Have Cubase 7 license, how to get 6.5?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
User avatar
drawbar
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 2:48 pm
Contact:

Have Cubase 7 license, how to get 6.5?

Post by drawbar » Fri Aug 16, 2013 11:11 am

I upgraded from Cubase 5 to 7, and would like also to run (32bit/win) 6.5 in an older laptop. Obviously I have not got the 6.5 media.

What is Steinbergs policy regarding lower versions, are the necessary installation files available by request? There seems to be only updates ftp.steinberg.net.

I have sent a couple of requests through MySteinberg, the first a week ago, no answer.

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Have Cubase 7 license, how to get 6.5?

Post by Grim » Fri Aug 16, 2013 12:19 pm

This download still seems to work.

https://shop.steinberg.net/cgi-bin/dlreg?ID=C65TW

Trial version should run as full on your C7 licence, just add the latest update.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
drawbar
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 2:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Have Cubase 7 license, how to get 6.5?

Post by drawbar » Fri Aug 16, 2013 2:55 pm

Problem solved. Steinberg support kindly sent me a link to 6.5. installation disk image. Thanks!

User avatar
Mrhehon
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:02 am
Location: Valencia Spain.
Contact:

Re: Have Cubase 7 license, how to get 6.5?

Post by Mrhehon » Fri Aug 16, 2013 3:00 pm

drawbar wrote:Problem solved. Steinberg support kindly sent me a link to 6.5. installation disk image. Thanks!
Can post the link please.
Windows 10 pro
Cubase Pro 10
PC i7 920@2.67 GHz (10 years old but still doing it for me) 16GB ram
2xMR816 CSX FireWire Audio Interfaces
CC121 controller
Nektar P6

Arc
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 5:26 am
Contact:

Re: Have Cubase 7 license, how to get 6.5?

Post by Arc » Fri Aug 16, 2013 10:30 pm

I'm interested in using 6.5 too...

I also upgraded from 5 to 7 and was wondering if your eLicenser needs a serial on it specifically for 6.5 or does 7 have backwards compatibility for older versions?

User avatar
distante
Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Have Cubase 7 license, how to get 6.5?

Post by distante » Sat Aug 17, 2013 3:34 am

Mrhehon wrote:
drawbar wrote:Problem solved. Steinberg support kindly sent me a link to 6.5. installation disk image. Thanks!
Can post the link please.
+1
Hear and See Rock Songs maded with Steinberg's UR824 and Cubase 7: bit.ly/CorazonTRM ("Corazón") and bit.ly/AnimalTRM ("Animal")

Do you want to show your music or any audio work made with Cubase? fb.com/groups/Made.With.Cubase/

My Stuff:
UR824 and Cubase PRO 8.0.20 on Windows 8.1 64bits / 16GB RAM / Core i7 4790K / GTX970 4GB VRAM )
*Always the latest version available.
A bunch of Mics, Pres and Toys, Plugins and Heart

User avatar
drawbar
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 2:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Have Cubase 7 license, how to get 6.5?

Post by drawbar » Sat Aug 17, 2013 6:58 am

Hi guys,

Steinberg obviously has a certain policy here that I don't want to interfere with. Contact SB support and you should have no problems of getting the files.

If your dongle has higher version of Cubase, you can run also lower versions with it.

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Have Cubase 7 license, how to get 6.5?

Post by Grim » Sat Aug 17, 2013 1:05 pm

If they offered an easily available version of C6.5, they would lose half their beta testers for C7 :lol:
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

stevont
Junior Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 9:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Have Cubase 7 license, how to get 6.5?

Post by stevont » Sat Aug 17, 2013 2:53 pm

drawbar wrote:Problem solved. Steinberg support kindly sent me a link to 6.5. installation disk image. Thanks!
Can you tell me how big the download was?

Also, Does anyone know if I can use one of my clients 6.5 install disc if my elicense is up to CB7 ?

I'm in the same situation as the OP but on a mac.
I'm running a MBP core2 duo with 10.6.8 and it's extremely stable with a ton of my software so I don't want to upgrade my system yet. I'd gladly pay for the update to 7 if I knew I could run the latest version that was built for my computer and OS.

Thanks
Proudly using Cubase (mac) since 1989.

User avatar
Mrhehon
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:02 am
Location: Valencia Spain.
Contact:

Re: Have Cubase 7 license, how to get 6.5?

Post by Mrhehon » Sat Aug 17, 2013 2:55 pm

drawbar wrote:Hi guys,

Steinberg obviously has a certain policy here that I don't want to interfere with. Contact SB support and you should have no problems of getting the files.
Drawbar
Thanks for nothing, hope I can help you out one day.
Windows 10 pro
Cubase Pro 10
PC i7 920@2.67 GHz (10 years old but still doing it for me) 16GB ram
2xMR816 CSX FireWire Audio Interfaces
CC121 controller
Nektar P6

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9367
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Have Cubase 7 license, how to get 6.5?

Post by -steve- » Sat Aug 17, 2013 3:02 pm

stevont wrote:Also, Does anyone know if I can use one of my clients 6.5 install disc if my elicense is up to CB7 ?
Yes.
The only thing that matters is having a license on your USB key.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 gb | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb | macbook Pro 2011, 10.13.6 | 8 gb

User avatar
drawbar
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 2:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Have Cubase 7 license, how to get 6.5?

Post by drawbar » Sat Aug 17, 2013 5:23 pm

stevont wrote: Can you tell me how big the download was?
Almost 8 GB, most of it being VST sound files.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests