BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Keith99
Member
Posts: 409
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:16 pm
Contact:

BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by Keith99 » Sat Feb 12, 2011 9:45 pm

Hi, I talked about this in another thread but think it needs a thread of its own, especially as someone else has confirmed the same problem. What happens is any VST3 effect plugin suffers from graphical glitches where the volume meters lag and stutter and jerk. I tested it with a blank project and the same thing happens. I tested it with the following plugins:Compresser, DeEsser, Expander, Gate, Maximiser. It is either Steinberg plugins or, I suspect, VST3 plugins. My other effects from other companies work just fine, e.g. T-Racks stuff.

Keith99
Member
Posts: 409
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by Keith99 » Sat Feb 12, 2011 9:48 pm

I should also say the ASIO meter is barely twitching and there is no sound problem

Konundrum
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 3:15 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by Konundrum » Sat Feb 12, 2011 10:55 pm

yeah i've been getting lag on the gain reduction meter on the vst3 compressor, quite bad lag actually..

works fine in 5.5.2. so this must be a v6 issue only..

asio meter at around 10%.

edit: should mention that i've been using it in external sidechain mode.

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2325
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by MrSoundman » Sun Feb 13, 2011 12:30 am

I've tried to reproduce this with all the VST3 plugins mentioned in the OP, one stereo audio track, ASIO meter is at effectively zero throughout ... sorry, can't reproduce. Do you mean, the audio is fine (no latency) but the visual movement of the meters on-screen lags behind what you're hearing?

It would also be useful to know your audio/graphics config!

RME RayDAT @ 44.1kHz/24-bit, 256 samples (6ms)
ATI Radeon HD 2400 Pro with a single monitor @ 1680x1050
Windows 10 • Cubase 9.5.50 • WaveLab 9.5.50 • SpectraLayers 6.0.10 • HALion 6.3.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.10 • Midex

Guest

Re: BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by Guest » Sun Feb 13, 2011 12:44 am

Mine will get what seems to be frozen in the gain reduction meter. Audio stays pumping but the meter sticks. I have m audio fast track sc with latest drivers and on board ATI radeon 4800 I think it is. Stock to the gigabyte ma785gpmuds2h

datune
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:12 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by datune » Sun Feb 13, 2011 2:20 pm

I can confirm this bug, I have the exact same issue.

I have only seen this behaviour with Steinberg plugins, non steinberg plugins seem to work fine.

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2325
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by MrSoundman » Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:35 pm

Can I ask you all to say what graphics card you're using please?
Windows 10 • Cubase 9.5.50 • WaveLab 9.5.50 • SpectraLayers 6.0.10 • HALion 6.3.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.10 • Midex

andreasm
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 4:37 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by andreasm » Mon Feb 14, 2011 8:42 am

djntoxicated wrote:Mine will get what seems to be frozen in the gain reduction meter. Audio stays pumping but the meter sticks. I have m audio fast track sc with latest drivers and on board ATI radeon 4800 I think it is. Stock to the gigabyte ma785gpmuds2h
A few questions:

Is is only the gain reduction meter with the lag or the input/output meters too ?
Does the problem show up after a Cubase restart ?
Or after a reboot ?
Does it show up immediately or after a few hours of work ?
Andreas Mazurkiewicz, Technical Lead Plug-in Set
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by curteye » Mon Feb 14, 2011 10:13 am

MrSoundman wrote:Can I ask you all to say what graphics card you're using please?
+1
and which 'puter?

I ask because from my experience seems to me macs suffer from this
graphics lag thang more than pc's
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

Guest

Re: BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by Guest » Mon Feb 14, 2011 2:20 pm

It's only the gain reduction meter. its immediate and random too. I have a pc quad core 5 gigs. Only during sidechain it seems.

Keith99
Member
Posts: 409
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by Keith99 » Tue Feb 15, 2011 10:26 pm

With me it is all meters. I have a GeForce GTX 460 with latest nvidia 265.58 drivers although I fail to see how it could be the graphic card since all non - steinberg plugs work fine

andreasm
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 4:37 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by andreasm » Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:44 pm

Keith99 wrote:With me it is all meters. I have a GeForce GTX 460 with latest nvidia 265.58 drivers although I fail to see how it could be the graphic card since all non - steinberg plugs work fine
The same question to you:

Does the problem disappear after a reboot ?
Andreas Mazurkiewicz, Technical Lead Plug-in Set
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Keith99
Member
Posts: 409
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by Keith99 » Wed Feb 16, 2011 9:43 pm

I was suprised by this suggestion because I am always turning off and on my machine every day of course however I thought I would give it a go so rebooted and started Cubase as the only app and the problem is no longer there. Does this mean it is other apps that cause the problem?

Keith99
Member
Posts: 409
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by Keith99 » Wed Feb 16, 2011 11:41 pm

It stayed working until I stopped now so that is 2 hours using a number of projects. I will need to monitor this and try again after using the machine for a while for other work as it could well be due to some other app interacting somehow

Konundrum
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 3:15 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by Konundrum » Wed Feb 16, 2011 11:57 pm

I've been getting lag on the sidechained compressor gain reduction meter constantly..starts as soon as i open cubase, rebooting makes no difference..

really annoying, it's not even lag really just random behaviour, like no readout at all for a bit then all of a sudden activity, then back to nothing..

this on a sony vaio laptop with a geforce gt 330m graphics card..

Guest

Re: BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by Guest » Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:48 am

Konundrum wrote:I've been getting lag on the sidechained compressor gain reduction meter constantly..starts as soon as i open cubase, rebooting makes no difference..

really annoying, it's not even lag really just random behaviour, like no readout at all for a bit then all of a sudden activity, then back to nothing..

this on a sony vaio laptop with a geforce gt 330m graphics card..
Mine is the same situation.

andreasm
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 4:37 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by andreasm » Thu Feb 17, 2011 10:25 am

Looks like a reboot helps, a restart of Cubase alone doesn't. So far I've only heard from occasionally stocking meters in the VST3 Plug-in Set in general. The problem with the gain reduction meter in the side chain compressor seems to be a different one. Especially if a reboot doesn't help. I'll post it here if I find anything.
Andreas Mazurkiewicz, Technical Lead Plug-in Set
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Loop Breaker
Senior Member
Posts: 2456
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:52 am
Contact:

Re: BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by Loop Breaker » Thu Feb 17, 2011 11:36 am

In the past, i had GUI Problems with CB plugins to, but c5.5.
The reason was the Audiodriver. (M-Audio Delta 1010lt)
I just can use the first 2 releases of the driver, when i take a newer one, Cubase plugins Gui doesnt work (and other very, very, strange problems...)

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2325
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by MrSoundman » Thu Feb 17, 2011 12:19 pm

Correct me if I'm wrong but the one common thing I can see here is Nvidia graphics chips.
Is there anyone experiencing this problem with an ATI/AMD graphics chip?
Windows 10 • Cubase 9.5.50 • WaveLab 9.5.50 • SpectraLayers 6.0.10 • HALion 6.3.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.10 • Midex

Guest

Re: BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by Guest » Thu Feb 17, 2011 5:54 pm

I have ATI and and processor. Today the whole shows no action.

Keith99
Member
Posts: 409
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by Keith99 » Thu Feb 17, 2011 11:29 pm

OK I worked for a bit tonight before firing up Cubase and the problem has returned. A clean restart and all is ok. So it must be some application or something I use that clashes with Cubase. Tonight I have used: email, web, Word, Visual Studio 2010 and PowerPoint for about 2 hours.

Ian s
Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:09 am
Contact:

Re: BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by Ian s » Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:36 am

I experienced this issue about a week ago. it affected all meters in the compressor. I opened the limiter and maximiser, and it affected all metering in them too.

The issue dissapeared after a reboot, and has not returned. I don't run other programs on the machine other than wavelab, which hadn't been used that session. It's never happened with C5, only this once with C6.

Core 2 Quad, Win7 32, GForce 8400 card
C10.0.40 | W7 | MR 816CSX, MR 816X, MR 816X | CC121| ES-175D | ES-345

datune
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:12 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by datune » Thu Mar 10, 2011 9:24 pm

I still have this issue, have an ATI card btw. Reboot makes no difference.

User avatar
dorremifasol
Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by dorremifasol » Thu Mar 10, 2011 9:38 pm

Same here. Sometimes I see the bars on the plugins moving much later than the actual sound.
Intel i5 750, Windows 7 64 bit, 16g RAM, Cubase 9, Halion 6, Wavelab 9.5 RME Fireface 802

LeffeBoork
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 10:24 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: VST3 Plugins Graphics Lag

Post by LeffeBoork » Thu Mar 10, 2011 10:38 pm

I have this problem too!
Windows 10 64 bit, Intel Core i7 4770K 3,5GHz, 16 GB RAM

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests