Cubase Logic USB MIDI

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
webber
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 3:07 pm
Contact:

Cubase Logic USB MIDI

Post by webber » Wed Oct 23, 2013 8:40 pm

Hi, I'm a long way user of Cubase, and still working on the unit. Therefore I had a chance to work on the actual version of Logic. I worked only few hours on it, but there is one thing that got me. When you want to use one of your external instruments on Cubase you have to connect it before you start Cubase. If you don't do it the Cubase won't see the instrument in the midi device's. Then I've plugged an instrument into Logic and it was ready to work already. Is it possible to make it easier like this with cubase?

G-string
Senior Member
Posts: 1064
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK

Re: Cubase Logic USB MIDI

Post by G-string » Wed Oct 23, 2013 8:57 pm

not for pc , no
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b

webber
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 3:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Logic USB MIDI

Post by webber » Wed Oct 23, 2013 9:21 pm

that's a shame.

Steve
Junior Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Logic USB MIDI

Post by Steve » Thu Oct 24, 2013 8:10 am

I don't know if this will help (or make any sense for that matter) but I have a midi controller keyboard (M-audio Keystation Pro88 but I assume it's the same with most midi devices) which can connect either by USB or standard 5-pin midi cables (1 in/1 out). Since connecting via USB means that I'm using the "USB<=>midi interface" which is built into the Pro88, turning off the keyboard also means that the "USB<=>midi interface" is also turned off and you get the problem you described. However, I bought an "ESI Midimate II cable" which, as long as it's plugged in, is always "on" (and I'm sure the power usage is negligible) so I can connect my Pro88 using a 5-pin midi cable. Thus, as long as I leave the Midimate connected I can connect/disconnect or turn the keyboard on/off whenever I want without having to restart Cubase.

User avatar
premediesel
New Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Logic USB MIDI

Post by premediesel » Fri Oct 25, 2013 1:11 am

I came here to ask a similar question. There is no way to re-scan for connected MIDI devices without restarting Cubase?

G-string
Senior Member
Posts: 1064
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK

Re: Cubase Logic USB MIDI

Post by G-string » Fri Oct 25, 2013 7:25 am

G-string wrote:not for pc , no
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests