OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
User avatar
Helge Vogt
Member
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:43 am
Contact:

OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by Helge Vogt »

Dear OS X Cubase 7 Users,

Thanks to your extensive feedback, we are happy to have implemented a new performance mode in Cubase 7.0.4, which eliminates any ASIO performance spiking under OS X. Please note that we are still testing the newly implemented behavior and therefore we're providing this manual activation switch for the time being. We are looking forward to your feedback which would greatly help us to consider hardcoding the new mode into the next maintenance update.

To manually activate the improved performance mode, please proceed as follows:

1) Create an empty TXT file and name it "EnableR7832.txt" (or use the TXT file attached to this post).
2) Locate the preferences folder of Cubase 7 in Finder: /Users/username/Library/Preferences/Cubase 7
3) Place the created TXT file within the folder.

If you experience any unusual behavior, please remove the TXT file to return to the previous performance mode.

Thanks for choosing Cubase!

Helge Vogt
Team Leader Product Marketing Group
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Attachments

[The extension txt has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]


gmmccurdy
Junior Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by gmmccurdy »

Thanks Helge and the other developers! I've been working with it for hours and not ONE spike! Nice to move my buffers back down to 512 as well. :)
Mark
================================
Macbook Pro - OSX 10.11.3 - 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16GB 1600 MHz DDR3
500 Gig SSD Hard Drive
Presonus Firestudio Project I/O
Cubase 9
================================

CShorte
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 3:52 am
Contact:

Re: OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by CShorte »

I have tried this with no discernible change in performance. Perhaps I was expecting something different then what was stated as being resolved. I can run at a buffer setting of 512 K all day long but I cannot get to the 256 K buffer with this setup.

And, now with the 512 buffer stting any time I stop the transport, I get the red ero on the performance tab.

Thanks, CS.
Last edited by CShorte on Fri May 17, 2013 6:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MacPro: 3 GHz 8 Core, 32 GB RAM, SSD: 1 TB, 4 * 3 TB HD Array (Library, WorArea, TM, Archieve)
MacPro: 3 GHz Quad Core, 12 GB RAM, SSD: 512 GB, 1 TB Library, 500 GB Workarea
Audio: Apogee SymphonyAD/DA-16x, 2 Digimax FS (ADAT); MOTU MIDI Express

Software: Logic Studio v9.x, LPX; Cubase Pro v8.x; Halion v3.x; Finale 2012; Groove Agent v3, NI Kore v2 and Komplete Ultimate v10; Omnisphere; Sibelius v7.5; Waves Platinum Bundle; Mixbus v2.5; VSL Special Addition Plus and VE Pro

Hardware: Fantom G8, Yamaha EX-5, Kawai K3, Roland Rhodes MK-80
Mixers: VS-2480, RMX-64, Tascam MM-1, NI Kore Controller
Sound Modules: 03 R/W, Yamaha TG-77 and TX-81z, EPS 16 Plus, Proteus 1 and 2

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9691
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by -steve- »

CShorte wrote:I have tried this with no discernible change in performance.
Isn't this just for the specific problem of users having asio spikes, and not an overall, general performance improvement?

I have not had the spikes, so I haven't used this fix.

gmmccurdy
Junior Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by gmmccurdy »

SteveInChicago wrote:
CShorte wrote:I have tried this with no discernible change in performance.
Isn't this just for the specific problem of users having asio spikes, and not an overall, general performance improvement?

I have not had the spikes, so I haven't used this fix.
Correct. Has nothing to do with overall performance. (at least that was not my understanding). This is for the 2 to 3 second spikes Mac users would experience regardless of CPU load or the size of a project. I've been testing it for a week now and haven't had ONE spike. I'm so confident in this release I'll be using it this weekend for all my shows AND I finally was able to uninstall 6.5.
Mark
================================
Macbook Pro - OSX 10.11.3 - 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16GB 1600 MHz DDR3
500 Gig SSD Hard Drive
Presonus Firestudio Project I/O
Cubase 9
================================

User avatar
ChrisW
Member
Posts: 333
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:27 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by ChrisW »

So far, so good. I'm getting odd spikes with high CPU load on my ageing iMac, but not the random spike at low load.
Dell XPS 8930 Intel Core i7-9700 3.0Ghz 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Home, Steinberg UR12, Cubase 10.5, Dorico 3.5, Sibelius Ultimate, Komplete 12

Jey
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 1:29 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by Jey »

I can't find the folder I'm meant to put the .txt file in...

I go to Users/Username..... and in that folder I can't find a Library folder.
There are other Library folders but they don't contain the right folders either.

Any ideas, please? Would love to try out this performance boost as i'm still having problems after the update.
Macbook OSX 10.7.5

Gardinen
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 2:54 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by Gardinen »

Too bad the studio is booked this weekend. Otherwise I might have tried it. Or I could do it secretly in the night :ugeek: :ugeek:

legobeats
Junior Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:55 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by legobeats »

Jey wrote:I go to Users/Username..... and in that folder I can't find a Library folder.
There are other Library folders but they don't contain the right folders either.
In the finder press "alt" and klick on "goto" in the menu. There you will find the library.
Cubase 11.0.0, StudioOne 4.6.2, MacMini i7 6x3.2GHz 32GB OSX.14.6, Motu M4, Plugs&Drums&Mics

gmmccurdy
Junior Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by gmmccurdy »

Jey wrote:I can't find the folder I'm meant to put the .txt file in...

I go to Users/Username..... and in that folder I can't find a Library folder.
There are other Library folders but they don't contain the right folders either.

Any ideas, please? Would love to try out this performance boost as i'm still having problems after the update.

At the top of your screen click on "Go". Then hold down your "option" key and you will see the Library unhidden.
Mark
================================
Macbook Pro - OSX 10.11.3 - 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16GB 1600 MHz DDR3
500 Gig SSD Hard Drive
Presonus Firestudio Project I/O
Cubase 9
================================

gmmccurdy
Junior Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by gmmccurdy »

http://mac.tutsplus.com/tutorials/produ ... tain-lion/

Instructions for revealing the user\library
Mark
================================
Macbook Pro - OSX 10.11.3 - 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16GB 1600 MHz DDR3
500 Gig SSD Hard Drive
Presonus Firestudio Project I/O
Cubase 9
================================

Jey
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 1:29 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by Jey »

You are a legend! Thank you very much.

Now let's see if this works :)
Macbook OSX 10.7.5

vivo
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 4:08 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by vivo »

Am i the only one with a Mac (Mac Pro 2008 model 8-core) not having any cpu problems at all ?

No spikes on my system ! Can do 128 buffers easily with a bunch of VST-i's .

Is it because i have an 8-core and an rme fireface 400 ?

I know that my 2008 mac pro has a Texas Instruments firewire interface where my fireface 400 is connected to. On the RME forum I've read lots of firewire problems. Never had *any* on this 2008 mac pro.

Or is it maybe hyperthreading on newer macs ?

This performance fix results in my asio meter getting like 1-2% higher usage.

On the other hand, it feels as if Cubase is starting up faster..
Macpro 2008 2,8 ghz 8-core, 8 gb RAM, OSX 10.9,1, RME Fireface 400, Novation Remote SL 61

Gardinen
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 2:54 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by Gardinen »

vivo wrote:Am i the only one with a Mac (Mac Pro 2008 model 8-core) not having any cpu problems at all ?

No spikes on my system ! Can do 128 buffers easily with a bunch of VST-i's .

Is it because i have an 8-core and an rme fireface 400 ?

I know that my 2008 mac pro has a Texas Instruments firewire interface where my fireface 400 is connected to. On the RME forum I've read lots of firewire problems. Never had *any* on this 2008 mac pro.

Or is it maybe hyperthreading on newer macs ?

This performance fix results in my asio meter getting like 1-2% higher usage.

On the other hand, it feels as if Cubase is starting up faster..
Probably lack of hyperthreading.

gmmccurdy
Junior Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by gmmccurdy »

It didn't effect all the Macs .. my guess is something to do with the different chipsets. I've been testing with them now about a couple of months and at first they couldn't duplicate the problem. Then they went out and found the same model and year as my MacBook and were able to duplicate the spike in their lab. So not sure what the common issue was. I know it had nothing to do with Firewire because one of the first tests we did was to use the internal sound on the Mac and it would happen using those settings. It would also happen without ANY plugins installed. They would happen if if you were just playing a wave file or letting it run with just the metronome on.

Just glad it's fixed!!!! :) I've been on 6.5 all this time! :)
Mark
================================
Macbook Pro - OSX 10.11.3 - 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16GB 1600 MHz DDR3
500 Gig SSD Hard Drive
Presonus Firestudio Project I/O
Cubase 9
================================

User avatar
orchetect
Member
Posts: 531
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by orchetect »

Preliminarily, the red "clip" indicator on the transport Performance Load meters has not showed up yet. Whereas before it would constantly be appearing. Put a session through the ringer (hundreds of Kontakt voices simultaneous, plus processing plugs) and not a single ASIO/CPU clip yet.

Sessions seem more stable on first test run at 256 sample buffer. If I drop it to 128 I start getting major ASIO overruns. (Which may be related to Kontakt's disk streaming hitting a bandwidth bottleneck or just overburdening the audio engine in general)

Very promising so far! Definitely an improvement.

(ASIO Guard off, 256 sample buffer, 12-core NON-Hyperthreading Mac Pro, C7.0.4 64-bit, 40 instances of Kontakt5 loaded plus processing plug-ins)
Last edited by orchetect on Sun May 19, 2013 8:39 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Steffan Andrews | Composer | Developer | website | imdb | gear list
System 1: 2019 Mac Pro - macOS 10.15.5 - 16-core - 192GB RAM - 8TB SSD - 580X
System 2: 2013 Mac Pro - macOS 10.14.6 - 3.5GHz 6-core - 64GB RAM - 4TB SSD - FirePro D500
DAWs: Cubase 11.0.0 | Dorico Pro 3.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.9

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4774
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by curteye »

Aloha H,
and thanks for the info.

I too have had NO real performance issues with C7 compared to C6.5.
Either with OSX.7.5 or OSX.8.3

I track at buffer setting 128 using a Steinberg/Yamaha n12. No probs.

BTW
A major TANX to Steiny for all this Mac specific work recently done by you guys.

Was not too long ago when many Mac users thought that Steiny
might be dropping the Mac platform completely
but you guys kept telling us that was not true and I now see, you were right.

Love Cubase

You guys rock!
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac 5K 4.2Gz 16GB
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

User avatar
billcarroll
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 8:15 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by billcarroll »

It's really encouraging to see this issue being worked on. Much appreciated!

However, the fix seems to result in higher CPU use for me, and I still get spikes.
Cubase 8.5.20 on a MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2015)
2.8 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
AMD Radeon R9 M370X 2048 MB
Mac OS 10.11.6

gmmccurdy
Junior Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by gmmccurdy »

billcarroll wrote:It's really encouraging to see this issue being worked on. Much appreciated!

However, the fix seems to result in higher CPU use for me, and I still get spikes.
So you copied the TXT file they attached to this thread and put it in the proper path? Without that txt file or if it is in the incorrect place, the switch will not activate.
Mark
================================
Macbook Pro - OSX 10.11.3 - 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16GB 1600 MHz DDR3
500 Gig SSD Hard Drive
Presonus Firestudio Project I/O
Cubase 9
================================

RoxX-Y
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 8:58 am
Contact:

Re: OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by RoxX-Y »

I installed 7.0.4 today and opened up a few projects. With the performance switch it seems that some of them use slightly less CPU-power at lower sample rates. I normally work with 256...

Haven't had the time to check if my 5-10min spikes disappeared, but I realized two things:
  • When I start playback some of my projects still cause one non-audible ASIO-real-spike. That disappears sometimes when setting buffer size to at least 384. And it doesn't matter which size. I have to say all of them where originally created with 6.5 or 6.0 - May this be the problem?
  • Size - I have one large project with 88 tracks and 15 plugs and it uses 25% ASIO-load, and one with 9 tracks and 2 plug-ins that uses nearly 30%. Even when I unload all plugs it uses more than it should (same sample rate/bit depth). Didn't have this with 7.0.1 on OS-X and performance switch did not change this..

User avatar
ChrisW
Member
Posts: 333
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:27 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by ChrisW »

Having tested this a bit more, I'm sometimes getting brief spikes, both when starting playback and when the project first opens - neither are audible and don't affect subsequent playback. After this no more spikes so far but I'll test further this weekend. I'm using a 512 buffer size and only Steinberg VSTi's while I'm testing. Most of the projects are fairly small using 5 - 10 MIDI tracks but I'll try an orchestral template later.
Dell XPS 8930 Intel Core i7-9700 3.0Ghz 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Home, Steinberg UR12, Cubase 10.5, Dorico 3.5, Sibelius Ultimate, Komplete 12

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by vic_france »

orchetect wrote:Preliminarily, I see the red "clip" indicator on the transport Performance Load meters has not showed up yet. Whereas before it would constantly be appearing.
Same here :). I was always getting that red light coming on (then staying on).. with this this new switch, not seen it once yet! (2009 single-processor quad-core Mac Pro).. buffer back to 128 samples, ASIO Guard on.
But I have yet to really push it with a very heavy Project.
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

User avatar
billcarroll
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 8:15 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by billcarroll »

gmmccurdy wrote:
billcarroll wrote:It's really encouraging to see this issue being worked on. Much appreciated!

However, the fix seems to result in higher CPU use for me, and I still get spikes.
So you copied the TXT file they attached to this thread and put it in the proper path? Without that txt file or if it is in the incorrect place, the switch will not activate.
I did. :)

I copied the TXT file they attached to this thread and put it in the proper path. Tried it multiple times.
Cubase 8.5.20 on a MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2015)
2.8 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
AMD Radeon R9 M370X 2048 MB
Mac OS 10.11.6

gmmccurdy
Junior Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by gmmccurdy »

billcarroll wrote:
gmmccurdy wrote:
billcarroll wrote:It's really encouraging to see this issue being worked on. Much appreciated!

However, the fix seems to result in higher CPU use for me, and I still get spikes.
So you copied the TXT file they attached to this thread and put it in the proper path? Without that txt file or if it is in the incorrect place, the switch will not activate.
I did. :)

I copied the TXT file they attached to this thread and put it in the proper path. Tried it multiple times.
Can you list your hardware? Also what are your buffers set to?
Mark
================================
Macbook Pro - OSX 10.11.3 - 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16GB 1600 MHz DDR3
500 Gig SSD Hard Drive
Presonus Firestudio Project I/O
Cubase 9
================================

User avatar
Sonik
Senior Member
Posts: 1023
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:34 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X: Cubase 7.0.4 performance improvement switch

Post by Sonik »

I'm testing it right now...
Macbook Pro i9 32gb|Studio One 5|Protools 2020.11|Cubase Pro 10.5.20|Wavelab 10.0.40|Logic X|Apollo Quad|2xUAD-2 Sattellite
Manley Massive Passive|Thermionic Phoenix Mastering Plus|Maselec MLA-2|API 2500|Avalon 737sp|Summit TLA-100A|Distressor EL8-X|Apogee Symphony||Euphonix McMix x2|Dangerous Music 2 Bus LT|Grace Design m905|ATC SCM20 ASL Pro|Amphion One18|
Halion Sonic 3|Komplete12 Ultimate|Stylus RMX|Trilian|Omnisphere 2.6|VSL Strings|EW Pianos|ReFx Nexus 3|AirMusicTech|Sylenth|Predator|Kick 2|Serum|ANA2|Korg Collection 2
UAD|Waves|Soundtoys|Melodyne|Softube|Brainworx|PluginAlliance|Fabfilter|Sonnox|Eventide|Oeksound

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests