frozen inspector

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
aptmusic9
Member
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:20 am
Contact:

frozen inspector

Post by aptmusic9 » Mon Aug 12, 2013 10:58 pm

HELP! I have a particular project that seems to have corrupted itself in that the inspector pane wont move on any of the tracks. For instance, if I want to look at the sends, clicking sends wont cause the menu to drop down, nor will my custom keyboard shortcuts. On certain tracks the sends are already opened, but the sends menu wont close either.
Core i7 3930k
ASUS P9X79 PRO
Corsair XMS3 64GB (8x8GB)
Nvidia GT 640
RME HDSPe AIO
Focal Solo 6
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Cubase 10
User of Cubase since Cubase 5.0
http://www.andrewpooletodd.com

User avatar
artguy
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 4:27 am
Contact:

Re: frozen inspector

Post by artguy » Tue Aug 13, 2013 12:52 am

Deleting your preferences should help.

aptmusic9
Member
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:20 am
Contact:

Re: frozen inspector

Post by aptmusic9 » Tue Aug 13, 2013 12:59 am

yea. its actually any cubase project its frozen. ill try deleting my prefs
Core i7 3930k
ASUS P9X79 PRO
Corsair XMS3 64GB (8x8GB)
Nvidia GT 640
RME HDSPe AIO
Focal Solo 6
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Cubase 10
User of Cubase since Cubase 5.0
http://www.andrewpooletodd.com

aptmusic9
Member
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:20 am
Contact:

Re: frozen inspector

Post by aptmusic9 » Tue Aug 13, 2013 1:16 am

Completely deleted the "Cubase 7_64" folder and repopulated with all new preferences. Same problem still exists on a fresh project.
Core i7 3930k
ASUS P9X79 PRO
Corsair XMS3 64GB (8x8GB)
Nvidia GT 640
RME HDSPe AIO
Focal Solo 6
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Cubase 10
User of Cubase since Cubase 5.0
http://www.andrewpooletodd.com

aptmusic9
Member
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:20 am
Contact:

Re: frozen inspector

Post by aptmusic9 » Tue Aug 13, 2013 1:18 am

This might be an issue with teh new mixer. I can't change sends or inserts from the mixer either, its just locked.
Core i7 3930k
ASUS P9X79 PRO
Corsair XMS3 64GB (8x8GB)
Nvidia GT 640
RME HDSPe AIO
Focal Solo 6
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Cubase 10
User of Cubase since Cubase 5.0
http://www.andrewpooletodd.com

User avatar
artguy
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 4:27 am
Contact:

Re: frozen inspector

Post by artguy » Tue Aug 13, 2013 1:19 am

aptmusic9 wrote:Completely deleted the "Cubase 7_64" folder and repopulated with all new preferences. Same problem still exists on a fresh project.
Try a re-installation via Repair from Add/remove programs.

Also, what happens when you load a project in Safe Mode?

aptmusic9
Member
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:20 am
Contact:

Re: frozen inspector

Post by aptmusic9 » Tue Aug 13, 2013 1:24 am

looks like it actually grabbed some prefs from Cubase 6 when restoring. trying again....
Core i7 3930k
ASUS P9X79 PRO
Corsair XMS3 64GB (8x8GB)
Nvidia GT 640
RME HDSPe AIO
Focal Solo 6
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Cubase 10
User of Cubase since Cubase 5.0
http://www.andrewpooletodd.com

aptmusic9
Member
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:20 am
Contact:

Re: frozen inspector

Post by aptmusic9 » Tue Aug 13, 2013 1:58 am

Cubase 6.5 has this same problem! Gah! maybe its something wrong with my system that caused this....i can't work now....not good.
Core i7 3930k
ASUS P9X79 PRO
Corsair XMS3 64GB (8x8GB)
Nvidia GT 640
RME HDSPe AIO
Focal Solo 6
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Cubase 10
User of Cubase since Cubase 5.0
http://www.andrewpooletodd.com

User avatar
artguy
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 4:27 am
Contact:

Re: frozen inspector

Post by artguy » Tue Aug 13, 2013 2:20 am

You could try disk cleanup, as well as uninstallation and full a re-installation of Cubase.

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: frozen inspector

Post by curteye » Tue Aug 13, 2013 2:34 am

artguy wrote:Also, what happens when you load a project in Safe Mode?
+1
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

aptmusic9
Member
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:20 am
Contact:

Re: frozen inspector

Post by aptmusic9 » Tue Aug 13, 2013 2:34 am

full uninstall and reinstall didnt help. it still is pulling prefs from somewhere but i dont know where
Core i7 3930k
ASUS P9X79 PRO
Corsair XMS3 64GB (8x8GB)
Nvidia GT 640
RME HDSPe AIO
Focal Solo 6
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Cubase 10
User of Cubase since Cubase 5.0
http://www.andrewpooletodd.com

aptmusic9
Member
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:20 am
Contact:

Re: frozen inspector

Post by aptmusic9 » Tue Aug 13, 2013 2:34 am

i should have tried this before but im doing a full restart now.
Core i7 3930k
ASUS P9X79 PRO
Corsair XMS3 64GB (8x8GB)
Nvidia GT 640
RME HDSPe AIO
Focal Solo 6
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Cubase 10
User of Cubase since Cubase 5.0
http://www.andrewpooletodd.com

aptmusic9
Member
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:20 am
Contact:

Re: frozen inspector

Post by aptmusic9 » Tue Aug 13, 2013 3:17 am

wow the reboot worked! Wow.
Core i7 3930k
ASUS P9X79 PRO
Corsair XMS3 64GB (8x8GB)
Nvidia GT 640
RME HDSPe AIO
Focal Solo 6
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Cubase 10
User of Cubase since Cubase 5.0
http://www.andrewpooletodd.com

G-string
Senior Member
Posts: 1064
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK

Re: frozen inspector

Post by G-string » Tue Aug 13, 2013 8:31 am

aptmusic9 wrote:wow the reboot worked! Wow.
This is one very very basic computer lesson : After doing any alliterating to your system , IE adding ,removing ,deleteing ,reinstalling ,uninstalling always reboot after every single step of the process :roll:
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b

aptmusic9
Member
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:20 am
Contact:

Re: frozen inspector

Post by aptmusic9 » Tue Aug 13, 2013 6:11 pm

You're right, im just puzzled what caused it in the first place.
Core i7 3930k
ASUS P9X79 PRO
Corsair XMS3 64GB (8x8GB)
Nvidia GT 640
RME HDSPe AIO
Focal Solo 6
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Cubase 10
User of Cubase since Cubase 5.0
http://www.andrewpooletodd.com

User avatar
zipp8
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 7:57 pm
Contact:

Re: frozen inspector

Post by zipp8 » Mon Sep 16, 2013 8:20 pm

Yes finally! I tried like you , lots of different stuff , updated drivers , java etc. and even removed the Prefs folder 7_64
And it did not help. I even re-installed the hole thing. (not that painful , just core 7 installer and the 7.05 update)

But this time i removed the prefs folder 7_64 and then rebooted and NOW i'm back again with a working clickable inspector. Just a wild guess , it might have happened me after I installed some earlier version of Cubasis project importer. (running cubasis on ipad mini) Not sure if it was that but I don't bother trying that right now.

I'm running Cubase Artist 7.05 -64 bit

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests