Power the CI1 without a computer.

This section is about Steinberg's USB audio interfaces CI1, CI2 and CI2+
Post Reply
henriksorensendk
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:24 am
Contact:

Power the CI1 without a computer.

Post by henriksorensendk » Mon May 20, 2013 9:36 am

Hey..

I wonder if it's possible in any way to power the CI1 with some kind of power adapter?
And that way use it as a simple mixer?

Thanks.. :)

User avatar
Bane
Senior Member
Posts: 1728
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: Power the CI1 without a computer.

Post by Bane » Sun Jun 30, 2013 1:53 am

No that's definitely not advisable. More expensive interfaces with more I/O will require external power and they have DSP chips which let you monitor standalone.
Asus R500A-RS52, Windows 8, 2.6gHz i5 -3230M, 6GB RAM,

Cubase Artist 7.0.6, Wavelab Elements 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, The Grand 3, Melodyne Essential, Superior Drummer, EZDrummer and Pop! EZX, Samson CO1, Yamaha P-35, Mackie MR5mk2 monitors, and more....

My tunes on: Soundcloud

ehasch
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 8:18 am
Contact:

Re: Power the CI1 without a computer.

Post by ehasch » Fri Aug 23, 2013 4:00 am

I've done that with a similar (presonus) interface. I connected it to the socket/outlet with a USB cable adapter and I used it for the preamps, into line inputs on a mixer. set the mix knob all the way to inputs.
Best Regards,

Fuzzle
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 11:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Power the CI1 without a computer.

Post by Fuzzle » Sun Mar 26, 2017 11:54 pm

Has anyone found a way to do this?

ehasch
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 8:18 am
Contact:

Re: Power the CI1 without a computer.

Post by ehasch » Sun Apr 02, 2017 11:40 pm

Try using a USB power adapter and plug the interface into that instead of the computer, should get powered.

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg CI Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests