Post by Fredo » Wed Mar 20, 2013 5:22 pm

In fact, you can use any EQ or filter to your choice using the method I described.
So you are not stuck to to the Studio EQ.
Although I have the Waves Surround plugins, I mostly use the REQ2 for that.

Fredo

grantmc
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 6:22 am
Contact:

Re: LFE Filter in 5.1 Output

Post by grantmc » Wed Mar 20, 2013 5:23 pm

Thanks Fredo

neilwilkes
Senior Member
Posts: 1079
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: LFE Filter in 5.1 Output

Post by neilwilkes » Wed Mar 20, 2013 5:27 pm

Fredo wrote:In fact, you can use any EQ or filter to your choice using the method I described.
So you are not stuck to to the Studio EQ.
Although I have the Waves Surround plugins, I mostly use the REQ2 for that.

Fredo
The only reason I even suggested StudioEQ is because it is bundled with Nuendo, and I could be sure the OP had it installed. Personally, I often use the mono Waves one, or sometimes not - I do like the steep slope although some would say it is too steep it's not as bad as the Dolby Digital or the DTS ones are.

In all honesty, we need DD and DTS encoders much, much more than Bass Management toys.
www.opusproductions.com
Intel E5-2687W 8-core Xeon, 32Gb RAM, Windows 7 Pro x64, RME RayDAT, UAD-2 Octo x2 & Quad x2 (fully loaded), Adam A7 x5, WK ID Console
Nuendo 1-6, Cubase 6-7, WaveLab 5-7, DTS/DD encoders, Surround Edition etc, Waves Mercury
Blu-Ray authoring, DVD authoring & high resolution audio specialists.

Detailed Specs on request

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest