Ctrl+Drag Clip - NO GRID

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
Nonikoff
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 12:59 pm
Contact:

Ctrl+Drag Clip - NO GRID

Post by Nonikoff » Sat Apr 06, 2013 7:46 pm

Just updated to 7.0.3 - holding ctrl and dragging any kind of clip turns off grid and moves it "free hand"

7.0.3 64bit Win 7

Nonikoff
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 12:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Ctrl+Drag Clip - NO GRID

Post by Nonikoff » Sun Apr 07, 2013 11:51 am

UPDATE - playing with Tool Modifiers settings via Preferences didn't help - holding Ctrl during drag Still Turns off Snap to Grid - please fix asap - it's even more annoying than acoustic feedback bug, U've kindly fixed for us ) thanx forward.

User avatar
DaDa
Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:22 am
Contact:

Re: Ctrl+Drag Clip - NO GRID

Post by DaDa » Sun Apr 07, 2013 12:48 pm

Hi, this is intended behavior.
You can also free other actions from 'snap to grid', by holding ctrl.

If You want to use ctrl to copy parts, try this :
start dragging, then push ctrl.

Jan
Intel Z87 | i5 4670K @ 4x 4,2gHz | 16gb RAM | 6850 silent | 37", 2x 24", 22" LCDs|
System SSD | 7tb Data HDs
RME RayDat | Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 | Steinberg UR 824
Win7 SP1 64bit | Cubase 8.5.20 64bit | Samplitude X3 64bit
Sony VAIO | Intel 2x 2,4 gHz | Win 7 SP1 64bit | Cubase 6.5.5
Steinberg user since Commodore

JClosed
Junior Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 7:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Ctrl+Drag Clip - NO GRID

Post by JClosed » Sun Apr 07, 2013 1:43 pm

Or - If it is your intention to just copy and drag a clip with snap on...

Select clip, hold Alt and drag the copy to "snap" it in the new position..

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Ctrl+Drag Clip - NO GRID

Post by vic_france » Sun Apr 07, 2013 4:23 pm

This is certainly new behaviour in Cubase 7.0.3, and I think it is intended (although its implementation may be open to discussion ;).. it certainly seems to be at odds with the "Constrain Direction" use of the same modifier key ).. While we have always been able to use the Ctrl key (Cmd on Mac) to deactivate Snap while sizing objects, there has never been away, until now, to do similar while moving an event.
In fact, it is still the old behaviour when copying (addition of the Alt key), and doesn't deactivate Snap for Automation or Controller events either.. so I'm opting for a "work in progress" here, if it isn't in fact a bug ;).
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9059
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Ctrl+Drag Clip - NO GRID

Post by -steve- » Sun Apr 07, 2013 6:08 pm

vic_france wrote:This is certainly new behaviour in Cubase 7.0.3

Heh, this appears to be a 'granted' feature request, which was not included in the "What's New" post. Like vic says,
vic_france wrote:I'm opting for a "work in progress" here, if it isn't in fact a bug
Truly. Properly implemented it will be nice to have. But since it destroyed snapping while constraining it would appear the developers are not permitted to communicate with one another. ;)

Cubase has always been a work in progress. I have gotten used to it.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Ctrl+Drag Clip - NO GRID

Post by vic_france » Sun Apr 07, 2013 6:27 pm

SteveInChicago wrote: Cubase has always been a work in progress. I have gotten used to it.
My getting used to it is, itself, a work in progress :P
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9059
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Ctrl+Drag Clip - NO GRID

Post by -steve- » Sun Apr 07, 2013 6:52 pm

vic_france wrote:My getting used to it is, itself, a work in progress :P
:lol: Well put!
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

Nonikoff
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 12:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Ctrl+Drag Clip - NO GRID

Post by Nonikoff » Thu Apr 11, 2013 4:27 pm

NO previous version behaved like this - now I can't easily drag LINKED UNLINKED copies of it !!! It's ABSOLUTELY useless, cause when I want to go out of SNAP I just turn it off with desired shortcut in one click !!!

Nonikoff
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 12:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Ctrl+Drag Clip - NO GRID

Post by Nonikoff » Thu Apr 11, 2013 4:33 pm

DaDa wrote:Hi, this is intended behavior.
You can also free other actions from 'snap to grid', by holding ctrl.

If You want to use ctrl to copy parts, try this :
start dragging, then push ctrl.

Jan
Yep - and that leads to unsnapping TOO !!

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests