HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

All topics on HALion 4, HALion 5 and Steinberg's VST workstations HALion Sonic 1 and HALion Sonic 2
User avatar
Matthias Quellmann
Moderator
Posts: 832
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:44 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by Matthias Quellmann » Tue Jul 23, 2013 1:10 pm

Hi all,

Today we are very happy to announce the immediate availability of the latest major versions of Steinberg’s popular virtual instruments, HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2.

Image

With a massive library update, several new effects, lots of new features and improvements, these iterations of HALion and HALion Sonic have made a big leap forward.

Please visit http://www.steinberg.net/halion for detailed information about the new instruments inside HALion and HALion Sonic, the new effects and the sound design features.

We have created several videos that introduce all the latest features as well as quick start videos for those of you who are new to HALion and HALion Sonic.

Please also have a listen to the demo tracks and demo phrases on the product pages.

The updates from recent version are now available for download only through the Steinberg Online Shop. http://www.steinberg.net/en/shop.html
Matthias Quellmann - Senior Marketing Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Cantankerous
Member
Posts: 752
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by Cantankerous » Tue Jul 23, 2013 1:25 pm

w00t! Great job Steinberg! Many users are going to be very happy with these updates no doubt!
Asus P8P67
2600K
8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Echo Audiofire8
Virus Ti Desktop
Novation 49SL MKII
UAD-2 Quad x 2
CUBASE 7.5
HALion 5

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by JMCecil » Tue Jul 23, 2013 1:31 pm

thumbs hi!
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

G-string
Senior Member
Posts: 1064
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK

Re: HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by G-string » Tue Jul 23, 2013 1:44 pm

bit niffed that I debated so long weather to get h4 and then bought it and then a month later h5 comes out ,but hay ho that's my fault .

Brilliant update couldn't of asked for more really ;)
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b

popajoe
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 2:31 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by popajoe » Tue Jul 23, 2013 2:45 pm

Thanks :P
popajoe

gmontano
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 5:50 am
Contact:

Re: HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by gmontano » Tue Jul 23, 2013 3:20 pm

Does the HALion 5 license also cover HALion Sonic 2?
6950x, 64 GB RAM, ASrock x99 mobo, 1050 Ti video card, Windows 10, RME UFX, Cubase 10 Pro.

User avatar
JoDell19
Member
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 5:09 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by JoDell19 » Tue Jul 23, 2013 4:02 pm

Hello,

I am curious to know if I buy Halion 5, do I need Halion Sonic 2? Are there features in HS2 that are not in Halion 5? Does purchasing H5 give you HS2 for free? Any clarity will be greatly appreciated.
Thank you in advance.
Please listen to my tunes:
JoDell Playmaker Music

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCvM97V ... gzgPnbE-iQ

Cantankerous
Member
Posts: 752
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by Cantankerous » Tue Jul 23, 2013 4:09 pm

JoDell19 wrote:Hello,

I am curious to know if I buy Halion 5, do I need Halion Sonic 2? Are there features in HS2 that are not in Halion 5? Does purchasing H5 give you HS2 for free? Any clarity will be greatly appreciated.
Thank you in advance.
HALion 5 contains 110% of what HALion Sonic 2 offers and then even more on top of that! All the modules, synths, presets, effects and functionality of HALion Sonic 2 is completely intact in HALion 5, but through a slightly different, more module interface than that of HALion Sonic 2. If you want full functionality and tweakibility, HALion 5 is the way to go, if you just want a simple playback machine, HALion Sonic 2 is great!
Asus P8P67
2600K
8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Echo Audiofire8
Virus Ti Desktop
Novation 49SL MKII
UAD-2 Quad x 2
CUBASE 7.5
HALion 5

User avatar
Ed Doll
Site Admin
Posts: 1123
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 11:18 am
Contact:

Re: HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by Ed Doll » Tue Jul 23, 2013 4:16 pm

gmontano wrote:Does the HALion 5 license also cover HALion Sonic 2?
Yes, it does. The installer is included in the HALion 5 package.
Ed Doll, Support Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram and SoundCloud!

beerbong
Member
Posts: 796
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by beerbong » Tue Jul 23, 2013 5:44 pm

- fixed -
Last edited by beerbong on Tue Jul 23, 2013 6:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
BB - Intel Quad/RME/Nvidia Video, RME Raydat, Win10 Home
Cubase 8.5 64 bit / Cubase 9.5 / Wavelab Elements / Halion 6 / Padshop Pro

User avatar
mr.roos
Senior Member
Posts: 1388
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by mr.roos » Tue Jul 23, 2013 5:59 pm

Ed Doll, please confirm that this will interface with C6.5, including the drag and drop part feature and the mixer interface showing multiple channels? Thank you.
Cubase 10 Pro from SX3, WaveLab Pro 10, iC Pro remote app, Win10 64-bit (1903 update installed - latest OS build always), Intel i7 8700 Coffee Lake 6-Core 3.2GHz, 32G DDR4 3200, Gigabyte Z390 Designare MB, Radeon RX570 Graphics card, Mackie 1640i (FireWire via TI chipset PCI-E card), M-Audio Keystation 61es controller via an M-Audio Midi-Sport 1X1.

Cantankerous
Member
Posts: 752
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by Cantankerous » Tue Jul 23, 2013 6:06 pm

beerbong wrote:Where is the update from 4? Please allow us to purchase and download entirely online because you are missing a very large piece of the market by limiting sales to stores.

For example it will take AT LEAST 1 month in Canada to get any product from Steinberg via my local retailer.

It's ridiculous and bad for business.

Why does it take so long from the primary distributor in Canada? Because they don't even have Halion products and Updates in the system! This is quoted from Long and Mcquade.
Hi there,

I obtained my copy this morning, online, via the Steinberg store and I am in Canada. It was a download update from HALion 4.

http://www.steinberg.net/en/shop/buy_pr ... ion-5.html

You should be able to do the same. I have purchased Cubase 7 last December from the online store, without issue.
Asus P8P67
2600K
8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Echo Audiofire8
Virus Ti Desktop
Novation 49SL MKII
UAD-2 Quad x 2
CUBASE 7.5
HALion 5

beerbong
Member
Posts: 796
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by beerbong » Tue Jul 23, 2013 6:52 pm

edited: I see it now, my mistake.
BB - Intel Quad/RME/Nvidia Video, RME Raydat, Win10 Home
Cubase 8.5 64 bit / Cubase 9.5 / Wavelab Elements / Halion 6 / Padshop Pro

Cantankerous
Member
Posts: 752
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by Cantankerous » Tue Jul 23, 2013 7:37 pm

beerbong wrote:edited: I see it now, my mistake.
NP, at least you are able to get it now. Have fun!
Asus P8P67
2600K
8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Echo Audiofire8
Virus Ti Desktop
Novation 49SL MKII
UAD-2 Quad x 2
CUBASE 7.5
HALion 5

Timo
Member
Posts: 365
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:57 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by Timo » Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:53 pm

Ed Doll wrote:
gmontano wrote:Does the HALion 5 license also cover HALion Sonic 2?
Yes, it does. The installer is included in the HALion 5 package.
Perfect. :D
Tanzmusik und Hochzeitsband: The Rainbows - Music & Fun

TheNavigator
Member
Posts: 483
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 6:39 pm

Re: HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by TheNavigator » Tue Jul 23, 2013 10:48 pm

Yes, even the installer is as it should be.

I hope Cubase 7.5 or at least 8.0 will be of the same overall level of quality.

zephonic
Junior Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 6:49 pm
Location: LA
Contact:

Re: HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by zephonic » Wed Jul 24, 2013 6:12 am

I upgraded from HalionSonic to Halion4 on May 19, am I eligible for the free upgrade to H5?

If yes, do I get the free upgrade to HS2 as well?
Cubase 9.5.50 - Halion 6 - HalionSonic 3 - assorted plugins/instruments
2009 MacPro | 3.33GHz 6-core | 24GB RAM | OSX 10.12.6
Avid Mbox3Pro
iPad 5 - iOS12 - Cubase iC Pro

G-string
Senior Member
Posts: 1064
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK

Re: HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by G-string » Wed Jul 24, 2013 7:54 am

zephonic wrote:I upgraded from HalionSonic to Halion4 on May 19, am I eligible for the free upgrade to H5?

If yes, do I get the free upgrade to HS2 as well?
http://www.steinberg.net/en/support/grace_period.html

and yes halion 2 is included
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b

G-string
Senior Member
Posts: 1064
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK

Re: HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by G-string » Wed Jul 24, 2013 11:49 am

some plonker was in such a rush yesterday to buy H5 that he didn't realise he bought H4 well within the grace period . :lol:

Ive sent Matthias a private message to see if this can be refunded . ;)
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b

User avatar
mr.roos
Senior Member
Posts: 1388
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by mr.roos » Thu Jul 25, 2013 9:01 pm

mr.roos wrote:Ed Doll, please confirm that this will interface with C6.5, including the drag and drop part feature and the mixer interface showing multiple channels? Thank you.
Hm, my question is falling on deaf ears. :cry: I guess I will wait for the trial download and answer my own questions..................

