AUTOSAVE not working properly

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
DH
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 9:20 pm
Contact:

AUTOSAVE not working properly

Post by DH »

I don't know if this has started happening after the 7.03 update, but my AUTOSAVE doesn't seem to work properly. It's set to 3 minutes, yet it only creates a backup whenever it feels like, sometimes up to an hour. I've tried setting it to different minutes, but it doesn't seem to make a difference. I've got number of backups set to 7 (if that even makes a difference.)

Plasuma
Junior Member
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: AUTOSAVE not working properly

Post by Plasuma »

It seems to autosave only when you're not playing the project.

Do you keep it playing for hours at a time?
Workstation Specifications
Box A: Intel 3770K, 32GB RAM, Win 7 Pro x64, Cubase 7.5.0, VEPro 5
Box B: Intel 4930K, 64GB RAM, Win 7 Pro x64, VEPro 5

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9671
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: AUTOSAVE not working properly

Post by -steve- »

Aside from playback needing to be stopped, Auto save is triggered only when there are unsaved changes, so if you are exploring your project and not making changes when the 3 minutes are up it does nothing.

The behavior described is what happens if you do not make any changes that would be saved in the project.

It could also be that one of your settings files is corrupt, in which case you should start Cubase in safe mode and see if it still occurs.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

DH
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 9:20 pm
Contact:

Re: AUTOSAVE not working properly

Post by DH »

I thought everytime the mouse pointer changed to a rainbow coloured spinning circle it was autosaving. But in all honesty, no it's not backing up even when I'm not 'playing' the sequence. Yes I'm making changes constantly, and it's not backing up. I'm looking at it now, and it says the last backup was exactly 50 minutes ago. Not normal.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9671
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: AUTOSAVE not working properly

Post by -steve- »

in which case you should start Cubase in safe mode and see if it still occurs.

It would be probably be better if you added a sig with your system info.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

charliewonder7
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 1:07 am
Contact:

Re: AUTOSAVE not working properly

Post by charliewonder7 »

Not working properly for me either. One time I found a .backup file in my images folder.
Search for the backup extension in spotlight and see if this happened for u. Doesn't always work but it did just when I was about to redo 30 min worth of work I had lost
Mac Pro 2010, 3.33Ghz, 32g RAM - Aurora 16, AES PCI-e,
Cubase 8 - OSX 10,8.5 & 10.10.1

patrickq
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 11:09 pm
Contact:

Re: AUTOSAVE not working properly

Post by patrickq »

same here, and similar to charliewonder7, i am running CA6.5 on a mac. So it isn't just 7.0.3. This has been going on for some time (possibly since/before v.6), and I just assumed that it was my machine...
patrickq

Cubase Artist 6.5.4.161
iMac8,1 (24" early '08) | processor intel core2 duo, 3GHz
mac OSX 10.8.3

charliewonder7
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 1:07 am
Contact:

Re: AUTOSAVE not working properly

Post by charliewonder7 »

Its happening to me again. This time with Cubase 8
Mac Pro 2010, 3.33Ghz, 32g RAM - Aurora 16, AES PCI-e,
Cubase 8 - OSX 10,8.5 & 10.10.1

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Home Studio 87 and 10 guests