Cantankerous? Your signature says C6 and yet you say you purchased C7. Are you perhaps using Halion5 in C6? Can you record a loop in the keyboard and drag the results to C6? Does the C6 mixer interface with the multivoice Halion5, like C7 does? Or will it only function this way with C7?
Cubase 10 Pro from SX3, WaveLab Pro 10, iC Pro remote app, Win10 64-bit (1903 update installed - latest OS build always), Intel i7 8700 Coffee Lake 6-Core 3.2GHz, 32G DDR4 3200, Gigabyte Z390 Designare MB, Radeon RX570 Graphics card, Mackie 1640i (FireWire via TI chipset PCI-E card), M-Audio Keystation 61es controller via an M-Audio Midi-Sport 1X1.

Cantankerous
Member
Posts: 752
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by Cantankerous » Fri Jul 26, 2013 2:43 am

Hi there,

I apologize for not responding quicker. In all honesty, I am currently using Cubase 7 and have not updated my signature, sorry for the confusion!

Though I cannot be 100% certain, I am fairly certain you will not have an issue with HALion 5 and Cubase 6.5 and all of its functions. I was using HALion 4 with Cubase 6.5 and it worked flawlessly. HALion 5 is not much different at all in terms of how HALion works, just new stuff added. Perhaps someone can chime in specifically, but I don't think drag and dropping of midi from HALion to Cubase 6.5 will be an issue as HALion 4 and Cubase 6.5 allowed drag and dropped to and from the two applications for samples etc. I have seen no mention at all about Cubase 7 being needed to full HALion functionality, in fact, HALion is not made to be a Cubase only sampler, it can work in other VST2/VST3 hosts and no limitations have been mentioned in using hosts other than Cubase.

Best of luck!
Asus P8P67
2600K
8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Echo Audiofire8
Virus Ti Desktop
Novation 49SL MKII
UAD-2 Quad x 2
CUBASE 7.5
HALion 5

User avatar
mr.roos
Senior Member
Posts: 1388
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by mr.roos » Fri Jul 26, 2013 6:16 pm

Thanks, Cantankerous. Hopefully there will be a trial download soon. Frankly, H5 seems like a must have on so many levels. Um, that said, I still wish Steinberg would spend more time on the DAW side of things! :lol:
Cubase 10 Pro from SX3, WaveLab Pro 10, iC Pro remote app, Win10 64-bit (1903 update installed - latest OS build always), Intel i7 8700 Coffee Lake 6-Core 3.2GHz, 32G DDR4 3200, Gigabyte Z390 Designare MB, Radeon RX570 Graphics card, Mackie 1640i (FireWire via TI chipset PCI-E card), M-Audio Keystation 61es controller via an M-Audio Midi-Sport 1X1.

User avatar
Migra
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2013 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by Migra » Fri Jul 26, 2013 9:50 pm

Can I buy the online upgrade $99.00 for my Halion 4 EDU license? Will it work? Or is it there a Halion 5 EDU Upgrade?
Migra

Cantankerous
Member
Posts: 752
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by Cantankerous » Sat Jul 27, 2013 2:40 am

Migra wrote:Can I buy the online upgrade $99.00 for my Halion 4 EDU license? Will it work? Or is it there a Halion 5 EDU Upgrade?
you will be fine with the update it offers for $99.
Asus P8P67
2600K
8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Echo Audiofire8
Virus Ti Desktop
Novation 49SL MKII
UAD-2 Quad x 2
CUBASE 7.5
HALion 5

zizi
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 1:20 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 5 and HALion Sonic 2 released

Post by zizi » Tue Jul 30, 2013 1:42 pm

Please, implement VST3Preset import from Padshop and Retrologue. (just core snapshot, without FX section)
I really need it due limitations of the Halion 5 automation rules (8 custom parameters per slot)

EDITED:
Request added to "Feature Requests and Suggestions" section https://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtop ... 97&t=45464
Thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “Halion 5 | Halion 4 | Halion Sonic | Halion Sonic 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest